Archived — Government of Canada Supports Start-up Business in Toronto

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 30, 2011

Toronto, Ontario — Chango, a leader in the emerging search retargeting market, will have greater opportunities to develop new technologies, thanks to a new Government of Canada investment. The announcement was made today by Mike Wallace, Member of Parliament for Burlington, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our government is working to ensure businesses in southern Ontario can continue to innovate, allowing the economy to grow now and into the future," said MP Wallace. "This investment will give Chango the tools it needs to be the first to market with ad targeting solutions, generating new opportunities for our region."

Chango will receive an investment of up to $978,333 through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation.

The company provides a full-service solution for search retargeting to brands and agencies, which allow online marketers to better target their audience with product-specific ads based on website search trends in a particular area. This investment will support the research and development of Chango's real-time bidding software and significantly expand the company's growth and employment benefits. With increase in product demand, the company plans to create approximately 37 jobs in its Toronto office.

"I am very pleased to receive this federal funding through Investing in Business Innovation," said Chris Sukornyk, Chief Executive Officer of Chango Inc. "The funding will be used to accelerate our growth plans into the fast-growing search retargeting space. We appreciate the support from FedDev Ontario to retain technology start-ups in Canada."

Investing in Business Innovation is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in encouraging entrepreneurs and investors to take the risks necessary to put southern Ontario businesses on the map.

For more information, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its third year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Contribution to Chango

Chango Inc. is a performance marketing company whose mission is to make display advertising as effective, easy and accessible as search engine marketing. By integrating the concepts of search engine marketing into display advertising, Chango delivers unprecedented flexibility and results to media planners and search marketers with their leading Search Retargeting solution. Chango is backed by leading venture and angel investors and is headquartered in Toronto with offices in New York and San Francisco.

FedDev Ontario is providing Chango with a repayable contribution of up to $978,333 through the Investing in Business Innovation initiative. This financing will help the company optimize real-time bidding software to purchase advertising space from ad exchanges, and accelerate Chango's sales strategy. It is also expected to create approximately 37 jobs in the Toronto office. For more information, visit www.chango.com or follow Chango on Twitter at twitter.com/chango.

Investing in Business Innovation

Through Investing in Business Innovation, the Government of Canada is focusing on a portfolio of early-stage businesses that are recognized by the investor community as having the potential for high-growth and a net long-term economic benefit for southern Ontario. The potential of these businesses is measured by the investment commitments secured from accredited angel or venture capital investors.

Investing in Business Innovation is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market. Funding under the initiative is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie une entreprise en démarrage à Toronto

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 30 septembre 2011

Toronto (Ontario) – Chango, chef de file du marché émergeant de la recherche en reciblage, se trouvera en meilleure position pour créer de nouvelles technologies grâce à un nouvel investissement du gouvernement du Canada. L'annonce a été faite aujourd'hui par Mike Wallace, député de Burlington, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Notre gouvernement veille à ce que les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario continuent d'innover, permettant à l'économie de croître maintenant et à l'avenir, a déclaré le député Wallace. Cet investissement donnera à Chango les outils qu'il lui faut pour être la première à mettre des solutions de ciblage publicitaire sur le marché, ce qui créera de nouvelles occasions pour notre région. »

Chango recevra un investissement pouvant s'élever à 978 333 $ par l'entremise d'Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario.

L'entreprise offre une solution multiservices pour le reciblage de recherche aux marques et aux organismes qui permet aux spécialistes du Netmarketing de mieux cibler leur audience grâce à des publicités fondées sur des recherches de tendances Web dans un secteur particulier. Cet investissement aidera la recherche-développement du logiciel de soumissions en temps réel de Chango et hâtera la croissance de l'entreprise et les avantages en matière d'emploi. Étant donné que la demande pour ce produit augmente, l'entreprise a l'intention de créer environ trente-sept emplois dans son bureau de Toronto.

« Je suis très heureux d'obtenir ce financement fédéral par l'entremise d'Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, affirme Chris Sukornyk, directeur général de Chango inc. Le financement servira à accélérer la croissance que nous prévoyions dans l'espace de la recherche sur le reciblage, qui est en plein essor. Nous apprécions le soutien de FedDev Ontario qui sert à garder les entreprises en démarrage au Canada. »

Le programme Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises découle directement des commentaires faits par les dirigeants d'entreprises, les universitaires et les dirigeants communautaires du Sud de l'Ontario, qui ont recommandé que FedDev Ontario assume un rôle de chef de file en ce qui a trait à inciter les entrepreneurs et les investisseurs à prendre les risques nécessaires pour assurer la prospérité des entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour appuyer les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. L'Agence, dans sa troisième année de fonctionnement, a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et a tout mis en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organisations par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Chango

Chango est une entreprise de marketing axée sur le rendement dont la mission est de rendre la publicité par grande annonce aussi efficace et accessible que l'est le marketing par moteur de recherche. En intégrant les concepts de marketing par moteur de recherche à la publicité par grande annonce, Chango offre une flexibilité et des résultats sans précédent aux planificateurs des médias et aux chercheurs en marketing au moyen de sa solution de recherche en reciblage de premier plan. Chango, dont le siège est à Toronto et qui a des bureaux à New York et à San Francisco, est commanditée par d'importantes sociétés de placement en capital-risque et par des investisseurs providentiels.

FedDev Ontario procure à Chango une contribution remboursable pouvant s'élever à 978 333 $ par l'entremise de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises. Ce financement aidera l'entreprise à optimaliser un logiciel de soumissions en temps réel pour l'achat d'espace d'annonces chez les sociétés d'échanges de support publicitaire, et à accélérer la stratégie de vente de Chango. On s'attend aussi à ce qu'elle crée trente-sept emplois à son bureau de Toronto. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter www.chango.com (en anglais seulement) ou suivre Chango sur Twitter à twitter.com/chango.

Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises

Par l'entremise de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, le gouvernement du Canada accorde une attention particulière aux entreprises qui, étant à leurs premiers stades, sont reconnues par la collectivité des investisseurs comme ayant un grand potentiel de croissance et de générer des avantages économiques nets à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario. Le potentiel de ces entreprises se mesure d'après les engagements d'investissement provenant d'entreprises d'investisseurs providentiels accrédités ou d'investissement de capital de risque.

Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises a pour objet d'accroître l'investissement du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage afin d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, processus, méthodes et de les mettre sur le marché. Le financement dans le cadre de l'initiative est également offert à des réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et à leurs associations dans le but d'attirer de nouveaux investissements et de soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissement providentiels.

Les demandes de financement sont actuellement acceptées et évaluées dans le cadre d'un processus continu. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de faire une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme dans le site Web de FedDev Ontario à www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :