Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Southern Ontario’s Future Scientists and Engineers

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
January 14, 2012

Oshawa, Ontario — Colin Carrie, Member of Parliament for Oshawa, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced that the Government of Canada will invest up to $1.5 million for FIRST Robotics Canada. The funding will create opportunities for students in southern Ontario to participate in robotics competitions and real-world engineering challenges, encouraging them to look at science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields as potential study and career paths.

“Our government recognizes that to fuel business innovation, jobs and long term economic growth, young Canadians need to explore the benefits of pursuing an education or career in scientific fields,” said MP Carrie. “Today’s contribution will allow FIRST Robotics Canada to introduce more students to real-world science and technology challenges.”

FIRST Robotics Canada will use the funding to involve more high school students in robot-building competitions, with teams competing against each other in tournaments televised by the Discovery Channel. The organization will also establish its successfully piloted Junior FIRST Lego League, which targets students aged six to nine, and expand its FIRST Lego League, which targets students aged nine to 14.

“Our goal is to engage up to 1,650 new students in southern Ontario through participation in our interactive team-based competitive robotics events, over the duration of this two-and-a-half year project,” said Mark Breadner, executive director, FIRST Robotics Canada. “This investment will help us offset entry and travel fees for new school teams, ensuring higher access to FIRST programs by all youth regardless of socio-economic status. This will result in greater participation for our students.”

The investment is provided through FedDev Ontario’s Youth STEM Initiative, aimed at encouraging students in kindergarten through grade 12 to pursue an education or career in STEM fields.

For more information on FIRST Robotics and the project, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region’s strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region’s businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

FIRST Robotics Canada

FIRST Robotics Canada, located in Pickering, Ontario and serving all of Canada, was established in 2001 with a mission to inspire Canadian students to pursue further studies and careers in science, technology and engineering. The organization offers opportunities for students, working in teams and assisted by expert adult mentors, to build robots and to take part in tournaments that feature on-field competitions, judged awards and other forms of recognition, potentially including university and college scholarships. Last year, FIRST Robotics Canada developed partnerships with 300 Ontario schools and had 7,000 students compete in their events.

FedDev Ontario is investing up to $1,500,000 in FIRST Robotics Canada through the Youth STEM Initiative to expand its existing outreach programs throughout southern Ontario. By March 31, 2014, the project aims to:

  • Establish the successfully piloted Junior FIRST Lego League (JFLL) Challenge as part of FIRST’s core programming, and engage up to 650 young students aged six to nine.
  • Expand FIRST Lego League (FLL) challenge by an additional 375 students forming 75 teams. The FLL engages students aged nine to 14 in real-world engineering challenges by building LEGO-based robots to complete tasks on a thematic playing surface.
  • Expand FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC) by an additional 625 students forming 25 teams. FRC is the highest level of robotics competition offered by FIRST. High-school students team up with technology companies to build robots based on the theme of the competition. Built from scratch in only six weeks, these large-scale (five-foot tall, 140 pound) robots compete in high-intensity robo-sports, which are televised by the Discovery Channel.

More information about FIRST Robotics Canada’s programs is available at www.firstroboticscanada.org.

Youth STEM Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM provides funding to eligible not-for-profit organizations to expand, enhance and coordinate the reach and impact of educational outreach programs in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) for children and youth in kindergarten through grade 12. The initiative is designed to encourage young people to pursue further studies and careers in these fields, creating a future talent pool that is well-positioned to fuel business innovation and growth in southern Ontario.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans les futurs scientifiques et ingénieurs du Sud de l’Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 14 janvier 2012

Oshawa (Ontario) – Colin Carrie, député fédéral d’Oshawa, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada investira jusqu’à 1,5 million de dollars dans FIRST Robotics Canada. M. Carrie a fait cette annonce au nom de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d’État pour l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario). Grâce au financement, les étudiants du Sud de l’Ontario auront la possibilité de participer à des compétitions de robotique et à des défis d’ingénierie dans le monde réel, ce qui les incitera à considérer les sciences, la technologie, l’ingénierie et les mathématiques comme des voies possibles pour leurs études et leurs carrières.

« Notre gouvernement reconnaît que pour alimenter l’innovation des entreprises, les emplois et la croissance économique à long terme, les jeunes Canadiens doivent explorer les avantages qu’il y a à poursuivre des études ou une carrière dans un domaine scientifique, a déclaré le député Carrie. La contribution d’aujourd’hui permettra à FIRST Robotics Canada de faire découvrir à plus d’étudiants les défis scientifiques et technologiques tirés du monde réel. »

FIRST Robotics Canada utilisera le financement pour faire participer plus d’étudiants de niveau secondaire à des compétitions de construction de robots, où les équipes s’affrontent dans des tournois télévisés qui sont diffusés par le Discovery Channel (chaîne Découverte). La Junior FIRST Lego League, un projet pilote qui a connu beaucoup de succès et qui cible les étudiants âgés entre 6 et 9 ans, deviendra un programme permanent. De plus, FIRST Robotics augmentera la portée de son programme FIRST Lego League, qui s’adresse aux étudiants âgés entre 9 et 14 ans.

« Notre but est d’engager jusqu’à 1 650 nouveaux étudiants dans le Sud de l’Ontario en les faisant participer à nos compétitions de robotique interactives en équipes pendant la durée de ce projet de deux ans et demi, a affirmé Mark Breadner, directeur exécutif de FIRST Robotics Canada. Cet investissement nous aidera à assumer une partie des frais d’inscription et de déplacement des nouvelles équipes scolaires, assurant ainsi un plus grand accès aux programmes de FIRST pour tous les jeunes quel que soit leur statut socio-économique. Nos étudiants pourront donc participer davantage. »

L'investissement est offert par l'intermédiaire de l'initiative Jeunesse en STIM de FedDev Ontario, qui vise à encourager les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année à poursuivre des études ou à faire carrière dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM).

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur FIRST Robotics et sur le projet, veuillez consulter la fiche d’information.

Créée en 2009, l’Agence FedDev Ontario soutient l’économie du Sud de l’Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d’emplois et de croissance économique. L’Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l’établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus d'information, veuillez vous adresser à :

Stephanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale – Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

FIRST Robotics Canada

L’organisation FIRST Robotics Canada, située à Pickering, en Ontario, et servant tout le Canada, a été établie en 2001 avec la mission d’inspirer les étudiants canadiens en vue de les inciter à poursuivre des études et des carrières en sciences, en technologie et en ingénierie. L’organisation offre aux étudiants des possibilités de construire des robots et de prendre part à des tournois au cours desquels se tiennent des compétitions pratiques, tout en travaillant en équipes et aidés par des mentors adultes experts. Au cours de ces tournois, des juges décernent des prix et l’on y octroie d’autres formes de reconnaissance – il est par exemple possible d’y gagner des bourses d’études universitaires et collégiales. L’année dernière, FIRST Robotics Canada a établi des partenariats avec plus de 300 écoles de l’Ontario et 7 000 étudiants ont pris part à ses compétitions.

FedDev Ontario investit jusqu’à 1 500 000 dollars dans FIRST Robotics Canada par l’entremise de l’initiative Jeunesse en STIM en vue de lui permettre d’étendre ses programmes de sensibilisation dans tout le Sud de l’Ontario. D’ici le 31 mars 2014, le projet vise à :

  • rendre permanent le Junior FIRST Lego League (JFLL) Challenge, un projet pilote qui a connu beaucoup de succès, et impliquer jusqu’à 650 jeunes étudiants âgés entre six et neuf ans;
  • accroître le FIRST Lego League (FLL) Challenge en ajoutant 375 étudiants pour former 75 équipes. Le FLL permet d’engager des étudiants âgés de neuf à 14 ans dans des défis d’ingénierie tiré du monde réel en leur faisant construire des robots basés sur des blocs LEGO pour qu’ils accomplissent des tâches sur une surface de jeu thématique;
  • élargir la FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC) en ajoutant 625 étudiants pour former 25 équipes. La FRC est la compétition de robotique du niveau le plus élevé offerte par FIRST. Des étudiants de niveau secondaire forment des équipes avec des entreprises de technologie pour construire des robots basés sur le thème de la compétition. Construits à partir de zéro en seulement six semaines, ces robots de grandes dimensions (cinq pieds de haut, 140 livres) s’affrontent dans des « robo-sports » de haute intensité, qui sont télévisés par le Discovery Channel (chaîne Découverte).

Vous pouvez obtenir plus d’information au sujet des programmes de FIRST Robotics Canada, à www.firstroboticscanada.org (en anglais seulement).

Initiative Jeunesse en STIM

L'initiative Jeunesse en STIM de FedDev Ontario offre du financement à des organismes à but non lucratif admissibles afin de leur permettre d'étendre, d'améliorer et de coordonner le rayonnement et l'impact des programmes éducatifs de sensibilisation dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM) destinés aux enfants et aux jeunes de la maternelle à la 12e année. L'initiative vise à encourager les jeunes à poursuivre des études ou à faire carrière dans ces domaines, dans l'optique de créer un futur bassin de talents bien positionné qui nourrira l'innovation commerciale et la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées de façon continue. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez vous référer aux directives du programme accessibles sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :