Archived — The Government of Canada Highlights the Contributions of Small Businesses and Entrepreneurs to the Economy

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
Septemeber 9, 2011

St. Catharines, Ontario – Today, the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario was at the Niagara Interactive Media Generator (nGen) in St. Catharines to help celebrate the substantial economic contributions being made by small business owners and entrepreneurs across the country. He was joined by Rick Dykstra, Member of Parliament for St. Catharines.

"Our government is taking the necessary steps to ensure that Canadian businesses drive innovation, productivity, job creation and economic growth," said Minister of State Goodyear. "We look forward to supporting entrepreneurs as they create jobs in St. Catharines."

Small and medium-sized businesses account for nearly 99 percent of the 1.1 million employers in Canada. Of these, 98 percent employ fewer than 100 people and approximately three quarters have fewer than 10 employees. Furthermore, these small businesses are responsible for about half of the total jobs in the private sector.

"By investing in key economic development projects like nGen, we are maintaining and further establishing St. Catharines and the Niagara region as a key contributor to the economy," said MP Dykstra.

To help support these engines of the economy, the Government of Canada is lowering the small business tax rate, reducing the regulatory burden and ensuring that companies have the tools they need to succeed.

The Government of Canada invested $3,028,000 dollars for the Niagara Interactive Media Generator (nGen) through FedDev Ontario’s Community Adjustment Fund. This investment has helped nGen expand its facilities and strengthen its sustainability as a hub for interactive media development in St. Catharines and the Niagara Region.

The Community Adjustment Fund in southern Ontario has created immediate employment opportunities and support for local economies that have been struggling with the effects of the global economic downturn.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its third year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information(media only), please contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada souligne la contribution des petites entreprises et des entrepreneurs à l’économie

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 9 septembre 2011

St. Catharines, OntarioL'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario était aujourd'hui au Niagara Interactive Media Generator (nGen), à St. Catharines, dans le but de souligner l'importante contribution des propriétaires de petites entreprises et des entrepreneurs à l'économie partout au pays. M. Rick Dykstra, député fédéral de St. Catharines, était aussi présent.

« Notre gouvernement prend les mesures nécessaires pour que les entreprises canadiennes puissent être des moteurs d'innovation, de productivité, de création d'emplois et de croissance économique, a déclaré le ministre d'État Goodyear. Nous serons heureux d'appuyer les entrepreneurs dans leurs efforts de création d'emplois ici même, à St. Catharines. »

Au Canada, sur 1,1 million d'employeurs, 99 p. cent sont des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME). Quelque 98 p. cent de ces PME emploient moins de 100 personnes, et près des trois quarts, moins de 10 personnes. En outre, ces petites entreprises sont responsables de près de la moitié des emplois du secteur privé.

« En investissant dans des projets de développement économique clés comme nGen, nous maintenons et établissons davantage St. Catharines et la région de Niagara dans un rôle de contributeur clé à l'économie », a déclaré le député Dykstra.

Pour appuyer ces moteurs de l'économie, le gouvernement du Canada réduit les impôts des petites entreprises, diminue le fardeau de la paperasserie et veille à ce que les entreprises disposent des outils dont elles ont besoin pour prospérer.

Le gouvernement du Canada a investi 3 028 000 dollars dans le Niagara Interactive Media Generator (nGen) par le biais du Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités de FedDev Ontario. Cet investissement a aidé nGen à étendre ses installations et a renforcé sa durabilité en tant que pôle du développement des médias interactifs à St. Catharines et dans la région de Niagara.

Le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario a créé des possibilités d'emplois immédiates, et appuie les économies locales aux prises avec les effets du ralentissement de l'économie mondiale.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa troisième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par l'entremise de partenariats et d'investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Renseignements (médias seulement)  :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date de modification :