Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovation in Durham Region

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
October 3, 2011

Whitby, Ontario – Thanks to new partnerships with Durham College, sixteen businesses in southern Ontario will have an opportunity to bring innovative products to market and increase their productivity and competitiveness. Today, the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance and Member of Parliament for Whitby-Oshawa, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, announced the agreements between the college and local small- and medium-sized businesses.

"These agreements allow Durham College and local businesses to work together on exciting new research, and get their results to the marketplace faster," said Minister Flaherty. "Through the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative, our government is investing in innovation to create jobs and economic growth."

"Durham College is committed to continuing to form positive research collaborations with local small- and medium-sized (SME) businesses that are designed to develop and test new products and services and launch them into the marketplace," said Don Lovisa, President, Durham College. "On behalf of our Board of Governors and our entire research team, I extend my sincere thanks to the federal government. This funding is enabling our faculty and student researchers to contribute their skills and expertise toward the development of innovative and creative solutions that will help local businesses grow and prosper, along with supporting the economic development of Durham Region and well beyond."

Last year, under the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, Durham College was approved for up to $750,000 from FedDev Ontario to partner with small- and medium-sized businesses on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification. The support provided will create new economic opportunities, help businesses in southern Ontario grow, and enable them to become even more innovative and competitive.

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative and Durham College's partners, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its third year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative addresses the unique research and innovation challenges faced by small and medium sized enterprises by helping post-secondary institutions to provide their applied R&D and pre-commercialization expertise to businesses that do not have the internal capacity to undertake those activities.

FedDev Ontario is providing Durham College with up to $750,000 to partner with the following sixteen small- and medium-sized enterprises on the following projects.

ALX Technical Services Ltd. (Richmond Hill)

One of the first manufacturers of static control products in North America, ALX Technical Services Ltd. specializes in electrostatic-sensitive devices (ESD) and ESD clean room paper products. The company is collaborating with Durham College's School of Science and Engineering Technology to enhance a machine prototype designed to serve as a time-saving and efficient piece of equipment to produce a new form of environmentally-responsible packaging.

Aqus Inc. (Whitby)

Aqus Inc., based in Whitby, Ontario is working with the college's School of Skilled Trades, Apprenticeship and Renewable Technology on a research project designed to determine the effectiveness of a grey-water treatment system. The test system will be installed at the college's Whitby campus in the Industrial Maintenance Mechanic shop.

Belden Canada Inc. (Cobourg)

Belden Canada Inc., a company that designs, manufactures and sells a comprehensive portfolio of cable, connectivity and networking products for the transmission of signals for data, sound and video applications. Belden Canada Inc. is working with Durham College's School of Business, IT and Management on a project that will study materials management; the improvement of material usage practices; and the standardization of operating procedures at major process centres on plant floors. The project team will then determine how to improve and implement new processes.

BITS Inc. (Markham)

Markham-based BITS Inc. is collaborating with the School of Media, Art and Design on a research project that will develop a premier career website for students studying at the post-secondary level and other academic institutions. The eStudentLance.com website will help students search for new job opportunities that previously have not been available, earn extra income and gain real-work life experience while still attending school.

BlueGreen Solutions Inc. (Whitby)

BlueGreen Solutions Inc. provides solutions to treat processed water from heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration (HVAC-R) equipment. The company is working with the School of Skilled Trades, Apprenticeship and Renewable Technology to demonstrate and assess the effectiveness of a new design's ability to reduce chemical consumption; increase reliability; and lower operating costs for commercial and industrial systems.

Dapasoft Inc. (Toronto)

Dapasoft Inc., a Toronto-based software development and information technology consulting firm that delivers high-quality, customized solutions to clients in the steel manufacturing, healthcare and public service areas, is collaborating with Durham College's School of Science and Engineering Technology on a bio-medical devices knowledge portal project. The intent of the portal is to provide a clear and efficient repository for biomedical devices in hospitals, medical clinics and other health-care facilities. It is designed to maintain the accuracy and reliability of a clinical maintenance management system while providing exceptional financial savings.

Delice d'Afrique Foods Inc. (Pickering)

Durham College's School of Science and Engineering Technology is working with Pickering, Ont.-based Delice d'Afrique Foods Inc. on the product development and testing of a fruit beverage product. The goal of the project is to develop a premium, cold beverage using a fruit from Africa that possesses a number of compelling nutritional benefits but is not yet well known in Canada.

Elator Inc. (Pickering)

Pickering, Ontario based Elator Inc. is collaborating with Durham College's School of Science and Engineering Technology on a project focused on the dimensional analysis and cataloging of escalator replacement parts. The project team will study the critical dimensions of the parts to aid in their cataloging and sourcing and the level of technical support available to customers.

Engenergy Inc. (Courtice)

Courtice, Ontario based Engenergy Inc. is working with the School of Skilled Trades, Apprenticeship and Renewable Technology on a solar wall project to assess energy efficiency and examine cost-effectiveness.

HRCarbon (Toronto)

HRCarbon is focused on human resources (people) and carbon (GHG emissions associated with these people) with a mission to drive sustainability via behaviour change within an organization. The company is working with the School of Business, IT and Management on a transportation carbon emissions/Google GIS mash project in order to develop an open-system, web-service infrastructure – supporting browsers and apps, that organizations can use to assess, manage and help report their transportation-related carbon emissions, thereby reducing their carbon footprints.

Infonaut Inc. (Toronto)

Infonaut Inc., a Toronto, Ontario based company offering a map-based GIS tool that supports fast, information-rich decisions, is working with the School of Science and Engineering Technology on a research project that will create the ability for clinical and biomedical personnel to track and pinpoint the specific location of mobile assets in hospitals. Within hospitals it is designed to improve the availability of biomedical equipment to front-line staff and validate adherence to cleaning and infection control policies. System benefits include supply chain efficiencies and improved patient safety through access to specific device locations and movement histories.

This project will provide infection-control professionals with a new tool to combat super-bugs by understanding the historical movement of biomedical assets through contaminated areas.

Mediprep Inc. (Oshawa)

Focused on manufacturing prep pads, Mediprep Inc. is working with the School of Science and Engineering Technology to test the operation and effectiveness of a new machine designed to increase manufacturing productivity.

Ontario Drive and Gear Limited (New Hamburg)

Ontario Drive and Gear Limited, whichmanufactures the Argo and Centaur 6x6 or 8x8 amphibious, all- terrain vehicles (ATV), is working with the School of Skilled Trades, Apprenticeship and Renewable Technology to develop, implement and test the conversion of a conventional, fossil-fuel-powered Argo ATV into a vehicle that will run only on electricity. The potential to increase control, maneuverability and operating efficiency are some of the goals that are driving this effort.

REGEN Energy Inc. (Toronto)

REGEN Energy Inc. is working with the School of Science and Engineering Technology to test and enhance the design of electricity-demand management equipment.

Sportacular Events Inc. (Whitby)

Whitby based Sportacular Events Inc. is working with Durham College's schools of Media, Art and Design and Science and Engineering Technology on a communications portal project that is designed to leverage the latest wireless technologies. The project will expand and enhance the communications systems of the business with new functionality designed to improve the end-user experience for employees and customers.

Therminator Temperature Services Inc. (Whitby)

Therminator Temperature Services Inc., a trucking company based in Whitby, Ontario, is collaborating with the School of Skilled Trades, Apprenticeship and Renewable Technology on a proof-of-concept project to reduce the fuel consumption of refrigerated transport trailers.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie l'innovation dans la région de Durham

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 3 octobre 2011

Whitby (Ontario) – Grâce à de nouveaux partenariats avec le Durham College, seize entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario auront la possibilité d'introduire de nouveaux produits sur le marché et d'accroître leur productivité et leur compétitivité. Aujourd'hui, l'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances et député fédéral de Whitby-Oshawa, a annoncé, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), les ententes entre le collège et de petites et moyennes entreprises locales.

« Ces ententes permettent au Durham College et à des entreprises locales de travailler ensemble à de nouveaux projets de recherche passionnants et d'en commercialiser les résultats plus rapidement, a déclaré M. Flaherty. Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, notre gouvernement investit dans l'innovation pour créer des emplois et favoriser la croissance économique. »

« Le Durham College s'est engagé à continuer à créer des ententes de recherche, avec de petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), ententes qui visent à concevoir et à mettre à l'essai de nouveaux produits et services et à les lancer sur les marchés, a indiqué M. Don Lovisa, président du Durham College. Au nom de notre Bureau des gouverneurs et de toute notre équipe de recherche, je remercie sincèrement le gouvernement fédéral. Ces fonds permettront à nos chercheurs du corps professoral et aux étudiants de mettre à profit leurs compétences et leur expertise à l'élaboration de solutions novatrices et créatrices qui aideront les entreprises locales à croître et à prospérer, tout en soutenant le développement économique de la région de Durham et bien au-delà. »

L'année dernière, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, le Durham College a reçu jusqu'à 750 000 $ de FedDev Ontario pour créer des partenariats avec des petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre d'activités liées à la recherche appliquée, à la conception technique, au développement de technologies, à la mise à l'essai et à la certification de produits. L'aide fournie créera de nouvelles possibilités économiques, favorisera la croissance des entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario et leur permettra de devenir encore plus novatrices et compétitives.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation et les partenaires du Durham College, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant arrivée à sa troisième année, l'Agence a récemment lancé une série d'initiatives visant à créer l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et à tout mettre en œuvre pour que la région puisse faire face à la concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes à l'aide de partenariats et d'investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche et le développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez visiter le site Web www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le numéro 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario 
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation traite des défis uniques en matière de recherche et d'innovation auxquels font face les petites et moyennes entreprises, en aidant les établissements postsecondaires à offrir leur expertise en recherche et développement ainsi qu'en précommmercialisation aux entreprises qui n'ont pas la capacité interne pour entreprendre de telles activités.

