Archived — Future-Oriented Statement of Operations For the Year Ending March 31, 2012

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Statement of Management Responsibility

Responsibility for the compilation, content, and presentation of the accompanying future-oriented Statement of Operations for the year ending March 31, 2012 and the accompanying notes rests with the management of the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario). The future-oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared by management in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. The future-oriented financial information is submitted in Part III of the Estimates (Report on Plans and Priorities) and will be used in the Departmental Performance Report to compare with actual results.

Management is responsible for the integrity and objectivity of the future-oriented financial information and for the underlying assumptions and estimates which are based on information available and known to management as at January 14, 2011, and assumes a continuation of current governmental priorities and consistency in FedDev Ontario's mandate and strategic objectives. This future-oriented financial information is based on these assumptions, best estimates, and judgment and gives due consideration to materiality. At the time of preparation of this statement, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be fair and reasonable. However, as with all such estimates and assumptions, there is a measure of uncertainty.

Actual results for the fiscal years covered in the accompanying future-oriented financial information will vary from the information presented and these variations may be material.

Dr. B.A. Archibald
President
Dr. Linda Cousineau
Chief Financial Officer

Kitchener, Canada

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations
For the year ending March 31 (in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2011
Forecast
2012
Expenses
Business & Innovation Development 141,000 134,470
Economic Regional Development & Infrastructure 429,700 68,803
Policy, Advocacy and Coordination 2,600 2,056
Internal Services 24,300 18,971
Total Expenses 597,600 224,300
Revenues
Business & Innovation Development - -
Economic Regional Development & Infrastructure - -
Policy, Advocacy and Coordination - -
Internal Services - -
Total Revenues - -
Net Cost of Operations 597,600 224,300

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the future-oriented Statement of Operations.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

1. Authority and Objectives

The Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was established on August 13, 2009. Pursuant to Order-in-Council P.C 2009–1410 amending the Schedule I.1 of the Financial Administration Act the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario was designated as a department.

Additional information is provided in Section I of FedDev Ontario's 2011–2012 Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP).

2. Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the agency as described in the RPP.

The main assumptions are as follows:

  1. The agency's activities will remain substantially the same as the previous year.
  2. Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on 16 months of historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  3. Estimated year-end information for 2010–11 is used as the opening position for the 2011–12 forecasts.

These assumptions are adopted as of January 14, 2011.

3. Variations and Changes to the Forecasted Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to accurately forecast final results for the remainder of 2010–11 and for 2011–12, actual results achieved for both years will vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation may be material.

In preparing the future-oriented Statement of Operations, FedDev Ontario has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and judgements may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and judgements are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented Statement of Operations and the historical Statement of Operations include:

  1. Further changes to the operating budget through additional new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.
  2. The timing and amounts of acquisitions and disposals of tangible capital assets may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.

Once the RPP is presented, FedDev Ontario will not be updating its forecast for any changes to appropriations or forecast financial information made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

4. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared in accordance with the Treasury Board accounting policies stated below, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian generally accepted accounting principles.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

  1. Parliamentary appropriations – FedDev Ontario is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary appropriations. The cash accounting basis is used to recognize transactions affecting parliamentary appropriations. The future-oriented Statement of Operations is based on accrual accounting. Consequently, items presented in the future-oriented Statement of Operations are not necessarily the same as those provided through appropriations from Parliament. Note 5 provides a reconciliation between the bases of reporting.
  2. Revenues – Revenues from regulatory fees are recognized in the accounts based on the services provided in the year. Other revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event occurred that gave rise to the revenues.
  3. Expenses – Expenses are presented on an accrual basis:

    Grants are recognized in the year in which the conditions for payment are met. In the case of grants which do not form part of an existing program, the expense is recognized when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives Parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statements.

    Contributions are recognized in the year in which the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or fulfilled the terms of a contractual transfer agreement, provided that the transfer is authorized and a reasonable estimate can be made.

    Vacation pay and compensatory leave are expensed as the benefits accrue to employees under their respective terms of employment.

    Services provided without charge by other government departments for accommodation, the employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans and legal services are reported as operating expenses at their estimated cost.

  4. Employee future benefits

    Pension benefits - Eligible employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, a multiemployer plan administered by the Government of Canada. FedDev Ontario's contributions to the Plan are charged to expenses in the year incurred and represent the total departmental obligation to the Plan. Current legislation does not require FedDev Ontario to make contributions for any actuarial deficiencies of the Plan.

    Severance benefits - Employees are entitled to severance benefits under labour contracts or conditions of employment. These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them. The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole.

  5. Tangible capital assets – All tangible capital assets and leasehold improvements having an initial cost of $10,000 or more are recorded at their acquisition cost. FedDev Ontario does not capitalize intangibles.

    Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the assets as follows:

    Amortization of tangible capital assets
    Asset Class Amortization Period
    Informatics hardware and software 3 years
    Motor vehicles
    Passenger vehicles and light trucks (less than 1 tonne)
    5 years
    Leasehold improvements Lesser of useful life or remaining term of lease

5. Parliamentary Appropriations

FedDev Ontario receives its funding through annual Parliamentary appropriations. Items recognized in the Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through Parliamentary appropriations in prior, current or future years.

Accordingly, FedDev Ontario has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Authorities requested (in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2011
Forecast
2012
Authorities requested
Vote 50 – Operating expenditures 37,665 25,539
Vote 55 – Grants and Contributions 510,610 191,671
Statutory amounts – Contributions to employee benefit plan 3,431 3,113
Statutory amounts – Community Adjustment Fund 42,500 0
Forecasted authorities available 594,206 220,323

Forecasted authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2012 are the planned spending amounts presented in the 2011–12 RPP. They do not include the Recreational Infrastructure Canada Program (RInC) nor infrastructure programs administered by FedDev Ontario on behalf of other government departments. Estimated authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2011 include amounts presented in the 2010–11 Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) and (B),and estimates of amounts to be allocated at year-end from Treasury Board central votes.

b) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities
(in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2011
Forecast
2012
Net cost of operations 597,600 224,300
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Services provided without charge by other government departments (3,030) (3,561)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (43) (43)
Decrease (Increase) in employee severance benefits (401) (383)
Decrease (Increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave 5 10
  (3,469) (3,977)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisition of tangible capital assets 75 0
Forecasted authorities available 594,206 220,323

FedDev Ontario's severance benefit liability has been adjusted to reflect the demographics of its workforce.

6. Employee Benefits

a) Pension benefits

FedDev Ontario's employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government of Canada. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of thirty-five years at a rate of two percent per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Québec Pension Plan benefits and are indexed to inflation.

Both the employees and the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario contribute to the cost of the Plan. The forecast expenses are $699,000 in 2010–11 and $657,000 in 2011–12 representing approximately 1.9 times the contributions by employees.

FedDev Ontario's responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada as the Plan's sponsor.

b) Severance benefits

FedDev Ontario provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary. These severance benefits are not pre-funded. Benefits will be paid from future appropriations. Information about severance benefits, estimated as at the date of the future-oriented Statement of Operations, is as follows:

Severance benefits, estimated as at the date of the future-oriented Statement of Operations (in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2011
Forecast
2012
Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year 142 543
Expense for the year 401 383
Benefits paid during the year - -
Accrued benefit obligation, end of year 543 926

7. Related Party Transactions

FedDev Ontario is related as a result of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments, agencies, and Crown corporations. FedDev Ontario enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms. Also, during the year, FedDev Ontario receives services which are obtained without charge from other Government departments as presented below.

Services provided without charge

During the year FedDev Ontario received services without charge from certain common service organizations related to accommodation and the employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans. These services without charge are recognized in FedDev Ontario's future-oriented Statement of Operations as follows:

Services provided without charge (in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2011
Forecast
2012
Contributions covering employer's share of employees' insurance premiums and expenditures paid by TBS (excluding revolving funds) 1,081 1,574
Accommodation provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) 1,949 1,987
Total 3,030 3,561

The Government has structured some of its administrative activities for efficiency and cost-effectiveness purposes so that one department performs these on behalf of all without charge. The costs of these services, which include payroll and cheque issuance services provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada and audit services provided by the Office of the Auditor General, are not included as an expense in FedDev Ontario's future-oriented Statement of Operations.

8. Segmented Information

Presentation by segment is based on FedDev Ontario's program activity architecture. The presentation by segment is based on the same accounting policies as described in the Summary of Significant Accounting Policies in Note 4. The following table presents the forecasted expenses incurred and revenues generated for the main program activities, by major object of expenses and by major type of revenues. The forecasted segmented results for the period are as follows:

Forecasted expenses incurred and revenues generated for the main program activities
(in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated 2011 Forecast 2012
Business and Innovation Development Economic Regional Development and Infrastructure Policy, Advocacy and Coordination Internal Services 2012 Total
Transfer Payments
Grants 32,900   1,200     1,200
Contributions 520,130 127,200 63,271     190,471
Total Transfer Payments 553,030 127,200 64,471 - - 191,671
Operating Expenses
Employee Benefits 5,100 886 538 247 3,409 5,080
Salaries and Wages 17,700 5,214 3,162 1,453 7,467 17,296
Transportation and Communications 2,249       1,225 1,225
Information 273       174 174
Professional and Special Services (including expenditures internal to government $3,614K) 14,133 1,170 632 356 3,801 5,959
Rentals 391       12 12
Purchased Repair and Maintenance 1,404       180 180
Utilities, Materials and Supplies 196       160 160
Acquisition of Land, Buildings and Works -       - -
Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment 861       332 332
Amortization 43       43 43
Other Services and Non-Cash Items (PWGSC accommodations at no charge) 1,949       1,987 1,987
Capital 75       - -
Other Subsidies and Payments 196       200 200
Total Operating Expenses 44,570 7,270 4,332 2,056 18,991 32,649
Total Expenses 597,600 134,470 68,803 2,056 18,991 224,320
Total Revenues - - - - - -
Net Cost From Continuing Operations 597,600 134,470 68,803 2,056 18,991 224,320
Date modified:

Archivé — Rapport sur les plans et les priorités, Budget des dépenses 2011-2012

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Déclaration de responsabilité de la direction

La responsabilité de la compilation, du contenu et de la présentation de l'état des résultats prospectif pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 et les notes complémentaires repose sur la direction de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Cet état des résultats prospectif a été préparé par la direction conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui s'appuient sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. L'information financière prospective est présentée à la partie III du Budget des dépenses (Rapport sur les plans et les priorités) et sera utilisée dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement aux fins de comparaison avec les résultats réels.

La direction est responsable de l'intégrité et de l'objectivité de l'information financière prospective ainsi que des hypothèses et des estimations qui sont fondées sur les renseignements disponibles et connus par la direction en date du 14 janvier 2011. Ces hypothèses et estimations supposent un maintien des priorités gouvernementales actuelles et une adéquation avec le mandat et les objectifs stratégiques de FedDev Ontario. Cette information financière prospective est basée sur ces hypothèses, sur les meilleures estimations et sur le jugement de la direction et tiennent compte de l'importance relative. Au moment de la préparation de cet état, la direction juge les estimations et les hypothèses justes et raisonnables. Cependant, comme pour toutes les estimations et les hypothèses, un certain degré d'incertitude demeure.

Les résultats réels pour les exercices couverts par l'information financière prospective ci-jointe différeront de l'information présentée et ces écarts peuvent être importants.

M. B.A. Archibald (Ph.D.)
Président
Mme Linda Cousineau (Ph.D.)
Dirigeante principale des finances

À Kitchener (Canada),

État des résultats prospectif
Pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars
(en milliers de dollars)
  Estimations
2011
Prévisions
2012
Charges
Développement des entreprises et innovation 141 000 134 470
Développement économique régional et infrastructure 429 700 68 803
Politique 2 600 2 056
Services internes 24 300 18 971
Total des charges 597 600 224 300
Revenus
Développement des entreprises et innovation - -
Développement économique régional et infrastructure - -
Politique - -
Services internes - -
Coût de fonctionnement net 597 600 224 300

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l'état des résultats prospectif.

Notes complémentaires à l'état des résultats prospectif

1. Autorisation et objectifs

L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a été créée le 13 août 2009. Conformément au décret en conseil C.P. 2009-1410 modifiant l'Annexe I.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario a été désignée comme étant un ministère.

Des informations supplémentaires sont fournies à la section I du Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) de FedDev Ontario pour 2011-2012.

2. Hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans de l'Agence qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les principales hypothèses utilisées sont :

  1. Les activités de l'Agence resteront, pour l'essentiel, les mêmes que l'an dernier.
  2. Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont basés sur l'expérience acquise au cours des 16 premiers mois. La tendance générale historique devrait se poursuivre.
  3. L'information estimative de fin d'exercice pour 2010-2011 représente la situation financière initiale pour établir les prévisions de 2011-2012.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 14 janvier 2011.

3. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tout a été fait pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2010-2011 et pour 2011-2012, les résultats réels des deux exercices varieront par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et cet écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de l'état des résultats prospectif, FedDev Ontario a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et jugements pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les jugements sont évalués de façon continue et sont fondés sur l'expérience acquise et d'autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et l'état des résultats historique sont notamment :

  1. Des modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement, en raison de nouvelles initiatives ou d'ajustements techniques mis en œuvre plus tard au courant de l'exercice;
  2. Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations d'immobilisations corporelles peuvent influer sur les gains/pertes et les charges d'amortissement.

