Archived — Annual Report to Parliament — Access to Information Act

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Table of Contents


Introduction

The Access to Information Act gives Canadian citizens as well as people and corporations present in Canada the right to have access to federal government records that are not of a personal nature. The Act complements but does not replace other procedures for obtaining government information. It is not intended to limit in any way the access to government information that is normally available to the public upon request.

About the Organization

The Economic Action Plan introduced in Budget 2009 provided $1 billion over five years for a new Southern Ontario development agency to support restructuring, community and business development, innovation and commercialization initiatives, and other measures to promote economic diversification in Southern Ontario. The Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) was formally established on August 13, 2009.

The Agency is charged with delivering federal government economic development programs tailored to the specific priorities of workers, businesses and communities in Southern Ontario. The mandate of FedDev Ontario is to help support excellence by making the Southern Ontario economy and its communities more competitive, innovative and diversified.

FedDev Ontario is headquartered in Kitchener and has offices in Stratford, Peterborough, Toronto and Ottawa. According to the 2006 Census, this area has a population of over 11 million, representing approximately 93% of Ontario's total population and 36% of the total population of Canada.

FedDev Ontario is part of the Industry portfolio. Its President oversees the Agency operations and resources, and reports to the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology) (Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario).

Structure of the Access to Information and Privacy Office

Responsibility for processing requests received under the Act rests with the Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Coordinator who reports to the Corporate Secretary of the Agency. The ATIP Office is located in Ottawa. The ATIP Coordinator oversees the implementation of the Act within FedDev Ontario, and ensures compliance with the legislation. One junior officer is also part of the ATIP Office. You will find in Annex A the organizational chart of the ATIP Office.

top of page

Delegation of Authority

For the period August 13, 2009 to March 31, 2010, the signing authority for the administration of the Access to Information Act remained with the President of FedDev Ontario. A delegation order is being prepared for the next reporting period.

Statistics

FedDev Ontario is a new organization and only two requests were received from August 13, 2009 to March 31, 2010. A summarized statistical report on Access to Information Act requests is attached as Annex B.

Of the two requests processed during this reporting period, one was completed and one was carried forward to the next reporting period.

As noted in Annex B, exemptions under sections 19 and 20 of the Access to Information Act were invoked by FedDev Ontario. No exclusions were invoked by the Agency.

The response time for completing the request was 120 days. The extension was taken to complete external consultation with third parties.

Operational Costs to Administer the Act

Total salary costs associated with the Access to Information Act activities are estimated at $25,884 for this period. Non-salary costs are estimated at $6,000. The associated employee resources for this period are fixed at 30% of one full‑time equivalent (FTE) for administering the Act.

It should be noted that prior to having an Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator appointed for the Agency, Industry Canada's Information and Privacy Rights Administration were managing FedDev Ontario's Access to Information Request and the associated costs related to these activities are included in their statistics.

Institutional Policies and Procedures

As this was the first year of operation for FedDev Ontario, the Agency is using the policies and procedures put in place by Industry Canada and follows Treasury Board guidelines. Specific tools will be developed and implemented during the next reporting period.

top of page

Education and Training

The ATIP Coordinator has provided informal training / briefings sessions to Agency staff in order to coach them in performing activities related to the requests received during the reporting period. This training also addressed specific questions from employees and management with the Agency. The ATIP coordinator has initiated the development of training tools which will be implemented in the next reporting period.

Complaints and Investigations

There were no complaints received concerning the administration of the Access to Information Act, and no difficulties have been encountered in the administration of the Access to Information Act during the reporting period.

Annex A — Structure of Access to Information and Privacy Office

Graphic of Access to Information and Privacy Office's Organizational chart. Text version provided below.
  • Corporate Secretary, Marian Tomlinson, AS 07
    • Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator, Josée Riopel, PM 05
      • Access to Information and Privacy Officer, Vacant, PM 03
top of page

Annex B — Statistical Report

Institution:
Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
Reporting period:
April 1, 2009 to March 31, 2010
Source:
Media:
1
 
Academia:
0
 
Business:
0
 
Organization:
0
 
Public:
1

I. Requests under the Access to Information Act

Received during reporting period
2
Outstanding from previous period
0
Total
2
Completed during reporting period
1
Carried forward
1

II. Dispositon of requests completed

1.
All disclosed
0
2.
Disclosed in part
1
3.
Nothing disclosed (excluded)
0
4.
Nothing disclosed (exempt)
0
5.
Transferred
0
6.
Unable to process
0
7.
Abandoned by applicant
0
8.
Treated informally
0
 
Total
1

III. Exemptions invoked

S.
Art. 13(1)(a)
0
b)
0
c)
0
d)
0
S.
Art. 14
0
S.
15(1) International rel.
0
Defence
0
Subversive activities
0
S.
Art 16(1)(a)
0
b)
0
c)
0
d)
0
S.
Art. 16(2)
0
S.
Art. 16(3)
0
S.
Art. 17
0
S.
Art. 18(a)
0
S.
Art. 18(b)
0
c)
0
d)
0
S.
Art. 19(1)
1
S.
Art. 20(1)(a)
0
b)
1
c)
1
d)
0
S.
Art. 21(1)(a)
0
b)
0
c)
0
d)
0
S.
Art. 22
0
S.
Art. 23
0
S.
Art. 24
0
S.
Art. 26
0

IV. Exclusions cited

S.
Art. 68(a)
0
b)
0
c)
0
S.
Art. 69(1)(a)
0
b)
0
S.
Art. 69(1)(c)
0
d)
0
e)
0
f)
0
g)
0

V. Completion time

30 days or under
0
31 to 60 days
0
61 to 120 days
1
121 days or over
0

VI. Extensions

 
30 days or under
31 days or over
Searching
0
0
Consultation
0
1
Third party
0
0
Total
0
1

VII. Translations

Translations requested
0
Translations prepared
English to French
0
Translations prepared
French to English
0

VIII. Method of access

Copies given
1
Examination
0
Copies and examination
0

XI. Fees

Net fees collected
Application fees
$ 10.00
Reproduction
0
Searching
0
Preparation
0
Computer processing
0
Total
$ 10.00
Fees waived
No. of times
$
$25.00 or under
0
$ 0
Over $25.00
1
$ 35.40

X. Costs

Financial (all reasons)
Salary
$ 25,884.00
Administration (O and M)
$ 6,000.00
Total
$ 31,884.00
Person year utilization (all reasons)
Person year (decimal format)
0.33

Appendix B —Supplemental Reporting Requirements Access to Information Act

In addition to the reporting requirements addressed in form TBS/SCT 350-62 "Report on the Access to Information Act", institutions are required to report on the following using this form:

Part III – Exemptions invoked

Section 13
 
Subsection 13(e):
0
Section 14
 
Subsections 14(a):
0
14(b):
0

Part IV – Exclusions cited

Subsection 69.1 (1):
0

Appendix C – Discrepancies

No discrepancies to report


Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
August 13, 2009 to March 31, 2010

This publication is available upon request in accessible formats.

Contact:
Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
155 Queen Street, 14th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5
Telephone: 613-954-2880
Fax: 613-952-9026
Email: Josee.Riopel@feddevontario.gc.ca

Permission to Reproduce
The information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that FedDev Ontario is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, nor as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, FedDev Ontario.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial redistribution, please email: copyright.droitdauteur@pwgsc.gc.ca

PDF Cat. No.:
Iu93-1/1-2010E-PDF
978-1-100-16326-0

Print Cat. No.:
Iu93-1/1-2010
978-1-100-51933-3

Date modified:

Archivé — Rapport annuel au Parlement — Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Table des matières


Introduction

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information garantit aux citoyens canadiens et aux personnes et sociétés qui sont présentes au Canada le droit d'accès aux dossiers du gouvernement fédéral qui ne sont pas de nature personnelle. La Loi complète, mais ne remplace pas, les autres moyens d'obtenir des renseignements du gouvernement et elle ne vise d'aucune façon à limiter l'accès aux renseignements gouvernementaux qui sont normalement disponibles au public sur demande.

Vue d'ensemble de l'organisation

Dans le cadre du budget 2009, le Plan d'action économique du Canada prévoyait l'affectation d'un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans à une nouvelle agence de développement économique pour le sud de l'Ontario. Ces fonds devaient appuyer la restructuration, le développement communautaire et économique, l'innovation et des initiatives commerciales, ainsi que d'autres mesures visant à favoriser la diversification économique de cette région. L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a officiellement été fondée le 13 août 2009.

