Archived — Government of Canada to Promote Science and Math for Students in London

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 2, 2011

London, Ontario – More children in southern Ontario will be exposed to the work that scientists, researchers and engineers do every day, thanks to an investment in the London Regional Children's Museum announced by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Minister Goodyear was accompanied by Ed Holder, Member of Parliament for London West.

"Our government recognizes that to keep southern Ontario's economy strong, we need more graduates in the scientific fields," said Minister Goodyear. "Not only will our investment help the London Regional Children's Museum interest more young people in science, technology, engineering and math, it will also draw more visitors to the area and have a positive impact on the regional economy."

The investment is being provided through FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM Initiative, aimed at encouraging students in kindergarten through grade 12 to pursue an education or career in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

The London Regional Children's Museum will receive up to $196,575 for its "Science in My World" project aimed at strengthening the museum's STEM-related programming. Project activities include hands-on exhibits, interactive programs, school education programs, an expert-in-residence program, special events and guests that will get children excited about STEM.

"I am very pleased to be celebrating an investment in the education and skills of our local youth," said MP Holder. "By developing our next generation of scientists, technologists, engineers and mathematicians, we can help drive innovation and keep the economy growing in our London region for years to come."

"The Children's Museum is extremely pleased to begin work on our "Science in My World" project. Science education has been a part of our mandate since the museum was founded 35 years ago. Today, in an ever-changing technology-driven society, it is even more important," said Joy Birch, Children's Museum Executive Director. "Kids naturally learn best through hands-on experiences and this additional funding will allow us to create opportunities for all children to explore and get excited about science, math and engineering concepts."

For more information, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its third year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Contribution to London Regional Children's Museum

FedDev Ontario is providing the London Regional Children's Museum with a contribution of $196,575 for its "Science in My World" project. The museum will collaborate with regional post-secondary institutions as well as local science, technology and engineering firms to provide hands-on STEM-based programs aimed at making children interested in and exposed to careers in the scientific fields.

The project includes:

  • Themed programming weeks: National Engineering Week, National Science and Technology Week, Earth Week.
  • Scientist/Expert in Residence Program, with a dedicated laboratory space that will showcase a different area of research each month and give youth an opportunity to meet with researchers.
  • Daily demonstrations, focusing on examples of science in the everyday world, with topics such as: water testing, chemical reactions, gravity, electricity, calloids, star systems and more.
  • New school education programs, which deliver hand-ons learning experience for students in the museum's lab space, while supporting key school curriculum.
  • STEM workshops, special guests, events and outreach.
  • Equipment upgrades, including a mobile demonstration station for outreach.
  • Improvements to the Arctic-themed gallery, including a video/internet link to allow children to interact with researchers and students in the Arctic and other remote areas of field study, sharing ideas about science, climate change and environmental stewardship.

Youth STEM

FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM provides funding to eligible not-for-profit organizations to expand, enhance and coordinate the reach and impact of educational outreach programs in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) for children and youth in kindergarten through grade 12. The initiative is designed to encourage young people to pursue further studies and careers in these fields, creating a future talent pool that is well-positioned to fuel business innovation and growth in southern Ontario.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the program guidelines available on the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada assure la promotion des sciences et des mathématiques auprès des étudiants de London

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 2 septembre 2011

London (Ontario) – Les enfants du Sud de l'Ontario seront exposés en plus grand nombre aux travaux que des scientifiques, des chercheurs et des ingénieurs effectuent quotidiennement, grâce à un investissement dans le London Regional Children's Museum, annoncé par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario. Le ministre Goodyear était accompagné du député de London-Ouest, Ed Holder.

« Notre gouvernement reconnaît que, pour maintenir une économie forte dans le Sud de l'Ontario, nous avons besoin d'un plus grand nombre de diplômés dans les domaines scientifiques, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Notre investissement aidera non seulement le London Regional Children's Museum à mousser l'intérêt d'un plus grand nombre de jeunes pour les sciences, la technologie, l'ingénierie et les mathématiques, mais il aura aussi pour effet d'attirer plus de visiteurs dans la région, ce qui aura des retombées favorables sur l'économie régionale. »

L'investissement est fourni par l'intermédiaire de l'Initiative Jeunesse en STIM de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), qui est conçue pour encourager les élèves, de la maternelle à la 12e année, à mener des études ou une carrière dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM).

Le London Regional Children's Museum recevra un montant pouvant atteindre 196 575 $ pour son projet Science in My World (La science dans mon univers), ayant pour but de consolider les programmes du musée qui se rattachent aux STIM. Les activités relevant du projet comprennent des expositions et des programmes interactifs, des programmes scolaires, un programme de spécialiste en résidence, des activités spéciales et la venue d'invités qui stimuleront l'intérêt des enfants pour les STIM.

« J'ai l'immense plaisir de célébrer un investissement dans l'éducation et les compétences de nos jeunes de la région, a déclaré le député Holder. En formant notre prochaine génération de scientifiques, de technologues, d'ingénieurs et de mathématiciens, nous contribuerons à stimuler les innovations et nous continuerons à faire croître l'économie dans notre région de London, et ce, pour des années à venir. »

« Le Children's Museum est très heureux de commencer à travailler à notre projet Science in My World. L'enseignement des sciences fait partie de notre mandat depuis la fondation du musée, il y a 35 ans. Aujourd'hui, dans une société axée sur la technologie qui ne cesse d'évoluer, cet enseignement revêt encore plus d'importance, a déclaré Joy Birch, directrice générale du Children's Museum. Les enfants apprennent naturellement avec beaucoup de facilité dans le cadre d'expériences interactives, et ce financement supplémentaire nous aidera à offrir à tous les enfants des possibilités de découvrir avec enthousiasme les concepts scientifiques, mathématiques et mécaniques. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour appuyer les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa troisième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et a tout mis en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
Feddev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Contribution au London Regional Children's Museum

FedDev Ontario offre une contribution de 196 575 $ au London Regional Children's Museum pour son projet Science in My World (La science dans mon univers). Le musée collaborera avec des établissements postsecondaires régionaux, ainsi qu'avec des sociétés locales dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie et de l'ingénierie, afin de proposer des programmes interactifs axés sur les STIM, ayant pour objet d'exposer les enfants aux carrières dans les domaines scientifiques et de les y intéresser.

Le projet comprend les volets suivants :

  • Des semaines thématiques : la Semaine nationale du génie, la Semaine nationale des sciences et de la technologie et la Semaine de la terre.
  • Un programme de scientifique ou spécialiste en résidence, doté d'un laboratoire permanent qui présentera chaque mois un domaine de recherche différent et qui donnera aux jeunes la possibilité de rencontrer des chercheurs.
  • Des démonstrations quotidiennes, axées sur des exemples d'applications scientifiques dans la vie de tous les jours, où seront abordés des sujets tels que la vérification de la qualité de l'eau, les réactions chimiques, la gravité, l'électricité, les colloïdes, les réseaux étoilés et bien d'autres sujets encore.
  • De nouveaux programmes d'enseignement scolaire, qui permettront aux étudiants d'acquérir de l'expérience dans le cadre d'un apprentissage interactif au laboratoire du musée, à l'appui de leur programme scolaire principal.
  • Des ateliers de STIM, l'accueil d'invités spéciaux, des activités et de la sensibilisation.
  • Des mises à niveau de matériel, y compris une station mobile de démonstration aux fins de la sensibilisation.
  • Des améliorations à la galerie ayant l'Arctique pour thème, dont une vidéo et un lien Internet, afin de permettre aux enfants d'interagir avec des chercheurs et des étudiants dans l'Arctique et dans d'autres régions éloignées relevant du domaine d'étude, et d'échanger des idées à propos des sciences, des changements climatiques et de la gérance de l'environnement.

Jeunesse en STIM

L'initiative Jeunesse en STIM de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) fournit un financement aux organismes à but non lucratif admissibles pour qu'ils puissent accroître, améliorer et coordonner la portée et l'incidence de leurs programmes éducatifs de sensibilisation des enfants et des jeunes, de la maternelle à la 12e année, dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM). L'initiative est conçue pour encourager les jeunes à mener des études et une carrière dans ces domaines, en vue de créer une réserve de talents, qui sera bien placée pour stimuler l'innovation et la croissance au sein des entreprises dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Les demandes de financement sont actuellement acceptées et évaluées dans le cadre d'un processus continu. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme affichées dans le site Web au www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :