Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Gedex Inc. to Help Canadian Resource Industry Compete Globally

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear and MP Adams announce a $6.85 million investment in Gedex Inc.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), alongside Eve Adams, Member of Parliament for Mississauga-Brampton South, announces an investment of $6.85 million through the Prosperity Initiative for Gedex Inc. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
August 25, 2011

Caledon, Ontario – Geological imaging technology that has the potential to transform mineral, gas, oil and other exploration worldwide was brought closer to market today, thanks to a new federal investment in Gedex Inc. announced by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Eve Adams, Member of Parliament for Mississauga-Brampton South, joined Minister Goodyear for the announcement.

"Our government is committed to making sure the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario have the tools they need to succeed," said Minister Goodyear. "Our investment in Gedex will help bring an important new technology to the global marketplace and allow this business to grow, expand and compete."

Gedex will receive a repayable contribution of up to $6,850,000 through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative. This investment will allow Gedex to accelerate testing of its next generation of geological imaging tools and build the production units that will put this technology into the hands of Canada's natural resource exploration sector. With their high-definition airborne gravity gradiometer system (HD-AGG) already in demand, the government's support will help Gedex Inc. create a regional competitive advantage with worldwide marketing opportunities. The project involves collaboration with industry partners, and will benefit the local economy through job creation.

"I'm pleased to see this investment in an innovative company from Mississauga," said MP Adams. "Gedex will be competing in today's global economy with a technology that promises to have far-reaching impact on tomorrow's natural resource exploration."

"This investment by FedDev Ontario will enable Gedex to accelerate the commercialization of our revolutionary HD-AGGTM high definition airborne gravity gradiometry technology," said Keith Morrison, Chief Executive Officer of Gedex. "FedDev Ontario's support will help foster the growth of what we believe will be one of the next great Canadian companies, the discovery partner of choice to the resource industry worldwide."

The Prosperity Initiative is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in enhancing economic development, diversification and competitiveness.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its third year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

For more information about this project and the Prosperity Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Contribution to Gedex Inc.

FedDev Ontario is providing a repayable contribution of up to $6.85 million through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative to Gedex Inc., a private company headquartered in Mississauga, Ontario. Gedex's unique, transformational technology is a high-definition airborne gravity gradiometer system (HD-AGG™) that has been designed to capture high-resolution images of the earth's subsurface density. This data will provide commercially valuable information for exploration, and be used to identify subsurface resources and structures. This technology has a number of applications, including mineral, gas, and oil exploration and ground water detection, while also having applications for security and national sovereignty as well as the environment.

The investment will be used over a two-year period to conduct field tests of the company's prototype and produce three field-ready units of the HD-AGG™ system. In addition to the anticipated creation of over 45 skilled full-time jobs in the region, Gedex is working towards providing its services to the international market.

For more information, please visit www.gedex.com.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity, by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills to enhance businesses and sectors in southern Ontario to achieve higher output in relation to their investments;
  • diversify the regional economy, by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities in southern Ontario communities or regions with the potential to have long-term impacts on their economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario, by building on the assets and strengths of southern Ontario businesses and regions to create or expand economic clusters and enhance their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans la société Gedex Inc. afin d'aider l'industrie primaire canadienne à livrer concurrence à l’échelle mondiale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear et la députée Adams annoncent un investissement de 6,85 millions de dollars dans Gedex inc.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), accompagné d'Eve Adams, députée de Mississauga-Brampton Sud, annonce un investissement de 6,85 millions de dollars dans la compagnie Gedex inc. par l'intermédiaire de l'Initiative pour la prospérité. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 25 août 2011

Caledon (Ontario) – Une technologie d'imagerie géologique qui a le potentiel de transformer l'exploration minérale, gazière, pétrolière et autre à l'échelle mondiale s'apprête aujourd'hui à faire son entrée sur le marché, grâce à un nouvel investissement du gouvernement fédéral dans la société Gedex Inc. qu'a annoncé l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Eve Adams, députée de Mississauga-Brampton Sud, a accompagné le ministre Goodyear pour faire cette annonce.

« Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à s'assurer que la population, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario possèdent les outils dont elles ont besoin pour réussir, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Notre investissement dans la société Gedex aidera celle-ci à offrir sur le marché mondial une nouvelle technologie de grande envergure et lui permettra de croître, de prendre de l'expansion et d'être concurrentielle. »

La société Gedex recevra une contribution remboursable allant jusqu'à 6 850 000 $ par l'intermédiaire de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario. Cet investissement permettra à Gedex d'accélérer la mise à l'essai de sa prochaine génération d'outils d'imagerie géologique et de construire les unités de production qui mettront cette technologie entre les mains du secteur de l'exploration des ressources naturelles du Canada. Avec son système de gradiomètre gravimétrique aérien à haute définition high-definition airborne gravity gradiometer system (HD-AGGMC)] déjà en demande, cet appui du gouvernement aidera la société Gedex Inc. à créer un avantage concurrentiel à l'échelle régionale tout en offrant des possibilités de commercialisation à l'échelle mondiale. Ce projet implique la collaboration de partenaires de l'industrie et profitera à l'économie locale grâce à la création d'emplois.

« Je suis heureuse de voir que cet investissement profitera à une société innovatrice de Mississauga, a déclaré la députée Adams. La société Gedex livrera concurrence au marché mondial actuel avec une technologie qui promet d'avoir des répercussions de grande envergure sur l'exploration des ressources naturelles de demain. »

« Cet investissement de FedDev Ontario permettra à la société Gedex d'accélérer la commercialisation de notre technologie révolutionnaire de système de gradiomètre gravimétrique aérien à haute définition sous le nom de HD-AGGMC, a expliqué Keith Morrison, directeur général de Gedex. L'appui de FedDev Ontario nous permettra de miser sur la croissance de ce qui, à notre avis, sera l'une des prochaines grandes entreprises canadiennes, le partenaire de choix en matière de découverte pour l'industrie primaire à l'échelle mondiale. »

L'Initiative pour la prospérité est un résultat direct des rétroactions des chefs d'entreprise, des universitaires et des dirigeants communautaires de tout le Sud de l'Ontario, lesquels ont suggéré que FedDev Ontario assume un rôle de chef de file pour favoriser l'innovation et la croissance économique dans notre région.

S'inscrivant dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada, FedDev Ontario a été créée pour prêter main-forte aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa troisième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives visant à établir un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de ce projet et de l'Initiative pour la prospérité, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
Feddev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Contribution à la société Gedex Inc.

FedDev Ontario offre à Gedex Inc., une société privée dont le siège social est situé à Mississauga, en Ontario, une contribution remboursable allant jusqu'à 6,85 millions de dollars par l'intermédiaire de son Initiative pour la prospérité. La technologie de transformation unique de Gedex consiste en un système de gradiomètre gravimétrique aérien à haute définition [high-definition airborne gravity gradiometer system (HD-AGGMC)] qui a été conçu pour saisir des images à haute résolution de la densité subsuperficielle de la terre. Ces données fourniront des renseignements précieux sur le plan commercial aux fins d'exploration et serviront à détecter les ressources et les structures subsuperficielles. Cette technologie permet plusieurs applications, y compris l'exploration minérale, gazière et pétrolière ainsi que la détection d'eau souterraine, tout en offrant des applications aux fins de sécurité et de souveraineté nationale et en respectant l'environnement.

Cet investissement sera échelonné sur une période de deux ans afin de mettre à l'essai le prototype de la société sur le terrain et de fabriquer trois unités de production du système HD-AGGMC. Outre la création prévue de plus de 45 emplois spécialisés à plein temps dans la région, la société Gedex envisage de fournir ses services sur le marché international.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site www.gedex.com(en anglais seulement).

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité encourage les entreprises, les organismes sans but lucratif et les établissements postsecondaires du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront la production, la diversification et la compétitivité accrues dans la région.

Le financement est offert pour des projets qui :

  • améliorent la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouvelles technologies, procédures et compétences qui amélioreront les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario afin d'atteindre une plus grande productivité par rapport à leurs investissements;
  • diversifient l'économie régionale, en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou occasions dans les collectivités et les régions du Sud de l'Ontario qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur leur diversité économique;
  • mettent en place un avantage concurrentiel pour le Sud de l'Ontario, en misant sur les atouts et les forces des entreprises et des régions du Sud de l'Ontario pour créer ou élargir les regroupements économiques et accroître leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes de financement sont actuellement acceptées et évaluées dans le cadre d'un processus continu. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme affichées dans le site Web au www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :