Archived — Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario — Quarterly Financial Report — Quarter ended September 30, 2011

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel, and programs

For the quarter ended September 30, 2011

1. Introduction

This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates A, and previous quarterly financial reports for the current year. It reflects results in relation to this funding. It has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Authority, Mandate & Program Activities

FedDev Ontario was created in August 2009, as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan, to help respond to Ontario's economic challenges, to help restore the Province to its cycle of prosperity and to help position southern Ontario as an important economic driver to building a stronger economy and a stronger Canada.

Further details on FedDev Ontario's authorities, mandate and program activities can be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and Part II of the Main Estimates.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Agency's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Agency consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates A for the 2011–12 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The Agency uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual financial statements that are part of the Agency's performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

2.1 Authorities Analysis

As reflected in the attached Statement of Authorities, FedDev Ontario has seen a decrease in authorities from the previous year of about 42% ($194.6 million reduction).

Program spending authorities have decreased by 44% ($187.4 million). This material decrease is mainly due to the sunsetting of the programs related to the Economic Action Plan, such as the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) and Recreational Infrastructure Canada (RInC). Also, legacy programs such as the Ontario Potable Water Program (OPWP) and the Canada-Ontario Infrastructure Program (COIP) ended at the end of the last fiscal year. Through an announcement made by the Prime Minister on December 2, 2010, certain Economic Action Plan programs were given an extension until October 31, 2011. Within FedDev Ontario, only the RInC program met the criteria for extension. This has resulted in a partial reprofile of program funding from fiscal year 2010–11 which was approved under Supplementary Estimates A.

Operating authorities have decreased by 19% ($7.1 million). The reduction in operating authorities comes as a result of the completion of most start-up costs, such as the fit-up of FedDev offices, the relocation costs related to new employee hires, and the anticipated reduced dependence on third party suppliers for the provision of services such as financial operations, accommodations, procurement, and various other services.

The following graph illustrates the relationship between operating authorities (including statutory authorities) and grants and contributions authorities for FedDev Ontario over the last two fiscal years.

Total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 compared to total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011 (in millions of dollars)
Total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 compared to total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011 (in millions of dollars) (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure
Total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 compared to total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011 (in millions of dollars)
Year Operating Spending Authorities Program Spending Authorities
2011–2012 30.3 237.1
2010–2011 37.4 424.5

2.2 Expenditure Analysis

On an overall basis, expenditure patterns in the second quarter of 2011–12 are on a slower pace than they were during the same period in 2010–11. This is being driven by the reduction in spending on the program spending side. The slower pace of program spending can be attributed to the sunsetting of Economic Action Plan and legacy programs that were administered in 2010–11, such as CAF, RInC, OPWP, and COIP. These programs incurred expenditures at a more accelerated rate during the first two quarters of the last fiscal year as compared to the current portfolio of programs being administered in 2011–12.

The pace of spending on the operations side has increased slightly since last year, however is still on pace to spending within the available authorities. This increase in operations spending is mainly attributable to increased salary costs as FedDev Ontario is now fully staffed where it was not at this time last year.

Statement of Authorities
Used during the Quarter

In the second quarter of the 2011–12 fiscal year total budgetary expenditures were $27.3 million compared to $54.2 million reported in the same period of 2010–11, representing a year-over-year decrease of $26.9 million (or 50%). Most of this decrease can be attributed to the sunsetting of programs related to the Economic Action Plan, as quarterly program spending declined by $27.2 million (or 57%) compared to last year. Quarterly operational spending for the second quarter of 2011–12 showed a $0.3 million (or 5%) increase over the same period in 2010–11.

Year-to-Date Analysis

On a year-to-date basis, as of the end of the second quarter of fiscal year 2011–12 total budgetary expenditures were $41.6 million compared to $79.1 million reported at the end of the same period of fiscal year 2010–11, representing a year-over-year decrease of $37.5 million (or 47%). As reflected in the comparison between quarters, the sunsetting of programs is the main contributor to this decrease, as year-to-date program spending declined by $38.9 million (or 56%) compared to last year. Year-to-date operating spending as of the end of the second quarter of fiscal year 2011–12 increased $1.4 million (or 14%) over the same period last year, due primarily to higher salary costs.

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object
Used during the Quarter

The $1.0 million (or 25%) increase in second quarter salary-related expenditures from fiscal year 2010–11 to fiscal year 2011–12 is reflective of the 26% increase in full time staff when compared to the same time last year (the number of FTEs increased from 175 to 220 between the end of the second quarter of 2010–11 and the same period in 2011–12). Much of the increase in staff and related costs can be attributed to the completion of the Agency's launch and the replacement of temporary help and casual positions with full-time indeterminate staff. Furthermore, there are a large number of funding applications being received as a result of the new Southern Ontario Advantage programs, leading to an increase in workload without the associated increase in program expenditures. This can be explained by the fact that many of these applications are in the early stages of assessment.

In comparison to the same period of 2010–2011, the $377,000 (or 58%) decrease in second-quarter transportation and communications costs can be explained by the significant reduction in the number of relocations taking place, and in travel. As illustrated in the analysis of salary expenditures, the completion of multiple staffing actions has greatly reduced the associated relocation expenditures tied to the hiring process.

The $256,000 (or 23%) decrease in second-quarter professional and special services costs from fiscal year 2010–11 to fiscal year 2011–12 can be explained by the reduced reliance on temporary help and third party service providers, as well as the reduction of training-related expenditures when compared to the same period last year.

Year-to-Date Analysis

The $2.4 million (or 35%) increase in year-to-date salary-related expenditures as of the end of the second quarter of 2011–12 versus the end of the same period in 2010–11 can be explained by the increase in full-time staff as explained in the quarterly spending analysis.

The reduction in transportation and communications costs ($431,000 or 47%) over this period last year can be attributed to a reduction in travel and relocation activity as illustrated in the analysis of the quarterly spending trends in this area.

The reduction in professional and special services expenditures ($544,000 or 30%) can be attributed to the reduced reliance on temporary help, third party service providers, and a reduction in training expenses. For more details refer to the section where the quarter-over-quarter analysis for this expense type is examined.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

As an organization that has existed for only two years, FedDev Ontario faces a number of external and internal risks. The dominant risks focus on the need to formalize internal procedures and the wrap-up of programs related to the Economic Action Plan. Another risk involves the ability to deliver new programs such as the Southern Ontario Advantage, which was launched throughout the fall of 2010. Internal risks which have a potential impact relate to the implementation of FedDev Ontario's plans to reduce reliance on third party delivery of internal services and implementation of plans to further refine its business processes and systems.

There is a risk that financial forecasts generated by the Department will be inaccurate, due to insufficient claims and information from partners and recipients. This risk could cause an eventual lapse of funds. The majority of the department's transfer payments occur in the latter part of fiscal year. This can contribute to some uncertainty when forecasting cash requirements to Parliament. It should be noted that federal spending is not a measure of economic activity. Once projects are approved, Contribution Agreements are negotiated and work begins (designs, engineering, procurement) long before claims are submitted for federal reimbursement.

Mitigation of Risks/Uncertainties:

The Department is taking steps to minimize the size of future funding lapses and improve its expenditure forecasting over the long-term. Particular emphasis is being placed on ensuring that:

  • Forecasted expenditures submitted by partners better reflect the real cash flow needs of their projects;
  • Project progress is monitored appropriately to identify potential funding lapses earlier in the fiscal year; and
  • Claims are submitted as quickly as possible by partners for the costs they have incurred and advances are used in situations where client need is documented and deemed appropriate (e.g., not-for-profit clients).

However, funding lapses cannot ever be totally eliminated due to the complex nature of projects. In particular, numerous projects can encounter legitimate delays that are related to environmental assessments, public consultations, shortages in materials and labour, weather, etc.

To minimize internal risks, FedDev Ontario is continually reviewing and refining its internal policies and procedures to ensure compliance with Central Agency requirements. The Agency is committed to providing ongoing training to its staff and continues to transition services, thereby reducing reliance on third parties where optimal.

A number of contributions made under the Community Adjustment Fund, Southern Ontario Development Program and the Southern Ontario Advantage programs are of a repayable nature. As such, there is a risk of bad debts being incurred. To mitigate this risk, increased communication and monitoring are occurring with recipients under these programs.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

FedDev Ontario was established in August 2009 as a component of Canada's Economic Action Plan (CEAP). Initially, its main role was to deliver CEAP programs such as the Community Adjustment Fund (CAF) and Recreational Infrastructure Canada (RInC). However, with RInC ending on October 31, 2011 and CAF having already ended on March 31, 2011, FedDev Ontario's focus is now shifting towards the provision of programs such as the Southern Ontario Advantage that will help better position southern Ontario as a key player in the Canadian economy and return southern Ontario to its cycle of prosperity. The Southern Ontario Advantage programs have over 200 active files with applications ongoing.

In terms of executive team personnel changes, on September 6, 2011 Colleen Robinson became the new Director General for Human Resources at FedDev Ontario.

Approved by:

___________________________
B.A. Archibald, PhD, President
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
November 29, 2011

___________________________
Linda Cousineau, PhD, Chief Financial Officer
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
November 29, 2011


FedDev Ontario
Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended September 30, 2011

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars)

1 Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end. (Return to table)

2 Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end. (Return to table)

  Fiscal Year 2011-12 Fiscal Year 2010-11
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 1 Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011 2 Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50-Net Operating Expenditures 27,223 5,671 9,763 34,011 5,257 8,232
Vote 55-Grants and Contributions 237,067 20,811 30,323 424,523 48,095 69,216
Budgetary statutory authorities:
Employee benefit plans 3,113 779 1,557 3,431 858 1,716
Grants and contributions - - - - - -
Other - - - - - -
Total Budgetary authorities 267,403 27,261 41,643 461,965 54,210 79,164
Non-budgetary authorities - - - - - -
Total authorities 267,403 27,261 41,643 461,965 54,210 79,164
Table 1:  Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars)

4 Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end. (Return to table)

5 Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end. (Return to table)

6 Includes employee benefit plan (EBP) expenses (Return to table)

Expenditures: Fiscal Year 2011-12 Fiscal Year 2010-11
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 4 Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 5 Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 6 21,904 5,212 9,386 23,615 4,178 6,973
Transportation and communications 1,253 278 493 3,793 655 924
Information 176 36 43 412 39 47
Professional and special services 6,096 844 1,286 7,412 1,100 1,830
Rentals 14 18 26 275 19 24
Repair and maintenance 188 11 11 137 22 22
Utilities, materials and supplies 171 37 57 686 52 74
Acquisition of land, buildings, and works - - - - - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 332 12 16 1,112 49 53
Transfer payments 237,067 20,811 30,323 424,523 48,095 69,216
Other subsidies and payments 202 2 2 - 1 1
Total budgetary expenditures 267,403 27,261 41,643 461,965 54,210 79,164
Date modified:

Archivé — Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario — Rapport financier trimestriel — pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Compte rendu exposant les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 septembre 2011

1. Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) et les rapports financiers trimestriels antérieurs pour l'exercice en cours. Il reflète les résultats par rapport à ce financement. Il a été préparé par la direction comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon la forme et la manière prescrites par la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Autorisation, mandat et activités de programmes

FedDev Ontario a été établie, avec un mandat de cinq ans, afin d'aider à relever les défis économiques de l'Ontario, d'aider la province à entrer de nouveau dans un cycle de prospérité et de contribuer à faire du Sud de l'Ontario un catalyseur économique important de la vigueur de l'économie et du Canada.

Il est possible d'obtenir de plus amples détails sur les autorisations, le mandat et les activités de programmes de FedDev Ontario dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et la Partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de l'Agence accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l'Agence, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et le budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un cadre de rapports financiers ayant un objectif spécial qui vise à répondre aux besoins de renseignements financiers relativement à l'utilisation des autorisations d'engager des dépenses.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous la forme d'une autorisation législative de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à lancer un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

L'Agence utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement de l'Agence. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs annuelss

2.1 Analyse des autorisations

Comme il est reflété dans l'État des autorisations ci-joint, FedDev Ontario a subi une réduction des autorisations par rapport à l'année précédente d'environ 42 % (une réduction de 194,6 millions de dollars).

Les autorisations d'engager des dépenses de programmes ont diminué de 44 % (187,4 millions de dollars). Cette réduction significative est principalement attribuable à l'élimination progressive de programmes liés au Plan d'action économique, comme le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) et Infrastructures de loisirs Canada (ILC). De plus, les programmes hérités, comme le Programme d'eau potable de l'Ontario (PEPO) et le Programme d'infrastructures Canada-Ontario (PICO), ont pris fin à la fin du dernier exercice financier. Au moyen d'une annonce faite par le premier ministre le 2 décembre 2010, certains programmes du Plan d'action économique ont été prolongés jusqu'au 31 octobre 2011. Au sein de FedDev Ontario, seul ILC a répondu aux critères pour une prolongation. Ceci a entraîné un report partiel du financement du programme de l'exercice 2010-2011 qui a été approuvé dans le cadre du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A). 

Les autorisations de fonctionnement ont diminué de 19 % (7,1 millions de dollars). La réduction des autorisations de fonctionnement découle de l'achèvement de la plupart des coûts de démarrage, comme l'aménagement des locaux de FedDev, les coûts de réinstallation liés aux embauches de nouveaux employés, et la réduction prévue de la dépendance envers des fournisseurs indépendants pour la prestation de services, comme les opérations financières, les locaux, l'approvisionnement et divers autres services.

Le graphique suivant illustre la relation entre les autorisations de fonctionnement (y compris les autorisations statutaires) et les autorisations de subventions et de contributions de FedDev Ontario au cours des deux derniers exercices financiers.

Autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 par rapport aux autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 (en millions de dollars)
Autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 par rapport aux autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 (en millions de dollars) (la description complète est sous l'image)
Description de la figure
Autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 par rapport aux autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 (en millions de dollars)
Année

Dépenses pour les autorisations de fonctionnement

Dépenses pour les autorisations de programmes

2011-2012 30.3 237.1
2010-2011 37.4 424.5

2.2 Analyse des dépenses

En général, les structures des dépenses lors du deuxième trimestre de 2011-2012 évoluent à un rythme plus lent qu'elles le faisaient au cours de la même période en 2010-2011, tout particulièrement pour ce qui est des dépenses de programme. Le rythme plus lent des dépenses de programme peut être attribué à l'élimination progressive des programmes du Plan d'action économique (PAE) et des programmes hérités qui ont été administrés en 2010-2011, comme FAC, ILC, PEPO et PICO. Ces programmes ont engagé des dépenses à un rythme plus accéléré durant les deux premiers trimestres du dernier exercice financier comparativement au portefeuille actuel de programmes administrés en 2011-2012.

Le rythme des dépenses de fonctionnement a augmenté légèrement depuis l'an dernier, toutefois, il correspond toujours aux dépenses à l'intérieur des autorisations disponibles. Cette augmentation des dépenses de fonctionnement est surtout attribuable à une augmentation du salaire, car FedDev Ontario compte maintenant un effectif complet, alors qu'il ne l'était pas à cette époque l'an dernier.

État des autorisations
Utilisé durant le trimestre

Au cours du deuxième trimestre de l'exercice 2011-2012, le total des dépenses budgétaires se chiffrait à 27,3 millions de dollars, comparativement à 54,2 millions de dollars au cours de la même période en 2010-2011, ce qui représente un recul sur 12 mois de 26,9 millions de dollars (soit 50 %). La majeure partie de ce recul peut être attribuée à l'élimination progressive de programmes liés au Plan d'action économique, alors que les dépenses trimestrielles de programmes ont diminué de 27,2 millions de dollars (ou 57 %) par rapport à l'an dernier. Les dépenses opérationnelles trimestrielles pour le deuxième trimestre de 2011-2012 ont montré une augmentation de 0,3 million de dollars (ou 5 %) par rapport à la même période en 2010-2011. 

Analyse du cumul annuel

Selon le cumul annuel, à la fin du deuxième trimestre de l'exercice 2011-2012, le total des dépenses budgétaires se chiffrait à 41,6 millions de dollars comparativement à 79,1 millions de dollars déclarés au cours de la même période en 2010-2011, ce qui représente un recul sur 12 mois de 37,5 millions de dollars (ou 47 %). Tel qu'il est reflété dans la comparaison entre les trimestres, l'élimination progressive de programmes est le principal contributeur à cette diminution, car les dépenses de programme jusqu'à maintenant ont diminué de 38,9 millions de dollars (ou de 56 %) comparativement à l'an dernier. Les dépenses de fonctionnement depuis le début de l'exercice à la fin du deuxième trimestre de l'exercice 2011-2012 ont augmenté de 1,4 million de dollars (ou 14 %) pour la même période l'an dernier, surtout à cause des salaires plus élevés.