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, FedDev Ontario ne mettra pas à jour les prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux crédits ou aux prévisions financières dans les budgets supplémentaires. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

4. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor énoncées plus bas, lesquelles s'appuient sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucun écart important par rapport aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

  1. Crédits parlementairesFedDev Ontario est financée par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen de crédits parlementaires. Les opérations touchant les crédits parlementaires sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité de caisse. Alors que l'état des résultats prospectif est établi selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Par conséquent, les postes consignés dans l'état des résultats prospectif ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux correspondant aux crédits parlementaires. La note 5 présente un rapprochement entre les deux méthodes de comptabilisation.
  2. Revenus – Les revenus provenant de droits réglementaires sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l'exercice. Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l'exercice où les opérations ou les faits sous-jacents surviennent.
  3. Charges – Elles sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice :

    Les subventions sont comptabilisées dans l'exercice au cours duquel les critères de paiement sont satisfaits. En ce qui concerne les subventions ne faisant pas partie d'un programme existant, la charge est constatée lorsque le gouvernement annonce la décision d'effectuer un transfert ponctuel, dans la mesure où le Parlement a approuvé la loi habilitante ou l'autorisation des paiements avant que les états financiers ne soient achevés.

    Les contributions sont comptabilisées dans l'exercice au cours duquel le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité ou a rempli les conditions de l'accord de transfert, pourvu que le transfert ait été autorisé et qu'une estimation raisonnable puisse être établie.

    Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi.

    Les services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires et les services juridiques sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.

  4. Avantages sociaux futurs

    Prestations de retraite – Les employés admissibles participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, un régime à employeurs multiples administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les cotisations de FedDev Ontario au régime sont passées en charges dans l'exercice au cours duquel elles ont été engagées et représentent l'obligation totale de l'Agence à l'égard du régime. En vertu des dispositions législatives en vigueur, FedDev Ontario n'est pas tenue de verser des cotisations au titre de l'insuffisance actuarielle du régime.

    Indemnités de départ – Les employés ont droit aux indemnités de départ prévues dans leurs conventions collectives ou conditions d'emploi. Le coût de ces indemnités s'accumule à mesure que les employés rendent les services y donnant droit. Le coût des avantages sociaux gagnés par les employés est calculé à l'aide de l'information tirée des résultats du passif déterminé sur une base actuarielle au titre des prestations de départ pour l'ensemble du gouvernement.

    Immobilisations corporelles – Toutes les immobilisations corporelles et les améliorations locatives dont le coût initial est d'au moins 10 000 dollars sont comptabilisées à leur coût d'achat. FedDev Ontario n'inscrit pas les biens incorporels à l'actif.

    Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'immobilisation, comme suit :

    Immobilisations corporelles
    Catégorie d'immobilisation Période d'amortissement
    Matériel et logiciels informatiques 3 ans
    Véhicules à moteur   
    Véhicule à passager et véhicule utilitaire léger (< 1 tonne)  5 ans
    Améliorations locatives La plus courte des durées suivantes : la durée de vie utile ou la durée du bail restante

5. Crédits parlementaires

FedDev Ontario reçoit son financement sous forme de crédits parlementaires annuels. Les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats d'un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans un exercice précédent, pendant l'exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans un exercice futur.

En conséquence, les résultats de fonctionnement nets de FedDev Ontario diffèrent selon qu'ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Autorisations demandées
(en milliers de dollars)
  Estimations
2011
Prévisions
2012
Crédit 50 – Dépenses d'exploitation 37 665 25 539
Crédit 55 – Subventions et contributions 510 610 191 671
Montants législatifs – Cotisations au régime d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 431 3 113
Montants législatifs – Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités 42 500 0
Autorisations prévues disponibles 594 206 220 323

Les autorisations demandées prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 représentent les montants des dépenses prévues inscrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités de 2011-2012. Ils n'incluent ni le programme d'infrastructures de loisirs Canada (ILC) ni les programmes d'infrastructure administrés par FedDev Ontario au nom d'autres ministères. Les autorisations demandées estimatives pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 comprennent les montants présentés dans le Budget des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses (A) et (B) de 2010-2011, et les montants estimatifs, à la fin de l'exercice, des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

(b) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorités demandées:
  Estimations 2011 Prévisions 2012
Coût de fonctionnement net 597 600 224 300
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût net de fonctionnement net mais qui ne touchent pas les autorisations :
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (3 030) 3 561)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (43)  (43)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de départ des employés (401)  (383)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires 5  10
  (3 469) (3 977)
Rajustements pour les postes n'ayant pas d'incidence sur le coût net de fonctionnement mais qui touchent les autorisations :
Acquisitions d'immobilisations corporelles 75 0
Autorisations prévues disponibles 594 206 220 323

Le passif au titre des indemnités de départ de FedDev Ontario a été ajusté afin de tenir compte des données démographiques de ses effectifs.

6. Avantages sociaux

a) Prestations de retraite

Les employés de FedDev Ontario participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s'accumulent sur une période maximale de trente-cinq ans au taux de deux p. 100 par année de services ouvrant droit à pension multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l'inflation.

Les employés et l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario versent tous des cotisations couvrant le coût du régime. Les charges prévues à ce titre s'élèvent à 699 000 dollars en 2010-2011 et à 657 000 dollars en 2011-2012, soit environ 1,9 fois les cotisations des employés.

La responsabilité de FedDev Ontario relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées. Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du gouvernement du Canada, en sa qualité de répondant du régime.

b) Indemnités de départ

FedDev Ontario verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction de l'admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire final. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d'avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les crédits futurs. Voici des informations sur les indemnités de départ estimatives en date de l'état des résultats prospectif :

Indemnités de départ
(en milliers de dollars)
  Estimations 2011 Prévisions 2012
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, début de l'exercice 142 543
Charge pour l'exercice 401 383
Indemnités de départ versées pendant l'exercice - -
Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, fin de l'exercice 543 926

7. Opérations avec des parties liées

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, FedDev Ontario est liée à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d'État du gouvernement du Canada. FedDev Ontario conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales. De plus, pendant l'exercice, FedDev Ontario reçoit des services gratuitement d'autres ministères qui sont décrits ci-dessous.

Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères

Au cours de l'exercice, l'Agence reçoit gratuitement d'autres organisations de services communs des services en lien avec les locaux, les frais juridiques et avec les cotisations de l'employeur au régime de soins de santé et au régime de soins dentaires. Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l'état des résultats prospectif de l'Agence :

Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères
(en milliers de dollars)
  Estimations 2011 Prévisions 2012
Cotisations couvrant la part de l'employeur des régimes d'assurance des employés et des dépenses engagées par le SCT (à l'exclusion des fonds renouvelables) 1 081 1 574
Locaux fournis par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) 1 949 1 987
Total 3 030   3 561

Le gouvernement a structuré certaines de ses activités administratives de manière à optimiser l'efficience et l'efficacité de sorte qu'un seul ministère mène certaines activités au nom de tous sans frais. Les coûts de ces services, qui comprennent les services de paye et d'émission des chèques offerts par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et les services de vérification offerts par le Bureau du vérificateur général, ne sont pas inclus à titre de charge dans l'état des résultats prospectif de l'Agence.

8. Information segmentée

La présentation par segment est basée sur l'architecture d'activités de programme de FedDev Ontario. La présentation par segment est fondée sur les mêmes conventions comptables décrites dans le sommaire des conventions comptables importantes à la note 4. Le tableau suivant présente les dépenses prévues engagées et les revenus générés pour les principales activités de programme, par article de dépense principal et par type de revenu principal. Les résultats prévus segmentés pour la période sont les suivants:

Dépenses prévues engagées et les revenus générés pour les principales activités de programme
(en milliers de dollars)
  Estimations pour 2011 Prévisions 2012
Développement des entreprises et de l'innovation Développement économique régional et infrastructure Politique, représentation et coordination Services internes Total pour 2012
Paiements de transfert
Subventions 32 900   1 200     1 200
Contributions 520 130 127 200 63 271       190 471
Total – paiements de transfert 553 030 127 200 64 471 - - 191 671
Dépenses de fonctionnement
Avantages sociaux des employés 5 100 886 538 247 3 409 5 080
Salaires 17 700 5 214 3 162 1 453 7 467 17 296
Transport et communications 2 249       1 225 1 225
Services d'information 273         174   174
Services professionnels et spéciaux (y compris les dépenses internes au gouvernement 3 614 000 $) 14 133 1 170 632 356 3 801 5 959
Locations   391       12 12
Achats de services de réparation et d'entretien 1 404         180 180
Services publics, matériel et fournitures   196         160   160
Acquisition de terrains, bâtiments et ouvrages -       - -
Acquisition de machinerie et d'équipement   861       332 332
Amortissement   43         43   43
Autres services et éléments hors trésorerie (locaux de TPSGC sans frais) 1 949       1 987 1 987
Immobilisations   75       - -
Autres subventions et paiements   196       200 200
Total – dépenses de fonctionnement 44 570   7 270   4 332   2 056 18 991 32 649
Total – dépenses  597 600   134 470    68 803   2 056 18 991 224 320
Total – revenus - - - - - -
Coût net – poursuite des activités 597 600 134 470 68 803 2 056 18 991 224 320
Date de modification :