FedDev Ontario accorde au Durham College jusqu'à 750 000 $ pour créer des partenariats avec les seize petites et moyennes entreprises ci-après dans le cadre des projets énumérés ci-dessous.

ALX Technical Services Ltd. (Richmond Hill)

L'entreprise ALX Technical Services Ltd., de Richmond Hill, en Ontario, un des premiers fabricants de produits de contrôle de la statique en Amérique du Nord, se spécialise dans les appareils de décharge électrostatique (DES) et de produits de papier DES de salle propre. L'entreprise, en collaboration avec la School of Science and Engineering Technology du Durham College, travaille à l'amélioration d'un prototype de machine conçue pour servir d'appareil efficace permettant de gagner du temps pour la production d'une nouvelle forme d'emballage respectueuse de l'environnement.

Aqus Inc. (Whitby)

L'entreprise Aqus Inc., de Whitby collabore avec la School of Skilled Trades, Apprenticeship and Renewable Technology du Durham College à un projet de recherche conçu pour déterminer l'efficacité d'un système de traitement des eaux grises. Le système d'essai sera installé sur le campus Whitby du collège dans l'atelier mécanique d'entretien industriel.

Belden Canada Inc. (Cobourg)

L'entreprise Belden Canada Inc., de Cobourg, en Ontario, conçoit, fabrique et vend une gamme complète de produits de télévision par câble, de connectivité et de réseautique pour la transmission de signaux pour les applications de données, de son et de vidéo. L'entreprise collabore avec la School of Business, IT and Management, du Durham College à un projet d'étude de la gestion du matériel, de l'amélioration des pratiques d'utilisation du matériel et de la normalisation des procédures opérationnelles dans les principaux centres de traitement aux étages des usines. L'équipe de projet déterminera par la suite la façon d'améliorer et d'appliquer les nouveaux processus.

BITS Inc. (Markham)

L'entreprise BITS Inc., de Markham, en Ontario, collabore avec la School of Media, Art and Design à un projet de recherche dans le cadre duquel un site Web de choix de carrière sera conçu pour les étudiants de niveau postsecondaire et qui sont inscrits dans d'autres établissements d'enseignement. Le site Web eStudentLance.com aidera les étudiants à trouver des possibilités d'emploi non disponibles au préalable, à obtenir un revenu supplémentaire et à acquérir une expérience pratique, tout en poursuivant leurs études.

BlueGreen Solutions Inc. (Whitby)

L'entreprise BlueGreen Solutions Inc. fournit des solutions aux fins de traitement de l'eau utilisée par les systèmes de chauffage, de ventilation, de conditionnement d'air et de réfrigération (CVCA-R). L'entreprise collabore avec la School of Skilled Trades, Apprenticeship and Renewable Technology, du Durham College afin de démontrer et d'évaluer l'efficacité et la capacité d'un nouveau concept à réduire la consommation chimique, d'accroître la fiabilité et de diminuer les coûts opérationnels des systèmes commerciaux et industriels.

Dapasoft Inc. (Toronto)

Dapasoft Inc., une société d'experts-conseils située à Toronto, se spécialise dans le développement de logiciels et de technologies de l'information, fournit des solutions personnalisées de haute qualité aux clients des secteurs de la fabrication de l'acier, des soins de santé et des services publics. Elle travaille en collaboration avec la School of Science and Engineering Technology du Durham College à un projet de portail de savoir sur les dispositifs biomédicaux. Ce portail a pour but d'offrir un référentiel clair et efficace pour les dispositifs biomédicaux dans les hôpitaux, les cliniques médicales et autres établissements de soins de santé. Il est conçu de façon à maintenir l'exactitude et la fiabilité des systèmes cliniques de gestion de l'entretien, tout en permettant de réaliser des économies financières exceptionnelles.

Delice d'Afrique Foods Inc. (Pickering)

Delice d'Afrique Foods Inc., située à Pickering, en Ontario, travaille avec la School of Science and Engineering Technology du Durham College à la création et à la mise à l'essai d'une boisson aux fruits. Le projet vise à créer une boisson froide de haute qualité à l'aide d'un fruit africain possédant plusieurs avantages nutritionnels, mais peu connu au Canada.

