Archived — Economic Action Plan Invests in Jobs and Growth in Stratford

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear was at Powernoodle with Frank Erschen, Deb Krizmanich and MP Gary Schellenberger to announce funding for the company under FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative.

(L-R): Frank Erschen, of the Golden Triangle Angel Network, Deb Krizmanich, president and CEO of Powernoodle Inc., Gary Schellenberger, MP for Perth-Wellington, and the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Minister Goodyear was at Powernoodle to announce more than $960,000 in funding for the company under FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
March 15, 2011

Stratford, Ontario — Powernoodle Inc. will have greater opportunities to thrive and grow in the global marketplace, thanks to a new investment by the Government of Canada, announced today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Gary Schellenberger, Member of Parliament for Perth-Wellington, joined Minister Goodyear for the announcement.

"Our government is investing in the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario to create jobs and encourage economic growth,” said Minister Goodyear. "This investment in Powernoodle Inc. will give the company better access to capital so it can get its ideas into the marketplace and expand its business.”

With a repayable contribution of $961,067 through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative, Powernoodle Inc. will expand its web-based, interactive meeting tool that clients can use to manage their meetings more effectively in a virtual environment.

"We recognize that innovation holds the key to long-term economic stability for southern Ontario, and for all of Canada,” said MP Schellenberger. "Our government is working to make the most of our opportunities to innovate, adapt and grow, and secure a prosperous future for the region.”

"We are thrilled with the Investing in Business Innovation program which will enable our product roadmap and growth by investing in the local economy through jobs and services,” says Powernoodle Inc. President and CEO Deb Krizmanich. "Powernoodle is a global product, serving a global market and solving global organizational issues and FedDev Ontario's support in combination with funding from the Golden Triangle Angel Network (GTAN) investors will enable us to excel on that global stage.”

The Investing in Business Innovation Initiative is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in addressing funding gaps for emerging innovative businesses.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For media enquiries:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599
Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Backgrounder

Investing in Business Innovation

FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market. Funding is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca

Contribution to Powernoodle

FedDev Ontario is providing Powernoodle Inc. with a repayable contribution of $961,067 to allow the company to expand its web-based software service and achieve greater market reach. The funding being provided by the Agency is being matched 200 per cent by funding from investors who are members of the Golden Triangle Angel Network.

Powernoodle Inc. is a Software as a Service company that allows organizations to run virtual and asynchronous meetings online. The company was officially launched in February 2011. More information is available at www.powernoodle.com.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le Plan d'action économique investit dans les emplois et la croissance à Stratford

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear était à Powernoodle avec Frank Erschen, Deb Krizmanich et le député Gary Schellenberger pour annoncer un financement pour l'entreprise dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario.

(G-D): Frank Erschen, du Golden Triangle Angel Network, Deb Krizmanich, présidente et chef de la direction de Powernoodle Inc., Gary Schellenberger, député de Perth-Wellington, et l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Le ministre Goodyear était à Powernoodle pour annoncer un financement dépassant 960 000 dollars pour l'entreprise dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour publication immédiate
Le 15 mars 2011

Stratford (Ontario) — Powernoodle Inc. jouira de meilleures occasions de prospérer et de croître sur le marché mondial grâce à un nouvel investissement réalisé par le gouvernement du Canada et annoncé aujourd'hui par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Gary Schellenberger, député fédéral de Perth-Wellington, s'est joint au ministre Goodyear pour l'annonce.

« Le gouvernement investit dans les gens, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario pour créer des emplois et stimuler la croissance économique, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement dans Powernoodle Inc. donnera à l'entreprise un meilleur accès au capital afin qu'elle puisse mettre en marché ses idées et accroître ses activités. »

Grâce à une contribution remboursable de 961 067 dollars, accordée dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario, Powernoodle Inc. continuera d'enrichir son outil Web pour réunions interactives que les clients peuvent utiliser pour gérer leurs réunions plus efficacement dans un environnement virtuel.

« Nous reconnaissons que l'innovation est essentielle à la stabilité économique à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario, et pour le Canada dans son ensemble, a déclaré le député Schellenberger. Le gouvernement s'emploie à profiter au maximum des possibilités qui s'offrent à nous d'innover, de nous adapter et de croître, et d'assurer un avenir prospère à la région. »

« Nous sommes très satisfaits de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises qui permettra de renforcer notre portefeuille de produits et notre croissance en investissant dans l'économie locale par la création d'emplois et la prestation de services, a déclaré la présidente et chef de la direction de Powernoodle Inc., Deb Krizmanich. Powernoodle est un produit mondial, s'adressant à un marché mondial et apportant des solutions à des problèmes organisationnels à l'échelle planétaire. L'aide allouée par FedDev Ontario, combinée au financement provenant des investisseurs du Golden Triangle Angel Network (GTAN), nous permettra donc d'exceller sur la scène internationale. »

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises résulte directement des commentaires formulés par des chefs d'entreprise, des universitaires et des dirigeants communautaires de tout le Sud de l'Ontario, qui ont suggéré que FedDev Ontario joue un rôle de premier plan pour combler les manques de financement des nouvelles entreprises novatrices.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par l'entremise de partenariats et d'investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599
Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Fiche d'information

Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario vise à renforcer les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage afin d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, procédés et pratiques et de les commercialiser. Le financement offert permettra également aux réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et à leurs associations d'attirer de nouveaux investissements et de soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissements providentiels.

Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées en permanence. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et présenter une demande, veuillez vous référer aux lignes directrices du programme, figurant sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Contribution à Powernoodle Inc.

FedDev Ontario octroie à Powernoodle Inc. une contribution remboursable de 961 067 dollars pour permettre à l'entreprise d'enrichir son logiciel Web de service et d'élargir son marché. Un financement de contrepartie, à hauteur de 200 p. 100, provenant d'investisseurs qui sont membres du Golden Triangle Angel Network viendra s'ajouter au financement alloué par l'Agence.

Powernoodle Inc. est une entreprise Logiciel en tant que service (Software as a Service) qui permet aux organisations de tenir des réunions virtuelles et asynchrones en ligne. L'entreprise a été officiellement lancée en février 2011. Plus de renseignements figurent sur le site www.powernoodle.com.

  • Partager
Date de modification :