Archived — Government of Canada Invests in McMaster University’s Automotive Resource Centre

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario, announces funding for the McMaster Automotive Resource Centre.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario, announces funding for the McMaster Automotive Resource Centre. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
August 24, 2011

Hamilton, Ontario – University researchers and the automotive industry will now come together to develop "green" automotive technologies, thanks to a new investment by the Government of Canada. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced the funding at McMaster's Innovation Park. Minister Goodyear was accompanied by David Sweet, Member of Parliament for Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale.

"Our government is committed to making sure the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario have the tools they need to succeed," said Minister of State Goodyear. "This investment will not only create jobs but help build an automotive resource centre putting southern Ontario at the forefront in the development of green automotive technologies."

Through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, McMaster University will receive up to $11.5 million to create the McMaster Automotive Resource Centre (MARC) for the research and development of innovations such as hybrid and electric powertrains, batteries and lightweight materials. The resulting collaboration between businesses, manufacturers, parts suppliers, and researchers will meet the growing demand for green and efficient automotive models. Once completed, the McMaster Automotive Resource Centre is expected to employ approximately 120 to 150 workers from the private, public and academic sectors and will provide training opportunities for highly qualified personnel that this sector requires.

"I am very pleased to see that with this support, our region will become more competitive and known for its leading-edge automotive technology," said MP Sweet. "Our government recognizes the importance of investing in businesses and post-secondary institutions so that southern Ontario can expand into promising new markets."

"The automotive sector is important to Canada's economy," said Patrick Deane, President and Vice-Chancellor, McMaster University. "MARC will allow our University to support this sector through industry-driven research and prototype development, as well as provide opportunities for students to work directly on priority projects with our industry partners."

The Prosperity Initiative is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in bolstering innovation and economic growth in our region.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its second year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity.

To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

McMaster Automotive Resource Centre

With a Prosperity Initiative contribution of up to $11.5 million, a former warehouse space will be renovated and equipped into a "green" automotive research facility that will house the McMaster Automotive Resource Centre – MARC. The new facility will provide a total of approximately 80,000 square feet of space for new development, prototyping, and large scale product trials in order to market newly developed automotive technology for mass production. This project will create 120 to 150 jobs related to research, development and knowledge transfer, foster new university-industry partnerships and train hundreds of students for industry.

The centre will draw upon McMaster University's automotive research strengths, which include the $10 million Canada Excellence Research Chair in Hybrid Powertrain (held by Dr. Ali Emadi), and MacAuto, the University's coordinating body for automotive research and development. These strengths will complement the expertise found at CANMET, a federal government materials technology lab which opened at the McMaster Innovation Park in February 2011 to assist academic and industry partners with developing new materials and metal technologies.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity, by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills to enhance businesses and sectors in southern Ontario to achieve higher output in relation to their investments;
  • diversify the regional economy, by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities in southern Ontario communities or regions with the potential to have long-term impacts on their economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario, by building on the assets and strengths of southern Ontario businesses and regions to create or expand economic clusters and enhance their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans l’Automotive Resource Centre de l’Université McMaster

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État de FedDev Ontario, annonce du financement pour le Automotive Resource Centre de l'Université McMaster.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État de FedDev Ontario, annonce du financement pour le Automotive Resource Centre de l'Université McMaster. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 24 août 2011

Hamilton (Ontario)– Des chercheurs universitaires et l'industrie automobile collaboreront à la conception de techniques de l'automobile écologiques, grâce à un nouvel investissement du gouvernement du Canada. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en a fait l'annonce au McMaster Innovation Park. Le ministre Goodyear était accompagné de M. David Sweet, député fédéral d'Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale.

« Notre gouvernement est déterminé à s'assurer que la population, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario possèdent les outils dont elles ont besoin pour réussir, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement permettra de créer non seulement des emplois, mais contribuera à créer un centre de ressources automobiles qui placera le Sud de l'Ontario à l'avant-garde de la conception des techniques de l'automobile écologiques. »

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité, l'Université McMaster recevra un financement pouvant atteindre 11,5 millions de dollars pour la création du McMaster Automobile Resource Centre (MARC) pour la recherche et le développement d'innovations, comme les groupes motopropulseurs hybrides et électriques, les batteries et les matériaux légers. Les retombées de la collaboration entre les entreprises, les fabricants, les fournisseurs de pièces et les chercheurs permettront de répondre à la demande croissante pour des modèles automobiles écologiques et efficaces. Une fois terminé, le McMaster Automobile Resource Centre devrait créer de 120 à 150 emplois pour les secteurs privé, public et universitaire ainsi que des possibilités de formation pour la main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée dont ces secteurs ont besoin.

« Grâce à ce soutien, notre région deviendra plus compétitive et davantage reconnue pour sa technologie et ses techniques d'avant-garde dans le domaine de l'automobile, a commenté M. Sweet. Notre gouvernement reconnaît l'importance d'investir dans les entreprises et dans les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire afin que la région du Sud de l'Ontario puisse pénétrer de nouveaux marchés prometteurs. »

« Le secteur de l'automobile est important pour l'économie du Canada, a ajouté M. Patrick Deane, président et vice-chancelier de l'Université MacMaster. Le MARC permettra à notre université d'aider le secteur en effectuant des recherches axées sur l'industrie et la conception de prototypes, tout en offrant aux étudiants des possibilités de travailler directement à des projets prioritaires avec nos partenaires de l'industrie. »

L'Initiative pour la prospérité est un résultat direct des rétroactions de chefs d'entreprise, d'universitaires et de dirigeants communautaires de tout le Sud de l'Ontario, qui ont suggéré que FedDev Ontario assume un rôle de chef de file pour favoriser la croissance économique, la diversification et la compétitivité dans la région.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa troisième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé un certain nombre d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par l'entremise de partenariats ainsi que d'investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
Feddev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

McMaster Automotive Resource Centre

Grâce à une contribution pouvant atteindre 11,5 millions de dollars, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité, un ancien entrepôt sera rénové et transformé en installations de recherche dans le domaine des techniques écologiques de l'automobile et deviendra le McMaster Automotive Resource Centre (MARC). Les nouvelles installations seront d'environ 80 000 pi. ca. et seront utilisées pour créer des produits novateurs et des prototypes, mettre à l'essai à grande échelle des produits et commercialiser de nouvelles techniques de l'automobile pour la production de masse. Ce projet permettra de créer de 120 à 150 emplois liés à la recherche, au développement et au transfert du savoir, de favoriser la création de nouveaux partenariats entre l'université et l'industrie et de former des centaines d'étudiants pour l'industrie.

Le centre tirera parti de l'expertise dans le secteur de l'automobile de l'Université McMaster, qui comprend la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le groupe motopropulseur hybride, doté d'un budget de 10 millions de dollars (détenu par M. Ali Emadi, Ph. D.), et MacAuto, l'organisme de coordination de l'université pour la recherche et le développement dans le secteur de l'automobile. Cette expertise complétera celle de CANMET, un laboratoire fédéral de technologie des matériaux, qui a ouvert ses portes dans le McMaster Innovation Park en février 2011, pour aider les partenariats formés de l'université et de l'industrie à concevoir de nouveaux matériaux et des techniques de pointe métaux.

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le but d'encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaires du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui accroîtront la productivité, la compétitivité et la diversification de l'économie dans la région.

Le financement est offert pour des projets qui :

  • stimulent la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouveaux procédés, technologies et compétences qui améliorent les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario et leur permettent d'atteindre une plus grande productivité par rapport à leurs investissements;
  • diversifient l'économie régionale, en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou de possibilités dans les collectivités et les régions du Sud de l'Ontario qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de ces dernières;
  • mettent en place un avantage concurrentiel pour le Sud de l'Ontario, en misant sur les atouts et les forces des entreprises et des régions du Sud de l'Ontario pour créer ou agrandir des grappes économiques et accroître leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées de façon continue. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou présenter une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices de l'Initiative, qui se trouvent dans le site Web de FedDev Ontario, à l'adresse suivante : www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :