Archived — Government of Canada Funding Helps Southern Ontario Graduates and Businesses Through New Internship Program

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
October 14, 2011

Welland, Ontario – Niagara College graduates will gain real-world business skills and experience through internships with businesses in the Niagara region, thanks to a new federal investment. The announcement was made today by the Honourable Rob Nicholson, P.C., Q.C., Member of Parliament for Niagara Falls, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting economic growth in southern Ontario," said Minister Nicholson. "This internship program will allow graduates to enter the workforce, benefit from the experience of business leaders and become successful young entrepreneurs in the Niagara region."

"This federal investment will provide benefits for both our graduates and local employers. We're grateful that the federal government understands the important role that post-secondary education plays in keeping companies innovative, and the role that innovative companies have in our economic success," said Niagara College Acting President Steve Hudson. "Skilled graduates strengthen our economy with their technical knowledge and entrepreneurial skill, and help companies innovate and develop new products and processes. This investment will help businesses hire those skilled graduates."

Funding of up to $2,200,000 for Niagara College through FedDev Ontario's Graduate Enterprise Internship will allow the college to work with graduating students, graduates and local businesses to arrange up to 200 internships with structured mentoring opportunities. Companies will benefit from the technical knowledge of interns, who in turn will gain business experience to complement their scientific skills. For more information, please refer to the backgrounder.

FedDev Ontario was created as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan to support businesses and communities in southern Ontario. Now in its third year of operation, the Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to support businesses and other organizations through partnerships and investments in skills and training; innovation; research and development; and increased productivity. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Contribution to Niagara College Canada

FedDev Ontario is providing Niagara College with up to $2,200,000 to arrange up to 200 six-month internships and contribute towards a salary of up to $10,000 for each intern. Small- and medium-sized businesses will contribute half of intern salary costs. The new internship program will help address changing labour market needs in the Niagara area, moving from traditional manufacturing to knowledge-based industries.

Niagara College plans to offer internships with structured mentoring opportunities for recent graduates from the following programs:

  • Broadcasting Radio, Television and Film
  • Computer Programmer Analyst (Co-op)
  • Construction Engineering Technology
  • Electrical Engineering Technology (Co-op)
  • Electronics Engineering Technology (Co-op)
  • Game Development
  • Graphic Design
  • Mechanical Engineering Technology (Co-op)
  • Photonics Engineering Technology
  • Ecosystem Restoration
  • Environmental Management and Assessment
  • Geographic Information Systems – Geospatial Management

More information on Niagara College's internship program is available at https://mycareer.niagaracollege.ca/employer/incentives.htm.

Graduate Enterprise Internship

FedDev Ontario's Graduate Enterprise Internship initiative will build a pool of highly skilled workers in southern Ontario by providing business and management experience to graduate students and recent graduates of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) programs. Interns will benefit from working with business leaders who will share their knowledge and entrepreneurial expertise. Businesses will also benefit from the technical knowledge and skills of the interns, providing them with additional capacity to innovate.

Applications for Graduate Enterprise Internship funding are being accepted and assessed by FedDev Ontario on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the program guidelines available on the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le financement du gouvernement du Canada aide aux diplômés et aux entreprises du Sud de l’Ontario dans le cadre d’un nouveau programme de stage

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 14 octobre 2011

Welland (Ontario) – Grâce à un nouvel investissement du gouvernement fédéral, des diplômés du Niagara College auront la possibilité d'acquérir des compétences et une expérience en affaires dans le cadre de stages pratiques avec des entreprises de la région du Niagara. L'annonce en a été faite aujourd'hui par l'honorable Rob Nicholson, C.P. c.r., député de Niagara Falls, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à créer des emplois et à favoriser la croissance économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Nicholson. Ce programme de stages permettra aux diplômés de s'intégrer au marché du travail, de tirer parti de l'expérience des dirigeants d'entreprises et de devenir de jeunes entrepreneurs prospères dans la région du Niagara. »

« Cet investissement du gouvernement fédéral bénéficiera à nos diplômés ainsi qu'aux employeurs locaux. Nous sommes reconnaissants que le gouvernement fédéral reconnaisse l'importance du rôle que joue l'enseignement postsecondaire dans le maintien de l'innovation au sein des entreprises et du rôle que les entreprises novatrices jouent sur le plan de la réussite de notre économie, a déclaré le président intérimaire du Niagara College, M. Steve Hudson. Les diplômés qualifiés contribuent à notre économie par l'apport de leurs connaissances techniques et leurs compétences entrepreneuriales. Ils aident aussi les entreprises à innover et à créer de nouveaux produits et procédés. Cet investissement aidera les entreprises à embaucher ces diplômés qualifiés. »

Dans le cadre du programme Stage en entreprise pour diplômés, le Niagara College recevra de FedDev Ontario jusqu'à 2 200 000 $, un financement qui permettra au collège de travailler avec les étudiants de dernière année, les diplômés et les entreprises locales à l'organisation de 200 stages pratiques et encadrés. Les entreprises bénéficieront des connaissances techniques des stagiaires et ces derniers acquerront une expérience en affaires pour suppléer à leurs compétences scientifiques. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

FedDev Ontario a été créée dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour appuyer les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario. Maintenant dans sa troisième année de fonctionnement, l'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et a tout mis en œuvre pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives ont pour but de venir en aide aux entreprises et à d'autres organismes par des partenariats et des investissements dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la formation, l'innovation, la recherche-développement et l'accroissement de la productivité. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Contribution au Niagara College Canada

FedDev Ontario accorde jusqu'à 2 200 000 $ au Niagara College pour organiser 200 stages de six mois et contribuer jusqu'à 10 000 $ au salaire de chacun des stagiaires. Les petites et moyennes entreprises verseront la moitié du salaire des stagiaires. Le nouveau programme de stages contribuera à satisfaire aux besoins du marché du travail dans la région du Niagara qui évolue d'une industrie manufacturière traditionnelle à une industrie axée sur le savoir.

Le Niagara College offrira des stages pratiques encadrés pour les récents diplômés des programmes suivants :

  • Radiodiffusion – Radio, télévision et film
  • Analyse des programmes informatiques (Coop)
  • Technologie en génie de la construction
  • Technologie en génie électrique (Coop)
  • Technologie en génie électronique (Coop)
  • Conception de jeux
  • Conception graphique
  • Technologie en génie mécanique (Coop)
  • Technologie en génie photonique
  • Restauration des écosystèmes
  • Gestion et évaluation environnementales
  • Système d'information géographique – Gestion géospatiale

Pour plus de renseignements sur le programme de stage du Niagara College, veuillez consulter : https://mycareer.niagaracollege.ca/employer/incentives.htm (en anglais seulement).

Stage en entreprise pour diplômés

Le Stage en entreprise pour diplômés vise à créer un bassin de travailleurs hautement qualifiés dans le Sud de l'Ontario en offrant de l'expérience en affaires et en gestion aux étudiants de deuxième et troisième cycles et aux diplômés récents de programmes en sciences, en technologies, en ingénierie et en mathématiques (STIM). Les stagiaires bénéficieront de l'apport des dirigeants d'entreprises qui partageront leurs connaissances et de leur expertise entrepreneuriale. Les entreprises profiteront des connaissances techniques et des compétences des stagiaires, ce qui renforcera leur capacité d'innover.

Les demandes de financement au titre du programme Stage en entreprise pour diplômés sont acceptées et évaluées par FedDev Ontario de façon continue. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme affichées dans le site Web suivant : www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :