FedDev Ontario Social Media Protocol

Official Policy

Our communication in social media channels should not be considered the authoritative source of new policy or guidance on services and programs from FedDev Ontario. Any change or evolution in the official position on Government of Canada services and programs will be communicated through more traditional channels, such as official publications (online and offline), speeches, media releases, statements to the traditional media, and agency website.

Availability

We aim to update and monitor our social media accounts during regular office hours between 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, Monday to Friday.

Third party social media providers may occasionally be unavailable, and we accept no responsibility for lack of service owing to downtime.

Content

The content we contribute to social media channels is based on anticipated public interest about our agency's programs and initiatives. This includes information regarding FedDev Ontario press releases and announcements.

We may remove content which is out-dated, incorrect or restricted in time by licensing agreements. We apologize for any inconvenience when this occurs.

Comments and Interaction

We welcome feedback and ideas from all social media users. All messages will be read and any emerging themes or helpful suggestions will be passed to the relevant people in the agency.

Although we are not able to reply individually to all the messages we receive, possible responses will be handled on a case-by-case basis and we will participate in discussions when appropriate.

We ask that your comments be relevant and respectful. We reserve the right to delete comments that violate this notice, and the user may be blocked and reported to prevent further inappropriate comments.

We cannot engage in issues of party politics or answer questions that break the rules of this notice.

We reserve the right to edit or remove comments that:

  • Contain personal information;
  • Are contrary to the principles of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms;
  • Express racist, hateful, sexist, homophobic, slanderous, insulting or life-threatening messages;
  • Put forward serious, unproven or inaccurate accusations against individuals or organizations;
  • Are aggressive, coarse, violent, obscene or pornographic;
  • Are offensive, rude or abusive to an individual or an organization;
  • Are not sent by the author or are put forward for advertising purposes;
  • Encourage illegal activity;
  • Contain announcements from labour or political organizations;
  • Are written in a language other than English or French;
  • Are unintelligible or irrelevant;
  • Are repetitive or spam; and
  • Do not, in our opinion, add to the normal flow of the discussion.

In short, please be respectful and make sure that your comments are relevant to where they are posted. The views of users commenting on our social media accounts do not necessarily represent the views of FedDev Ontario or the Government of Canada.

Followers

FedDev Ontario's decision to "follow" users does not imply endorsement of another social media account. Links will be based on their relevance to programs and services and perceived usefulness to the public.

Similarly, the appearance of a user as a follower of our agency's account does not imply endorsement of any kind by the agency or the Government of Canada. We will take steps to remove or block followers when they violate outlined terms of service.

Accessibility

Third-party social media service providers are not bound by Government of Canada's Web accessibility practices; however the Government of Canada is committed to achieving a high standard of accessibility and is working to address issues with external platforms. If you have any problems accessing any information on the site please visit our website for fully accessible content or contact us.

Privacy

FedDev Ontario social media accounts are not hosted on Government of Canada Web sites. These accounts serve as an extension of the agency's presence on the Internet. Users are encouraged to read the privacy policy for these service providers.

Users are strongly advised not to post personal information, such as home addresses or telephone numbers, photographs containing images of identifiable individuals, or any other personal information as defined in Section 3 of the Privacy Act.

Should you have any questions about your privacy rights as explained in this protocol, please contact the Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Coordinator.

Official Languages

Many social media services have multiple language options for their interface. Please find the sites instructions on how to satisfy your preferences.

English and French are the official languages of Canada for communications and services from the Government of Canada to the public. Members of the public have the right to communicate with and receive services from the Government of Canada in either English or French. When a third party is providing services to, or communicating with the public on its behalf, the institution will strive to ensure that the public's language rights are respected.

For example, content will be posted simultaneously in both official languages on their respective accounts. When social commentary features are enabled, users are encouraged to respond in the official language of their choice. Comments, video responses, and questions that require a response will be answered in the official language of origin. When summaries are provided, they are posted in both official languages simultaneously and are of equal quality.

Links to Other Websites

Links to websites not under the control of the Government of Canada are provided solely for the convenience of users. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or the reliability of the content. The Government of Canada does not offer any guarantee in that regard and is not responsible for the information found through these links, nor does it endorse the sites and their content.

Questions and Media Requests

If you want to contact us for official correspondence, please visit the Contact Us section of our website. If you have questions about this policy, please contact the Social Media Team.

We encourage the media to follow traditional channels to make a media request.

Please see FedDev Ontario's Terms and conditions for additional information.

Follow Us!

We encourage everyone to follow FedDev Ontario's Twitter account, either in English @FedDevOntario or French @FedDev_Ontario. However, following these Twitter accounts does not automatically mean that we will follow your account.

Retweeting FedDev Ontario Posts

Users may retweet (RT) material posted to the FedDev Ontario accounts provided that the content is not changed and proper credit is given.

Date modified:

Protocole de FedDev Ontario sur les médias sociaux

Politique officielle

Les messages que nous diffusons sur les sites des médias sociaux ne devraient pas être considérés comme une source faisant autorité en ce qui a trait aux nouvelles politiques ou lignes directrices sur les services et les programmes de FedDev Ontario. Tout changement ou toute évolution dans la position officielle du gouvernement du Canada sur les services et les programmes seront communiqués par des voies de communication plus habituelles telles que les publications officielles (en ligne et hors ligne), les discours, les communiqués de presse, les déclarations aux médias traditionnels et le site Web de l'Agence.

Disponibilité

Nous nous efforçons de mettre à jour et de surveiller nos comptes de médias sociaux pendant les heures normales de bureau, soit du lundi au vendredi, entre 9 h et 17 h, heure normale de l'Est.

Il peut arriver que les services des sites de médias sociaux ne soient pas disponibles. Nous ne pouvons pas être tenus responsables de l'absence de service pendant les temps d'inactivité.

Contenu

Le contenu que nous diffusons sur les sites Web de médias sociaux est établi en fonction de l'intérêt du public à l'égard de la gamme de programmes et d'initiatives de notre Agence. Cela inclut des renseignements concernant les communiqués de presse et les annonces de FedDev Ontario.

Il se peut que nous supprimions le contenu obsolète, inexact ou comportant un délai restreint en vertu des licences. Nous nous excusons des inconvénients causés à cet égard.

Commentaires et échanges

Nous apprécions la rétroaction et les idées de tous les utilisateurs de médias sociaux. Nous lirons tous les messages et nous acheminerons les nouveaux sujets et les suggestions utiles aux personnes concernées au sein de l'Agence.

Bien que nous ne soyons pas en mesure de répondre à chaque message que nous recevons de manière individuelle, les réponses possibles seront traitées au cas par cas et nous participerons aux discussions en temps opportun.

Assurez-vous que vos commentaires sont pertinents et respectueux. Nous nous réservons le droit de supprimer les commentaires qui contreviennent à cet avis et les utilisateurs concernés peuvent être bloqués et dénoncés afin de les empêcher d'envoyer d'autres commentaires inappropriés.

Nous ne pouvons pas nous prononcer sur des questions de politique partisane ou répondre à des questions qui contreviennent aux règles énoncées dans cet avis.

Nous nous réservons le droit de modifier ou de supprimer les commentaires qui :

  • contiennent des renseignements personnels;
  • ne respectent pas les principes énoncés dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés;
  • communiquent des messages racistes, haineux, sexistes, homophobes, diffamatoires, méprisants ou constituant une menace de mort;
  • portent des accusations graves, non prouvées ou inexactes à l'endroit de personnes ou d'organisations;
  • sont agressifs, grossiers, violents, obscènes ou pornographiques;
  • sont impolis, grossiers ou désobligeants pour une personne ou une organisation ;
  • ne sont pas envoyés par l'auteur ou sont envoyés à des fins publicitaires;
  • encouragent des activités illégales;
  • contiennent des annonces faisant la promotion d'organisations syndicales ou politiques;
  • sont rédigés dans une autre langue que le français ou l'anglais;
  • sont inintelligibles ou non pertinents;
  • sont répétitifs ou constituent des pourriels;
  • ne contribuent pas, selon nous, au déroulement normal de la discussion.

Bref, nous vous demandons d'être respectueux et de vous assurer que vos commentaires sont pertinents en fonction de l'endroit où ils sont affichés. Les opinions exprimées dans les commentaires des utilisateurs de nos comptes de médias sociaux ne représentent pas nécessairement celles d'Industrie Canada ou du gouvernement du Canada.

Abonnés

La décision de FedDev Ontario de « suivre » les utilisateurs ne signifie pas qu'il approuve un autre compte de média social. Les liens seront établis selon leur pertinence aux programmes et aux services et leur utilité perçue pour le public.

De plus, l'ajout d'un utilisateur comme abonné d'un compte de l'Agence ne signifie aucunement que l'Agence ou le gouvernement du Canada appuie cet utilisateur. Nous prendrons toutes les mesures nécessaires pour supprimer ou bloquer des abonnés s'ils transgressent les conditions de service énoncées.

Accessibilité

Les tiers fournisseurs de services de médias sociaux ne sont pas tenus de se conformer aux pratiques relatives à l'accessibilité des sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Toutefois, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à respecter une norme élevée en matière d'accessibilité, et il travaille à répondre aux problèmes liés aux plateformes externes. Si vous avez quelque problème que ce soit lorsque vous tentez d'accéder aux informations du site, veuillez visiter notre site Web pour avoir accès à un contenu pleinement accessible, ou veuillez nous contacter.

Protection des renseignements personnels

Les comptes des médias sociaux de FedDev Ontario ne sont pas hébergés sur les sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Ces comptes servent de prolongement à la présence de l'Agence sur Internet. Les utilisateurs sont invités à lire la politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels de ces fournisseurs de services.

Nous recommandons fortement aux utilisateurs de ne fournir aucun renseignement personnel, comme leur adresse domiciliaire ou leurs numéros de téléphone, les photos de personnes identifiables ou tout autre renseignement personnel au sens de l'article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnel.

Si vous avez des questions sur vos droits relatifs à la protection des renseignements personnels, veuillez communiquer avec la coordonnatrice de l'accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP).

Langues officielles

De nombreux services de médias sociaux offrent des options de sélection de la langue pour leur interface. Veuillez consulter la marche à suivre pour choisir vos préférences.

L'anglais et le français sont les langues officielles du Canada pour les communications et les services du gouvernement du Canada destinés au public. Le public a le droit de communiquer avec le gouvernement du Canada et de recevoir ses services en anglais ou en français. Lorsqu'un tiers offre des services au public ou communique avec celui-ci au nom d'une institution, cette institution veillera à ce que les droits du public concernant la langue soient respectés.

Par exemple, le contenu sera affiché simultanément dans les deux langues officielles sur leurs comptes respectifs. Lorsque la fonction commentaires du public est activée, les utilisateurs sont invités à répondre dans la langue officielle de leur choix. Nous répondrons aux commentaires, aux réponses, aux vidéos et aux questions dans la langue officielle d'origine. Les résumés fournis sont affichés simultanément dans les deux langues officielles et sont de qualité égale.

Liens vers d'autres sites Web

Les liens vers des sites Web autres que ceux du gouvernement du Canada sont fournis aux utilisateurs uniquement pour des raisons de commodité. Le gouvernement du Canada n'est pas responsable de l'exactitude, la mise à jour ou la fiabilité du contenu. Le gouvernement du Canada n'offre aucune garantie à cet égard et n'est pas responsable des renseignements fournis sur ces liens; il ne cautionne pas ces sites ou leur contenu.

Questions et demandes de renseignements des médias

Si vous souhaitez communiquer avec nous pour obtenir une correspondance officielle, veuillez consulter la section Contactez-nous de notre site Web. Si vous avez des questions au sujet de cette politique, veuillez communiquer avec l'Équipe des médias sociaux.

Nous invitons les médias à présenter des demandes au moyen des procédés habituels.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la page Avis de FedDev Ontario.

Suivez-nous!

Nous encourageons tous ceux qui le désirent à s'abonner aux comptes Twitter de FedDev Ontario, soit en français @FedDev_Ontario ou en anglais @FedDevOntario. Toutefois, l'abonnement à ces comptes Twitter n'entraînera pas un abonnement automatique de notre part à votre compte.

Partager les gazouillis de FedDev Ontario

Les utilisateurs peuvent partager les gazouillis affichés sur les comptes de FedDev Ontario, à condition de n'y apporter aucun changement et d'en indiquer clairement la source.

Date de modification :