Archived — Government of Canada sparks innovation in 14 southern Ontario businesses

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
January 26, 2012

Guelph, Ontario – Michael Chong, Member of Parliament for Wellington-Halton Hills, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced innovative partnerships between the University of Guelph and 14 small and medium-sized businesses. These partnerships will bring growth and long-term economic benefits to southern Ontario in areas such as: air; water and wastewater monitoring and management; agriculture; health; tourism; and food processing and packaging.

"Our government is proud to support southern Ontario businesses as they become even more competitive in today's global economy," said MP Chong. "The partnerships being celebrated today will help spark innovation in small and medium-sized businesses, create jobs, and accelerate the launch of new products in the marketplace."

Since its launch in 2010, FedDev Ontario's Applied Research and Commercialization initiative has invested more than $14.5 million to support 24 colleges, universities and polytechnics across southern Ontario so they could work with the private sector to bring new products and innovative processes to the marketplace faster. In 2010, the University of Guelph was approved for up to $750,000 to partner with small and medium-sized businesses on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification.

"Moving research knowledge out of our classrooms and laboratories and putting it to use to benefit people's daily lives is our overarching goal," said Kevin Hall, Vice-President of Research at the University of Guelph. "Programs such as the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative are central to our mission of creating value for society. The collaborations that we are celebrating today will help us translate our innovations and discoveries into new technologies, products and services."

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative and the University of Guelph's partners, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1–866–593–5505.

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519–571–6879


Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative helps small and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario access applied research and development and pre-commercialization expertise found in post-secondary institutions.

Since its launch in 2010, $14.5 million has been invested through the initiative to support 24 colleges, universities and polytechnics across southern Ontario so they could work with the private sector to bring new products and innovative processes to the marketplace faster. In December 2011, FedDev Ontario announced the extension of the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative until March 31, 2013 with additional funding to further support initial efforts.

In 2010, as part of the original contribution, FedDev Ontario provided the University of Guelph with up to $750,000 to work with small and medium-sized businesses on applied research and commercialization projects. The University of Guelph has partnered with the following 14 businesses:

4iBIO (Pickering)

4iBIO develops and manufactures customized artificial joints for the treatment of arthritis. The company's new prostheses allow for early intervention of osteoarthritis, tissue preservation and joint healing. The partnership with University of Guelph will help the company develop its next phase of prostheses for the hip and knee joints. This will allow 4iBIO to capture more of the multi-billion dollar worldwide joint preservation market, while growing manufacturing jobs and sales opportunities at a high-tech facility in southwestern Ontario. More information is available at www.4ibio.com.

Biorem (Guelph)

Biorem specializes in biological air pollution control and manufactures treatment systems and purification technologies. Biological air pollutants, such as such as dust mites, pet dander and pollen, come from living organisms and are often invisible. The goal of this project is to develop a cost-effective, biological process that transforms oxides of nitrogen, which are a major source of smog and air pollution, into non-toxic liquid salts. Upon successful completion, Biorem will be able to commercialize the product in North America, China and other international markets. Local jobs in research, product development and sales will be created to meet market demand. More information is available at www.biorem.biz.

Clearford Industries Inc. (Ottawa)

Clearford Industries Inc. provides wastewater collection, treatment, and energy generation solutions. The partnership with the University of Guelph will help build a full-scale pilot biogas recovery system at the Ontario Rural Wastewater Centre's Onsite Wastewater Testing Facility located at the University of Guelph – Campus d'Alfred. This innovation would enable biogas to be collected automatically during the wastewater treatment process, reducing the harmful effects of greenhouse gas emissions. Successful implementation of this technology will develop markets around the world. In the near term, jobs will be created in design engineering, marketing and system installations. If the concept proves to be feasible, more positions could be created at Clearford, in addition to spin-off employment in partner firms. More information is available at www.clearford.com.

ENPAR Technologies (Guelph)

ENPAR Technologies is an environmental water treatment company that is partnering with the University of Guelph to develop an electrocoagulation technology for the treatment of metals found in mine waste. The removal of metal is currently not possible using only filtration or chemical treatment systems. The addition to ENPAR's product line is anticipated to grow the number of employees and also increase business opportunities for several Ontario-based manufacturing companies. More information is available at www.enpar-tech.com.

Heron Instruments Inc. (Burlington)

Heron Instruments Inc. designs and manufactures groundwater monitoring instrumentation. This project will help develop and test new monitoring equipment to enable better research on the movement and preservation of groundwater. A key piece of equipment being developed is an instrument that would be installed at the top of a well, instead of at the bottom, providing for sensitive, high-resolution measuring capabilities and allowing for use in more wells regardless of diameter or depth. Results of this partnership will create jobs and sales for Heron Instruments as the technology meets existing market needs in Ontario and internationally. More information is available at www.heroninstruments.com.

LuxAdvance Corporation (Toronto)

LuxAdvance develops patent-protected technologies to rapidly and reliably test water and food for the presence of pathogenic microorganisms, such as viruses, bacteria and fungi. The University of Guelph will assist LuxAdvance with proof of concept, engineering design and product testing as they develop a new fast, simple, inexpensive and highly sensitive test. Bringing this test to market will benefit Ontario's economy and also lead to more jobs, as this product will be manufactured and assembled locally. With ongoing research and development, LuxAdvance also expects to increase its product portfolio. More information is available at www.luxadvance.com.

Lystek International Inc. (Cambridge)

Lystek International Inc. develops treatment technologies for biosolids - human waste that has been treated through the municipal wastewater treatment process and is suitable for land application. The company's patented process breaks down the biological material found in biosolids to create a nutrient-rich fertilizer product for farm lands, which in turn makes the wastewater treatment plant more effective. The focus of this project is to evaluate Lystek's Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) registered fertilizer in comparison to conventional fertilizer in sweet corn. As a result of this work, Lystek will strengthen its application to CFIA to help bring this technology to market. More information is available at www.lystek.com/en.

Meridian Reservation Systems (Niagara Falls)

Meridian Reservation Systems provides reservation and ticketing software to destination marketing organizations, major attractions, travel marketers, and accommodation providers. This project will allow Meridian to provide smaller tourist operators with new analytical software so they can conduct their own market research, discover trends in their own business and develop strategic marketing plans for greater success in a competitive marketplace. This partnership with the University of Guelph will lead to the commercialization of unique software to support Ontario's tourism industry. It will also enable Meridian to grow its staff, and hire highly qualified software engineers, web developers, business development and sales professionals. More information is available at www.reservationsystems.com.

MicroSintesis Inc. (Oakville)

MicroSintesis is an Ontario-based company dedicated to the commercialization of microbial technologies, which are microorganisms used in baking, brewing, food preservation, antibiotic production, environmental rehabilitation and more. The goal of this collaboration is to develop a simple probiotic product that can protect children and other vulnerable populations, as well as livestock from food or water borne illnesses, such as E. Coli. The project will provide supporting information to assist MicroSintesis in designing products that are appropriate for the human and veterinary probiotic health markets, which could prevent harmful infections and reduce dependency on antibiotics.

Novus Environmental Inc. (Guelph)

Novus Environmental Inc. specializes in atmospheric science, acoustics, and human health and offers a range of solutions to address air quality, climate and meteorological issues. The partnership between Novus and the University of Guelph will examine how pollutants are released into the air along transportation routes and what impact they have on human health. The goal of the research is to develop a technology to reduce pollution levels, which will benefit the health of Ontarians. More information is available at www.novusenv.com.

O2i Ltd. (Uxbridge)

O2i Ltd. designs, develops and commercializes packaging and processing technologies to improve the quality of food products. O2i Ltd. is looking to create a one-way valve to allow for the degassing of carbon dioxide in packaged roasted coffee that is both reliable and biodegradable. This would enable the company to tap into the $70 billion worldwide coffee market. To commercialize this patented valve, O2i will work with the University of Guelph to develop proof of concept and product testing. This project will help food producers reduce energy consumption and improve the quality and shelf-life of their products, which will strengthen Ontario's food industry and help to make it more competitive. More information is available at www.o2i-ltd.com.

Root Rescue Environmental Products Inc. (Toronto)

Root Rescue Environmental Products Inc. develops and markets biologically-based products that help enhance plant growth in Ontario's nursery industry. These products improve the uptake of plant nutrients and water, which reduces the need for fertilizer and water. This partnership with the University of Guelph will provide a state-of-the-art transplant system for high-value, profitable perennials, such as Japanese Maple trees. Successful completion of this project will help Root Rescue achieve significant growth, including creating jobs in sales, manufacturing, and administration, and developing new products and services for Ontario's horticultural sector. More information is available at www.rootrescue.com.

SiREM (Guelph)

SiREM provides specialized testing services and products to assess and enhance processes used to clean-up groundwater contamination. This project will help SiREM further develop and test a bacterial culture that will help decompose chloroform, a toxic contaminant commonly found in groundwater. The company expects that the commercialization of this culture will rapidly fulfill market needs for this type of product, help grow their highly qualified workforce, and provide a remediation solution for the clean-up of drinking water supplies. More information is available at www.siremlab.com.

Turfbot (Niagara)

Turfbot™ Corporation develops and commercializes intelligent, all-electric turf care robots to address the $6 billion North American market for riding mower equipment. The partnership with the University of Guelph will involve the design and construction of an autonomous turf care robot called the "Turfbot™". This device will autonomously cut grass and transport a turf care device such as a sprayer, cutting reel or aerator. The successful development of a "Turfbot™" will move the technology toward commercialization, which will create a new manufacturing opportunity in southwestern Ontario. More information is available at www.turfbot.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada encourage l'innovation au sein de 14 entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 26 janvier 2012

Guelph (Ontario) – Michael Chong, député de Wellington-Halton Hills, a annoncé aujourd'hui, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), l'établissement de partenariats innovateurs entre l'Université de Guelph et 14 petites et moyennes entreprises. Ces partenariats favoriseront la croissance et apporteront des avantages économiques à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario dans des domaines tels que : l'air; la surveillance et la gestion de l'eau et des eaux usées; l'agriculture; la santé; le tourisme; et le traitement et conditionnement des aliments.

« Notre gouvernement est fier de soutenir les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario alors qu'elles deviennent encore plus concurrentielles dans l'économie mondiale actuelle », a déclaré le député Chong. « Les partenariats que nous soulignons aujourd'hui favoriseront l'innovation au sein des petites et moyennes entreprises, créeront des emplois et accéléreront le lancement de nouveaux produits sur le marché. »

Depuis son lancement en 2010, l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation de FedDev Ontario a investi plus de 14,5 millions de dollars pour soutenir 24 collèges, universités et écoles polytechniques de l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario afin que ces derniers collaborent avec le secteur privé en vue de mettre plus rapidement de nouveaux produits et des processus innovateurs sur le marché. En 2010, l'Université de Guelph a reçu une contribution de 750 000 $ pour créer des partenariats avec les petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre d'activités dans les secteurs de la recherche appliquée, de la conception technique, de la conception de technologies, de mise à l'essai et de certification de produits.

« Faire sortir de nos classes et de nos laboratoires les connaissances scientifiques et les utiliser pour améliorer la vie quotidienne des gens est notre objectif primordial », explique Kevin Hall, vice-président de la Recherche à l'Université de Guelph. « Des programmes tels que l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation sont essentiels à notre mission de créer de la valeur pour la société. Les collaborations que nous célébrons aujourd'hui nous aideront à transformer nos innovations et nos découvertes en nouvelles technologies et en nouveaux produits et services. »

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation et les partenaires approuvés de l'Université de Guelph, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Stéphanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale – Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation permet aux petites et moyennes entreprises qui n'ont pas de capacité de recherche-développement (R-D) appliquée et de précommercialisation de tirer parti du savoir-faire des établissements postsecondaires du Sud de l'Ontario.

Depuis son lancement en 2010, 14,5 millions de dollars ont été investis dans le cadre de cette initiative pour soutenir 24 collèges, universités et écoles polytechniques de l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario pour travailler avec le secteur privé en vue de mettre plus rapidement de nouveaux produits et des processus innovateurs sur le marché. En décembre 2011, FedDev Ontario a annoncé la prolongation de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation jusqu'au 31 mars 2013, et un financement supplémentaire pour soutenir davantage les efforts initialement déployés.

En 2010, dans le cadre de la contribution originale, FedDev Ontario a offert à l'Université de Guelph une somme de 750 000 $ pour travailler avec les petites et moyennes entreprises sur des projets de recherche appliquée et de commercialisation. L'Université de Guelph a formé des partenariats avec les 14 entreprises suivantes :

4iBIO (Pickering)

4iBIO développe et fabrique des articulations artificielles personnalisées pour le traitement de l'arthrite. Les nouvelles prothèses de la société permettent un traitement précoce de l'arthrose, la préservation des tissus et une régénérescence des articulations. Le partenariat établi avec l'Université de Guelph permet à la société de développer sa prochaine génération de prothèses pour les articulations de la hanche et du genou. Cela permettra à 4iBIO de saisir plus d'occasions d'affaires sur le marché mondial de la protection des articulations, qui représente plusieurs milliards de dollars, tout en continuant à offrir davantage d'occasions d'emploi et de vente dans le secteur manufacturier dans un établissement de haute technologie dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.4ibio.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

Biorem (Guelph)

Biorem se spécialise dans le contrôle de la pollution biologique dans l'atmosphère et fabrique des systèmes de traitement et des technologies de purification. Les polluants biologiques de l'air, tels que les acariens de la poussière, les squames animales et le pollen, proviennent d'organismes vivants qui sont souvent invisibles. L'objectif de ce projet est de développer un processus biologique économique qui transforme les oxydes d'azote, qui constituent une source importante de smog et de pollution atmosphérique, en sels liquides non toxiques. Une fois que ce processus aura été élaboré avec succès, Biorem pourra commercialiser le produit en Amérique du Nord, en Chine et dans d'autres marchés internationaux. Des emplois locaux dans les domaines de la recherche, du développement de produit et des ventes seront créés afin de répondre à la demande du marché. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.biorem.biz [disponible en anglais seulement].

Clearford Industries Inc. (Ottawa)

Clearford Industries Inc. offre des solutions en matière de collecte et de traitement des eaux usées et de production énergétique. Le partenariat établi avec l'Université de Guelph permettra de développer un système pilote de récupération des biogaz à échelle réelle à l'établissement d'analyse des eaux usées du Centre ontarien des eaux usées rurales situé à l'Université de Guelph, sur le campus d'Alfred. Cette innovation permettra de recueillir le biogaz automatiquement au cours du processus de traitement des eaux usées, ce qui réduira les effets néfastes des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. La mise en œuvre réussie de cette technologie permettra à la société d'élargir ses parts de marché à l'échelle mondiale. À court terme, des emplois seront créés dans les domaines de l'étude de conception, du marketing et de l'installation de système. Si le concept s'avère réalisable, davantage d'emplois pourraient être créés à Clearford, en plus d'emplois supplémentaires dans des sociétés partenaires. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.clearford.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

ENPAR Technologies (Guelph)

ENPAR Technologies est une société de traitement écologique des eaux usées qui a formé un partenariat avec l'Université de Guelph afin de développer une technologie d'électrocoagulation pour le traitement des métaux trouvés dans les déchets miniers. Le retrait des métaux est actuellement impossible si l'on n'utilise uniquement des systèmes de traitement chimique ou par filtration. L'ajout à la gamme de produits d'ENPAR devrait permettre d'augmenter le nombre d'employés et les occasions d'affaires pour plusieurs entreprises manufacturières de l'Ontario. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.enpar-tech.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

Heron Instruments Inc. (Burlington)

Heron Instruments Inc. conçoit et fabrique des instruments de surveillance des eaux souterraines. Ce projet permettra de développer et de mettre à l'essai de nouveaux instruments de surveillance qui permettront d'améliorer la recherche sur le mouvement et la préservation des eaux souterraines. Le principal instrument en cours de développement est un instrument qui serait installé dans la partie supérieure d'un puits, au lieu de l'être au fond de celui-ci, ce qui offrira des capacités de mesures sensibles et à haute résolution et qui pourra être utilisé dans plus de puits, peu importe leur diamètre ou leur profondeur. Les résultats de ce partenariat permettront de créer des emplois et des ventes pour la société Heron Instruments Inc. puisque cette technologie répond à des besoins existants sur le marché en Ontario et à l'échelle mondiale. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.heroninstruments.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

LuxAdvance Corporation (Toronto)

LuxAdvance développe des technologies protégées par un brevet pour analyser de façon rapide et fiable l'eau et les aliments afin de détecter la présence de micro-organismes pathogènes, tels que des virus, des bactéries et des champignons. L'Université de Guelph travaillera avec la société LuxAdvance sur la validation du concept, la conception technique et la mise à l'essai du produit à mesure que la société développera une nouvelle technologie d'analyse rapide, simple, abordable et hautement sensible. L'offre de cette technologie d'analyse sur le marché sera bénéfique pour l'économie de l'Ontario et créera également plus d'emplois, puisque ce produit sera fabriqué et assemblé au niveau local. Grâce aux activités de recherche et de développement actuellement mises en œuvre, la société LuxAdvance s'attend également à élargir son portefeuille de produits. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.luxadvance.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

Lystek International Inc. (Cambridge)

La société Lystek International Inc. développe des technologies de traitement des biosolides, les déchets humains qui ont été traités par les installations municipales de traitement des eaux usées et qui conviennent aux applications sur les terres. Le processus breveté de la société décompose la matière biologique des biosolides afin de créer un produit fertilisant riche en nutriments pour les terres agricoles, ce qui rend alors les installations de traitement des eaux usées plus efficaces. L'objectif de ce projet est d'évaluer l'engrais de Lystek enregistré auprès de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) par rapport à l'engrais traditionnel utilisé pour le maïs sucré. À la suite de ses travaux, Lystek renforcera sa demande soumise à l'ACIA afin d'offrir cette technologie sur le marché. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : http://www.lystek.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

Meridian Reservation Systems (Niagara Falls)

La société Meridian Reservation Systems offre un logiciel de réservation et de billetterie aux organisations de commercialisation touristique, aux principales attractions, aux commerçants touristiques et aux entreprises hôtelières. Ce projet permettra à la société Meridian d'offrir aux plus petits opérateurs touristiques un nouveau logiciel analytique afin qu'ils puissent effectuer leur propre recherche de marché, découvrir les tendances de leurs propres affaires et développer des plans de commercialisation stratégiques pour obtenir un taux de réussite plus élevé dans un marché concurrentiel. Ce partenariat formé avec l'Université de Guelph donnera lieu à la commercialisation d'un logiciel unique en soutien à l'industrie du tourisme de l'Ontario. Il permettra également à Meridian d'augmenter son personnel et d'embaucher des ingénieurs en logiciel, des développeurs Web et des professionnels en développement des affaires et en ventes hautement qualifiés. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.reservationsystems.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

MicroSintesis Inc. (Oakville)

MicroSintesis est une société située en Ontario qui se consacre à la commercialisation de technologies microbiennes, qui consistent en des micro-organismes utilisés dans la boulangerie et pâtisserie, le brassage, la conservation des aliments, la production d'antibiotiques, la restauration environnementale et dans bien d'autres applications. L'objectif de cette collaboration est de développer un simple produit probiotique pouvant protéger les enfants et les autres populations vulnérables, ainsi que le bétail, contre les maladies d'origine alimentaire et hydrique, comme l'E. Coli. Le projet fournira de l'information à l'appui qui aidera MicroSintesis à concevoir des produits appropriés aux marchés de produits de santé probiotiques destinés aux hommes et aux animaux, qui pourront prévenir des infections néfastes et réduire la dépendance à l'égard des antibiotiques.

Novus Environmental Inc. (Guelph)

La société Novus Environmental Inc. se spécialise dans la science atmosphérique, l'acoustique et la santé humaine et offre une gamme de solutions répondant aux problèmes climatiques, météorologiques et liés à la qualité de l'air. Le partenariat formé entre Novus et l'Université de Guelph aura pour objectif d'examiner comment les polluants sont rejetés dans l'atmosphère le long des routes de transport et l'impact qu'ils ont sur la santé humaine. L'objectif de la recherche est de développer une technologie permettant de réduire les niveaux de pollution, ce qui sera bénéfique pour la santé des Ontariens. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.novusenv.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

O2i Ltée (Uxbridge)

La société O2i Ltée conçoit, développe et commercialise des technologies de conditionnement et de traitement visant à améliorer la qualité des produits alimentaires. La société O2i tente de développer une valve antireflux permettant le dégazage du dioxyde de carbone dans le café torréfié emballé qui soit à la fois fiable et biodégradable. Cela permettrait à la société de tirer parti du marché mondial du café qui représente 70 milliards de dollars. Pour commercialiser cette valve brevetée, O2i travaillera avec l'Université de Guelph afin de réaliser une validation du concept et une mise à l'essai du produit. Ce projet permettra aux producteurs alimentaires de réduire leur consommation d'énergie et d'améliorer la qualité et la durée de conservation de leurs produits, ce qui renforcera l'industrie alimentaire de l'Ontario et la rendra plus concurrentielle. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.o2i-ltd.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

Root Rescue Environmental Products Inc. (Toronto)

Root Rescue Environmental Products Inc. développe et commercialise des produits de nature biologique qui aident à améliorer la croissance des plantes dans l'industrie des pépinières de l'Ontario. Ces produits améliorent l'absorption des matières nutritives et de l'eau par les plantes, ce qui réduit le besoin d'engrais et d'eau. Ce partenariat formé avec l'Université de Guelph permettra d'offrir un système de transplantation d'avant-garde pour les plantes pérennes de grande valeur et rentables, comme les érables du Japon. La réalisation fructueuse de ce projet permettra à Root Rescue de connaître une croissance importante, comprenant notamment la création d'emplois dans les domaines de la vente, de la fabrication et de l'administration, et le développement de nouveaux produits et services pour le secteur horticole de l'Ontario. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.rootrescue.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

SiREM (Guelph)

La société SiREM offre des services et des produits d'analyse spécialisés permettant d'évaluer et d'améliorer les processus utilisés pour nettoyer la contamination des eaux souterraines. Ce projet aidera SiREM à développer et à analyser davantage une culture bactérienne qui permettra de décomposer le chloroforme, un contaminant toxique se trouvant généralement dans les eaux souterraines. La société s'attend à ce que la commercialisation de cette culture répondra rapidement aux besoins du marché pour ce type de produit qu'elle permettra d'augmenter le nombre de ses employés hautement qualifiés et qu'elle permettra d'offrir une solution d'assainissement pour le nettoyage des réserves d'eau potable. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.siremlab.com [disponible en anglais seulement].

Turfbot (Niagara)

La société Turfbot™ développe et commercialise des robots d'entretien du gazon intelligents et entièrement électriques pour répondre aux besoins du marché nord-américain des tondeuses autoportées. Le travail effectué dans le cadre du partenariat formé avec l'Université de Guelph comprendra la conception et la construction d'un robot autonome d'entretien du gazon appelé « Turfbot™ ». Cet outil coupera de manière autonome le gazon et comprendra un dispositif d'entretien du gazon tel qu'un pulvérisateur, une bobine d'enroulement d'une corde coupante ou un aérateur. La réalisation fructueuse d'un « Turfbot™ » permettra de commercialiser cette technologie, ce qui créera une nouvelle occasion de fabrication dans le sud-ouest de l'Ontario. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.turfbot.ca [disponible en anglais seulement].

Date de modification :