Archived — Government of Canada Supports Earth Rangers to Encourage Youth to Discover Careers in Environmental Science

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Julian Fantino and Co-President Mark Northwood standing with children.

Minister Julian Fantino and Co-President of Earth Rangers Mark Northwood celebrate Youth STEM funding for Earth Rangers with organization's young members. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
August 29, 2011

Woodbridge, Ontario – Thousands more children and youth in southern Ontario will be inspired to explore careers in environmental science, thanks to an investment in Earth Rangers announced by the Honourable Julian Fantino, Associate Minister of National Defence and Member of Parliament for Vaughan, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our Government recognizes the importance of encouraging young people to study and choose a career in the environmental sciences," said Minister Fantino. "Reaching them at a young age will help to spark their curiosity and inspire them to become the innovators of tomorrow."

Through FedDev Ontario’s investment of up to $1,108,000, Earth Rangers will now be able to bring programming to 785 school groups and reach 400,000 students through hands-on, conservation-related activities. Earth Rangers, an organization dedicated to inspiring and educating children about the environment, will also bring its activities into museums and science centres, such as the Royal Ontario Museum, and make its website more interactive, bringing science to life for thousands of youth.

"Each year Earth Rangers educates more than a million children about the importance of protecting biodiversity and inspires them to take action to protect endangered habitats across the country. We are excited and honoured to work with the federal government on this important initiative. Children are our present and our future and this initiative will not only inspire children to focus their studies in science, engineering, technology and math, but will also provide them with the education and tools required to be the next generation of environmental stewards," said Peter Kendall, Executive Director and co-CEO, Earth Rangers.

The investment is provided through FedDev Ontario’s Youth STEM Initiative, aimed at encouraging students in kindergarten through grade 12 to pursue an education or career in the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) fields. For more information about the program and Earth Rangers, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada’s Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its third year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Contribution to Earth Rangers

FedDev Ontario is investing up to $1,108,000 in Earth Rangers through the Youth STEM Initiative.

The funding will be used for the following activities:

  • Increase outreach to an additional 285 school groups and 100,000 students per year (from 500 school groups and 300,000 students currently). This includes providing students with close-up experiences with animals, educating them about endangered species and providing them with take-home materials. Earth Rangers will also develop a set of tools to help educators build environmental science into their curriculum to keep students interested in this field.
  • Develop exhibits and programming in five additional museums or science centres per year (from one museum currently – the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto).
  • Update website content with interactive features to attract children and youth to science-related careers. This includes the enhancement of Earth Rangers’ children’s blog the Wild Wire, which will feature interviews with young scientists working on environmental and conservation projects.

More information is available at www.earthrangers.com.

Youth STEM Initiative

FedDev Ontario’s Youth STEM provides funding to eligible not-for-profit organizations to expand, enhance and coordinate the reach and impact of educational outreach programs in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) for children and youth in kindergarten through grade 12. The initiative is designed to encourage young people to pursue further studies and careers in these fields, creating a future talent pool that is well-positioned to fuel business innovation and growth in southern Ontario.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the program guidelines available on the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada apporte une aide financière à Earth Rangers afin d’encourager les jeunes à découvrir des carrières dans le domaine des sciences de l’environnement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Julian Fantino et le coprésident Mark Northwood debout avec les enfants.

Le ministre Julian Fantino et le coprésident de Earth Rangers, Mark Northwood, célèbrent un financement dans le cadre de Jeunesse en STIM avec les jeunes membres de l'organisme. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 29 août 2011

Woodbridge (Ontario) – Des milliers d'enfants et de jeunes additionnels du Sud de l'Ontario seront inspirés à envisager des carrières dans le domaine des sciences de l'environnement, grâce à un investissement dans Earth Rangers annoncé par l'honorable Julian Fantino, ministre associé de la Défense nationale et député de Vaughan, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Notre gouvernement sait combien il est important d'encourager les jeunes à étudier et à choisir une carrière dans le domaine des sciences de l'environnement, a déclaré le ministre Fantino. En les joignant à un jeune âge, nous pouvons piquer leur curiosité et les inspirer à devenir les innovateurs de demain. »

Par l'intermédiaire d'un investissement de FedDev Ontario allant jusqu'à 1 108 000 $, Earth Rangers pourra maintenant offrir son programme à 785 groupes scolaires et joindre 400 000 étudiants au moyen d'activités pratiques liées à la conservation. Earth Rangers, une organisation qui se consacre à inspirer et à éduquer les enfants au sujet de l'environnement, présentera aussi ses activités dans les musées et les centres des sciences, comme au Musée royal de l'Ontario, et rendra son site Web plus interactif, donnant vie aux sciences pour des milliers de jeunes.

« Chaque année, Earth Rangers éduque plus d'un million d'enfants sur l'importance de protéger la biodiversité et les inspire à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour protéger les habitats en péril partout au pays. Nous sommes excités et honorés de travailler avec le gouvernement fédéral à cette importante initiative. Les enfants représentent notre présent et notre avenir, et non seulement cette initiative viendra-t-elle inspirer les enfants à orienter leurs études vers le domaine des sciences, de l'ingénierie, de la technologie et des mathématiques, mais elle leur fournira aussi l'éducation et les outils nécessaires pour devenir la prochaine génération d'intendants de l'environnement », a affirmé Peter Kendall, directeur exécutif et co-président-directeur général chez Earth Rangers.

L'investissement est offert par l'intermédiaire de l'Initiative jeunesse en STIM de FedDev Ontario, qui vise à encourager les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année à poursuivre des études ou à faire carrière dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM). Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le programme et sur Earth Rangers, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour appuyer les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa troisième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et a tout mis en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Earth Rangers

FedDev Ontario investit jusqu'à 1 108 000 $ dans Earth Rangers par l'intermédiaire de l'Initiative jeunesse en STIM.

Le financement servira aux activités suivantes :

  • Étendre les activités sensibilisation à 285 groupes scolaires et 100 000 étudiants par année de plus par année (s'ajoutant aux 500 groupes scolaires et 300 000 étudiants à l'heure actuelle). Ces activités sont destinées, entre autres, à donner aux étudiants des expériences de premier plan avec des animaux, à les informer sur les espèces en péril et à leur fournir de la documentation à apporter. Earth Rangers créera aussi un ensemble d'outils afin d'aider les éducateurs à ajouter la science de l'environnement à leur curriculum afin de maintenir l'intéret des étudiants dans le domaine.
  • Créer des expositions et des programmes dans cinq musées ou centres des sciences supplémentaires (par rapport à un musée à l'heure actuelle – le Musée royal de l'Ontario à Toronto).
  • Ajouter des fonctions interactives au contenu du site Web afin d'attirer les enfants et les jeunes vers des carrières liées aux sciences. Cela comprend l'amélioration du blogue des enfants d'Earth Rangers, appelé « Wild Wire », qui présentera des entrevues avec de jeunes chercheurs travaillant sur des projets portant sur l'environnement et la conservation.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements au www.earthrangers.com.

Initiative jeunesse en STIM

Jeunesse en STIM fournit un appui financier aux organismes à but non lucratif admissibles pour qu'ils puissent accroître, améliorer et coordonner la portée et l'incidence de leurs programmes éducatifs de sensibilisation des enfants et des jeunes, de la maternelle à la 12e année, dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM). Cette initiative est conçue pour inciter les jeunes à poursuivre des études et une carrière dans ces domaines, permettant ainsi de créer un répertoire de futurs talents, qui seront en bonne position pour alimenter les innovations commerciales et la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Les demandes de financement sont actuellement acceptées et évaluées dans le cadre d'un processus continu. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme affichées sur le site Web au www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :