Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovation in Toronto

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 12, 2011

Toronto, Ontario – Thanks to new partnerships with the University of Toronto, fourteen businesses in southern Ontario will have an opportunity to bring innovative products to market and increase their productivity and competitiveness, in areas such as information technology, biomedical sciences, life sciences and engineering. Today, the Honourable Peter Van Loan, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, announced the agreements between the University and local small- and medium-sized businesses.

"These agreements allow the University of Toronto and local businesses to work together on exciting new research, and get their results to the marketplace faster," said Minister Van Loan. "Through the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative, our government is investing in innovation to create jobs and economic growth."

Last year, under the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, the University of Toronto was approved for up to $750,000 from FedDev Ontario to partner with small- and medium-sized businesses on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification. The support provided will create new economic opportunities, help businesses in southern Ontario grow, and enable them to become even more innovative and competitive.

"At the University of Toronto, we’re always looking for ways to make research meaningful to the wider community," said Professor Peter Lewis, Associate Vice-President, Research, University of Toronto. "By working together with businesses, we’re accelerating the movement of ideas to the marketplace, for the benefit of all Ontarians. We are delighted with the news of this generous investment from FedDev Ontario’s Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative. With this funding, our researchers, together with their private sector collaborators, are helping to create a prosperous, innovative future."

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative and University of Toronto partners, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada’s Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its third year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative – University of Toronto

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative is designed to bridge the gap between research and commercialization in southern Ontario by encouraging post-secondary academic institutions to collaborate with small- and medium-sized businesses.

FedDev Ontario is providing the University of Toronto with up to $750,000 to partner with fourteen small- and medium-sized enterprises on the following projects.

AbCelex Technologies Inc. (Toronto)

AbCelex Technologies Inc. is an Ontario-based biotech southern Ontario company which develops and markets a range of antibodies and antibody-based diagnostic products for a variety of illnesses including cancer and infectious diseases. The collaboration with the University of Toronto investigators may result in the development of recombinant antibodies, assays and products for the diagnosis and monitoring of patients with acute myeloid leukemia (AML).

Baylis Medical Company (Mississauga)

Baylis Medical’s Radio Frequency (RF) Puncture System is a set of world-leading devices that are used to create controlled punctures in tissue. The RF Puncture System has applications in the field of Interventional Cardiology as well as in the field of Interventional Radiology. This project will evaluate magnetic resonance-imaging methods to enhance the guidance of Baylis Medical's RF Puncture System for crossing chronic total occlusions, providing improved tools for Canadian healthcare professionals.

Cooler Solution (Toronto)

The TheraChoice project is empowering cancer patients, helping them make informed treatment decisions by building a software prototype that provides easy-to-understand illustrations of the risks and benefits of therapeutic options. This project combines Cooler Solutions’ specialized in patient-centered design and innovation with the university’s expertise in data visualization. The end result will be a working prototype that uses leading practices in data visualization to present to cancer patients the risks and benefits of treatment options in a way that is compelling, intuitive, and meaningful.

ecobee (Toronto)

ecobee delivers intelligent energy management solutions for real people. Installed in tens of thousands of homes and businesses across North America, the ecobee Open Energy Management Platform is the easiest way for residential and business customers to understand, manage and reduce their energy consumption. This research project with the University of Toronto will contribute to the development of new features and expansions to ecobee’s existing product line by exploring how Canadian commercial and residential entities collect, consume and integrate energy-consumption data into their everyday experiences, attitudes and behaviours.

Engineering Services Inc. (Toronto)

Engineering Services Inc. (ESI) is a leading robotics and automation technology company, specializing in the development of advanced robotics and automation products and custom robotics systems. Researchers at the University of Toronto will collaborate with ESI in the development of an inexpensive miniature ion mobility spectrometer as a point-of-care diagnostic device to assist in the early detection of cancers and viral diseases.

InteraXon (Toronto)

InteraXon creates single sensor Electroencephalography (EEG) systems and EEG Interactions that allow users to collect brainwave data in non-laboratory experiences. Through this project with the University of Toronto, InteraXon will develop an EEG capture system to help individuals diagnosed with Epilepsy monitor seizures at home with what is targeted to be a convenient and inexpensive system to benefit Canadian patients.

Kangaroo Design (Toronto)

Kangaroo Design is a Canadian industrial design and engineering company which creates hardware/software solutions for medical devices and more. Kangaroo also incubates young technology companies, giving them the benefit of a unique environment. One of its incubated companies – CanFocus– makes a product that enables end users to improve their organizations’ efficiency. This project with the University of Toronto is designed to evaluate and pilot test CanFocus’ hardware and software solutions to improve workplace satisfaction and productivity.

Mircom Ltd. (Toronto)

Mircom, a fire/life safety, emergency evacuation, communications and security company, will work with the University of Toronto team towards the application of Optical Technologies in Mircom’s life safety systems. The project will develop technologies new to Canada, and will provide training opportunities for highly qualified personnel.

Segasist Technologies (Toronto)

Segasist Technologies is a privately held medical device company developing contouring/segmentation solutions for medical image analysis. This project in collaboration with researchers at the University of Toronto will assist in the development of automated imaging methods for improved tumour delineation during cancer treatment.

Sensor Technology Ltd. (Collingwood)

Sensor Technology Ltd. specializes in manufacturing piezoelectric materials as well as acoustic transducers that utilize them. This project will develop a piezoelectric-based device to convert vibrations into usable electric energy to power small devices without the need for batteries, providing an alternative to traditional battery-based energy storage.

Sentinelle Medical (Toronto)

Hologic’s Sentinelle division is a leading developer of magnetic resonance imaging technology (MRI) coils and diagnostic software for the healthcare industry. This project will develop improved MRI guidance methods during breast surgery, opening up a new market for Sentinelle and providing improved tools to Canadian health care professionals.

Skymeter (Toronto)

Skymeter has developed a GPS-based telematics system for road tolling, parking and pay as you drive insurance applications. Skymeter plans to expand the application of their technology to add safety-related capabilities. Collaboration with University of Toronto researchers will identify if correlations exist between crash/moving violation histories and driving styles as measured through steering, speed and acceleration profiles obtained in a naturalistic on-road study.

Solar Grid Inc. (Vaughan)

SolarGrid Energy is a southern Ontario company established to commercialize next generation solar cells. Through this project novel thin film solar cells technology will be developed to provide high efficiency solar energy collectors, enabling the production of less expensive, solar cells for the Canadian market.

Syngrafii Corporation (Toronto)

Syngrafii Corporation is the creator of the LongPen product family, an innovative technology that uses an individual's handwriting characteristics to facilitate real-time long-distance signing. Major potential customers have expressed a need for more rigid biometric security. This project studies how the biomechanics of handwriting varies between men and women and across the age span, from young adults to older persons. The results of this project will allow Syngrafii’s integration of grip force into their long-distance handwriting biometric system for applications in Canadian financial, government, justice and security industries.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie l'innovation à Toronto

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 12 septembre 2011

Toronto, Ontario– Grâce à de nouveaux partenariats avec la University of Toronto, quatorze entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario auront la possibilité d'introduire de nouveaux produits sur le marché et d'accroître leur productivité et leur compétitivité, dans des secteurs comme la technologie de l'information, les sciences biomédicales, les sciences de la vie et l'ingénierie. Aujourd'hui, l'honorable Peter Van Loan, leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes, a annoncé, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), les ententes conclues entre l'université et de petites et moyennes entreprises locales.

« Ces ententes permettent à la University of Toronto et à des entreprises locales de travailler ensemble à de nouveaux projets de recherche passionnants et de commercialiser les résultats plus rapidement, a déclaré M. Van Loan. Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, notre gouvernement investit dans l'innovation afin de créer des emplois et de favoriser la croissance économique. »

L'année dernière, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, la University of Toronto a reçu jusqu'à 750 000 $ de FedDev Ontario pour créer des partenariats avec des petites et moyennes entreprises dans des domaines comme la recherche appliquée, la conception technique, le développement de technologies, la mise à l'essai et la certification de produits. L'aide fournie créera de nouvelles possibilités économiques, favorisera la croissance des entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario et leur permettra de devenir encore plus novatrices et compétitives.