État des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant
Utilisé au cours du trimestre

L'augmentation d'un million de dollars (ou 25 %) en dépenses salariales au cours du deuxième trimestre entre l'exercice 2010-2011 et l'exercice 2011-2012 reflète l'augmentation de 26 % du personnel à plein temps par rapport à la même période l'an dernier (le nombre d'ETP a augmenté de 175 à 220 entre la fin du deuxième trimestre de 2010-2011 et la même période en 2011-2012). Une bonne partie de l'augmentation des coûts connexes et liés au personnel peut être attribuée à la fin du lancement de l'Agence et au remplacement d'aide temporaire et de postes à temps partiel avec des employés à temps plein nommés pour une période indéterminée. De plus, un grand nombre de demandes de financement ont été reçues à la suite des nouveaux programmes visant à créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario, ce qui entraîne une augmentation de la charge de travail sans une augmentation connexe des dépenses de programmes. Cela peut être expliqué par le fait que bon nombre de ces demandes en sont au début de leur évaluation.

En comparaison à la même période en 2010-2011, la réduction de 377 000 $ (ou 58 %) en coûts de transports et de communications peut s'expliquer par une réduction importante du nombre de réinstallations qui ont eu lieu et au déplacement. Comme il est indiqué dans l'analyse des dépenses salariales, la réalisation de multiples mesures de dotation a permis de réduire considérablement les dépenses de réinstallation connexes liées au processus d'embauche.

Au cours du deuxième trimestre, la diminution de 256 000 $ (ou 23 %) des coûts de services professionnels et spéciaux de l'exercice 2010-2011 par rapport à l'exercice 2011-2012 peut être expliquée par la réduction du recours aux employés temporaires et aux tiers fournisseurs de service, ainsi qu'à la réduction des dépenses liées à la formation en comparaison aux dépenses de la même période l'an dernier.

Analyse du cumul annuel

L'augmentation de 2,4 millions de dollars (ou 35 %) en dépenses salariales depuis le début de l'exercice à la fin du deuxième trimestre de 2011-2012 par rapport à la fin de la même période en 2010-2011 peut être expliquée par l'augmentation du personnel à plein temps dans l'analyse des dépenses du trimestre.

La réduction en coûts de transports et de communications (431 000 $ ou 47 %) au cours de cette période l'an dernier peut être attribuée à la réduction du nombre de déplacement et de réinstallation, tel qu'il est démontré dans l'analyse des tendances des dépenses trimestrielles dans ce secteur.

La réduction des dépenses en matière de services professionnels et spéciaux (544 000 $ ou 30 %) peut être attribuée à la réduction du recours aux employés temporaires, aux tiers fournisseurs de services et à une réduction des dépenses en formation. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la section où l'on examine l'analyse d'un trimestre à l'autre.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Étant un organisme qui existe depuis moins de deux ans, FedDev Ontario fait face à un certain nombre de risques externes et internes. Les principaux risques se concentrent sur la nécessité d'adopter formellement des procédures internes et sur la fin des programmes liés au Plan d'action économique. Un autre risque touche la capacité d'exécuter de nouveaux programmes, comme l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario qui a été lancé tout au long de l'automne 2010. Les risques internes qui ont une incidence possible concernent la mise en œuvre des plans de FedDev Ontario de réduire le recours à la prestation par des tiers de services internes et de mises en œuvre de plans visant à stabiliser ses processus opérationnels et ses systèmes.

Il y a un risque que les prévisions financières générées par le Ministère soient inexactes en raison des réclamations et informations insuffisantes provenant des partenaires et des bénéficiaires. Ce risque pourrait provoquer une péremption éventuelle de fonds. La majorité des paiements de transfert du ministère se produit dans la dernière partie de l'exercice financier. Ceci peut contribuer à une certaine incertitude lors de la prévision des besoins de trésorerie au Parlement. Notons bien que les dépenses fédérales ne représentent pas une mesure de l'activité économique. Une fois les projets approuvés, on négocie les accords de contribution et le travail commence (conceptions, génie, approvisionnement) bien avant que les réclamations soient présentées pour un remboursement par les autorités fédérales.

Atténuation des risques et incertitudes :

Le Ministère prend des mesures pour réduire au minimum l'importance des péremptions de fonds futurs et pour améliorer ses prévisions des dépenses à long terme. L'accent est mis sur l'importance de faire en sorte que :

  • Les dépenses prévues présentées par les partenaires reflètent mieux les besoins de trésorerie réels associés à leurs projets;
  • Les progrès réalisés par les projets sont surveillés adéquatement afin de désigner des péremptions de fonds possibles plus tôt dans le courant de l'exercice;
  • Les réclamations sont présentées le plus tôt possible par les partenaires pour les coûts encourus et les avances de fonds sont utilisées dans des situations où les besoins des clients sont documentés et jugés nécessaires (p. ex. les clients du secteur à but non lucratif).

Ceci étant dit, les péremptions de fonds ne peuvent jamais être entièrement éliminées en raison de la nature complexe des projets. En particulier, de nombreux projets peuvent connaître des retards légitimes qui sont liés aux évaluations environnementales, aux consultations publiques, aux pénuries de matériaux et de main-d'œuvre, aux conditions météorologiques, etc.

Pour minimiser les risques internes, FedDev Ontario examine et peaufine continuellement ses politiques et procédures internes afin d'assurer la conformité aux exigences de l'organisme central. L'Agence s'est engagée à fournir une formation permanente à ses employés et poursuit les services de transition, réduisant ainsi le recours à des tiers, lorsque cela est optimal.

Certaines contributions faites en vertu des programmes Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités, Programme de développement du Sud de l'Ontario et Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario sont fondés sur des contributions à remboursement. Il existe donc un risque de créance irrécouvrable. Afin d'atténuer le risque, il y a une plus grande communication et surveillance des bénéficiaires en vertu de ces programmes.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

FedDev Ontario a été mis sur pied en août 2009 en tant que composante du Plan d'action économique du Canada (PAE). Au départ, son principal rôle était d'offrir des programmes du PAE, comme le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) et l'Infrastructure de loisirs du Canada (ILC). Toutefois, comme l'ILC a pris fin le 31 octobre 2011 et le FAC a déjà pris fin le 31 mars 2011, FedDev Ontario cherche maintenant à s'orienter vers la prestation de programmes comme l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario qui permettra de mieux positionner le Sud de l'Ontario comme un partenaire clé de l'économie canadienne et retourner le Sud de l'Ontario à son cycle de prospérité. Les programmes d'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario ont plus de 200 dossiers actifs et les demandes sont en cours.

Pour ce qui est des changements à l'équipe de direction, Madame Colleen Robinson est devenue la nouvelle directrice générale des ressources humaines de FedDev Ontario le 6 septembre 2011.

___________________________
B. A. Archibald, président
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Le 29 novembre 2011

___________________________
Linda Cousineau, dirigeante principale des finances
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Le 29 novembre 2011


Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario
Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 septembre 2011

État des autorisations (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)

1 Comprend les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre. (Retour au tableau)

2 Comprend les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.. (Retour au tableau)

  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 20112 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 septembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Crédit 50-Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement

27,223 5,671 9,763 34,011 5,257 8,232
Crédit 55-Subventions et contributionss 237,067 20,811 30,323 424,523 48,095 69,216

Autorisations législatives budgétaires

Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3,113 779 1,557 3,431 858 1,716

Subventions et contributions

- - - - - -
Autre - - - - - -
Autorisations budgétaires totales 267,403 27,261 41,643 461,965 54,210 79,164

Autorisations non budgétaires

- - - - - -
Autorisations totales 267,403 27,261 41,643 461,965 54,210 79,164
Tableau 1 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)

4 Comprend les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre. (Retour au tableau)

5 Comprend les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre. (Retour au tableau)

6 Comprend les dépenses relatives aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés (RASE). (Retour au tableau)

Dépenses : Exercice 2011-2012

Exercice 2010-2011

Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 4 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 5 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 septembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 6 21,904 5,212 9,386 23,615 4,178 6,973
Transports et communications 1,253 278 493 3,793 655 924
Information 176 36 43 412 39 47
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6,096 844 1,286 7,412 1,100 1,830
Location 14 18 26 275 19 24
Services de réparation et d'entretien 188 11 11 137 22 22
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 171 37 57 686 52 74
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages - - - - - -
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 332 12 16 1,112 49 53
Paiements de transfert 237,067 20,811 30,323 424,523 48,095 69,216
Autres subventions et paiements 202 2 2 - 1 1

Dépenses budgétaires totales

267,403 27,261 41,643 461,965 54,210 79,164
Date de modification :