Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovation in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

University of Waterloo Associate Professor Duane Cronin, gives MP Peter Braid,  University of Waterloo President Feridun Hamdullahpur, MP Stephen Woodworth and MP Harold Albrecht a demonstration of new technology being tested resulting from collaboration agreements between the University of Waterloo and  16 Small- and Medium-sized Enterprises under the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative.

University of Waterloo Associate Professor Duane Cronin, gives MP Peter Braid, University of Waterloo President Feridun Hamdullahpur, MP Stephen Woodworth and MP Harold Albrecht a demonstration of new technology being tested resulting from collaboration agreements between the University of Waterloo and 16 Small- and Medium-sized Enterprises under the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
August 9, 2011

Waterloo, Ontario – Businesses in manufacturing, technology, and life sciences will have an opportunity to bring new products to market, expand and create new jobs thanks to a new partnership with the University of Waterloo. Today, Member of Parliament, Peter Braid, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, joined Feridun Hamdullahpur, President, University of Waterloo, to celebrate the signing of agreements between the University and small- and medium-sized businesses.

"These agreements allow the University of Waterloo to work with businesses on exciting new research, and to get these results to the marketplace faster," said MP Braid. "Through the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, the Government of Canada is supporting the families, businesses and communities of southern Ontario."

Last year, under the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, the University of Waterloo was approved for up to $750,000 from FedDev Ontario to partner with small- and medium-sized businesses on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification. The support provided will create new economic opportunities, help businesses in southern Ontario grow, and enable them to become even more innovative and competitive.

"Local businesses, the small- and medium-sized enterprises, contribute greatly to the Waterloo Region's economy, and indeed, are the foundation of Canada's economy," said Feridun Hamdullahpur, President, University of Waterloo. "This funding will assist us in our research and development partnerships, which are aimed at improving the performances of these highly innovative companies."

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative and approved University of Waterloo partners, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:
Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative – University of Waterloo

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is designed to bridge the gap between research and commercialization between Ontario's post-secondary academic institutions and small- and medium-sized enterprises.

The University of Waterloo is pleased to be collaborating with the following companies.

Ag Energy Co-op./Deep Blue NRG Inc. (Guelph)
Ag Energy Co-operative Ltd. is Canada's largest farm energy co-op and offers natural gas and electricity to their farm membership. Deep Blue NRG Inc. provides energy optimization and technology development and design services to the manufacturing, industrial, commercial and residential sectors. Collaboration with the University of Waterloo will focus on the development of novel gasification processes for converting agricultural biomass to syngas.

AGFA Healthcare Inc. Canada (Waterloo)
AGFA is a leading provider of medical informatics solutions providing systems and services to improve efficiency and productivity while promoting advances in patient safety, medical outcomes and quality. This project will enable access to University of Waterloo expertise in digital information systems.

Avenir Medical Inc. (Waterloo)
Avenir Medical is on the cusp of revolutionizing the way hip replacement surgery is performed around the world. PelvAssisttm is a novel, low-cost, relative positioning technology that can drastically improve the quality of surgical outcomes. The Waterloo Autonomous Vehicle Laboratory (WAVELab) will be used to test the technology.

CedarLane (Burlington)
Cedarlane specializes in providing high-quality research and diagnostic reagents to the life sciences community. Manufactured products include neuronal cell lines, monoclonal antibodies, cell separation media for tissue typing and immunocolumns. In collaboration with the University of Waterloo, new products for use in fish aquaculture will be developed for the global marketplace.

Clearpath Robotics (Waterloo)
Clearpath Robotics specializes in the design and manufacture of robust and reliable unmanned vehicle system solutions for research and development applications. Clearpath Robotics has extensive expertise in vehicle modeling and multivehicle control, providing systems with built-in expandability, and without unnecessary complexity and cost. The University of Waterloo will provide Clearpath Robotics access to its Waterloo Autonomous Vehicle Laboratory (WAVELab) and access to a research group with tremendous expertise in developing estimation, control and mapping algorithms for autonomous vehicles. Results from this new project will inform development of new vehicle control methods, which may lead to new commercial opportunities.

