Archived — Government of Canada Supports New Business in Vaughan

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
October 20, 2011

Vaughan, Ontario – Newtopia Inc. will bring to market its innovative high tech weight loss and healthy living programs thanks to a Government of Canada investment. The Honourable Julian Fantino, Associate Minister of National Defence on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) is pleased to see this project moving forward.

"The Government of Canada is working to make the most of southern Ontario's opportunities to innovate, adapt and grow, and secure a prosperous future for our people, businesses and communities," said Minister Fantino. "Through investments like this, we are helping our start-up businesses grow into global leaders."

With a repayable contribution of up to $248,720 through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative, Newtopia Inc. will launch customized online weight loss and healthy living programs coupled with access to a leading team of Canadian experts in nutrition, exercise and behavioural well-being. The federal funding will support the company's web portal, technology development, and build direct sales channels to launch services and products throughout Canada.

"We are delighted to have the support of the Government of Canada to commercialize Newtopia's next generation approach to sustainable weight loss and healthy living," said Jeffrey Ruby, Founder and CEO of Newtopia. "Newtopia is a good news story for Canadians' weight and overall health as we can affordably deliver to everyone complete personalized lifestyle solutions for long term results that were once only available to the rich and famous."

Investing in Business Innovation is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in encouraging entrepreneurs and investors to take the risks necessary to put southern Ontario businesses on the map.

Through Investing in Business Innovation, the Government of Canada is focusing on a portfolio of early-stage businesses that are recognized by the investor community as having the potential for high-growth and a net long-term economic benefit for southern Ontario. The potential of these businesses is measured by the investment commitments secured from accredited angel or venture capital investors.

For more information, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region"s businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Contribution to Newtopia Inc.

FedDev Ontario is providing Newtopia with a repayable contribution of up to $248,720 to allow the company to launch its innovative weight loss and healthy living management programs nationally. XDL Angel Group has also provided funding for this project.

Newtopia is a personalized health coaching company that allows clients to access genetically customized weight loss and healthy living plans put together by a team of interdisciplinary experts who focus on nutrition, exercise and behaviour management. Their patent pending technology includes personal genetic testing, online coaching, personality matching, and wireless monitoring tools.

Newtopia opened a corporate sales centre in Vaughan, Ontario in March 2009. After 16 months of providing coaching and beta testing its coaching platform, the company has completed its proof of concept phase with active clients who are sustainably losing weight and living healthy based on program expectations.

Investing in Business Innovation

Through Investing in Business Innovation, the Government of Canada is focusing on a portfolio of early-stage businesses that are recognized by the investor community as having the potential for high-growth and a net long-term economic benefit for southern Ontario. The potential of these businesses is measured by the investment commitments secured from accredited angel or venture capital investors.

FedDev Ontario"s Investing in Business Innovation is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices, and help bring them to market. Funding is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds. 

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada soutient une nouvelle entreprise à Vaughan

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 20 octobre 2011

Vaughan (Ontario) — Grâce à un investissement du gouvernement du Canada, Newtopia Inc. commercialisera ses programmes novateurs de perte de poids et de saines habitudes de vie basés sur des techniques de pointe. L'honorable Julian Fantino, ministre associé de la Défense nationale, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) est heureux de voir ce projet aller de l'avant.

« Le gouvernement du Canada s'emploie à profiter au maximum des possibilités qui s'offrent au Sud de l'Ontario d'innover, de s'adapter et de croître, et d'assurer un avenir prospère aux gens, aux entreprises et aux collectivités de la région, a déclaré le ministre Fantino. Au moyen d'investissements comme celui-là, nous aidons les entreprises en démarrage à devenir des chefs de file mondiaux. »

Grâce à une contribution remboursable pouvant aller jusqu'à 248 720 $, consentie dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario, Newtopia Inc. lancera un programme sur mesure de perte de poids et de saines habitudes de vie, associé à une équipe d'experts canadiens en nutrition, en exercice et en bien-être comportemental. Les fonds du gouvernement fédéral soutiendront la mise en place du portail Web de l'entreprise, ainsi que le développement technologique et de canaux de vente directe visant à lancer les produits et les services partout au Canada.

« Nous sommes ravis de recevoir l'aide du gouvernement du Canada pour commercialiser la nouvelle approche de perte de poids et de saines habitudes de vie durables mise au point par Newtopia, a déclaré Jeffrey Ruby, fondateur et PDG de Newtopia. Newtopia est une bonne nouvelle pour les Canadiens soucieux de leur poids et de leur santé, puisque tous auront désormais accès à des solutions abordables, complètes et personnalisées axées sur le mode de vie et donnant des résultats à long terme, ce qui n'était autrefois accessible qu'aux personnes riches et célèbres. »

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises découle directement des commentaires faits par les dirigeants d'entreprise, les universitaires et les dirigeants communautaires du Sud de l'Ontario, qui ont recommandé que FedDev Ontario assume un rôle de leader pour inciter les entrepreneurs et les investisseurs à prendre les risques nécessaires pour assurer la prospérité des entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario.

Dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, le gouvernement du Canada accorde une attention particulière aux entreprises en démarrage qui sont reconnues par la communauté des investisseurs comme ayant le potentiel d'une croissance élevée et d'avantages économiques à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario. Le potentiel de ces entreprises est évalué en fonction des investissements confirmés obtenus d'investisseurs providentiels et de capital-risqueurs accrédités.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la Fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Newtopia Inc.

L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) verse à Newtopia une contribution remboursable allant jusqu'à 248 720 $ pour permettre à l'entreprise de lancer des programmes novateurs de perte de poids et de saines habitudes de vie à l'échelle nationale. XDL Angel Group a également consenti des fonds à la réalisation de ce projet.

Newtopia est une entreprise d'encadrement personnalisé dans le domaine de la santé offrant à sa clientèle des plans sur mesure, adaptés à la génétique de chacun, pour la perte de poids et l'établissement de saines habitudes de vie. Ces plans sont conçus par une équipe d'experts interdisciplinaires. Ces plans mettent l'accent sur la nutrition, l'exercice et la gestion du comportement. Leur technique de pointe en instance de brevet comprend des tests génétiques personnels, de l'encadrement en ligne, un processus de mise en correspondance avec la personnalité de chacun et des outils de surveillance sans fil.

Newtopia a ouvert un centre de ventes à Vaughan, en Ontario, en mars 2009. Après avoir offert des services d'encadrement et avoir fait un essai bêta de sa plateforme d'encadrement pendant 16 mois, l'entreprise a terminé sa phase de démonstration du bien-fondé de la conception. Des clients actifs ont montré que le programme donne les résultats durables voulus, car ces clients ont perdu du poids et adopté de saines habitudes de vie comme on s'y attendait.

Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises

Dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, le gouvernement du Canada accorde une attention particulière aux entreprises en démarrage qui sont reconnues par la communauté des investisseurs comme ayant le potentiel d'une croissance élevée et d'avantages économiques à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario. Le potentiel de ces entreprises est évalué en fonction des investissements confirmés obtenus d'investisseurs providentiels et de capital-risqueurs accrédités.

 Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario vise à renforcer les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage afin d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, de nouveaux procédés et de nouvelles pratiques et de les mettre en marché. Le financement offert permettra également aux réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et à leurs associations d'attirer de nouveaux investissements et de soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissement providentiels.

Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées en permanence. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et présenter une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme, se trouvant sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario : www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :