Archived — Harper Government Supports Angel Investors

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Picture of Minister Goodyear announcing funding for the angel investment community through Investing in Business Innovation at the National Angel Summit in Ottawa.

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announces funding for 4 angel investment networks and 2 organizations representing the angel investment community through Investing in Business Innovation at the National Angel Summit in Ottawa. Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
November 29, 2011

Ottawa, Ontario – Southern Ontario now has a stronger base of angel investment networks that will be able to connect more angel investors with the region's promising new businesses thanks to an investment by the Government of Canada. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced support for the angel investment community during a keynote address delivered at the 2011 National Angel Summit today.

"Our Government is working to support angels from coast to coast to coast," said Minister Goodyear. "I think it’s clear that support for angel investors is a winning proposition: by unlocking investment capital, angels are helping us keep skilled workers and patents here, and helping to create sustained prosperity for our region and our country. This investment will attract new capital to our region, creating high-value jobs and long-term economic prosperity."

The Government of Canada will be contributing up to $2,016,563 to four angel networks and two organizations representing angel networks across southern Ontario. These investments will allow four angel networks, located in Cambridge, Collingwood, Kingston and Toronto, to expand their membership bases. In addition, the Ontario and national organizations will receive contributions to develop their online resources and perform outreach activities that will help recruit new angel investors from Ontario and outside the province, including foreign investors.

"The angel community has risen to the challenge of funding southern Ontario's most exciting growth-oriented companies during the recent economic turmoil," said Bryan Watson, Executive Director of the National Angel Capital Organization, organizers of the 2011 National Angel Summit. "The investment in southern Ontario's angel community by FedDev Ontario will help our region attract angels, local and foreign, and help them invest their dollars, expertise and networks in our next generation of growth companies."

Investing in Business Innovation is a direct result of feedback from business leaders, academics and community leaders from across southern Ontario, who suggested FedDev Ontario take a leadership role in encouraging entrepreneurs and investors to take the risks necessary to put southern Ontario businesses on the map.

For more information, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879 


Backgrounder

Contribution to the Angel Investment Community

FedDev Ontario is providing four angel networks and two organizations representing angel networks in southern Ontario with non-repayable contributions totalling up to $2,016,563 through the Investing in Business Innovation initiative.

Angel investors typically provide risk capital for businesses at their start-up and early growth stages, filling the gap between seed financing and venture capital. Since the late 1980s, angels have been forming groups and networks that have the benefit of being able to attract and mobilize greater funds than individual investors, as well as sharing the labour and risk associated with financing early stage companies.

The following provides details on the organizations and networks that will benefit from these contributions:

National Angel Capital Organization

Contribution: up to $968,800
The National Angel Capital Organization (NACO) is a national not-for-profit organization representing angel networks, located in Toronto, that was established to provide angel investors with a secure environment to network and learn from their peers, as well as to be heard collectively on national issues. This investment will allow NACO to develop online collaborative tools, including an angel directory, co-investment opportunity database, standards and best practices e-learning modules, and a question and answer engine. In addition to increased awareness and education of angel investors and entrepreneurs, this project will help NACO attract greater angel investment from outside southern Ontario to the region. For more information, visit www.angelinvestor.ca.

National Angel Organization – Ontario

Contribution: up to $847,763
The National Angel Organization – Ontario (NAO – Ontario) is a provincial not-for-profit organization representing angel networks, located in Toronto, that was established to deliver the Angel Network Program across Ontario. With this investment, NAO-Ontario will develop centralized online resources and services and hold educational and networking events. In addition to creating an increased investment pool, expanding geographic reach and enhancing industry expertise, this project will help NAO-Ontario link angel networks across Ontario with information and capital from other institutions, such as the Community Futures Development Corporations. For more information, visit http://nao-ontario.ca.

Golden Triangle Angelnet

Contribution: up to $50,000
The Golden Triangle Angelnet (GTAN) is a not-for-profit angel investor network located in Cambridge that invests in promising, early-stage businesses operating in Kitchener-Waterloo, Guelph, Cambridge and beyond. With this investment, GTAN will be developing an interactive website, best practices training materials, recruiting and training seminars and reporting and monitoring systems. This will help GTAN increase its geographic reach and expand its industry expertise, membership and investment capital. For more information, visit www.goldentriangleangelnet.ca.

Georgian Angel Network

Contribution: up to $50,000
The Georgian Angel Network (GAN) is a not-for-profit angel network located in Collingwood that works to connect angel investors in the Georgian Triangle region (Owen Sound, Meaford, Collingwood, Wasaga Beach, Creemore, Midland, Barrie, Orillia, Bracebridge, Parry Sound and Huntsville) with entrepreneurs needing equity capital to commercialize their innovations. With this investment, GAN will continue to develop best practices & procedures and promotional tools, and perform outreach to investors and high-potential innovator-entrepreneurs.  This will help GAN increase its presence in the catchment area and develop its industry expertise, membership and investment capital. For more information, visit www.georgianangelnet.ca.

PARTEQ Innovations

Contribution: up to $50,000
PARTEQ Innovations is a not-for-profit technology transfer office founded by Queen's University. PARTEQ works with university researchers and the business and venture capital communities to bring promising discoveries to market, while returning proceeds to researchers and their institutions. This investment enables PARTEQ to support its angel network by developing an interactive website and promotional tools, and to offer investor information sessions. This will help the PARTEQ Angel Network to expand its membership base and investment pool, as well as expedite financing of spinoff and technology companies in the Kingston area. For more information, visit http://www.parteqinnovations.com/.

York Angel Investors

Contribution: up to $50,000
York Angel Investors (YAI) is a not-for-profit angel network located in Vaughan that connects local entrepreneurs seeking early and mid-stage capital with local investors. With this investment, YAI will launch an outreach program to initiate a sustained sponsorship drive, which will increase membership and publicity for the network.  This will help YAI increase its geographic reach and expand its industry expertise, membership and investment capital. For more information, visit http://yorkangels.com.

Investing in Business Innovation

Investing in Business Innovation is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market. The Government of Canada is focusing on a portfolio of early-stage businesses that are recognized by the investor community as having the potential for high-growth and a net long-term economic benefit for southern Ontario.

Funding under the initiative is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper appuie les investisseurs providentiels

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Photo du ministre Goodyear annonçant une aide financière à la collectivité des  investisseurs providentiels dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises au National Angel Summit à Ottawa.

L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), annonce un investissement dans 4 réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et 2 organisations les représentant dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises au National Angel Summit à Ottawa. Source: FedDev Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 29 novembre 2011

Ottawa (Ontario) — La région du Sud de l'Ontario dispose maintenant de réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels plus solides qui seront à même d'associer plus d'investisseurs providentiels à de nouvelles entreprises prometteuses de la région, grâce à un investissement du gouvernement du Canada. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé à la collectivité des investisseurs providentiels qu'il lui accorderait son soutien, dans un discours lors du National Angel Summit 2011.

« Notre gouvernement s’emploi à appuyer les investisseurs providentiels d’un bout à l’autre du pays, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Le fait d’aider les investisseurs providentiels constitue une proposition gagnante. En débloquant le capital d’investissement, les investisseurs providentiels nous aident à garder ici nos travailleurs qualifiés et nos brevets à créer une situation de prospérité durable pour notre région et notre pays. Cet investissement attirera de nouveaux capitaux dans notre région, ce qui créera des emplois de haute qualité ainsi qu’une prospérité économique à long terme. »

Le gouvernement du Canada répartira un montant pouvant s'élever à 2 016 563 millions de dollars entre quatre réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et deux organisations les représentant. Ces investissements permettront aux quatre réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels, situés à Cambridge, Collingwood, Kingston et Toronto, de recruter d'autres membres. De plus, les organisations ontariennes et nationales recevront une contribution pour améliorer leurs ressources électroniques et mener des activités de sensibilisation dans le but d'attirer de nouveaux investisseurs providentiels de l'Ontario, d'autres provinces et de l'étranger.

« La collectivité des investisseurs providentiels a relevé le défi de financer les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario les plus prometteuses sur le plan de la croissance, au cours de la récente période de perturbation économique, a indiqué M. Bryan Watson, directeur exécutif de la National Angel Capital Organization, hôte du National Angel Summit 2011. Cet investissement de FedDev Ontario dans la collectivité des investisseurs providentiels permettra à notre région d'attirer des investisseurs providentiels locaux et étrangers et d'investir leur argent, leur expertise et leurs relations dans la prochaine génération d'entreprises en croissance. »

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises découle directement des commentaires qu'ont formulés les dirigeants d'entreprise, les universitaires et les dirigeants communautaires du Sud de l'Ontario, qui ont recommandé que FedDev Ontario assume un rôle de leader pour inciter les entrepreneurs et les investisseurs à courir les risques nécessaires afin d'assurer la prospérité des entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la Fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale, Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879 


Fiche d'information

Contribution à la collectivité des investisseurs providentiels

FedDev Ontario accorde à quatre réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et à deux organisations représentant des réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels du Sud de l'Ontario des contributions non remboursables de jusqu'à 2 016 563 millions de dollars, dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises.

Les investisseurs providentiels offrent du capital de risque aux entreprises à l'étape du démarrage ou en début de croissance pour combler l'écart entre le financement de démarrage et le capital de risque. Depuis la fin des années 80, les investisseurs providentiels ont créé des groupes et des réseaux qui ont la capacité d'attirer et de mobiliser plus de fonds que les investisseurs individuels et de partager les efforts et les risques liés au financement des entreprises en démarrage.

Voici ci-dessous les détails sur les organisations et les réseaux qui bénéficieront de cette contribution.