Icynene (Mississauga)
Icynene develops and markets innovative spray foam insulation and is a recognized leader in sustainable building practices providing green alternatives for construction. Icynene insulation is a water-blown, spray-in-place, expanding foam which is healthier, quieter and more energy efficient than traditional insulating materials. Results of this project with the University of Waterloo will immediately be applied to the development of advanced fire retardant foam insulations and enable the commercialization of new products.

Integran Technologies Inc. (Toronto)
Integran is a world leader in advanced metallurgical nano-technologies, providing a broad international base of customers with advanced process & product design solutions through R&D, material sales, contract manufacturing and technology licensing. Application of Integran's advanced nano-metal cladding technology to composite hockey sticks may reduce damage and breakage, by protecting the outer composite fibers. Robotic expertise at the University of Waterloo will be utilized to test Integran's Nanovatetm  coating on composite hockey sticks.

Microbonds (Markham)
Microbonds is a pioneer and leader in the research, development and application of insulated bonding wire technology for semiconductor packaging and microchip industries. Effective joining and coating at low processing temperatures with a lower cost and environmentally friendly strategy has become a critical technical prerequisite for manufacturing. Knowledge gained in working with the University of Waterloo in this area is expected to lead to commercialization of techniques developed.

Natrix Separations Inc. (Burlington)
Natrix Separations is a leading supplier of high performance, single use and multi-cycle disposable chromatography products to the life science, pharma, nutraceutical, beverage and water markets. This project with the University of Waterloo provides access to expertise in new membrane based chemical separation techniques, and will enable company growth through new product and innovative products.

NewMan Media Inc. (Rockcliffe)
NewMan Media Inc. is member of a consortium of filmmakers, producers and developers with a vision to bring digital media storytelling to Canada's cultural sector. In partnering with the University of Waterloo, NewMan Media is looking to create mobile applications for traditional theatre productions.

Oakville Stamping & Bending Ltd. (Oakville)
Oakville Stamping & Bending manufactures, assembles, and distributes metal and plastic plumbing waste fittings to the wholesale and retail markets in Canada and the US. Through this project, the University of Waterloo will develop a flexible part handling system that will enhance the competitiveness of Oakville Stamping & Bending through increased production.

Polefab Inc. (Newmarket)
Polefab Inc. manufactures section steel poles providing economical solutions having the unique qualities of durability, safety and versatility for street lights, traffic signals and highway signs applications. University of Waterloo design and crash expertise will be utilized to enhance the crash characteristics of sectional poles through mechanical design and use of energy absorbing materials within the pole. The outcome, improved crash safety, will provide a market advantage for Polefab, and further establish them as a leader in their field.

Sober Steering Sensors Inc. (Waterloo)
Sober Steering's breakthrough advances in transdermal technology are the first step in developing a market ready product to replace breathalyzer systems with a steering-wheel based interlock system to prevent drunk driving through the interaction of the driver's hands with steering wheel based sensors. This project with the University of Waterloo will overcome the shortcomings of existing competitive products through the development of an unobtrusive, accurate, low cost system.

Teledyne Dalsa Inc. (Waterloo)
Teledyne DALSA has led the evolution of digital imaging for over a quarter century and has earned its reputation as a global leader in high performance imaging and semiconductors. A designer and manufacture of image sensors, cameras, and vision systems, Teledyne Dalsa will collaborate with the University of Waterloo on the application of new imaging technologies for use within CCD sensors/cameras.

Thesis Chemistry Inc. (Cambridge)
Thesis Chemistry delivers the chemistry and innovation to help advance small molecules from concept to commercialization by offering a broad range of manufacturing capacities, chemistry services and products in support of drug development and manufacturing needs. This opportunity to collaborate with the University of Waterloo will help develop effective bio-refinement processes for green chemicals.

