Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Science Education

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Deep River Science Academy to Bring Research Projects from the Lab to the Classroom

For immediate release
July 25, 2011

Deep River, Ontario — Students in southern Ontario will have new opportunities to learn about scientific research and development thanks to a Government of Canada investment in the Deep River Science Academy (DRSA), announced today by Cheryl Gallant, Member of Parliament for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke.

"Our government recognizes that to keep southern Ontario's economy growing and to create jobs in the future, more young people need to pursue an education or career in science, technology, engineering and mathematics," said MP Gallant. "I am pleased that the Deep River Science Academy will be able to expand on its successful summer science immersion program and bring online learning activities to classrooms throughout the school year."

With FedDev Ontario funding of up to $132,777, DRSA will deliver Inreach, a long-distance, web-based education program connecting high school students in classrooms to university-level researchers conducting lab experiments. Prepared video clips of the experiment will be posted online for student viewing, followed by weekly interactive sessions with tutors and research supervisors working at the Neutron Beam Centre in Atomic Energy of Canada's lab facilities in Chalk River. Students will have an opportunity to provide input on the experiments and also travel to the lab during the school term for a site visit. It is expected that the inaugural launch of DRSA Inreach will be in September 2011.

The investment is being provided through FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM Initiative, aimed at encouraging students in kindergarten through grade 12 to pursue an education or career in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

"We are very pleased to have been awarded funding through the STEM Initiative," said Karen Sullivan, Executive Director of the Deep River Science Academy. "With this funding, we look forward to providing enrichment during the school year to engage youth in science and engineering research. The Inreach program will allow students the opportunity to make real contributions to the body of scientific knowledge as they work with professional scientists in ongoing research projects."

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans l'enseignement des sciences

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

La Deep River Science Academy apporte les projets de recherche des laboratoires en classe

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 25 juillet 2011

Deep River (Ontario) — Les étudiants du Sud de l'Ontario se verront offrir la possibilité d'en savoir davantage sur la recherche et le développement scientifiques grâce à un investissement du gouvernement du Canada dans la Deep River Science Academy (DRSA). C'est ce qu'a annoncé aujourd'hui Mme Cheryl Gallant, députée de Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke.

« Notre gouvernement reconnaît que pour aider l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario à poursuivre sa croissance et pour créer des emplois pour l'avenir, il faut que davantage de jeunes suivent leurs études ou fassent carrière dans le domaine des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques, a déclaré la députée Gallant. Je suis heureuse que la Deep River Science Academy puisse élargir son réputé programme d'été d'immersion en sciences et faire bénéficier les classes d'activités d'apprentissage en ligne tout au long de l'année scolaire. »

Grâce à ce financement de FedDev Ontario d'un montant s'élevant jusqu'à 132 777 $, la DRSA lancera le programme Inreach, un programme d'éducation Web à longue distance qui relie des étudiants des écoles secondaires à des chercheurs universitaires menant des expériences en laboratoire. Des vidéoclips des expériences seront affichés en ligne pour que les étudiants puissent les visionner, le tout suivi de séances interactives hebdomadaires avec des moniteurs et des superviseurs de recherche travaillant au Centre canadien de faisceaux de neutrons, dans les installations des laboratoires d'Énergie atomique du Canada, à Chalk River. Au cours de l'année scolaire, les étudiants auront la possibilité de commenter les expériences et de se rendre aux laboratoires pour en faire la visite. Le lancement du programme Inreach de la DRSA devrait avoir lieu en septembre 2011.

Cet investissement est fait en vertu de Jeunesse en STIM, une initiative de FedDev Ontario qui vise à encourager les jeunes, de la maternelle à la 12e année, à suivre des études ou à faire carrière dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM).

« Nous sommes heureux de bénéficier de ce financement dans le cadre de l'initiative STIM, a déclaré Mme Karen Sullivan, directrice générale de la Deep River Science Academy. Grâce à ces fonds, nous serons en mesure d'enrichir le programme scolaire au cours de l'année et de faire participer les jeunes à la recherche en sciences et en génie. Dans le cadre du programme Inreach, les étudiants auront la possibilité de contribuer concrètement à l'ensemble des connaissances scientifiques du fait qu'ils travailleront avec des scientifiques professionnels à des projets de recherche en temps réel. »

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour appuyer les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et a tout mis en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par l'entremise de partenariats et d'investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario 
519-571-6879

Date de modification :