Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovation in the Greater Toronto Area

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
August 19, 2011

Toronto, Ontario – Ten businesses will work with Centennial College to develop new technologies, help conduct research and bring ideas to market, thanks to an investment from the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario. Today, the Honourable Maxime Bernier, Minister of State (Small Business and Tourism), announced new partnerships between Centennial College and small- and medium-sized businesses.

" These agreements allow local businesses to work with researchers at Centennial College on developing new ideas and bringing those new products to Canadians, which will be good for the economy in this region," said Minister Bernier. " Our government is committed to supporting the people, communities and businesses of southern Ontario."

Last year, under FedDev Ontario's Applied Research and Commercialization (ARC) Initiative, Centennial College was approved for a contribution of up to $525,000 to partner with small- and medium-sized enterprises on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification. The support provided will create new economic opportunities and help to grow Canada's businesses to be more innovative and competitive.

"Centennial College welcomes the opportunity to work closely with the federal government on programs that keep Canada's economy moving forward," said Trish Dryden, Associate Vice-President of Research and Corporate Planning, Centennial College." The rapidly growing role for colleges in industry-driven innovation stimulates employment, productivity, and an improved ability for our small and medium enterprises to compete globally, while providing students with the innovation and entrepreneurial skills they need."

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative and Centennial College partners, please refer to the backgrounder.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative – Centennial College

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is designed to bridge the gap between research and commercialization in southern Ontario by encouraging post-secondary academic institutions to collaborate with small- and medium-sized enterprises. FedDev Ontario approved Centennial College for a contribution of up to $525,000 to partner with the following small- and medium-sized enterprises on activities in the areas of energy and sustainable development, gaming and animation, education and software design.

Story Planet Media Inc. (Toronto)
Story Planet Media Inc. is a project that aspires to bring literacy and creativity to kids, helping them develop the skills and confidence to become fearless, creative communicators, and inspiring them to develop their unique voice through writing, art and digital media. This project will allow Centennial faculty and students to help design and develop an innovative, interactive website for kids aged 6-9, where they can build personalized characters to travel around and visit different planets, creating stories that are uniquely their own.

Spongelab Interactive (Toronto)
Spongelab Interactive is a group of scientists, teachers, animators, artists, and programmers who are passionate about science education and want to help foster learning through gaming. The group has created a platform of educational video games focused on various areas of biology for elementary and high school students around the world. The newest initiative involves creating a digital biology trivia game, drawing on the knowledge of Centennial's biotechnology students to engage today's digitally driven youth to learn about biology through fun, interactive study.

NIM Energy (Toronto)
NIM Energy, a start-up company that was formed in 2009, is financing and developing the NIM fuel cell and an electrical recharging system. This system, which has been in development for over a decade, generates electricity and hydrogen that can be used in many applications. For this project, faculty and students at Centennial will build a test chamber that can measure both electricity and hydrogen, develop the corresponding test plan, test the Fuel Cell and evaluate its performance.

Hungry Eyes Film & Television (Toronto)
Hungry Eyes Film & Television is an award-winning media production company that delivers compelling and powerful stories in film, television and digital media. Inspired by the highly successful JUMP math teaching method developed by Dr. John Mighton, Hungry Eye's most recent venture in mobile applications is designed for North American youth and addresses inadequacy of math education. This project intends to create and market a fully functional mobile application designed to teach math education and math fundamentals to children in a fun and engaging way.

EfstonScience (Toronto)
EfstonScience is Canada's largest retailer of scientific products, including green energy products such as vertical axis wind turbines (VAWT). This project builds on two previous projects carried out by Centennial College, which determined that wind turbines are proving to be a major barrier in commercializing off-grid hybrid streetlights. This project will compare three different types of VAWTs that can be installed on top of off-grid hybrid streetlights to identify the best wind turbine rotor for maximizing power output while minimizing the cost of generating energy.

Environmental Bio-detection Products Inc. (Mississauga)
Environmental Bio-detection Products Inc. (EBPI) is a biotechnology company specializing in the manufacture and custom application of simple, rapid, and cost-effective methods for detecting and monitoring toxic, mutagenic and genotoxic materials. These kits are currently used for both commercial and educational purposes on a small scale, although the company intends to grow their reach. Through this project, EBPI and Centennial will develop and validate turn-key simulation and biological teaching kits in toxicity testing, along with corresponding curriculum, for high school, college and university classrooms.

DMTI Spatial (Markham)
DMTI Spatial provides companies with location content and software solutions to help them benefit from location intelligence. This project is collaboration with Centennial College to build a national Canadian infrastructure database, using geographic information system technology to identify buildings with multiple units, which can be used by various industries to determine the type of structure associated with a particular address.

Bitstrips.com (Toronto)
With over 20,000 logins each day, Bitstrips.com is the world's largest comic-making website that is currently primarily used by elementary schools (Bitstrips for Schools). This project will strive to create a new, groundbreaking application that will re-purpose Bitstrips' technology for Facebook, creating a database of comic templates on the population social networking site. This technology, combined with the collection of artwork created by Centennial students, will enable millions of users worldwide to make, share and collaborate on comics with their friends and loved ones.

3Di-Solutions (Toronto)
3Di-Solutions has pioneered the development and application of real-time graphics technology in the field of product visualization, to create the highest-quality interactive 3D content on all platforms, including touch and mobile devices. For this project, 3-Di Solutions will work with Centennial College to focus on the creation of a platform and software solution that will be designed to drive 3D graphics, menu overlays, interactive elements, narrative elements and animation on a real-time platform, leading to the next generation of interactive content.

Blue Heron Systems (Toronto)
Blue Heron Systems is a leading Toronto-based power electronics engineering firm, delivering engineering services and products that involve intelligent power conversion systems for small to medium-sized autonomous power applications. Following two earlier projects with Centennial College to create a simulation of an off-grid hybrid streetlight, the current project looks to create a validated and optimized design of an off-grid hybrid streetlight, which will be installed at Centennial College.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada soutient l'innovation dans la région du Grand Toronto

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 19 août 2011

Toronto (Ontario) – Dix entreprises travailleront avec le Centennial College à la conception de nouvelles technologies, à la recherche et à la mise en marché de nouveaux produits, grâce à un investissement de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le sud de l'Ontario. Aujourd'hui, l'honorable Maxime Bernier, ministre d'État (Petites entreprises et Tourisme), a annoncé de nouveaux partenariats entre le Centennial College et les petites et moyennes entreprises.

« Ces ententes permettent aux entreprises locales de collaborer avec des équipes de recherche du Centennial College sur l'élaboration de nouvelles idées et la présentation de ces nouveaux produits aux Canadiens, ce qui est une bonne chose pour l'économie et la région, a déclaré le ministre Bernier. Notre gouvernement est engagé à soutenir les personnes, les collectivités et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario. »

L'année dernière, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation de FedDev Ontario, le Centennial College a été approuvé pour une contribution de 525 000 $ pour créer des partenariats avec des petites et moyennes entreprises et lancer des activités de recherche appliquée, de conception technique, de mise au point de technologies, d'essais et de certification de produits. Cet apport financier créera de nouvelles possibilités et aidera les entreprises canadiennes à devenir plus novatrices et compétitives.

« Le Centennial College est heureux de pouvoir travailler en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de programmes qui aident l'économie canadienne à progresser, a affirmé Trish Dryden, vice-présidente associée à la recherche et à la planification d'entreprise, Centennial College. Le rôle de plus en plus important que jouent les collèges dans le cadre d'initiatives industrielles novatrices stimule l'emploi, la productivité et la capacité des petites et moyennes entreprises à se concurrencer à l'échelle mondiale, tout en permettant aux étudiants d'acquérir les compétences en innovation et entrepreneuriat dont ils ont besoin. »

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa deuxième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par l'entremise de partenariats et d'investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation et sur les partenaires du Centennial College, veuillez consulter le document d'information ci-joint.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Document d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation : Centennial College

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation est conçue pour combler l'écart entre la recherche et la commercialisation dans le sud de l'Ontario en encourageant les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire à collaborer avec les petites et moyennes entreprises. L'Agence fédérale de développement pour le sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a approuvé une contribution de 525 000 $ au Centennial College pour créer des partenariats avec les petites et moyennes entreprises nommées ci-dessous dans le cadre d'activités dans les secteurs de l'énergie et du développement durable, les jeux et l'animation, l'éducation et la conception de logiciels.

Story Planet Media Inc. (Toronto)
Story Planet Media Inc. travaille à un projet qui vise à favoriser la littératie et la créativité chez les enfants, à les aider à développer les compétences et la confiance pour devenir des communicateurs intrépides et créatifs et à les inspirer à développer leurs talents particuliers à l'aide de l'écriture, des arts et des médias numériques. Ce projet permettra aux professeurs et aux étudiants du Centennial College de contribuer à concevoir et à développer un site Web novateur et interactif pour les enfants âgés entre 6 et 9 ans, un site où ils peuvent créer des personnages personnalisés pouvant voyager et visiter différentes planètes, créant ainsi des histoires qui reflètent leur propre personnalité.

Spongelab Interactive (Toronto)
Spongelab Interactive est un groupe de scientifiques, d'enseignants, d'animateurs, d'artistes et de programmeurs passionnés pour l'enseignement de la science, et qui souhaitent favoriser l'apprentissage par l'entremise de jeux. Le groupe a créé une plate-forme de jeux vidéo éducatifs sur divers secteurs de la biologie pour les étudiants à l'élémentaire et au secondaire partout dans le monde. La plus récente initiative consiste à créer un jeu-questionnaire numérique sur la biologie tirant parti des connaissances des étudiants en biotechnologie du Centennial College pour inciter les jeunes d'aujourd'hui passionnés par le numérique à s'intéresser à la biologie dans le cadre de cours amusants et interactifs.

