Archived — Government of Canada Supports Partnerships between La Cité Collégiale and Local Businesses

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
October 28, 2011

Ottawa, Ontario — Eleven businesses in southern Ontario are working with La Cité collégiale to bring new research ideas to market thanks to partnerships supported by the Government of Canada. The announcement was made today by Royal Galipeau, Member of Parliament for Ottawa-Orléans, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our government is investing in innovation to create jobs and help our small businesses grow," said MP Galipeau. "The agreements between La Cité collégiale and small businesses will allow them to work together on projects that will bring new products to market."

"The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative program created by FedDev Ontario allows La Cité collégiale to create partnerships with businesses in various sectors, such as green energy, agriculture and construction," stated Lise Bourgeois, President of La Cité collégiale. "This not only allows for the development of processes and products, but also for their improvement in order to increase the businesses' economic activity. It also contributes to the creation of new jobs and to developing a highly qualified workforce."

Last year, under the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, La Cité collégiale was approved for up to $475,300 from FedDev Ontario to partner with small- and medium-sized businesses on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification. The support provided will create new economic opportunities, help businesses in southern Ontario grow, and enable them to become even more innovative and competitive.

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative and La Cité collégiale's partners, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1–866–593–5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative addresses the unique research and innovation challenges faced by small- and medium-sized enterprises by helping post-secondary institutions to provide their applied R&D and pre-commercialization expertise to businesses that do not have the internal capacity to undertake those activities.

As the largest French-language college of applied arts and technology in Ontario, La Cité collégiale has provided training to more than 135,000 students since its inception in 1990. Now offering more than 90 programs, La Cité collégiale builds those programs based on the needs of the labour market.

FedDev Ontario is providing La Cité collégiale with up to $475,300 to partner with the following 11 small- and medium-sized enterprises on the following projects.

Accu-Lift Flooring Systems (Ottawa)

ACCU-LIFT™ Flooring Systems is an Ottawa-based commercial flooring company, with experience in all types of commercial surfacing. They specialize in the replacement of flooring in occupied offices and libraries using its patented lift technique, which allows them to lift the furniture off the floor and install new flooring without dismantling, disconnecting or moving furniture and equipment. ACCU-LIFT™ Flooring Systems is a leader in this area of furniture lift technology.

Amika mobile (Kanata)

Amika Mobile is partnering with La Cité collégiale to pilot its Amika Mobility Server and Amika Mobile expertise emergency mass notification technology with the state of the art technology at the College's 911 Building. This project will undertake sophisticated simulations of emergencies at campuses and airports or in buildings where people are in need of rescue due to natural or human-made disasters.

Artenga (Ottawa)

Artenga specializes in using microbubble and ultrasound technology to open up diseased cells and dramatically improve the effectiveness of drugs and other treatments. The project in collaboration with Artenga and La Cité collégiale consists of improving the stability of these microbubbles so that they better serve as a means of transportation for chemotherapy drugs by leading them directly to the tumor and help fight the cancer. This new therapy will provide greater efficiency and fewer side effects to patients during treatment. The stability of these microbubbles is extremely important in order for the therapeutic substances to be delivered intact.

CH-Four Biogas Inc. (Ottawa)

CH-Four Biogas Inc. is an Ottawa-based market-leading developer of biogas technology. The objective of the research collaboration with La Cité collégiale is to better understand and optimize biogas production.

Ferme Lanidrac (Ste-Anne-de-Prescott)

The Ferme Lanidrac is a dairy farm located in Ste-Anne-de-Prescott. In March 2011, Ferme Lanidrac adopted biodigester technology to increase the productivity of its commercial operations. Ferme Lanidrac is partnering with La Cité collégiale to study the potential of a variety of raw materials for use with this technology, thus potentially increasing its use in a variety of contexts.

GreenField Ethanol (Prescott)

GreenField has been producing industrial and beverage alcohol, fuel ethanol and distillers' grains for 20 years. GreenField Ethanol and La Cité collégiale are partnering to analyze the production process of its Dry Mill Ethanol production plant in order to optimize its production process and further support the company in its efforts towards commercializing high-value co-products, such as dried distiller grains with solubles (DDGS), generated as part of its main ethanol production process.

Major Craig's Chutney (Ottawa)

Major Craig's is a specialty foods company specializing in the production of exceptional chutneys. The project aims to develop and test an improved and accelerated method for the fermentative production of 'Black Garlic', a highly-coveted culinary ingredient. The company is partnering with La Cité collégiale to define and optimize fermentation, transform product quality and shelf-life parameters, as well as to optimize production scale-up.

Ozile's Café, Marina and Tackle Shop (Ottawa)

In partnership with Ozile's, an Eastern Ontario company, La Cité collégiale's interior design program will work with Ozile's to finalize the design, development and production of recreational structures used for ice fishing, hunting, and other temporary outdoor activities. Prototypes will be tested in the winter of 2012 during the ice fishing season.

Minto Communities (Ottawa)

Minto Communities is a leading builder and developer in Canada and the United States. Since 1955, they have been working to create better places to live and work. They have built more than 70,000 new homes, manage 14,000 residential rentals in Ottawa and Toronto and have a commercial portfolio of more than 2 million square feet of office, retail and industrial space. The applied research and innovation team at La Cité collégiale was Minto Communities' preferred choice to find, verify and implement improved methods for producing and installing pre-constructed modules for the housing development market. Minto has asked La Cité to validate those processes in order to improve quality, efficiency and reduce the construction time that currently exists in the housing industry.

The KOTT Group (Ottawa)

In business for more than 35 years, the companies of the KOTT Group form one of the largest building supply organizations in Canada, serving residential and commercial building professionals. In response to an upcoming change of the Ontario Building Code, KOTT has developed a proprietary Insulated Structural Sheathing (ISS) building product. KOTT's ISS is an all-in-one thermal break, structural sheathing and weather barrier product that can be installed in one step. KOTT has engaged La Cité collégiale's Applied Research Program to conduct fastener withdrawal tests on the ISS system. KOTT requires data from field tests that will help determine how easy or difficult it is to install various fastener types along with how well each fastener type performs over time with the ISS system.

Tri-County Protein Corp. (Winchester)

A producer of soybean oil and meal, Tri-County Protein, also known as Tri-Pro, is working with La Cité collégiale on bio upgrading soybean oil and meal to better manage issues such as potential toxin activity, and maximizing protein content to suit the needs of new markets. Another objective of this collaboration is to increase the rate of proteins in soybean meal to reach new markets. Taken together, these data will also allow Tri-pro to optimize its production processes to better meet market needs.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie les partenariats entre La Cité collégiale et des entreprises locales

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 28 octobre 2011

Ottawa (Ontario) — Onze entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario travaillent avec La Cité collégiale à mettre en marché de nouvelles idées de recherche, grâce à la création de partenariats soutenus par le gouvernement du Canada. L'annonce en a été faite aujourd'hui par M. Royal Galipeau, député fédéral d'Ottawa-Orléans, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Notre gouvernement investit dans l'innovation pour créer des emplois et aider les petites entreprises à croître, a déclaré M. Galipeau. Les ententes entre La Cité collégiale et les petites entreprises leur permettront de travailler ensemble à des projets qui engendreront la mise en marché de nouveaux produits. »

« Le programme Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, mis au point par FedDev Ontario, permet à La Cité collégiale de conclure des partenariats dans divers secteurs, tels que l'énergie verte, l'agriculture et la construction, a déclaré Mme Lise Bourgeois, présidente de La Cité collégiale. Le programme favorise non seulement la création de procédés et de produits, mais permet aussi de les améliorer pour accroître les activités économiques des entreprises. Il contribue également à la création de nouveaux emplois et d'une main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée. »

L'année dernière, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, La Cité collégiale a reçu jusqu'à 475 300 $ de FedDev Ontario pour établir des partenariats avec de petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre d'activités de recherche appliquée, de conception technique, de mise au point de techniques, d'essais et d'homologation de produits. L'aide fournie créera de nouvelles possibilités économiques, favorisera la croissance des entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario et leur permettra de devenir plus innovatrices et compétitives.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation et les partenaires de La Cité collégiale, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale (Communications)
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias 
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation traite des défis uniques en matière de recherche et d'innovation auxquels font face les petites et moyennes entreprises, en aidant les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire à offrir leur expertise en recherche appliquée et développement et en précommmercialisation aux entreprises qui ne disposent pas de la capacité interne pour entreprendre ces activités.

En tant que plus important collège francophone d'art et de technologie appliqués en Ontario, La Cité collégiale a formé plus de 135 000 étudiants depuis sa création en 1990. Offrant maintenant plus de 90 programmes, La Cité collégiale élabore ces programmes en fonction des besoins du marché du travail.

L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) accordera à La Cité collégiale jusqu'à 475 300 $ pour créer des partenariats avec 11 petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre des projets énumérés ci-dessous.

Accu-Lift Flooring Systems (Ottawa)

ACCU-LIFT™ Flooring Systems est une entreprise d'Ottawa de revêtements de sol commerciaux et autres types de matériaux commerciaux de surfaçage. L'entreprise se spécialise dans le remplacement des planchers dans les bibliothèques et bureaux occupés à l'aide d'une technique de levage breveté qui lui permet de soulever les meubles et d'installer de nouveaux planchers sans démanteler, débrancher ou déplacer les meubles et le matériel. ACCU-LIFT™ Flooring Systems est un chef de file dans le domaine des techniques de levage de meubles.

Amika mobile (Kanata)

L'entreprise Amika Mobile travaille en partenariat avec La Cité collégiale pour mettre à l'essai son serveur Amika mobile et son expertise Amika mobile en matière de technique de notification de masse en cas d'urgence dans l'édifice 911 du Collège. Dans le cadre de ce projet, on entreprendra des simulations complexes d'urgence dans les campus et les aéroports ou bâtiments où des gens doivent être sauvés en cas de catastrophes d'origine naturelle ou humaine.

Artenga (Ottawa)

L'entreprise Artenga se spécialise dans l'utilisation des techniques de microbulle et d'ultrason pour ouvrir les cellules malades et améliorer considérablement l'efficacité des médicaments et autres traitements. Ce projet de collaboration entre Artenga et La Cité collégiale vise à améliorer la stabilité de ces microbulles, afin qu'elles puissent mieux transporter les médicaments de chimiothérapie en les dirigeant directement à la tumeur et en aidant à lutter contre le cancer. Cette nouvelle thérapie sera plus efficace et engendrera moins d'effets secondaires chez les patients pendant les traitements. La stabilité de ces microbulles est extrêmement importante pour que les substances thérapeutiques soient administrées intactes.

CH-Four Biogas Inc. (Ottawa)

L'entreprise CH-Four Biogas Inc. d'Ottawa et un chef de file de la technique du biogaz. La recherche en collaboration avec La Cité collégiale vise à mieux comprendre et à optimiser la production de biogaz.

Ferme Lanidrac (Sainte-Anne-de-Prescott)

La Ferme Lanidrac est une ferme laitière située à Sainte-Anne-de-Prescott. En mars 2011, la Ferme Lanidrac a adopté la technique de biodigesteur pour accroître la productivité de ses activités commerciales. La Ferme Lanidrac travaille en partenariat avec La Cité collégiale dans le cadre d'un projet visant à examiner le potentiel de divers matériaux bruts pouvant être utilisés avec cette technique, ce qui augmentera potentiellement son utilisation dans divers contextes.

GreenField Ethanol (Prescott)

L'entreprise GreenField produit des alcools industriels et de bouche, de l'éthanol-carburant et des grains pour alambic depuis 20 ans. GreenField Ethanol et La Cité collégiale travaillent en partenariat pour analyser le processus de production de l'usine de production de l'éthanol par broyage à sec, afin d'optimiser le processus de production et de soutenir davantage les efforts de commercialisation des coproduits de haute valeur de l'entreprise, tels que les solubles de distillerie, que génère le procédé de production de son principal produit, l'éthanol.

Major Craig's Chutney (Ottawa)

Major Craig's est une entreprise d'alimentation spécialisée dans la production de chutneys exceptionnels. Le projet vise à concevoir et à mettre à l'essai une méthode améliorée et accélérée de fermentation pour la production de l'« ail noir », un ingrédient culinaire très convoité. L'entreprise travaille en partenariat avec La Cité collégiale pour déterminer et optimiser la fermentation, transformer la qualité du produit et les paramètres de durée de conservation et accroître la production.

Ozile's Café, Marina and Tackle Shop (Ottawa)

En partenariat avec Ozile's, une entreprise de l'Est de l'Ontario, les responsables du programme de design intérieur de La Cité collégiale travailleront avec l'entreprise à la mise au point du design, à l'élaboration et à la production des structures récréatives utilisées pour la pêche sous la glace, la chasse et autres activités extérieures saisonnières. Des prototypes seront mis à l'essai au cours de l'hiver 2012 pendant la saison de pêche sous la glace.

Minto Communities (Ottawa)

L'entreprise Minto Communities est un important constructeur et promoteur au Canada et aux États-Unis. Depuis 1955, elle travaille pour créer de meilleurs endroits où vivre et travailler. L'entreprise a construit plus de 70 000 nouvelles maisons, géré 14 000 résidences en location à Ottawa et à Toronto et dispose d'un portefeuille commercial de plus de 2 millions de pieds carrés de locaux pour bureaux, commerce de détail et installations industrielles. L'équipe de recherche appliquée et d'innovation de La Cité collégiale a été choisie par Minto Communities pour déterminer, vérifier et appliquer de meilleures méthodes de production et d'installation de modules préfabriqués pour le marché résidentiel. L'entreprise a demandé à La Cité collégiale de valider ces processus afin d'améliorer leur qualité et leur efficacité et de réduire le temps de construction actuel dans l'industrie du logement.

The KOTT Group (Ottawa)

En affaires depuis plus de 35 ans, les entreprises du KOTT Group constituent l'une des plus importantes organisations d'approvisionnement de matériaux de construction au Canada, au service des professionnels du domaine de la construction résidentielle et commerciale. Anticipant la prochaine modification au Code de construction de l'Ontario, KOTT a créé un produit de construction exclusif nommé Insulated Structural Sheathing (ISS) (coffrage structurel isolé). L'ISS de KOTT est un produit qui sert d'isolant thermique, de coffrage structurel et de barre d'étanchéité pouvant être installé en une seule étape. KOTT a mandaté le programme de recherche appliquée de La Cité collégiale pour mener des essais d'endurance des fixations du système ISS. KOTT requiert des données pour les essais sur le terrain qui contribueront à déterminer la facilité ou la difficulté d'installation de divers types de fixations ainsi que la durée de chaque type de fixation au fil du temps avec le système ISS.

Tri-County Protein Corp. (Winchester)

Une entreprise de production d'huile et de tourteaux de soya, Tri County Protein, aussi connue sous le nom de Tri-Pro, travaille avec La Cité collégiale à la biovalorisation de l'huile de soya et des tourteaux, afin de mieux gérer les problèmes, tels que l'activité potentielle des toxines, et à l'optimisation de contenu en protéine pour satisfaire aux exigences des nouveaux marchés. Un autre objectif de cette collaboration consiste à accroître le pourcentage de protéines dans les tourteaux de soya pour ouvrir de nouveaux marchés. Mises ensemble, ces données permettront aussi à Tri-Pro d'optimiser ses procédés de production pour mieux satisfaire les exigences des marchés.

Date de modification :