Tyco Electronics Canada ULC. (Guelph)
Tyco Electronics is a leader in the automotive lighting industry producing light pipes and lamps used to conduct illumination from Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs) on Printed Circuit Boards (PCBs) to ambient lighting within cars. Tyco Electronics Canada provides engineering and development functions for its product lines sold around the world. University of Waterloo expertise in analysis, design, simulation and system integration will be accessed through this project, and will develop new PCB assembly systems providing Tyco new capacity, increased revenue and market leadership.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie l'innovation dans le sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

M. Duane Cronin, professeur agrégé à l’Université de Waterloo, effectue la démonstration d’une nouvelle technologie testée par suite d’ententes de collaboration entre l’Université de Waterloo et 16 petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre de l’Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation. Son public est composé du député Peter Braid, du président de l’Université, Feridun Hamdullahpur, et des députés Stephen Woodworth et Harold Albrecht.

M. Duane Cronin, professeur agrégé à l'Université de Waterloo, effectue la démonstration d'une nouvelle technologie testée par suite d'ententes de collaboration entre l'Université de Waterloo et 16 petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation. Son public est composé du député Peter Braid, du président de l'Université, Feridun Hamdullahpur, et des députés Stephen Woodworth et Harold Albrecht. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 9 août 2011

Waterloo (Ontario) — Les entreprises des domaines manufacturier, technologique et des sciences de la vie auront la possibilité d'introduire de nouveaux produits sur le marché, d'élargir leur effectif et de créer de nouveaux emplois, grâce à un nouveau partenariat avec l'Université de Waterloo. Aujourd'hui, le député Peter Braid, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), s'est joint à M. Feridun Hamdullahpur, président de l'Université de Waterloo, pour célébrer la signature d'ententes entre l'Université et de petites et moyennes entreprises.

« Ces ententes permettront à l'Université de Waterloo de travailler avec des entreprises, de mener de  nouvelles recherches intéressantes et de mettre les résultats en marché plus rapidement, a déclaré le député Braid. Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, le gouvernement du Canada aide les familles, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. »

L'année dernière, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, FedDev Ontario a attribué un montant de 750 000 $ à l'Université de Waterloo pour créer des partenariats avec de petites et moyennes entreprises et entreprendre des activités de recherche appliquée, de conception technique, de mise au point de technologies, de mise à l'essai et de certification de produits. L'aide fournie permettra de créer de nouvelles possibilités économiques, favorisera la croissance des entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario et leur permettra de devenir plus novatrices et compétitives.

« Les commerces locaux, les petites et moyennes entreprises contribuent grandement à l'économie de la région de Waterloo et constituent en effet le fondement de l'économie canadienne, a déclaré M. Feridun Hamdullahpur, président de l'Université de Waterloo. Ces fonds faciliteront notre travail dans le cadre de nos partenariats de recherche et de développement qui visent à améliorer le rendement de ces entreprises hautement novatrices. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation et les partenaires approuvés de l'Université de Waterloo, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par l'entremise de partenariats et d'investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Bureau de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation : Université de Waterloo

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation est conçue pour combler l'écart entre la recherche et la commercialisation et entre les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaires et les petites et moyennes entreprises en Ontario.

L'Université de Waterloo est heureuse de collaborer avec les entreprises mentionnées ci-dessous.

Ag Energy Co-op./Deep Blue NRG Inc. (Guelph)
Ag Energy Co-operative Ltd. est la plus importante coopérative énergétique agricole au Canada et fournit du gaz naturel et de l'électricité à ses membres du secteur agricole. Deep Blue NRG Inc. fournit des services d'optimisation énergétique, de développement et de conception technologiques aux secteurs manufacturier, industriel, commercial et résidentiel. La collaboration avec l'Université de Waterloo sera axée sur la conception de nouveaux processus de gazéification pour la conversion de la biomasse agricole en gaz de synthèse.

AGFA Healthcare Inc. Canada (Waterloo)
AGFA est un important fournisseur de solutions informatiques médicales qui offre des systèmes et des services visant à améliorer l'efficacité et la productivité, tout en favorisant le progrès dans le domaine de la sécurité des patients, des résultats médicaux et de la qualité. Ce projet permettra à l'entreprise de profiter de l'expertise de l'Université de Waterloo dans les systèmes d'information numérique.