L'Agence assume la prestation de programmes fédéraux de développement économique adaptés aux priorités particulières des travailleurs, des entreprises et des collectivités du sud de l'Ontario. Le mandat de FedDev Ontario consiste à appuyer l'excellence en favorisant la compétitivité, l'innovation et la diversification de l'économie et des collectivités du sud de l'Ontario.

FedDev Ontario a son administration centrale à Kitchener et possède des bureaux à Stratford, Peterborough, Toronto et Ottawa. Selon le recensement de 2006, la population de cette région compte plus de 11 millions d'habitants, ce qui représente environ 93 % de la population ontarienne et 36 % de la population canadienne.

FedDev Ontario relève du portefeuille de l'Industrie. Son président, qui est responsable de la supervision des activités et des ressources de l'Agence, relève du ministre d'État (Sciences et Technologie) (Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario), l'honorable Gary Goodyear.

Structure du bureau de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

La responsabilité du traitement des demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi est assumée par la coordonnatrice de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP), laquelle relève de la secrétaire générale de l'organisme. Le Bureau de l'AIPRP se trouve à Ottawa. La coordonnatrice de l'AIPRP supervise la mise en œuvre de la Loi au sein de FedDev Ontario et y assure la conformité à la législation. Un agent subalterne fait aussi partie du Bureau de l'AIPRP. On trouvera à l'Annexe A l'organigramme du Bureau de l'AIPRP.

haut de la page

Délégation de pouvoirs

Pendant la période du 13 août 2009 au 31 mars 2010, le président de FedDev Ontario a conservé le pouvoir de signature dans le cadre de l'application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. On prépare actuellement une ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs pour la prochaine période de rapport.

Statistiques

FedDev Ontario est une nouvelle organisation et elle n'a reçu que deux demandes durant la période du 13 août 2009 au 31 mars 2010. Un rapport statistique sommaire sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'informationse trouve à l'Annexe B ci-jointe.

On a achevé le traitement de l'une de ces deux demandes durant cette période de rapport et reporté à la prochaine celui de l'autre demande.

Comme l'indique l'Annexe B, FedDev Ontario a invoqué des exemptions en vertu des articles 19 et 20 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Aucune exclusion n'a été invoquée par l'organisme.

Le délai de réponse à la demande était de 120 jours. La prorogation du délai fut prise dans le but de faire une consultation externe avec des tiers.

Coûts opérationnels de l'application de la Loi

On estime à 25 884 $ le montant total des coûts salariaux des activités liées à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour cette période. On estime à 6 000 $ les coûts non salariaux; les ressources connexes pour les employés sont fixées à 30 % d'un équivalent temps plein (ETP) en ce qui concerne l'application de la Loi.

Il importe de noter qu'avant la nomination d'une coordonnatrice de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels au sein de FedDev Ontario, le service Administration des droits à l'information et à la protection des renseignements personnels (ADIPRP) d'Industrie Canada assurait la gestion des demandes d'accès à l'information. Les coûts connexes de ces activités figurent dans les statistiques de l'ADIPRP.

Politiques et procédures institutionnelles

Durant cette première année de fonctionnement, FedDev Ontario a utilisé les politiques et directives mises en place par Industrie Canada et a suivi les lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor. L'Agence élaborera et mettra en œuvre des outils particuliers durant la prochaine période de rapport.

haut de la page

Éducation et formation

La coordonnatrice de l'AIPRP a fourni, de façon informelle, de la formation et des sessions de breffage au personnel de l'Agence, afin de les aider dans le cadre d'activités liées aux demandes que nous avons reçues durant la période de rapport. Cette formation avait également pour but de répondre à des questions particulières posées par des employés et des gestionnaires de l'Agence. La coordonnatrice a amorcé l'élaboration d'outils de formation qui seront mis en œuvre durant la prochaine période de rapport.

Plaintes et enquêtes

Aucune plainte n'a été reçue concernant l'application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, et celle-ci n'a donné lieu à aucune difficulté durant la période de rapport.

Annexe A — Structure du Bureau de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

Graphic : Structure du bureau de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels. La version du texte ci-dessous.
  • Secrétaire générale, Marian Tomlinson, AS 07
    • Coordonnateur, accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels, Josée Riopel, PM 05
      • Agent, accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels, Vacant, PM 03
haut de la page

Annexe B — Rapport statistique

Institution :
Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario
Période visée par le rapport :
1er avril 2009 au 31 mars 2010
Source :
Médias :
1
 
Secteur universitatire :
0
 
Secteur commercial :
0
 
Organisme :
0
 
Public :
1

I. Demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Reçues pendant la période visée par le rapport
2
En suspens depuis la période antérieure
0
Total
2
Traitées pendant la période visées par le rapport
1
Reportées
1

II. Disposition à l'égard des demandes traitées

1.
Communication totale
0
2.
Communication partielle
1
3.
Aucune communication (exclusion)
0
4.
Aucune communication (exemption)
0
5.
Traitement impossible
0
6.
Traitement impossible
0
7.
Abandon de la demande
0
8.
Traitement non officiel
0
 
Total
1

III. Exceptions invoquées

S.
Art. 13(1)(a)
0
b)
0
c)
0
d)
0
S.
Art. 14
0
S.
15(1) Relations interm.
0
Défense
0
Activités subversives
0
S.
Art 16(1)(a)
0
b)
0
c)
0
d)
0
S.
Art. 16(2)
0
S.
Art. 16(3)
0
S.
Art. 17
0
S.
Art. 18(a)
0
S.
Art. 18(b)
0
c)
0
d)
0
S.
Art. 19(1)
1
S.
Art. 20(1)(a)
0
b)
1
c)
1
d)
0
S.
Art. 21(1)(a)
0
b)
0
c)
0
d)
0
S.
Art. 22
0
S.
Art. 23
0
S.
Art. 24
0
S.
Art. 26
0

IV. Exclusions citées

S.
Art. 68(a)
0
b)
0
c)
0
S.
Art. 69(1)(a)
0
b)
0
S.
Art. 69(1)(c)
0
d)
0
e)
0
f)
0
g)
0

V. Délai de traitement

30 jours ou moins
0
De 31 à 60 jours
0
De 61 à 120 jours
1
121 jours ou plus
0

VI. Prorogations des délais

 
30 jours ou moins
31 jours ou plus
Recherche
0
0
Consultation
0
1
Tiers
0
0
Total
0
1

VII. Traduction

Traductions demandées
0
Traductions préparées
De l'anglais au français
0
Traductions préparées
Du français à l'anglais
0

VIII. Méthode de consultation

Copies de l'original
1
Examen de l'original
0
Copies et examen
0

XI. Frais

Frais net perçus
Frais de la demande
$ 10.00
Reproduction
0
Recherche
0
Préparation
0
Traitement informatique
0
Total
$ 10.00
Dispense de frais
Nombre de fois
$
25 $ ou moins
0
$ 0
De plus de 25 $
1
$ 35.40

X. Coûts

Financiers (raisons)
Traitement
$ 25,884.00
Administration (fonctionnement et maintien)
$ 6,000.00
Total
$ 31,884.00
Années-personnes utilisées (raison)
Années-personnes (nombre décimal)
0.33

Annexe B – Exigences en matière de rapports supplémentaires Loi sur l'accès à l'information

En plus des exigences relatives à l'établissement de rapports dont on traite au formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62, « Rapport concernant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information », les institutions sont tenues de déclarer ce qui suit, en utilisant le présent formulaire :

Partie III – Exceptions invoquées

Article 13
 
Paragraphe 13(e) :
0
Article 14
 
Paragraphes 14(a) :
0
14(b) :
0

Partie IV – Exclusions citées

Paragraphe 69.1 (1) :
0

Annexe C – Divergences

Aucune divergence à rapporter


Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario
Période du 13 août 2009 au 31 mars 2010

Il est possible d'obtenir, sur demande, cette publication sur supports accessibles.

Personne-ressource : Coordonnateur
Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels
Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario
155, rue Queen, 14e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5
Téléphone : 613-954-2880
Télécopieur : 613-952-9026
Courriel : Josee.Riopel@feddevontario.gc.ca

Autorisation de reproduction
L'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, que FedDev Ontario soit mentionnée comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec FedDev Ontario ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir l'autorisation de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, veuillez envoyer un courriel à :
copyright.droitdauteur@pwgsc.gc.ca.

No de catalogue de la version PDF :
Iu93-1/1-2010F-PDF
978-1-100-95122-5

No de catalogue de la version imprimée :
Iu93-1/1-2010
978-1-100-51933-3

Date de modification :