Archived — Government of Canada Helps Southern Ontario Businesses Innovate and Grow

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
December 12, 2011

Oshawa, Ontario – The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, today announced a one-year extension of the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative, creating jobs and economic growth in the region. Minister Goodyear, accompanied by Oshawa Member of Parliament Colin Carrie, made the announcement while celebrating partnerships established through the initiative between the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) and 13 small southern Ontario businesses.

"Our government has responded to the specific needs of small businesses in southern Ontario with this initiative," said Minister Goodyear. "To date, more than 300 companies have partnered with colleges and universities to develop market-driven ideas, and with the funding announced today, hundreds more businesses will be able to innovate and grow."

Since its launch in 2010 as a two-year pilot, the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative has supported 24 colleges, universities and polytechnics across southern Ontario to work with the private sector to bring new products to the marketplace faster. The extension, with funding of up to $15 million, will enable these 24 post-secondary institutions to apply for additional support to assist even more businesses while their current projects are being completed and evaluated.

Under the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, UOIT has partnered with small and medium-sized businesses on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification.

"The partnerships between the University of Ontario Institute of Technology and 13 small and medium-sized businesses are excellent examples of what is being done to stimulate innovation in southern Ontario," said MP Carrie. "We look forward to seeing Oshawa and surrounding areas prosper as a result of these projects."

"Strategic research funding supports our ability to help build economic capacity and foster important, innovative collaborations involving local businesses, our researchers and students," said Dr. Tim McTiernan, UOIT President. "On behalf of UOIT, I would like to thank the Government of Canada for their investment in the development of these applied research projects. Working together, we are able to pair business with research expertise. This provides our students with rich learning opportunities, while exploring the development of new innovations and products that have the potential to grow business and benefit society."

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative and the UOIT's private sector partners, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative helps small and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario access applied research and development and pre-commercialization expertise found in post-secondary institutions.

FedDev Ontario is providing the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) with up to $739,000 to partner on projects with the following 13 businesses:

Aquavion (Ajax)

Aquavion is an aerospace start-up company that is developing a personal seaplane, the SeaStryder, with breakthrough water lift-off capabilities. The project will use the UOIT wind tunnel and applied science expertise to help test and gain information about the plane’s performance in different weather conditions. This information will help the SeaStryder reach its potential in areas such as personal and commercial passenger air travel, tourism, policing and firefighting. More information is available at www.seastryder.com.

The Cableshoppe (Toronto)

The Cableshoppe provides technological solutions that allow its customers to increase their competitiveness through broadband technologies. Together, the Cableshoppe and UOIT are using mobile wireless sensor networks to develop a product that will let motor vehicles communicate with each other using wireless technology. More information is available at www.thecableshoppe.com.

Drinkbox Studios (Toronto)

Drinkbox is an independent video game developer that creates and publishes its own games, and provides consulting services to the gaming industry. The project with UOIT will add new technology to generate help documentation for programming systems that is easy to browse and search. This will assist game designers and programmers to more easily understand programming processes and challenges. System users will be able to work more quickly and effectively, resulting in a higher quality end product for the marketplace and consumers. More information is available at www.drinkboxstudios.com.

Durmach (Bowmanville)

Durmach is a custom design, machining and production company that makes industrial parts for manufacturing. UOIT will provide their engineering expertise and testing capability to improve the performance of Durmach’s machining operations. The goal is to reduce wear of the cutting tool used in various manufacturing areas, and improve the finished part’s surface quality, form, fit and function. This will mean more efficient and longer lasting parts for manufacturers everywhere.

Enginuity Group Corporation (Toronto)

Enginuity is a software development firm that specializes in assisting businesses in the early stages of innovation and brainstorming. Their software gives businesses the ability to connect to new ideas and their creators. Enginuity is partnering with UOIT to develop new software applications that will automatically analyze document collections, extract important facts, and create interactive graphic displays to help users more easily identify relevant information. The end result will be smarter, faster innovation for the business community. More information is available at www.enginuitygroup.com.

Enviroquest (Cambridge)

Enviroquest offers environmental consulting, and e-learning courses in areas such as health and safety, human biology, and cells and genetics. In partnership with UOIT researchers, the company is developing an interactive game for emergency response education and training. More information is available at www.enviroquestltd.com.

Innovative Solutions (Oshawa)

Innovative Solutions specializes in developing cost-saving solutions for companies. The company is collaborating with UOIT to design and develop an integrated system to monitor, control and optimize energy use and demand in residential and non-residential facilities. They are also looking into the use of sensors to analyze weather and environmental information, which will be used in future decisions about the design of these facilities. More information is available at www.innovativesolutionsinc.ca.

Marnoch Thermal Power Inc. (Port Severn)

Marnoch Thermal Power Inc. (MTP) conducts research and development in sustainable and clean energy technologies, and is interested in bringing those technologies to the marketplace. Marnoch’s MTP heat engine is being tested in collaboration with UOIT in the university’s Clean Energy Research Laboratory. The engine converts industrial heat waste into usable electricity to power generators and other machinery. The project explores the benefits of this environmentally friendly power, which uses existing heat sources. More information is available at www.marnochthermalpower.com.

Nessis (Hampton)

Nessis provides paperless, integrated business systems to improve the quality of a product and/or service and grow a company’s profits. Nessis is working with UOIT on the development of mobile web technology to allow workers in the field or on the factory floor to access business information wirelessly using Nessis’ Visual Work Instruction (VWI) product. This product will allow workers in different areas to see each other’s work as they complete it, reducing errors and allowing for smoother work processes.

Phirelight Security Solutions Inc. (Ottawa)

Phirelight Inc. provides solutions and training programs to help companies respond to ever-changing security and business demands. The company is working with UOIT to develop and test new security tools for protecting information on mobile devices. The tools will ensure that sensitive information is stored securely from non-sensitive information. Mobile phone users can be assured that their most critical and sensitive software applications cannot be harmed or attacked by malicious code or a virus that has been accidentally downloaded from the Internet. More information is available at www.phirelight.com.

Segasist Technologies (Toronto)

Segasist Technologies is a software company that offers innovative technology for marking and analyzing organs and tumors in medical images such as computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), and Ultrasound. Its software remembers past markings to quickly and easily identify organs and lesions. Segasist and UOIT are working together to develop and evaluate a new technology for automated marking of the prostate in MRIs. More information is available at www.segasist.com.

Solana Networks (Nepean)

Solana Networks provides industry-leading products for monitoring computer networks and improving their performance. Solana's partnership with UOIT is focused on developing new problem-solving formulas for monitoring temporary, mobile networks, such as those used by military and emergency management operators in the field. Solana intends to use the results of this project to develop a system for these networks that will be able to sense changing factors in the environment and react. More information is available at www.solananetworks.com.

Unitrak (Port Hope)

Unitrak offers custom equipment solutions for managing the movement of bulk materials. The company is working with UOIT’s science and engineering experts to develop a new pivoting bucket conveyor system. The system will transport products, such as food and chemicals, across various distances in an efficient and safe manner, with minimal product loss or contamination. More information is available at www.unitrak.com.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada aide les entreprises du Sud de l’Ontario à innover et à croître

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 12 décembre 2011

Oshawa (Ontario) – Aujourd'hui, l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé une prolongation d'un an de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, ce qui créera davantage d'emplois et de la croissance économique dans la région. Le ministre Goodyear, accompagné de Colin Carrie, député fédéral d'Oshawa, a fait l'annonce tout en soulignant les partenariats qui, dans le cadre de l'Initiative, ont été établis entre l'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario (UOIT) et 13 petites entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario.

« À l'aide de cette initiative, notre gouvernement a répondu aux besoins précis des petites entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. À ce jour, plus de 300 entreprises se sont associées à des collèges et universités dans le but de développer des idées axées sur le marché; le financement annoncé aujourd'hui permettra à des centaines d'autres entreprises d'innover et de croître. »

Depuis son lancement sous forme de projet pilote de deux ans en 2010, l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation a rassemblé 24 collèges, universités et écoles polytechniques de l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario pour travailler avec le secteur privé en vue de mettre plus rapidement de nouveaux produits sur le marché. La prolongation, s'accompagnant d'un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 15 millions de dollars, permettra à ces 24 établissements postsecondaires de demander un soutien supplémentaire en vue de s'associer à encore plus d'entreprises tandis que les projets en cours sont achevés et évalués.

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative, l'UOIT a créé des partenariats avec de petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre d'activités de recherche appliquée, de conception technique, de mise au point de techniques, d'essai et de certification de produits.

« Les partenariats entre l'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario et 13 petites et moyennes entreprises constituent d'excellents exemples des efforts qui sont déployés pour stimuler l'innovation et la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a affirmé le député Carrie. Nous nous réjouissons à l'idée de constater la prospérité que connaîtront Oshawa et les régions environnantes en raison de ces projets. »

« Le financement de la recherche stratégique soutient notre capacité à contribuer à renforcer les capacités économiques et à favoriser des collaborations importantes et novatrices qui concernent les dirigeants d'entreprises locales, nos chercheurs et les étudiants, a déclaré M. Tim McTiernan, le président de l'UOIT. Au nom de l'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario, je tiens à remercier le gouvernement du Canada de son investissement dans le développement de ces projets de recherche appliquée. Ensemble, nous pouvons jumeler l'expertise d'affaires et de recherche. Cela offre des possibilités d'apprentissage enrichissant à nos étudiants tandis que l'on développe des innovations et de nouveaux produits qui sont susceptibles de stimuler les affaires et de profiter à la société. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation et les partenaires approuvés de l'UOIT dans le secteur privé, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus d'information, veuillez vous adresser à :

Stephanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale – Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation permet aux petites et moyennes entreprises qui n'ont pas de capacité de recherche-développement (R-D) appliquée et de précommercialisation de tirer parti du savoir-faire des établissements postsecondaires du Sud de l'Ontario.

L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) octroie à l'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario (UOIT) un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 739 000 $ afin de lui permettre de s'associer à 13 entreprises suivantes.

Aquavion (Ajax)

Aquavion est une entreprise aérospatiale en démarrage qui travaille à la création d’un hydravion personnel, le SeaStryder, dotée de capacités de déjaugeage révolutionnaires. Dans le cadre du projet, on utilisera le tunnel aérodynamique et l’expertise en sciences appliquées de l’UOIT pour mettre à l’essai et obtenir des renseignements sur le rendement de l’avion dans différentes conditions météorologiques. Ces derniers permettront au SeaStryder d’atteindre son plein potentiel relativement aux voyages aériens de passagers et aux vols commerciaux, au tourisme, au maintien de l’ordre et à la lutte contre les incendies. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site : www.seastryder.com (en anglais seulement).

The Cableshoppe (Toronto)

Cableshoppe fournit des solutions techniques permettant à ses clients d’augmenter leur compétitivité à l’aide de technologies à large bande. Ensemble, Cableshoppe et l’UOIT utilisent des réseaux de capteurs sans fil mobiles pour concevoir un produit qui permettra aux véhicules motorisés de communiquer entre eux à l’aide de la technologie sans fil. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site : www.thecableshoppe.com (en anglais seulement).

Drinkbox Studios (Toronto)

Drinkbox est un concepteur indépendant de jeux vidéo qui crée et publie ses propres jeux et offre des services de consultation à l’industrie des jeux vidéo. Le projet avec l’UOIT permettra d’ajouter une nouvelle technologie pour créer une documentation d’aide à la programmation de systèmes qui facilitera le furetage et la recherche. Cette technique aidera les concepteurs et les programmeurs de jeux à comprendre plus facilement les processus et les problèmes liés à la programmation. Les utilisateurs de systèmes pourront travailler plus rapidement et plus efficacement, ce qui améliorera la qualité du produit fini destiné au marché et aux consommateurs. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site : www.drinkboxstudios.com (en anglais seulement).

Durmach (Bowmanville)

Durmach est une entreprise de conception personnalisée, d’usinage et de production qui fabrique des pièces industrielles pour l’industrie manufacturière. L’UOIT fournira son expertise en ingénierie et ses installations d’essai pour améliorer le rendement des opérations d’usinage de Durmach. Le but consiste à réduire l’usure des outils de coupe utilisés dans divers domaines manufacturiers et à améliorer la qualité de surface des pièces finies, la forme, l’ajustage et la fonction. Les fabricants de partout disposeront alors de pièces plus rentables et plus durables.

Enginuity Group Corporation (Toronto)

Enginuity est une entreprise de conception de logiciels dont la spécialisation consiste à aider les entreprises qui en sont aux premières étapes de l’innovation et du lancement d’idées. Son logiciel permet aux entreprises d’explorer de nouvelles idées et de connaître leurs créateurs. Enginuity s’associe à l’UOIT pour concevoir de nouvelles applications logicielles permettant d’analyser automatiquement les ensembles de documents, de saisir des faits importants et de créer des présentations graphiques interactives pour aider les utilisateurs à obtenir plus facilement des renseignements pertinents, ce qui rendra le processus d’innovation plus intelligent et plus rapide pour l’ensemble des entreprises. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site : www.enginuitygroup.com (en anglais seulement).

Enviroquest (Cambridge)

Enviroquest offre des services de consultation environnementale et des cours d’apprentissage en ligne dans des domaines comme la santé et la sécurité, la biologie humaine, les cellules et la génétique. En partenariat avec les chercheurs de l’UOIT, l’entreprise conçoit un jeu interactif d’intervention d’urgence en matière d’éducation et de formation. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site : www.enviroquestltd.com (en anglais seulement).

Innovative Solutions (Oshawa)

Innovative Solutions se spécialise dans la conception de solutions de réduction des coûts pour les entreprises. L’entreprise collabore avec l’UOIT pour concevoir et mettre au point un système intégré visant à surveiller, à contrôler et à optimiser l’utilisation et la demande d’énergie dans les installations résidentielles et non résidentielles. Elle examine aussi la possibilité d’utiliser des capteurs pour analyser les données météorologiques et environnementales, données qui seront utilisées pour prendre des décisions sur la conception de ces installations. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site : www.innovativesolutionsinc.ca (en anglais seulement).

Marnoch Thermal Power Inc. (Port Severn)

Marnoch Thermal Power Inc. (MTP) effectue des travaux de recherche-développement dans le domaine des technologies énergétiques durables et propres et vise à introduire ces technologies sur le marché. Le moteur thermique MTP de Marnoch est mis à l’essai au Clean Energy Research Laboratory de l’université. Le moteur convertit les déchets thermiques industriels en électricité utilisable pour alimenter les génératrices et autres pièces d’équipement. Le projet consiste à examiner les avantages de cette énergie écologique qui utilise les sources thermiques actuelles. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site : www.marnochthermalpower.com (en anglais seulement).

Nessis (Hampton)

Nessis fournit des systèmes opérationnels intégrés informatisés pour améliorer la qualité d’un produit et/ou d’un service et augmenter les profits des entreprises. Nessis travaille avec l’UOIT à la conception d’une technologie Web mobile permettant aux travailleurs sur le terrain ou sur le plancher de l’usine d’avoir accès sans fil à des renseignements opérationnels avec le produit Visual Work Instruction (VWI) de Nessis. Ce produit permettra aux travailleurs dans différents endroits de voir le travail de tout un chacun à mesure qu’il le termine, ce qui réduira les erreurs et facilitera les processus de travail.

Phirelight Security Solutions Inc. (Ottawa)

Phirelight Inc. fournit des solutions et des programmes de formation pour aider les entreprises à s’adapter aux demandes en constante évolution des entreprises et en matière de sécurité. L’entreprise travaille avec l’UOIT à la conception et à la mise à l’essai de nouveaux outils de sécurité pour protéger l’information dans les appareils mobiles. Ces outils permettront de stocker les renseignements sensibles de façon sécuritaire et de les isoler des renseignements non sensibles. Les utilisateurs de téléphones mobiles seront assurés que leurs applications logicielles les plus essentielles et les plus sensibles ne pourront pas être touchées ou attaquées par un programme malveillant ou un virus accidentellement téléchargé d’Internet. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site : www.phirelight.com (en anglais seulement).

Segasist Technologies (Toronto)

Segasist Technologies est un fabricant de logiciels qui offre une technologie novatrice pour marquer et analyser les organes et les tumeurs dans les images médicales, comme la tomographie par ordinateur, l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) et l’ultrason. Son logiciel capte les lésions passées pour identifier rapidement et facilement les organes et les lésions. Segasist et l’UOIT collaborent à la conception et à l’évaluation d’une nouvelle technologie pour le marquage automatisé de la prostate par IRM. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site : www.segasist.com (en anglais seulement).

Solana Networks (Nepean)

Solana Networks offre des produits à la fine pointe de l’industrie pour la surveillance des réseaux informatisés et l’amélioration de leur rendement. Le partenariat entre l’entreprise et l’UOIT vise à concevoir de nouvelles méthodes de résolution des problèmes pour la surveillance des réseaux temporaires et mobiles, comme ceux utilisés par les militaires et les responsables sur le terrain de la gestion des urgences. L’entreprise utilisera les résultats de ce projet pour concevoir un système pour ces réseaux qui pourra capter les facteurs changeants dans l’environnement et réagir. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site : www.solananetworks.com (en anglais seulement).

Unitrak (Port Hope)

Unitrak offre des solutions personnalisées pour la machinerie utilisée pour déplacer les matériaux en vrac. L’entreprise travaille avec les experts en sciences et en ingénierie de l’UOIT à la conception d’un nouveau système de convoyeur à godets pivotant. Le système permettra de transporter des produits, comme des produits alimentaires et chimiques, sur des distances variables de façon efficace et sécuritaire, avec un minimum de perte ou de contamination des produits. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site : www.unitrak.com (en anglais seulement).

Date de modification :