National Angel Capital Organization

Contribution : jusqu'à 968 800 $
La National Angel Capital Organization (NACO) est une organisation nationale sans but lucratif représentant des réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels, située à Toronto, qui a été créée pour fournir aux investisseurs un environnement sécuritaire où ils peuvent réseauter, apprendre de leurs pairs et se faire entendre collectivement sur des questions d'importance nationale. Cet investissement permettra à la NACO de concevoir des outils de collaboration en ligne, dont un répertoire des investisseurs providentiels, une base de données sur les possibilités de coinvestissement, des modèles d'apprentissage électronique des normes et des meilleures pratiques et un moteur de questions et réponses. En plus de sensibiliser et d'informer davantage les investisseurs providentiels et les entrepreneurs, ce projet permettra à la NACO d'attirer un plus grand nombre d'investisseurs providentiels provenant de l'extérieur de la région du Sud de l'Ontario. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter : www.angelinvestor.ca [disponible en anglais seulement].

National Angel Organization – Ontario

Contribution : jusqu'à 847 763 $
La National Angel Organization – Ontario (NAO – Ontario) est une organisation provinciale sans but lucratif représentant des réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels, située à Toronto, qui a été créée pour assurer la mise en œuvre du Angel Network Program en Ontario. Grâce à cet investissement, la NAO-Ontario élaborera des ressources et des services électroniques centralisés et organisera des activités d'information et de réseautage. En plus de créer et d'accroître un bassin d'investisseurs, d'élargir le rayonnement géographique et d'améliorer l'expertise de l'industrie, ce projet aidera la NAO-Ontario à brancher les réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels en Ontario à des sources d'information et de capital provenant d'autres organisations, comme les sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter :  http://nao-ontario.ca [disponible en anglais seulement].

Golden Triangle Angelnet

Contribution : jusqu'à 50 000 $
Le Golden Triangle Angelnet (GTAN) est un réseau sans but lucratif d'investisseurs providentiels, situé à Cambridge, qui investit dans des entreprises en démarrage de Kitcherner-Waterloo, Guelph, Cambridge et autres. Grâce à cet investissement, le GTAN créera un site Web interactif, élaborera du matériel de familiarisation avec les meilleures pratiques, organisera des ateliers de recrutement et de formation et concevra des systèmes de déclaration et de surveillance. Ces outils aideront le GTAN à accroître son rayonnement géographique, son expertise sur l'industrie, ses adhésions et son capital d'investissement. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter : www.goldentriangleangelnet.ca [disponible en anglais seulement].

Georgian Angel Network

Contribution: jusqu'à 50 000 $
Le Georgian Angel Network (GAN) est un réseau sans but lucratif, situé à Collingwood, qui travaille à créer des liens entre les investisseurs providentiels de la région de Georgian Triangle (Owen Sound, Meaford, Collingwood, Wasaga Beach, Creemore, Midland, Barrie, Orillia, Bracebridge, Parry Sound et Huntsville) et les entrepreneurs qui requièrent du capital de risque pour commercialiser leurs innovations. Grâce à cet investissement, le GAN continuera d'élaborer de meilleures pratiques, des procédures et des outils promotionnels et de rapprocher les investisseurs et les entrepreneurs novateurs dont le potentiel est élevé. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter : www.georgianangelnet.ca [disponible en anglais seulement].

PARTEQ Innovations

Contribution : jusqu'à 50 000 $
PARTEQ Innovations est un bureau de transfert de technologie sans but lucratif fondé par l'Université Queen's. PARTEQ travaille avec des chercheurs universitaires et avec les collectivités d'entreprises et de capital-risqueurs dans le but de mettre en marché des découvertes prometteuses. Les profits de ces initiatives sont ensuite remis aux chercheurs et à leurs établissements. Grâce à cet investissement, PARTEQ renforcera son réseau de capital-risqueurs en créant un site Web interactif et des outils promotionnels et en organisant des séances d'information destinées aux investisseurs. Il aidera aussi le PARTEQ Angel Network à augmenter ses adhésions et son bassin d'investisseurs et à accélérer le financement des entreprises en démarrage et de technologie dans la région de Kingston. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter : http://www.parteqinnovations.com/ [disponible en anglais seulement].

York Angel Investors

Contribution : jusqu'à 50 000 $
Le York Angel Investors (YAI) est un réseau d'investisseurs providentiels sans but lucratif, situé à Vaughan, qui jumelle les entrepreneurs locaux en quête de capital, dont l'entreprise est à l'étape de démarrage ou en début de croissance, avec des investisseurs locaux. Grâce à cet investissement, le YAI élaborera un programme de sensibilisation visant à lancer une campagne permanente de parrainage pour accroître les adhésions au réseau et le publiciser. Il aidera aussi le YAI à accroître son rayonnement géographique, son expertise sur l'industrie, ses adhésions et son capital d'investissement. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter : http://yorkangels.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises vise à stimuler les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage dans le but d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, de nouveaux procédés et de nouvelles pratiques, et de les mettre en marché. Le gouvernement du Canada accorde une attention particulière aux entreprises en démarrage qui sont reconnues par la communauté des investisseurs comme ayant le potentiel d'une croissance élevée et d'avantages économiques à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario.

Un financement dans le cadre de cette initiative est aussi offert aux réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et à leurs associations pour attirer de nouveaux investissements et soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissement providentiels.

Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour de plus amples renseignements et pour faire une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme affichées sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario : www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :