Archived — Government of Canada Encourages Youth to Discover Careers in Science and Tech

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
August 17, 2011

Waterloo, Ontario – More children in southern Ontario will be able to experience real-world scientific issues and innovations thanks to an investment in Actua announced by Peter Braid, Member of Parliament for Kitchener-Waterloo, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our Government recognizes the importance of preparing young people for today's high-tech economy," said MP Braid. "By developing our next generation of scientists, technologists, engineers and mathematicians, we can help drive innovation and keep the economy growing in southern Ontario for years to come."

Actua, a national science, engineering and technology youth outreach network, will receive up to $1.25 million to enhance its customized programming designed to engage youth who are typically underrepresented and underserved in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields. This includes Aboriginal youth, girls, underprivileged youth, at-risk youth and youth living in remote areas or inner-city neighbourhoods. The funding will help Actua create more spaces in southern Ontario for children to participate in summer camps, classroom workshops, clubs and community outreach activities. These are delivered by university undergraduate students in science, technology and engineering programs who are instructors for Actua network members.

"We are extremely pleased to have this opportunity to grow our southern Ontario members' capacities to deepen the impact and broaden the reach of our STEM programming, especially for youth who are underserved and underrepresented in STEM. This FedDev Ontario contribution will enhance Actua's significant contributions to building the next generation of Ontario innovators!" said Jennifer Flanagan, President and CEO of Actua.

The investment is provided through FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM Initiative, aimed at encouraging students in kindergarten through grade 12 to pursue an education or career in the STEM fields. For more information about the program and Actua, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Contribution to Actua

Actua is a national science, engineering and technology youth outreach network. More than 3 million young Canadians have been inspired through their participation in Actua's positive, hands-on educational workshops, camps and community outreach initiatives.

FedDev Ontario is providing Actua with a contribution of $1.25 million through the Youth STEM Initiative to enhance its programming in southern Ontario. In particular, Actua will expand three of its programs that focus on making science accessible to all youth: the National Aboriginal Outreach Program, the National Girls Program, and the Go Where Kids Are Program. These initiatives were designed to break down barriers and foster active participation of a full diversity of Canadians. Over the next three years, Actua anticipates reaching an additional 17,000 youth in southern Ontario. Of that total, an estimated 10,000 girls, 2,250 Aboriginal youth, and 450 at-risk and marginalized youth will benefit from the new summer camps, classroom workshops, clubs and community outreach activities.

Through this partnership, Actua will also support an estimated 200 jobs per year, mainly for undergraduate STEM students, for the next three years. These students are the instructors for Actua's ten southern Ontario members located at the following nine universities in southern Ontario: University of Guelph; the University of Toronto; York University; Queen's University; Carleton University; the University of Ottawa; the University of Western Ontario; McMaster University, and the University of Waterloo.

Each year, Actua's growing network of member organizations reach more than 200,000 young Canadians in more than 450 communities nationwide. Actua's major funders include: GE Canada, Suncor Energy Foundation, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, Shell Canada, Synapse – CIHR Youth Connection. More information is available at www.actua.ca.

Youth STEM Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM provides funding to eligible not-for-profit organizations to expand, enhance and coordinate the reach and impact of educational outreach programs in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) for children and youth in kindergarten through grade 12. The initiative is designed to encourage young people to pursue further studies and careers in these fields, creating a future talent pool that is well-positioned to fuel business innovation and growth in southern Ontario.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the program guidelines available on the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada incite les jeunes à explorer les carrières qu'offre le domaine des sciences et de la technologie

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 17 août 2011

Waterloo (Ontario) – Un plus grand nombre d'enfants du Sud de l'Ontario seront en mesure de vivre  des innovations et des enjeux scientifiques réels, grâce à un investissement dans Actua, annoncé par Peter Braid, député de Kitchener-Waterloo, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Notre gouvernement reconnaît l'importance de préparer les jeunes à l'économie de haute technologie d'aujourd'hui, a déclaré le député Braid. Le fait de former notre prochaine génération de scientifiques, de technologues, d'ingénieurs et de mathématiciens, nous aidera à stimuler les innovations et nous permettra de faire croître l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario, et ce, pour les années à venir. »

Actua, un réseau de sensibilisation national pour la jeunesse sur les sciences, l'ingénierie et la technologie, recevra jusqu'à 1,25 million de dollars afin d'améliorer ses programmes sur mesure, destinés à prendre en charge des jeunes qui sont habituellement sous-représentés et mal servis dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM). Parmi ces programmes, notons ceux destinés aux jeunes Autochtones, aux jeunes filles, aux jeunes à risque qui demeurent dans des régions éloignées ou des quartiers déshérités. Ce financement permettra à Actua de créer plus d'espaces, dans le Sud de l'Ontario, conçus pour que les jeunes participent à des camps de vacances, des ateliers en classe, des clubs ou des activités de sensibilisation dans la collectivité. Ces activités sont organisées par des étudiants de premier cycle, qui suivent un programme en science, en technologie et en ingénierie et qui sont instructeurs pour les membres du réseau Actua.

« Nous sommes très heureux d'avoir la chance d'accroître les capacités de nos membres du Sud de l'Ontario, afin d'intensifier les répercussions et d'étendre la portée de notre programmation en STIM, surtout pour les jeunes mal servis dans les STIM et sous-représentés dans ces domaines. Cette contribution de FedDev Ontario améliorera les contributions importantes d'Actua pour bâtir la prochaine génération d'innovateurs de l'Ontario! », a affirmé Jennifer Flanagan, présidente et chef de la direction d'Actua.

Cet investissement est fourni par l'intermédiaire de l'Initiative Jeunesse en STIM de FedDev Ontario, qui est conçue pour encourager les élèves, de la maternelle à la 12e année, à mener des études ou une carrière dans les domaines des STIM. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le programme et sur Actua, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour appuyer les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et a tout mis en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
Feddev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Actua

Actua est un réseau de sensibilisation national pour la jeunesse sur les sciences, l'ingénierie et la technologie. Plus de 3 millions de jeunes Canadiens ont été inspirés par leur participation aux camps et ateliers pratiques positifs d'Actua et à ses initiatives de sensibilisation dans la communauté.

FedDev Ontario offre à Actua, par l'intermédiaire de l'initiative Jeunesse en STIM, une contribution de 1,25 million de dollars, afin qu'il améliore ses programmes dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Pour être plus précis, Actua étendra trois de ses programmes consacrés à rendre les sciences accessibles à tous les jeunes, soit : le Programme national de rayonnement autochtone, le Programme national à l'intention des jeunes filles et le programme « Aller là où se trouvent les jeunes ». Ces initiatives ont été conçues afin d'éliminer les obstacles et de favoriser la participation active de l'ensemble de la diversité canadienne. Au cours des trois prochaines années, Actua s'attend à rejoindre 17 000 jeunes de plus dans le Sud de l'Ontario. De ce nombre, on estime qu'environ 10 000 jeunes filles, 2 250 Autochtones et 450 jeunes à risque et marginalisés profiteront des nouveaux camps de vacances, des ateliers en classe, des clubs et des activités de sensibilisation dans la communauté.

Grâce à ce partenariat, Actua appuiera également environ 200 emplois annuellement, surtout chez les étudiants de premier cycle en STIM, pour les trois prochaines années. Ces étudiants sont les instructeurs des dix membres d'Actua dans le Sud de l'Ontario, situés dans les neuf universités du Sud de l'Ontario, soit : l'Université de Guelph, l'Université de Toronto, l'Université York, l'Université Queen's, l'Université Carleton, l'Université d'Ottawa, l'Université de Western Ontario, l'Université McMaster et l'Université de Waterloo.

Chaque année, le réseau grandissant d'organismes membres d'Actua rejoint plus de 200 000 jeunes Canadiens, dans plus de 450 collectivités à l'échelle nationale. Parmi les principaux commanditaires d'Actua, notons : GE Canada, la Fondation Suncor Énergie, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, Shell Canada et Synapse – Connexion jeunesse IRSC. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez le www.actua.ca.

Initiative Jeunesse en STIM

Jeunesse en STIM, de FedDev Ontario, fournit un appui financier aux organismes à but non lucratif admissibles pour qu'ils puissent accroître, améliorer et coordonner la portée et l'incidence de leurs programmes éducatifs de sensibilisation des enfants et des jeunes, de la maternelle à la 12e année. Cette initiative est conçue pour inciter les jeunes à poursuivre des études et une carrière dans ces domaines, permettant ainsi de créer un répertoire de futurs talents, qui seront en bonne position pour alimenter les innovations commerciales et la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Les demandes de financement sont actuellement acceptées et évaluées dans le cadre d'un processus continu. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme affichées sur le site Web au www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :