Archived — Minister Goodyear Highlights the Next Phase of Canada's Economic Action Plan’s Benefits to Kitchener-Waterloo-Cambridge

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Government of Canada committed to a Low-Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth

For immediate release
March 23, 2011

Waterloo, Ontario – the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, today highlighted benefits to families and businesses in Kitchener-Waterloo-Cambridge in the Next Phase of Canada's Economic Action Plan. While speaking to the Kitchener-Waterloo Chamber of Commerce, the minister emphasized the government's low-tax plan for jobs and growth, which keeps the government on track to return to balanced budgets.

"The Next Phase of Canada's Economic Action Plan reiterates our government's commitment to keeping our economy as our top priority," said Minister Goodyear. "We are providing the necessary tools to unleash the potential that exists here in southern Ontario, create jobs and provide new opportunities for businesses to expand and reach new markets."

Building on the sustainable, low-tax environment and growth-friendly policies put in place since 2006, the Next Phase of Canada's Economic Action Plan will focus on supporting job creation, supporting families and communities, investing in innovation, education and training, and preserving Canada's fiscal advantage.

"This budget demonstrates the Government of Canada's commitment to the economic well-being of the people of Waterloo Region," said Peter Braid, Member of Parliament for Kitchener-Waterloo. "It will ensure we can continue to address the unique needs of this region, and make a meaningful difference for our families, businesses and community organizations."

During his speech, Minister Goodyear discussed a new $50-million five-year investment in the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics to support its leading research, education and public outreach activities and additional government commitments in support of research, development and higher education, such as establishing 30 Industrial Research Chairs at colleges and polytechnics and extending advanced research for students at these institutions.

The Minister also mentioned measures that benefit small businesses across the country and in the Kitchener-Waterloo region, such as the extension of the accelerated capital cost allowance rate for investment in manufacturing or processing machinery and equipment for two years.

The Next Phase of Canada's Economic Action Plan provides benefits to families and businesses, a low-tax plan for jobs and growth, which keeps the Government on track to return to balanced budgets in the medium term.

For additional information on the Next Phase of the Government's Economic Action plan, please visit www.actionplan.gc.ca

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599
Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879
  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear souligne les avantages de la prochaine phase du Plan d’action économique du Canada pour Kitchener-Waterloo-Cambridge

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le gouvernement du Canada est engagé à maintenir les impôts bas pour stimuler la croissance et l'emploi

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 23 mars 2011

Waterloo (Ontario) – L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, a souligné aujourd'hui les avantages que tireront les familles et les entreprises de Kitchener-Waterloo-Cambridge au cours de la prochaine phase du Plan d'action économique du Canada. Dans son discours devant la Chambre de commerce de Kitchener et Waterloo, le ministre a mis l'accent sur l'engagement du gouvernement à maintenir les impôts bas pour stimuler la croissance et l'emploi, une mesure qui permettra au gouvernement de rester sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l'équilibre budgétaire.

« La prochaine phase du Plan d'action économique du Canada réitère l'engagement pris par notre gouvernement à continuer à faire de l'économie notre première priorité, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Nous fournissons les outils nécessaires à la libération du potentiel qui existe ici même dans le Sud de l'Ontario, à la création d'emplois et à l'offre de nouvelles possibilités permettant aux entreprises de prendre de l'expansion et d'atteindre de nouveaux marchés. »

Prenant appui sur le contexte durable caractérisé par des impôts peu élevés et sur les politiques favorables à la croissance adoptées depuis 2006, la prochaine phase du Plan d'action économique du Canada visera à soutenir la création d'emplois, à venir en aide aux familles et aux collectivités, à investir dans l'innovation, l'éducation et la formation, et à préserver l'avantage financier du Canada.

« Ce budget prouve l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada à assurer le bien-être des habitants de la région de Waterloo, a déclaré Peter Braid, le député de Kitchener-Waterloo. Cela nous permettra de continuer à répondre aux besoins uniques de cette région et d'apporter une contribution significative à nos familles, à nos entreprises et à nos organismes communautaires. »

Pendant son discours, le ministre Goodyear a parlé du nouvel investissement de 50 millions de dollars sur cinq ans octroyé au Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics dans le but de soutenir ses activités de pointe dans la recherche, l'éducation et la sensibilisation du public, ainsi que d'autres engagements du gouvernement à l'appui de la recherche, du développement et de l'éducation supérieure, y compris la nomination de 30 professeurs-chercheurs industriels dans les collèges et les écoles polytechniques et l'encouragement de la recherche avancée chez les étudiants qui fréquentent ces établissements.

Le ministre a aussi mentionné des mesures qui profiteront aux petites entreprises de l'ensemble du pays et dans la région de Kitchener-Waterloo, comme la prolongation de deux ans de la déduction pour amortissement accéléré temporaire pour les investissements en machines et en matériaux de fabrication ou de transformation.

La prochaine phase du Plan d'action économique du Canada, des impôts bas pour stimuler la croissance et l'emploi, dont les familles et les entreprises profiteront, assure la bonne direction prise par le gouvernement pour rétablir l'équilibre budgétaire à moyen terme.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la prochaine phase du Plan d'action économique du gouvernement, veuillez visiter le www.plandaction.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599
Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Partager
Date de modification :