Avenir Medical Inc. (Waterloo)
Avenir Medical est sur le point de révolutionner la façon d'exécuter une chirurgie de remplacement des hanches dans le monde. PelvAssistMD est une nouvelle technologie de positionnement relatif peu coûteuse qui peut considérablement améliorer la qualité des interventions chirurgicales. Le Waterloo Autonomous Vehicle Laboratory (WAVELab) effectuera les essais de la technologie.

CedarLane (Burlington)
CedarLane se spécialise dans la fourniture de réactifs de recherche et de diagnostics de haute qualité à la collectivité des sciences de la vie. Les produits fabriqués comprennent des lignées cellulaires neuronales, des anticorps monoclonaux, des milieux de séparation cellulaire pour le typage cellulaire et immuno-colonne. En collaboration avec l'Université de Waterloo, de nouveaux produits destinés à la pisciculture seront conçus pour le marché mondial.

Clearpath Robotics (Waterloo)
Clearpath Robotics se spécialise dans la conception et la fabrication de véhicules téléguidés robustes et fiables pour les applications de recherche et de développement. Clearpath Robotics possède une vaste expertise de la modélisation des véhicules et du contrôle de groupes de véhicules et fournit des systèmes avec extensibilité intégrée sans complexités et coûts inutiles. L'Université de Waterloo donnera à Clearpath Robotics accès à son Waterloo Autonomous Vehicle Laboratory (WAVELab) et à un groupe de recherche détenant une très grande expertise dans le développement d'estimation, de contrôle et d'algorithmes de mappage pour des véhicules autonomes. Les résultats de ce nouveau projet informeront le développement de nouvelles méthodes de contrôle de véhicules, qui pourront conduire à de nouvelles possibilités commerciales.

Icynene (Mississauga)
Icynene conçoit et commercialise une nouvelle mousse vaporisée pour l'isolation. L'entreprise est un chef de file reconnu dans le domaine des pratiques de construction durable en offrant des options écologiques à l'industrie de la construction. L'isolant d'Icynene est une mousse gonflée à l'eau, vaporisée et extensible qui est plus saine, silencieuse et écoénergétique que le matériel d'isolation traditionnel. Les résultats du projet avec l'Université de Waterloo seront immédiatement appliqués à la conception de mousses isolantes ignifuges et permettront de commercialiser de nouveaux produits.

Integran Technologies Inc. (Toronto)
Integran est un chef de file mondial dans le domaine des nanotechnologies métallurgiques, qui offre à sa clientèle internationale des solutions avancées en matière de conception de procédés et de produits par l'intermédiaire de ses services de recherche-développement (R-D), de la vente de matériaux, de la fabrication contractuelle et de la certification des technologies. L'application de la technologie avancée de revêtement nanométallique d'Integran aux bâtons composites de hockey pourrait réduire les dommages et les bris en protégeant les fibres composites externes. L'expertise en robotique de l'Université de Waterloo sera utilisée pour effectuer les essais du revêtement NanovateMD d'Integran sur les bâtons composites de hockey.

Microbonds (Markham)
Microbonds est un pionnier et un chef de file dans la recherche, la conception et l'application de la technologie des fils de métallisation isolés pour les industries de l'encapsulation des semiconducteurs et des micropuces. L'assemblage et le revêtement efficients traités à basse température à coût moindre et de façon écologique sont devenus des conditions préalables essentielles de la fabrication. Les connaissances acquises dans le cadre des travaux avec l'Université de Waterloo dans ce domaine devraient mener à la commercialisation des techniques élaborées.

Natrix Separations Inc. (Burlington)
Natrix Separations est un important fournisseur de produits chromatographiques à usage unique ou multiple à haut rendement pour les marchés des sciences de la vie, de la pharmaceutique, des aliments fonctionnels, des boissons et de l'eau. Ce projet avec l'Université de Waterloo fournit un accès à de l'expertise dans le domaine des nouvelles techniques de séparation chimique par membrane; et il favorisera la croissance de la compagnie grâce à nouveaux produits novateurs.

NewMan Media Inc. (Rockcliffe)
NewMan Media Inc. est membre d'un consortium de cinéastes, de producteurs et de promoteurs qui vise à introduire la narration médiatique numérique dans le secteur culturel canadien. En partenariat avec l'Université de Waterloo, NewMan Media vise à créer des applications mobiles pour les productions théâtrales traditionnelles.

Oakville Stamping & Bending Ltd. (Oakville)
Oakville Stamping & Bending fabrique et assemble des raccords d'évacuation en métal et en plastique et les distribue aux grossistes et aux détaillants au Canada et aux États-Unis. Dans le cadre de ce projet, l'Université de Waterloo concevra un système de manutention flexible de pièces qui augmentera la compétitivité de l'entreprise en accroissant sa production.

Polefab Inc. (Newmarket)
Polefab Inc. fabrique des poteaux d'acier en sections qui constituent des solutions économiques en raison de leurs qualités uniques sur le plan de la durabilité, de la sûreté et de la versatilité pour les lampadaires, les feux de signalisation et les panneaux routiers. L'expertise en conception et en collision de l'Université de Waterloo sera utilisée pour améliorer les caractéristiques de collision des poteaux en sections en ayant recours aux techniques de conception mécanique et à l'utilisation des matériaux à absorption d'énergie à l'intérieur des poteaux. Les résultats recherchés consistent à améliorer la sûreté en cas de collisions et à fournir un avantage commercial à l'entreprise, dont la réputation de chef de file dans son domaine sera rehaussée.

Sober Steering Sensors Inc. (Waterloo)
Les percées de Sober Steering en technologie transdermique constituent les premières étapes de la conception de produits commercialisables immédiatement pour remplacer les éthylomètres avec un système de verrouillage sur le volant, afin de prévenir la conduite en état d'ébriété par l'interaction des mains du conducteur avec des capteurs intégrés au volant. Ce projet avec l'Université de Waterloo permettra d'éviter les faiblesses des produits concurrentiels en concevant un système libre de toute obstruction, précis et peu coûteux.

Teledyne Dalsa Inc. (Waterloo)
Teledyne DALSA dirige l'évolution de l'imagerie numérique depuis plus d'un quart de siècle et s'est acquis une réputation de chef de file mondial de l'imagerie et des semiconducteurs à haut rendement. Un concepteur et fabricant de capteurs d'image, de caméras et de système de vision, Teledyne Dalsa collaborera avec l'Université de Waterloo à l'application de nouvelles technologies d'imagerie qui seront utilisées à l'intérieur des capteurs et caméras DTC.

Thesis Chemistry Inc. (Cambridge)
Thesis Chemistry effectue les travaux de chimie et d'innovation requis pour que les petites molécules évoluent du concept à la commercialisation, offrant ainsi une vaste gamme de capacités de fabrication, de services de chimie et de produits pour faciliter le développement de médicaments et combler les besoins en matière de fabrication. Cette collaboration avec l'Université de Waterloo contribuera à concevoir des procédés de bioaffinement efficaces pour les produits chimiques écologiques.

Tyco Electronics Canada ULC. (Guelph)
Tyco Electronics est un chef de file dans l'industrie de l'éclairage automobile et fabrique les lampes et les conducteurs de lumière utilisés pour acheminer l'éclairage des diodes électroluminescentes (DEL) sur les cartes de circuits imprimés (CCI) à l'éclairage ambiant des voitures. Tyco Electronics Canada offre des services de génie et de conception pour ses lignes de produits vendues partout dans le monde. L'expertise de l'Université de Waterloo en analyse, conception, simulation et intégration de systèmes sera offerte dans le cadre de ce projet et permettra de concevoir de nouveaux systèmes d'assemblage des CCI, ce qui dotera l'entreprise d'une nouvelle capacité, augmentera ses revenus et affermira son leadership sur les marchés.

Date de modification :