Archived — Harper Government Invests in Export-Oriented Manufacturers

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Photo of Minister Robert Nicholson at Growers Greenhouse Supplies announced funding to SMART program form CME under FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative.

Dean Allison, Member of Parliament for Niagara West-Glanbrook, Leigh Coulter, President and Owner, GGS Structures Inc., the Honourable Rob Nicholson, P.C., Q.C., Member of Parliament for Niagara Falls, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, Jason Myers, President, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters (CME) and Ian Howcroft, Vice President, celebrate CME investment of up to $18.9 million to the CME under FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative. (l-r). Source: FedDev Ontario

For immediate release
January 10, 2012

Vineland Station, Ontario — The Honourable Rob Nicholson, P.C., Q.C., Member of Parliament for Niagara Falls, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, accompanied by Dean Allison, Member of Parliament for Niagara West-Glanbrook, announced today that the Government of Canada will invest in helping manufacturers across southern Ontario improve their productivity and competitiveness in global markets.

“Our Government’s top priority remains completing the economic recovery and creating jobs,” said Minister Nicholson. “It is through these strategic investments that the Harper Government is working to ensure that businesses in Niagara and southern Ontario can continue to grow, creating high-value jobs and long-term economic prosperity.”

Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME) is receiving up to $18.9 million through the Prosperity Initiative, which is delivered by the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario). This funding will assist CME in the launch of a new productivity improvement program called SMART Prosperity Now. This program will allow manufacturers with an export focus to commercialize new technologies, enter new domestic and foreign markets, invest in sustainable and green technology, purchase new or upgraded equipment and technology, and implement efficiency improvements.

“As Canada’s leading trade and industry association, we are pleased to partner with FedDev Ontario to bolster the global competitiveness of Ontario companies,” said Jayson Myers, President & CEO of CME. “SMART Prosperity Now will equip companies the needed tools to become more successful in both domestic and international markets.”

For more information on SMART Prosperity Now and the Prosperity Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region’s strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region’s businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters – SMART Prosperity Now

Through the Prosperity Initiative, FedDev Ontario is providing the Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters with up to $18.9 million to deliver a new productivity enhancement program called SMART Prosperity Now.

This program will allow southern Ontario manufacturers that are exporting, planning to export, or selling into an export supply chain to apply for funding to conduct productivity assessments and to undertake a variety of projects to improve productivity.

Productivity assessments will be eligible for funding of up to 50% of eligible costs to a maximum contribution of $5,000. Productivity enhancement projects will be eligible for funding of up to 33.3% of eligible costs to a maximum contribution of $75,000.

Eligibility requirements and further details on SMART Prosperity Now can be found at: www.cme-smart.ca .

FedDev Ontario Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario’s Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills that enhance the region’s businesses and sectors;
  • diversify the regional economy by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities with the potential to have long-term impacts on regional economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage in the region by creating or expanding economic clusters and enhancing their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper investit dans les entreprises exportatrices

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Photo de l'honorable Rob Nicholson à  Growers Greenhouse Supplies a annoncé un investissement pour le programme SMART de MEC dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario.

Dean Allison, député de Niagara West-Glanbrook, Leigh Coulter, présidente et propriétaire de GGS Structures Inc., l'honorable Rob Nicholson, C.P., C.R., député de Niagara Falls, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada, Jason Myers, président de Manufacturiers et exportateurs du Canada (MEC) et Ian Howcroft, Vice-président, célèbrent un investissement pouvant aller jusqu'à 18.9$ millions pour le MEC, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario. (g-d). Source: FedDev Ontario

Vineland Station (Ontario) — L’honorable Rob Nicholson, C.P., C.R., député de Niagara Falls, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada, accompagné de M. Dean Allison, député de Niagara West-Glanbrook, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada investira dans le secteur manufacturier du Sud de l’Ontario pour les aider à améliorer leur productivité et leur compétitivité sur les marchés mondiaux.

« La relance de l’économie et la création d’emplois restent les principales priorités de notre gouvernement », a déclaré le ministre Nicholson. « Le gouvernement Harper mise sur ces investissements stratégiques pour permettre aux entreprises des régions de Niagara et du Sud de l’Ontario de continuer leur croissance et de créer ainsi des emplois de haute qualité ainsi qu’une prospérité économique à long terme. »

Une contribution pouvant aller jusqu’à 18,9 millions de dollars sera versée à Manufacturiers et exportateurs du Canada (MEC) dans le cadre de l’Initiative pour la prospérité, qui est gérée par l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Ce financement aidera MEC à lancer un nouveau programme d’amélioration de la production qui porte le nom de Prospérité SMARTdès maintenant. Ce programme permettra aux manufacturiers exportateurs de commercialiser de nouvelles technologies, de pénétrer non seulement de nouveaux marchés intérieurs et étrangers, mais aussi d’investir dans des technologies vertes et durables, d’acheter des technologies ou des équipements nouveaux ou améliorés ainsi que de mettre en place des mesures visant à améliorer leur rendement.

« En tant qu’association commerciale et industrielle la plus importante du Canada, nous sommes heureux de collaborer avec FedDev Ontario pour renforcer la compétitivité globale des entreprises de l’Ontario », a déclaré Jayson Myers, président-directeur général de MEC. « L’initiative Prospérité SMART dès maintenant permettra aux entreprises de se doter des outils nécessaires pour être plus performantes sur le marché national et international ».

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l’initiative Prospérité SMART dès maintenant et de l’Initiative pour la prospérité, veuillez consulter la fiche d’information.

Créée en 2009, l’Agence FedDev Ontario soutient l’économie du Sud de l’Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d’emplois et de croissance économique. L’Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l’établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale (Communications)
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada – Prospérité SMART dès maintenant

Dans le cadre de son Initiative pour la prospérité, FedDev Ontario accordera aux Manufacturiers et exportateurs du Canada une contribution pouvant aller jusqu’à 18,9 millions de dollars pour la mise en place d’un programme d’amélioration de la productivité qui porte le nom de Prospérité SMART dès maintenant (SMART Prosperity Now).

Ce programme permettra aux manufacturiers du Sud de l’Ontario qui exportent déjà des produits ou qui envisagent de le faire ou encore qui vendent leurs produits à des chaînes d’approvisionnement en vue de l’exportation de demander un financement pour évaluer la productivité et mener des projets visant à améliorer la productivité.

Les projets d’évaluation de la productivité pourront bénéficier d’un financement à hauteur de 50 % des coûts éligibles jusqu’à concurrence d’une contribution maximale de 5 000 $, tandis que ceux d’amélioration de la productivité pourront bénéficier d’un financement à hauteur de 33,3 % des coûts admissibles jusqu’à concurrence d’une contribution maximale de 75 000 $.

Les critères d’admissibilité ainsi que d’autres renseignements sur l’initiative Prospérité SMART dès maintenant sont disponibles sur le site www.cme-smart.ca [en anglais seulement].

Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario

L'Initiative pour la prospérité vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes sans but lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l’Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui accroîtront la productivité, la compétitivité et la diversification de l'économie dans la région.

Un financement est accordé aux projets qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • stimulent la productivité, en accélérant l’adoption de nouvelles technologies, procédures et compétences qui améliorent les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l’Ontario;
  • favorisent la diversification de l'économie régionale en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou occasions dans les collectivités et les régions du Sud de l’Ontario qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de la collectivité ou de la région;
  • mettent en place un avantage concurrentiel en créant ou en élargissant les regroupements économiques, mais aussi en accroissant leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées de façon continue. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l’adresse suivante : www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :