Archived — Government of Canada Supports Economic Growth in Eastern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Announcement of the renewal of the Eastern Ontario Development Program

(L-R) Rick Norlock, Member of Parliament for Northumberland-Quinte West; Joe Fernandes, Chair of the Board of Directors, Trenval Business Development Corporation; the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario); Daryl Kramp, Member of Parliament for Prince Edward-Hastings; Dan Stanford, Chair of the Eastern Ontario CFDC Network and Andrew Kostovos, local business owner and Trenval EODP client, celebrate the renewal of the Eastern Ontario Development Program. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
October 21, 2011

Trenton, Ontario — Eastern Ontario businesses and communities will benefit from a renewed investment in the region announced today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

A Government of Canada investment of $30 million over the next three years will support the renewal of the Eastern Ontario Development Program, resulting in a greater number of economic development initiatives and improved partnerships.

"I am proud today to announce that our government is moving forward with its commitment to create jobs and economic growth here in eastern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "This additional investment in the Eastern Ontario Development Program will offer new opportunities for the people, businesses and communities in this region."

The program is managed by FedDev Ontario and funding will be delivered by 15 Community Futures Development Corporations located throughout rural eastern Ontario.

"The Eastern Ontario Development Program has been a catalyst for business and community development across eastern Ontario for a number of years," said Dan Stanford, Chair of the Eastern Ontario CFDC Network. "We are pleased to continue our partnership with the Government of Canada so that Community Futures Development Corporations can support projects that will grow and diversify the regional economy."

To find out more about the Eastern Ontario Development Program and how to access program funding, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:
Gary Toft
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Eastern Ontario Development Program

The Eastern Ontario Development Program is an economic development initiative aimed at addressing economic challenges in eastern Ontario and taking advantage of innovative opportunities in the region. Since it was first announced, it has been renewed on annual and two-year terms. The three-year renewal of the program in 2011 is expected to result in more strategic economic development investments and improved partnerships that will benefit eastern Ontario businesses and communities.

Originally announced in Budget 2011, the Government of Canada's renewed commitment to the program is based on its success and a strong delivery model in partnership with eastern Ontario's 15 Community Futures Development Corporations (CFDCs). Applications will be solicited by each CFDC and assessed on their potential to stimulate local economic development and create jobs.

The renewed Eastern Ontario Development Program has been streamlined to improve program delivery by focusing on outcomes that align with FedDev Ontario's approach to promoting the development of a strong and diversified southern Ontario economy. CFDCs will consider project proposals in the following two areas:

  • Business Development, which supports projects that will lead to the growth of new and existing businesses within rural eastern Ontario communities. This includes initiatives in areas such as skills development, youth attraction, innovation and the adoption of information and communications technologies.
  • Community Innovation, which enables community-led economic development activities that enhance and diversify local economies. This includes projects identified within existing community plans that build on the communities' competitive economic advantages to establish or strengthen key economic sectors and/or retain and expand existing businesses.

Another key feature of the renewed program is the emphasis on collaborative projects that involve and benefit multiple communities. This provides CFDCs the opportunity to partner with other economic development organizations to invest strategically in high impact projects that benefit the region as a whole.

Since the program was launched, CFDCs have achieved the following results by working with community stakeholders from across the region to develop and implement projects that benefit the local economy:

  • more than $65 million has been invested in more than 5,500 business and community development projects;
  • more than 57,900 people have received work-related training;
  • more than 880 youth interns have been placed in not-for-profit and private sector organizations; and
  • an additional $307 million has been leveraged from partners such as local businesses, municipalities, and the Government of Ontario, at a ratio of $1 : $4.70.

The following CFDCs will be accepting project applications for the Eastern Ontario Development Program:

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada soutient la croissance économique dans l'Est de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Annonce pour le renouvellement du Programme de développement de l’Est de l’Ontario

(L-R) M. Rick Norlock, député de Northumberland-Quinte West, M. Joe Fernandes, président du Conseil d’administration, Société d’aide aux entreprises de Trenval, l’honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d’État responsable de l’Agence fédérale de développement pour le Sud de l’Ontario, M. Daryl Kramp, député de Prince Edward-Hastings, M. Dan Stanford, président du réseau des SADC de l’Est de l’Ontario, M. Andrew Kostovos, propriétaire d’une entreprise locale et les clients de Trenval du PDEO célèbre le renouvellement du Programme de développement de l’Est de l’Ontario (PDEO). Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 21 octobre 2011

Trenton (Ontario) — Les entreprises et les collectivités de l'Est de l'Ontario profiteront d'un renouvellement des investissements dans la région. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui.

Au cours des trois prochaines années, le gouvernement du Canada consacrera 30 millions de dollars au renouvellement du Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario, ce qui débouchera sur un plus grand nombre d'initiatives de développement économique et sur l'amélioration de partenariats.

« Je suis fier d'annoncer aujourd'hui que notre gouvernement passe à la prochaine étape de son engagement de créer des emplois et de stimuler la croissance économique, ici, dans l'Est de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement supplémentaire dans le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario offrira de nouvelles occasions aux gens, aux entreprises et aux collectivités de cette région. »

Le programme est administré par FedDev Ontario et l'aide financière est accordée par les 15 Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) dans les régions rurales de l'Est de l'Ontario.

« Depuis un certain nombre d'années, le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario est un catalyseur du développement des entreprises et des collectivités dans toute la région de l'Est de l'Ontario, a déclaré Dan Stanford, président du réseau des SADC de l'Est de l'Ontario. Nous sommes heureux de poursuivre notre partenariat avec le gouvernement du Canada, afin que les Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités puissent encore soutenir des projets permettant de diversifier et de stimuler l'économie régionale. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario, et sur la façon d'accéder à l'aide financière offerte dans le cadre de ce programme, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gary Toft
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias 
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario

Le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario est une initiative de développement économique visant à résoudre les défis économiques dans l'Est de l'Ontario et à emprunter les nouvelles avenues qui s'ouvrent dans la région. Depuis qu'il a été annoncé la première fois, le Programme a été prolongé d'une année, puis de deux ans. En 2011, le Programme est renouvelé pour trois ans, ce qui devrait donner lieu à des investissements plus stratégiques en faveur du développement économique et améliorer les partenariats au bénéfice des entreprises et des collectivités de l'Est de l'Ontario.

Le renouvellement du Programme a d'abord été annoncé dans le budget de 2011. Étant donné le succès qu'il a remporté, le gouvernement du Canada a renouvelé son engagement envers le Programme à partir du même modèle de prestation, axé sur un partenariat avec 15 Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC) de l'Est de l'Ontario. Chaque SADC lancera un appel de propositions et évaluera leur potentiel de stimuler le développement économique local et de créer des emplois.

Dans le cadre de son renouvellement, le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario a été simplifié pour améliorer son exécution et obtenir les résultats visés par l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), notamment promouvoir le développement d'une économie forte et diversifiée dans l'Est de l'Ontario. Les SADC examineront les propositions de projet dans les deux domaines qui suivent.

  • Développement des entreprises : appuie des projets visant la croissance de nouvelles entreprises ou d'entreprises existantes dans les collectivités rurales de l'Est de l'Ontario. Cela comprend des initiatives visant à perfectionner les compétences, à attirer les jeunes, à innover dans le domaine des technologies de l'information et des communications et à en adopter de nouvelles.
  • Innovation communautaire : favorise des initiatives de développement économique dirigées par la collectivité, qui visent à améliorer et à diversifier les économies locales. Cela comprend les projets prévus dans les plans communautaires existants, qui misent sur les avantages économiques compétitifs des collectivités pour mettre en place ou consolider les secteurs économiques clés ou pour conserver des entreprises existantes et les aider à croître.

Un des autres aspects importants du Programme est qu'il mise sur les projets coopératifs qui profitent à plusieurs collectivités participantes. Cela permet aux SADC de s'associer à d'autres organismes de développement économique pour investir stratégiquement dans des projets ayant des retombées importantes, au bénéfice de la région dans son ensemble.

Depuis le lancement du Programme, en collaboration avec les intervenants des collectivités de la région, les SADC ont obtenu les résultats suivants dans le cadre du développement et de la mise en œuvre de projets qui profitent à l'économie locale :

  • investissement de plus de 65 millions de dollars dans plus de 5 500 entreprises et projets de développement communautaire;
  • plus de 57 900 personnes ont reçu une formation professionnelle;
  • plus de 880 jeunes stagiaires ont été placés dans des organismes sans but lucratif et des organismes du secteur privé;
  • la somme supplémentaire de 307 millions de dollars en fonds de contrepartie a été obtenue auprès de partenaires, tels que des entreprises locales, des municipalités, et du gouvernement de l'Ontario, selon un ratio de 1 $ : 4,70 $.

Les SADC suivantes accepteront les demandes de projet dans le cadre du Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario :

Date de modification :