Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovation at Small- and Medium-Sized Businesses in Greater Toronto Area

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Economic Action Plan invests in jobs and growth through research and development

For immediate release
January 14, 2011

Toronto, Ontario — Small- and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario will have an opportunity to work with local colleges and universities to bring promising new products to the marketplace faster. Mr. Paul Calandra, Member of Parliament, Oak Ridges-Markham today announced that an investment under the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative would go to OCAD University.

"This investment will create jobs and sustain economic growth by helping small businesses get new ideas into the marketplace faster," said MP Calandra. "Our government is committed to supporting families, businesses and communities of southern Ontario."

Under the $15-million Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, OCAD University will receive up to $359,800 to partner with small- and medium-sized enterprises on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification.

"OCAD University believes that we have a critical role to play in economic development, bringing design knowledge and the talents of students and faculty into partnership with the dynamic SME sector in southern Ontario," said Dr. Sara Diamond, President of OCAD University. "We can create new jobs, efficiencies, innovations and new products and services that markets in Canada and abroad want and need. We thank the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario for their support."

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in addressing the gap between research and commercialization.

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has recently launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Sarah Mulholland
Media Relations
OCAD University
416-977-6000 ext. 327
416-977-6006
Email:  smulholland@ocad.ca


Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is designed to bridge the gap between research and commercialization between Ontario's post-secondary academic institutions and small- and medium-sized enterprises. FedDev Ontario has committed up to $15 million for projects in 2010 under the initiative.

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative encourages greater collaboration between post-secondary institutions with research and development expertise and smaller businesses with pre-commercialization needs. The goals of the initiative are to accelerate innovation and improve productivity and competitiveness in companies located in southern Ontario, as well as encourage additional private sector investment.

The initiative supports post-secondary institutions offering services focused on improving innovation, productivity and commercialization to help individual companies move new products or processes to market. These activities include:

  • product and process applied research;
  • engineering design;
  • technology development;
  • product testing;
  • certification;
  • proof of concept;
  • piloting and demonstration; and
  • problem solving.

Announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan, FedDev Ontario's mandate is to work with the people, communities and businesses in southern Ontario to create the conditions for economic growth. Created with a five-year mandate and $1-billion budget, the Agency is working to support southern Ontario's ongoing economic resurgence to ensure the region will emerge as a stronger, more diverse world leader.

For more information, please refer to our web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca, email info@feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie l'innovation dans les petites et moyennes entreprises de la région du grand Toronto

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le Plan d'action économique investit dans les emplois et la croissance au moyen de la recherche et du développement

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 14 janvier 2011

TORONTO (Ontario) — Les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) du Sud de l'Ontario auront l'occasion de collaborer avec les collèges et les universités de la région afin de mettre sur le marché plus rapidement de nouveaux produits prometteurs. M. Paul Calandra, député d'Oak Ridges-Markham, a annoncé aujourd'hui qu'un investissement effectué dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation irait à l'Université de l'EADO.

« Ce nouvel investissement servira à créer des emplois et à renforcer la croissance économique en aidant les petites entreprises à mettre des idées novatrices sur le marché plus rapidement, a déclaré le député Calandra. Notre gouvernement est déterminé à appuyer les familles, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. »

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation de 15 millions de dollars, l'Université de l'EADO recevra jusqu'à 359 800 $ en vue d'établir des partenariats avec de petites et moyennes entreprises pour des activités telles que la recherche appliquée, la conception technique, le développement technologique, la mise à l'essai de produits et l'homologation.

« L'Université de l'EADO considère que nous avons un rôle essentiel à jouer dans le développement économique, apportant les connaissances en matière de conception et les talents des étudiants et de la faculté aux partenariats avec les membres du secteur dynamique des PME dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré Mme Sara Diamond, Ph.D., présidente de l'Université de l'EADO. Nous pouvons créer de nouveaux emplois, des économies, des innovations et de nouveaux produits et services qui sont recherchés au Canada et à l'étranger. Nous remercions l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario de son appui. »

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation est issue directement des commentaires formulés par les chefs d'entreprise, les universitaires et les dirigeants communautaires de partout dans le Sud de l'Ontario, qui ont suggéré à l'Agence de jouer un rôle de chef de file pour combler les lacunes qui séparent la recherche et la commercialisation.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation dans le document d'information.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a récemment lancé une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario 
519-571-6879

Sarah Mulholland
Relations avec les médias
École d'art et de design de l'Ontario
416-977-6000  x.327
416-977-6006
Courriel : smulholland@ocad.ca


Fiche d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation est conçue pour combler le fossé qui sépare la recherche et la commercialisation entre les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire et les petites et moyennes entreprises de l'Ontario. Dans le cadre de cette initiative, FedDev Ontario s'est engagée à verser jusqu'à 15 millions de dollars en 2010 en vue de la réalisation de projets.

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation encourage une plus grande collaboration entre les établissements postsecondaires possédant un savoir-faire en recherche-développement et les petites entreprises désirant combler leurs besoins de précommercialisation. Les objectifs de l'initiative sont d'accélérer l'innovation et d'améliorer la productivité et la compétitivité des entreprises établies dans le Sud de l'Ontario, ainsi que d'encourager d'autres investissements du secteur privé.

Cette initiative appuie les établissements postsecondaires qui offrent des services visant à améliorer l'innovation, la productivité et la commercialisation afin d'aider des entreprises à assurer la mise en marché de nouveaux produits ou processus. Ces activités comprennent :

  • la recherche appliquée en matière de produits et de procédés;
  • la conception technique;
  • le développement technologique;
  • l'essai de produits;
  • l'homologation;
  • la démonstration du bien-fondé de la conception;
  • les projets pilotes et démonstrations;
  • la résolution de problèmes.

Annoncée dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a pour mandat de travailler de concert avec la population, les collectivités et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario à créer les conditions propices à la croissance économique de la région. Dotée d'un mandat de cinq ans et d'un budget de 1 milliard de dollars, l'Agence contribue à la reprise économique soutenue du Sud de l'Ontario afin que la région en émerge en devenant un chef de file mondial plus solide et plus diversifié.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter notre site Web à www.feddevontario.gc.ca, ou faire parvenir un courriel à info@feddevontario.gc.ca ou encore composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

  • Partager
Date de modification :