Archived — Government of Canada Helping Young Girls Explore Careers in Science

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
February 2, 2012

Kitchener, Ontario – The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced a Government of Canada investment of up to $23,820 for the Canadian Association for Girls in Science (CAGIS).

With this funding, CAGIS will open three new chapters in southern Ontario, and will better support its existing chapters located in London, Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph, Hamilton, Oakville, Toronto, and Ottawa. CAGIS also aims to attract more participants to its biannual open house, and improve its web site.

"Our government recognizes that to drive future innovation in southern Ontario, we need to expose students to STEM fields at a young age," said Minister of State Goodyear. "This investment will help encourage girls in southern Ontario to become tomorrow's innovators and scientists and help build a stronger and more productive Canada."

The investment is being provided through FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM Initiative, aimed at encouraging students in kindergarten through grade 12 to pursue an education or career in STEM fields.

A 2010 report from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council noted women made up 37 per cent of Canada's undergraduate students in science and engineering in 2008–09. A report from Statistics Canada that same year found women made up 22.3 per cent of the workforce in the fields of natural sciences, engineering and mathematics in 2009. Through its work, CAGIS is aiming to close this gap.

"This investment will allow us to bring the message that science is fun to a wider audience of girls in southern Ontario, and help us encourage them to pursue education and careers in the STEM fields," said Ms. Vingilis-Jaremko, president of CAGIS, who, at the age of nine, founded the organization in 1992 as a way to help bring young girls together to learn about STEM and the career opportunities available in those fields.

For more information on the Canadian Association for Girls in Science, please visit www.cagis.ca.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

–30–

For more information, contact:

Jay Jacobson
Director of Communications
Office of the Hon. Gary Goodyear
Minister of State for Science and Technology, and Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada aide les jeunes filles à envisager une carrière en sciences

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 2 février 2012

Kitchener (Ontario) – L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd'hui que le gouvernement du Canada investira jusqu'à concurrence de 23 820 dollars dans la Canadian Association for Girls in Science (CAGIS).

Avec ces nouveaux fonds, la CAGIS ouvrira trois nouvelles sections dans le Sud de l'Ontario et soutiendra davantage ses sections existantes établies à London, Kitchener-Waterloo-Guelph, Hamilton, Oakville, Toronto et Ottawa. L'organisation souhaite également attirer plus de participants à ses journées portes ouvertes semestrielles et améliorer son site Web.

« Notre gouvernement reconnaît que si l'on souhaite stimuler l'innovation future dans le Sud de l'Ontario, il faut exposer les élèves aux domaines des STIM à un jeune âge, a déclaré le ministre d'État, Gary Goodyear. Cet investissement permettra d'encourager les filles du Sud de l'Ontario à devenir les innovatrices et les scientifiques de demain et de bâtir un Canada plus fort et plus productif. »

Cet investissement est alloué dans le cadre de l'initiative Jeunesse en STIM de FedDev Ontario, qui est conçue pour encourager les élèves, de la maternelle à la 12e année, à poursuivre des études ou à entamer une carrière dans les domaines des STIM.

D'après un rapport de 2010 publié par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie, les femmes représentaient 37 p. 100 des étudiants de premier cycle en sciences et en ingénierie au Canada en 2008-2009. Selon un rapport de Statistique Canada de la même année, les femmes constituaient 22,3 p. 100 de la main-d'œuvre dans les domaines des sciences naturelles, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques en 2009.  Grâce à son travail, la CAGIS a pour but de combler cet écart.

« Cet investissement nous permettra de faire passer le message à un plus grand auditoire de filles du Sud de l'Ontario selon lequel, le domaine des sciences est amusant et de les encourager à poursuivre leurs études et à entamer une carrière dans les domaines des STIM », a déclaré Mme Vingilis-Jaremko, présidente de la CAGIS, qui a fondé l'organisation en 1992 quand elle avait neuf ans, afin de rassembler les jeunes filles pour leur présenter les domaines des STIM et les possibilités de carrière que l'on y trouve.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la Canadian Association for Girls in Science, veuillez consulter le site www.cagis.ca (en anglais seulement).

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez visiter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jay Jacobson
Directeur des Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
Ministre d'État (Sciences et Technologie) (Agence fédérale de développement
économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date de modification :