Archived — Government of Canada Continues Support for Jobs and Growth in Rural Eastern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Kitchener, Ontario – The Government of Canada yesterday demonstrated its continued commitment to economic development, job creation and growth in rural eastern Ontario with a proposed two-year renewal of the Eastern Ontario Development Program. The renewal was included as part of the next phase of Canada's Economic Action Plan highlighted in Budget 2011-12, and subject to Parliamentary approval. The program is delivered by the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our government wants to make sure that the hard-working families and businesses of rural Ontario have the tools they need to succeed," said the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario. "The Eastern Ontario Development Program is an important tool in FedDev Ontario's support of rural communities throughout eastern Ontario and I am thrilled to see that it will be renewed for another two years."

The Eastern Ontario Development Program promotes socio-economic development in eastern Ontario by creating, building and developing the necessary conditions to increase business and employment opportunities in the area. The program has encouraged new projects and community plans, mobilized community stakeholders and helped to form partnerships.

The Government of Canada's renewed commitment to the program is based on its success and a strong delivery model in partnership with the Community Futures Development Corporations located throughout eastern Ontario. Since it was launched, the program has led to the investment of more than $55 million through 5,300 business and community development projects. The renewed Eastern Ontario Development Program will focus on ensuring that the program is delivered as effectively as possible for the businesses and communities of Eastern Ontario. More information will be provided by FedDev Ontario in the coming months.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern and eastern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantageand place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599
Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada continue de soutenir la création d’emplois et la croissance dans les régions rurales de l'Est de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le mercredi 23 mars 2011

Kitchener (Ontario) – Le gouvernement du Canada a montré hier qu'il continue à se mobiliser en faveur du développement économique, de la création d'emplois et de la croissance dans les régions rurales de l'Est de l'Ontario par sa proposition de prolonger le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario pour deux ans. Cette prolongation faisait partie de la phase suivante du Plan d'action économique du Canada, tel que souligné dans le budget de 2011-12 et assujetti à l'approbation parlementaire. Le Programme est mis en œuvre par l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Le gouvernement veut s'assurer que les entreprises et les familles de travailleurs dans les régions rurales de l'Ontario disposent des outils dont elles ont besoin pour réussir, a déclaré l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario. Le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario représente un outil important permettant à FedDev Ontario de soutenir les collectivités rurales dans tout l'Est de l'Ontario, et je suis ravi de voir qu'il a été renouvelé pour deux années supplémentaires. »

Le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario (PDEO) favorise le développement socioéconomique dans l'Est de l'Ontario en créant, en établissant et en développant les conditions nécessaires à la croissance des entreprises et à l'accroissement des occasions d'emploi dans la région. Le Programme a favorisé la réalisation de nouveaux projets et de plans communautaires, mobilisé les intervenants communautaires et contribué à la création de partenariats.

L'engagement renouvelé du gouvernement du Canada à l'égard du Programme est fondé sur le succès de ce dernier et un modèle d'exécution solide en partenariat avec les Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) situées dans l'Est de l'Ontario. Depuis son lancement, le Programme a donné lieu à des investissements de plus de 55 millions de dollars dans le cadre de 5 300 projets de développement communautaire et de développement d'entreprises. Le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario renouvelé tentera d'assurer que le programme est mis en œuvre aussi efficacement que possible pour les entreprises et les collectivités de l'Est de l'Ontario. FedDev Ontario fournira de plus amples renseignements au cours des prochains mois.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a récemment lancé une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par l'entremise de partenariats et d'investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599
Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

  • Partager
Date de modification :