Archived — Government of Canada Celebrates Upgrades Underway at the Robert McLaughlin Gallery in Oshawa

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
March 18, 2011

Oshawa, Ontario – Colin Carrie, Member of Parliament for Oshawa, visited the Robert McLaughlin Gallery to celebrate the progress of a renovation project funded through Canada's Economic Action Plan.

"I'm pleased to see the upgrades underway for this important community project, which has created jobs and will enhance the experience of tourists," said MP Carrie. "Our government is investing in Canada's artistic and cultural heritage, creating jobs in our communities, and supporting the workers and businesses of southern Ontario."

The Government of Canada is contributing $1.1 million to the project through the Community Adjustment Fund. The renovation project includes repairs to the roof, installation of a new energy efficient Heating, Ventilating and Air Conditioning system, and the replacement of the fire suppression system. The project will improve the overall energy efficiency of the building and has resulted in 27 construction jobs.

"On May 20, 2010, the federal government announced over one million dollars of funding through the Community Adjustment Fund to the Robert McLaughlin Gallery in Oshawa's vibrant, strong and progressive community," said John Henry, Mayor of the City of Oshawa. "Today, gathered in one of Oshawa's finest jewels, we witness the progress of these improvements and champion investments in the preservation of fine art in our community."

The Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario creates immediate employment opportunities and support for local economies that have been struggling with the effects of the global economic downturn.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505. For additional information on Canada's Economic Action Plan, visit www.actionplan.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599
Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada célèbre les rénovations en cours à la Galerie Robert McLaughlin à Oshawa

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 18 mars 2011

Oshawa (Ontario) — Colin Carrie, député d'Oshawa, a visité la Galerie Robert McLaughlin pour célébrer l'avancement d'un projet de rénovation financé aux termes du Plan d'action économique du Canada.

« Je suis ravi de voir les améliorations apportées actuellement dans le cadre de cet important projet communautaire, qui a créé des emplois et rehaussera l'expérience des touristes, a déclaré le député Carrie. Le gouvernement investit dans le patrimoine artistique et culturel du Canada, ce qui créera des emplois dans nos collectivités et soutiendra les travailleurs et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario. »

Le gouvernement du Canada alloue 1,1 million de dollars au projet dans le cadre du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités. Le projet de rénovation comprend des réparations au toit, l'installation d'un nouveau système de chauffage, de ventilation et de climatisation éconergétique, et le remplacement du système d'extinction des incendies. Le projet permettra d'améliorer l'efficacité énergétique globale de l'édifice et a généré 27 emplois dans le secteur de la construction.

« Le 20 mai 2010, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé un financement de plus d'un million de dollars aux termes du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités à l'intention de la Galerie Robert McLaughlin, située dans la collectivité dynamique, solide et progressive d'Oshawa, a déclaré John Henry, maire d'Oshawa. Réunis aujourd'hui dans l'un des plus beaux joyaux d'Oshawa, nous constatons l'avancement de ces travaux d'amélioration et plaidons en faveur des investissements dans la préservation des beaux-arts de notre collectivité. »

Le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités dans le Sud de l'Ontario crée des possibilités d'emploi immédiates et vient en aide aux économies locales aux prises avec les répercussions du ralentissement économique à l'échelle mondiale.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par l'entremise de partenariats et d'investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505. Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur le Plan d'action économique du Canada, veuillez consulter le site www.plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599
Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Partager
Date de modification :