NIM Energy (Toronto)
NIM Energy, une entreprise en démarrage créée en 2009, finance et conçoit les piles à combustible et d'énergie électrique NIM. Ce système, dont la mise au point dure depuis plus de dix ans, produit de l'électricité et de l'hydrogène pouvant être utilisés dans de nombreuses applications. Dans le cadre de ce projet, les professeurs et les étudiants du Centennial College construiront un caisson d'essais pouvant mesurer l'électricité et l'hydrogène, élaboreront le plan d'essais connexe, testeront les piles à combustible et évalueront leur performance.

Hungry Eyes Film & Television (Toronto)
Hungry Eyes Film & Television est une entreprise primée de production média qui produit des histoires fascinantes et prenantes pour les industries du film, de la télévision et des médias numériques. Inspiré de la méthode hautement réputée JUMP d'enseignement des mathématiques, conçu par M. John Mighton, le plus récent projet de Hungry Eyes, dans le domaine des applications mobiles, est conçu pour les jeunes d'Amérique du Nord et vise à combler les lacunes dans l'enseignement des mathématiques. Ce projet vise à créer et mettre sur le marché des applications mobiles entièrement fonctionnelles conçues pour enseigner les mathématiques et les éléments de base des mathématiques aux enfants de façon amusante et agréable.

EfstonScience (Toronto)
EfstonScience est le plus grand détaillant canadien de produits scientifiques, notamment de produits énergétiques écologiques, comme les éoliennes à axe vertical. Ce projet est la continuité de deux projets précédents menés par le Centennial College qui ont permis de déterminer que les éoliennes constituent un obstacle important à la commercialisation des réverbères hybrides hors réseau. Dans le cadre de ce projet, on comparera trois différents types d'éoliennes à axe vertical qui peuvent être installés au sommet des réverbères hybrides hors réseau pour déterminer quel est le meilleur rotor d'éolienne pour optimiser la puissance de sortie, tout en atténuant le coût de la production d'énergie.

Environmental Bio-detection Products Inc. (Mississauga)
Environmental Bio-detection Products Inc. (EBPI) est une entreprise biotechnologique spécialisée dans la fabrication et l'application sur mesure de systèmes simples, rapides et économiques de détection et de surveillance des matériaux toxiques, mutagéniques et génotoxiques. Ces trousses sont présentement utilisées à des fins commerciales et éducatives à petite échelle, bien que l'entreprise souhaite élargir leur portée. Dans le cadre de ce projet, EBPI et le Centennial College concevront et valideront des trousses biologiques clés en main de simulation et d'apprentissage de vérification de la toxicité, ainsi que les programmes connexes, pour les écoles secondaires, les collèges et les universités.

DMTI Spatial (Markham)
DMTI Spatial offre aux entreprises des solutions logicielles et de contenu de localisation pour les aider à tirer parti des renseignements sur la localisation. Ce projet, mené en collaboration avec le Centennial College, consiste à construire une base de données nationale sur l'infrastructure canadienne par l'entremise de la technologie des systèmes d'information géographique pour localiser les bâtiments à unités multiples pouvant être utilisés par différentes industries en vue de déterminer le type de structure correspondant à une adresse en particulier.

Bitstrips.com (Toronto)
Avec plus de 20 000 visites par jour, Bitstrips.com est le plus important site Web de création de bandes dessinées au monde présentement surtout utilisé par les écoles élémentaires (Bitstrips for Schools). Dans le cadre de ce projet, on cherchera à créer une application nouvelle et novatrice qui rendra la technologie Biststrips compatible à Facebook en créant une base de données de modèles de bandes dessinées dans le site de réseau social. Cette technologie, combinée avec la collection d'illustrations créée par les étudiants du Centennial College, permettra à des millions d'utilisateurs dans le monde de créer leurs bandes dessinées, de les partager avec leurs amis et leurs êtres chers et de collaborer à leur création.

3Di-Solutions (Toronto)
3Di-Solutions fait figure de pionnier de la conception et de l'application de la technologie graphique en temps réel dans le domaine de la visualisation des produits, pour créer le contenu 3D interactif de la plus haute qualité sur toutes les plates-formes, y compris les appareils tactiles et mobiles. Dans le cadre de ce projet, 3Di-Solutions travaillera avec le Centennial College à la création d'une plateforme et d'une solution logicielle qui sera conçue pour recevoir les graphismes 3D, la modélisation des menus, les éléments interactifs, les éléments narratifs et les animations sur une plate-forme en temps réel, créant ainsi la prochaine génération de contenu interactif.

Blue Heron Systems (Toronto)
Blue Heron Systems est une firme d'ingénierie d'électronique de puissance dont le siège est à Toronto qui offre des services et des produits d'ingénierie faisant appel à des systèmes intelligents de conversion de l'énergie pour les applications énergétiques autonomes de petites à moyennes tailles. Après avoir collaboré à deux projets précédents avec le Centennial College pour créer une simulation d'un réverbère hybride hors réseau, le nouveau projet visera à créer un concept validé et optimisé d'un réverbère hybride hors réseau qui sera installé au Centennial College.

Date de modification :