« À la University of Toronto, nous sommes toujours en quête de façons de rendre la recherche plus utile pour l'ensemble de la collectivité, a indiqué le professeur Peter Lewis, vice-président associé, de la University of Toronto. En travaillant avec les entreprises, nous accélérons le flux des idées au marché au profit de tous les Ontariens. Nous sommes enchantés par l'annonce de ce généreux investissement de la part de FedDev Ontario, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation. Grâce à ces fonds, nos chercheurs, avec leurs collaborateurs du secteur privé, contribuent à créer un avenir prospère et novateur. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation et les partenaires de la University of Toronto, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa troisième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a récemment lancé une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec  :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation : University of Toronto

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation est conçue pour combler l'écart entre la recherche et la commercialisation dans le sud de l'Ontario en encourageant les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire et les petites et moyennes entreprises.

FedDev Ontario fournit à la University of Toronto jusqu'à 750 000 $ pour créer des partenariats avec quatorze petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre des projets énumérés ci-dessous.

AbCelex Technologies Inc. (Toronto)

AbCelex Technologies Inc. est une entreprise biotechnologie du Sud de l'Ontario qui conçoit et commercialise une gamme d'anticorps et de produits à base d'anticorps pour diverses maladies, dont le cancer et les maladies infectieuses. Ce projet de recherche mené avec les chercheurs de la University of Toronto pourrait déboucher sur le développement d'anticorps recombinants, d'essais biologiques et de produits pour le diagnostic et la surveillance des patients atteints de la leucémie myéloïde aiguë (LMA).

Baylis Medical Company (Mississauga)

Le système Radio Frequency Puncture de Baylis Medical est constitué d'une série d'appareils de classe mondiale utilisés pour la création de ponctions contrôlées des tissus. Le Radio Frequency Puncture System a des applications dans les domaines de la cardiologie interventionnelle et de la radiologie interventionnelle. Ce projet permettra d'évaluer les méthodes d'imagerie de résonance magnétique en vue d'améliorer le Radio Frequency Puncture System de l'entreprise utilisé pour la dilatation des occlusions chroniques et de doter les professionnels des soins de santé canadiens de meilleurs outils.

Cooler Solution (Toronto)

Dans le cadre du projet TheraChoice, on vise à aider les patients cancéreux à prendre des décisions éclairées en matière de traitements, par le développement d'un prototype logiciel avec des illustrations faciles à comprendre des risques et des avantages des options thérapeutiques. Ce projet fait appel à l'expertise spécialisée de Cooler Solution dans la conception et l'innovation axées sur les patients et celle de l'université dans la visualisation des données. Le produit final sera un prototype fonctionnel qui utilisera des pratiques avant-gardistes en visualisation des données et illustrera pour les patients cancéreux les risques et les avantages des options de traitement, et ce, de façon fascinante, intuitive et utile.

ecobee (Toronto)

ecobee offre des solutions de gestion intelligente de l'énergie pour la population. Installée dans des dizaines de milliers de foyers et d'entreprises partout en Amérique du Nord, la Plate-forme ouverte de gestion de l'énergie d'ecobee est le système le plus efficace qui permet aux résidants et aux consommateurs de comprendre, de gérer et de réduire leur consommation d'énergie. Ce projet de recherche mené avec la University of Toronto permettra de concevoir de nouvelles fonctionnalités et d'élargir la gamme de produits d'ecobee en examinant comment les entités commerciales et résidentielles canadiennes recueillent, consomment et intègrent les données sur la consommation d'énergie dans le cadre de leurs expériences, de leurs attitudes et de leurs comportements de tous les jours.

Engineering Services Inc. (Toronto)

Engineering Services Inc. (ESI) est une importante entreprise de technologie axée sur la robotique et l'automatisation, qui se spécialise dans la conception de produits avant-gardistes de robotique et d'automatisation et de systèmes robotiques sur mesure. Les chercheurs de la University of Toronto collaboreront avec ESI à la conception d'un spectromètre de mobilité ionique miniature et abordable qui servira d'appareil de diagnostic hors laboratoire pour aider à la détection des cancers et des maladies virales.

InteraXon (Toronto)

InteraXon crée des systèmes d'électroencéphalographie (EEG) et des interactions EEG qui permettent aux utilisateurs de recueillir des données sur les ondes cérébrales dans le cadre d'expériences hors laboratoire. Dans le cadre de ce projet avec la University of Toronto, InteraXon concevra un système de saisie EEG pour aider les personnes souffrant d'épilepsie à surveiller les crises chez elles. Le projet vise à créer un système commode et abordable qui bénéficiera aux patients canadiens.

Kangaroo Design (Toronto)

Kangaroo Design est une entreprise canadienne de conception et d'ingénierie industrielle qui crée des solutions matérielles et logicielles destinées notamment aux dispositifs médicaux. Kangaroo Design offre également des services d'incubation aux jeunes entreprises de technologie en leur permettant de bénéficier d'un environnement unique. CanFocus, qui a bénéficié des services d'incubation, a fabriqué un produit qui permette aux utilisateurs finaux d'améliorer l'efficacité de leurs organisations. Ce projet de recherche mené avec la University of Toronto est conçu pour évaluer et mettre à l'essai des solutions matérielles et logicielles visant à accroître la satisfaction et la productivité en milieu de travail.

Mircom Ltd. (Toronto)

Mircom, une entreprise spécialisée dans les domaines de la sécurité-incendie, de la sécurité des personnes, d'évacuation en cas d'urgence et des communications travaillera avec la University of Toronto à l'application des technologies optiques des systèmes de sécurité de personne de Mircom. Le projet permettra de concevoir des technologies nouvelles au Canada et d'offrir des possibilités de formation aux personnes hautement qualifiées.

Segasist Technologies (Toronto)

Segasist Techonologies est une entreprise privée de matériel médical qui met au point des solutions de contournage et de segmentation pour l'analyse d'images médicales. Ce projet mené en collaboration avec des chercheurs de la University of Toronto favorisera le développement des méthodes d'imagerie automatisées et améliorera ainsi la délimitation des tumeurs lors du traitement du cancer.

Sensor Technology Ltd. (Collingwood)

Sensor Technology Ltd. est une entreprise spécialisée dans la fabrication des matériaux piézocéramiques et des transducteurs qui utilisent cette forme d'énergie. Dans le cadre de ce projet, on concevra un appareil composé de matériaux piézocéramiques pour convertir les vibrations en énergie électrique pouvant être utilisée pour faire fonctionner les petits appareils sans avoir besoin de piles, fournissant ainsi une solution de rechange au stockage traditionnel de l'énergie dans des piles.

Sentinelle Medical (Toronto)

La division Sentinelle d'Hologic est un important concepteur de bobines et de logiciels de technologie d'imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) pour l'industrie des soins de santé. Dans le cadre de ce projet, l'entreprise mettra au point des méthodes IRM améliorées d'orientation lors des chirurgies du sein, ouvrant ainsi un nouveau marché pour Sentinelle et fournissant un nouvel outil aux professionnels des soins de santé au Canada.

Skymeter (Toronto)

Skymeter a mis au point un système télématique GPS pour les péages routiers, les stationnements et l'assurance au kilométrage. Skymeter prévoit élargir l'application de leur technologie afin d'améliorer la capacité en matière de sécurité. Cette collaboration avec les chercheurs de la University of Toronto permettra de déterminer si des corrélations existent entre les historiques d'infraction liés aux collisions, aux déplacements et aux façons de conduire, tels qu'ils sont mesurés à l'aide des systèmes de direction, de la vitesse et de l'accélération et des profils obtenus dans le cadre d'une étude routière normale.

Solar Grid Inc. (Vaughan)

SolarGrid Energy est une entreprise du sud de l'Ontario fondée pour commercialiser la prochaine génération de cellules solaires. Dans le cadre de ce projet, une nouvelle technologie de photopiles en couches sera conçue pour créer des collecteurs d'énergie solaire hautement performants permettant la production de cellules solaires moins coûteuses pour le marché canadien.

Syngrafii Corporation (Toronto)

Syngrafii Corporation a créé la gamme de produits LongPen, une technologie novatrice qui utilise les caractéristiques de l'écriture courante individuelle pour faciliter la signature à longue distance en temps réel de documents. Des clients potentiels importants ont évoqué la nécessité de mettre en place des mesures de sécurité plus rigoureuses en matière de biométrie. Dans le cadre de ce projet, on étudiera la façon dont la biomécanique de l'écriture courante varie entre les hommes et les femmes et au cours de la fourchette d'âges, de l'âge adulte à l'âge avancé. Les résultats de ce projet permettront à Syngrafii d'intégrer la force de la poigne dans son système biométrique d'écriture courante à longue distance destiné aux secteurs canadiens des finances, des gouvernements, de la justice et de la sécurité.

Date de modification :