Elator Inc. (Pickering)

L'entreprise Elator Inc. située à Pickering, en Ontario, collabore avec la School of Science and Engineering Technology du Durham College à un projet axé sur l'analyse dimensionnelle et le catalogage des pièces de rechange d'escaliers mécaniques. L'équipe de projet étudiera les dimensions essentielles des pièces pour faciliter leur catalogage et leur sourçage et améliorer le niveau de soutien technique offert aux clients.

Engenergy Inc. (Courtice)

L'entreprise Engenergy Inc., sise à Courtice, en Ontario, collabore avec la School of Skilled Trades, Apprenticeship and Renewable Technology du Durham College à un projet de mur accumulateur de chaleur visant à évaluer l'efficacité énergétique et le rapport coût-efficacité du produit.

HRCarbon (Toronto)

L'entreprise HRCarbon, qui se spécialise dans le domaine des ressources humaines (les personnes) et le carbone (émissions de GES que ces personnes émettent), s'est donnée comme mission de favoriser la durabilité en changeant les comportements au sein des organisations. L'entreprise collabore avec la School of Business, IT and Management, du Durham College à un projet de transport des émissions de carbone/application composite Google SID, dans le but de créer un système ouvert et une infrastructure de services Web, pouvant soutenir les fureteurs et les applications, que les organisations peuvent utiliser pour évaluer, gérer et déclarer leurs émissions de carbone liées au transport, réduisant ainsi leur empreinte carbonique.

Infonaut Inc. (Toronto)

L'entreprise Infonaut Inc., qui est située à Toronto, en Ontario et qui offre un outil SID conçu au moyen de cartes gérant les décisions rapides et bien documentées, collabore avec la School of Engineering Technology du Durham College à un projet de recherche qui donnera au personnel clinique et biomédical la capacité de suivre et de préciser l'endroit exact où sont situés les biens mobiles des hôpitaux. Dans les hôpitaux, il est conçu de façon à améliorer la disponibilité du matériel biomédical pour le personnel de première ligne et à valider la conformité aux politiques de contrôle du nettoyage et de l'infection. Les avantages du système comprennent des économies liées à la chaîne d'approvisionnement et une amélioration de la sécurité des patients en accédant à l'endroit où est situé un dispositif particulier ainsi qu'aux registres des mouvements. Ce projet fournira aux professionnels du contrôle des infections un nouvel outil pour combattre les super virus, du fait qu'ils pourront suivre les mouvements antérieurs des biens biomédicaux dans les aires contaminées.

Mediprep Inc. (Oshawa)

L'entreprise Mediprep Inc, qui fabrique des compresses antiseptiques, collabore avec la School of Science and Engineering Technology du Durham College à des essais liés au fonctionnement et à l'efficacité d'une nouvelle machine conçue pour améliorer la productivité manufacturière.

Ontario Drive and Gear Limited (New Hamburg)

L'entreprise Ontario Drive and Gear Limited,qui fabrique des véhicules tout-terrain (VTT) amphibiens de marques Argo et Centaur 6 x 6 ou 8 x 8, collabore avec la School of Skilled Trades, Apprenticeship and Renewable Technology du Durham College à la conception, à la mise en œuvre, et à la mise à l'essai d'un VTT Argo à combustible fossile convertit en un véhicule alimenté à l'électricité. Un contrôle, une manoeuvrabilité et une efficacité de fonctionnement accrus sont parmi les buts qui motivent les efforts déployés.

REGEN Energy Inc. (Toronto)

L'entreprise REGEN Energy Inc. collabore avec la School of Science and Engineering Technology du Durham College à la mise à l'essai et à l'amélioration du concept d'un appareil de gestion de la demande en électricité.

Sportacular Events Inc. (Whitby)

L'entreprise Sportacular Events Inc., située à Whitby, collabore avec plusieurs écoles du Durham College (Media, Art and Design et Science and Engineering Technology) à un projet de portail de communications conçu pour tirer parti des toutes dernières technologies sans fil. Le projet permettra d'élargir et d'améliorer les systèmes de communication des entreprises en les dotant de nouvelles fonctions conçues pour améliorer l'expérience de l'utilisateur final pour les employés et les clients.

Therminator Temperature Services Inc. (Whitby)

L'entreprise de camionnage Therminator Temperature Services Inc., située à Whitby, en Ontario, collabore avec la School of Skilled Trades, Apprenticeship and Renewable Technology du Durham College à un projet de validation de principe visant à réduire la consommation de carburant des remorques réfrigérées de transport de marchandises.

Date de modification :