Archived — Government of Canada Supports Business in Kitchener

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
August 10, 2011

Kitchener, Ontario – Miovision Technologies is one step closer to bringing its new traffic planning tools to market, thanks to a $922,500 federal investment announced today by Harold Albrecht, MP for Kitchener-Conestoga, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our government continues to support innovative projects to ensure that communities and businesses in southern Ontario can continue to grow now and in the future," said MP Albrecht. "This investment in Miovision will help them to develop and market a new brand of traffic management technology aimed at reducing traffic congestion and improving road safety."

Miovision offers video and web-based data collection tools to traffic planners around the world, which allow them to better optimize traffic flow, reduce emissions and improve travel times. This repayable contribution from FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation will support the development and testing of a new product line for improving the efficiency of traffic circulation. The increase in product marketability is expected to attract investment from Angel networks and to better position Miovision as leader in the traffic management industry.

"The Investing in Business Innovation funding will allow us to hire the people we need to accelerate our growth, and we are looking to add an additional 15 engineers to our team," said Miovision Technologies CEO and co-founder Kurtis McBride. "This program will really help us deliver on our product roadmap and fuel our competitiveness in the global market."

Investing in Business Innovation is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in encouraging entrepreneurs and investors to take the risks necessary to put southern Ontario businesses on the map.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.


Backgrounder

Contribution to MiovisionTechnologies

Kitchener's Miovision Technologies was founded by three University of Waterloo engineering graduates in 2005. With over 220 customers in 18 countries, their portable video equipment has revolutionized traffic data collection around the world by replacing pen and paper road side surveys, with computerized traffic reports.

FedDev Ontario is providing Miovision Technologies with a repayable contribution of up to $922,500 to allow the company to complete its research and development on a new video-based product line intended for vehicle traffic assessment to ultimately improve traffic safety and reduce emissions. More information is available at www.miovision.com

Investing in Business Innovation Program

The Government of Canada is committed to creating jobs and making Canada's economy more robust, diversified and competitive. The government seeks to provide Canadian businesses with the tools and advantages they need to prosper and create jobs and economic growth in today's modern economy.

FedDev Ontario is focusing on a portfolio of early-stage businesses that are recognized by the investor community as having the potential for high-growth and a net long-term economic benefit for southern Ontario.

In keeping with these objectives, $190 million will be invested up to March 31, 2014 to FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation program, which will help start-up businesses in the region thrive and grow.

The program will:

  • Provide improved access to financing for start-up businesses
  • Boost private sector investment in start-up businesses
  • Help accelerate the research and development of new products and ideas and bring them to the marketplace

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie une entreprise de Kitchener

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 10 août 2011

Kitchener (Ontario) – L'entreprise Miovision Technologies a franchi un pas de plus vers la mise en marché de ses nouveaux outils de planification de la circulation routière, grâce à un investissement fédéral de 922 500 dollars, a annoncé aujourd'hui M. Harold Albrecht, député de Kitchener-Conestoga, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État, Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Notre gouvernement continue d'appuyer les projets novateurs afin de s'assurer que les collectivités et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario continuent de croître maintenant et à l'avenir, a déclaré le député Albrecht. Cet investissement dans Miovision lui aidera à concevoir et à mettre en marché un nouveau type de technologie de gestion de la circulation qui vise à réduire la congestion routière et à améliorer la sûreté routière. »

Miovision offre des outils électroniques de collecte des données aux planificateurs de la circulation dans le monde, des outils qui leur permettent de mieux optimiser le flux de la circulation, de réduire les émissions et d'améliorer le temps de déplacement. Cette contribution remboursable, offerte dans le cadre du programme Investir dans l'innovation d'entreprises, contribuera à la conception et à la mise à l'essai d'une nouvelle gamme de produits visant à améliorer l'efficacité du flux de circulation. Cette augmentation de la commercialisation des produits devrait attirer les investisseurs providentiels et mieux positionner Miovision en tant que chef de file de l'industrie de la gestion de la circulation.

« Les fonds du programme Investir dans l'innovation d'entreprises nous permettront d'embaucher le personnel dont nous avons besoin pour accélérer notre croissance. Nous souhaitons ajouter 15 nouveaux ingénieurs à notre équipe, a déclaré le président-directeur général et cofondateur de Miovision Technologies, M. Kurtis McBride. Ce programme nous aidera vraiment à concrétiser notre plan de conception de produits et à renforcer notre compétitivité dans le marché mondial.» 

Le programme Investir dans l'innovation d'entreprises découle directement des commentaires faits par les dirigeants d'entreprises, les universitaires et les dirigeants communautaires du Sud de l'Ontario, qui ont recommandé que FedDev Ontario assume un rôle de chef de file en ce qui a trait à inciter les entrepreneurs et les investisseurs à prendre les risques nécessaires pour assurer la prospérité des entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour appuyer les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et a tout mis en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site : www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Miovision Technologies

L'entreprise Miovision Technologies, de Kitchener, a été fondée par trois diplômés en génie de l'Université de Waterloo en 2005. Avec plus de 220 clients dans 18 pays, son matériel vidéo portatif a révolutionné la collecte des données sur la circulation routière dans le monde, en remplaçant les enquêtes menées en bord de route avec plume et papier par des rapports de circulation informatisés.

L'Agence fédérale de développement pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a versé une contribution remboursable de 922 500 $ à Miovision Technologies lui permettant de terminer son projet de recherche et de développement visant à créer une nouvelle gamme de produits vidéo pour évaluer la circulation des véhicules et, en dernier ressort, améliorer la sûreté de la circulation et réduire les émissions. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site : www.miovision.com.

Programme Investir dans l'innovation d'entreprises

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à créer des emplois et à rendre l'économie canadienne plus solide, diversifiée et compétitive. Le gouvernement veut fournir aux entreprises canadiennes les outils et les avantages dont elles ont besoin pour prospérer, créer des emplois et assurer la croissance économique au sein de l'économie moderne d'aujourd'hui.

FedDev Ontario accorde une attention particulière aux entreprises qui en sont aux premiers stades, reconnues par la collectivité des investisseurs comme ayant un potentiel élevé de croissance et d'avantages économiques nets à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario.

Tenant compte de ces objectifs, un montant de 190 millions de dollars sera investi jusqu'au 31 mars 2014 dans le programme Investir dans l'innovation d'entreprises, de FedDev Ontario, un programme conçu pour aider les entreprises de la région qui en sont aux premiers stades à prospérer et à croître.

Le programme vise à faire ceci :

  • améliorer l'accès au financement pour les entreprises qui en sont aux premiers stades;
  • augmenter les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage;
  • contribuer à accélérer la recherche et le développement de nouveaux produits et de nouvelles idées et à les commercialiser sur les marchés.

Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées de manière continue. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de faire une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme dans le site Web de FedDev Ontario à : www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :