Archived — Government of Canada Investment Helps Expose Youth to Science

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
February 23, 2012

Ajax, Ontario — Chris Alexander, Member of Parliament for Ajax, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced a federal investment of up to $968,900 for Scientists in School (SiS). The funding will create opportunities for young students in southern Ontario to discover science through hands-on activities, workshops and interaction with scientists in their own classrooms.

"Our government is focused on jobs and growth. We recognize that to fuel business innovation and technology development, young Canadians need to explore the benefits of pursuing an education or career in scientific fields," said MP Alexander. "This investment will allow Scientists in School to expand its workshops to new schools in Ontario and encourage students to become scientists in their own schools today, and southern Ontario's innovators in the future."

Scientists in School will use the funding to expand existing classroom workshop delivery in regions where it currently delivers limited programming, develop new and engaging workshop topics, and broaden the program to include French-language students particularly in the Ottawa area.

"Every child deserves to be inspired by science," said Cindy Adams, executive director of Scientists in School. "With the support of FedDev Ontario, Scientists in School will ignite the dreams of more Canadian children and youth, encouraging them to realize their potential."

The investment is provided through FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM initiative, aimed at encouraging students in kindergarten through grade 12 to pursue an education or career in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, also known as the STEM fields. The Youth STEM initiative is one of the ways the Government of Canada working to achieve a sustainable and prosperous economic recovery, and preserve Canada's economic advantage now and in the future.

For more information on Scientists in School and the project, please refer to the backgrounder.

The investment announced today supports the Government of Canada's science, technology and innovation agenda, which is focused on increasing the country's productivity, creating jobs and growing the economy.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Judy Paty
Office of MP Chris Alexander
905-426-6808

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Scientists in School

Scientists in School (SiS) was established in 1989 with a mission to spark long-lasting interest in science, technology, math, environmental stewardship, and engineering among Ontario students and inspire them to reach their full potential through careers in those fields.

At the heart of SiS's work is its award-winning, hands-on science workshops designed to enable Kindergarten to Grade 8 students to become 'scientists in their schools.'

SiS also participates in community events and acts as a voice for science promotion.

Through its Youth STEM initiative, FedDev Ontario is investing up to $968,900 in Scientists in School that will allow the organization to:

  • develop a full French-language program which will be made available to French Immersion and French-language school boards in the Ottawa area;
  • expand its classroom workshop delivery in regions where SiS currently delivers limited programming; and
  • develop new workshop topics.

More information about Scientists in School's programs is available at www.scientistsinschool.ca.

Youth STEM Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM provides funding to eligible not-for-profit organizations to expand, enhance and coordinate the reach and impact of educational outreach programs in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) for children and youth in kindergarten through grade 12. The initiative is designed to encourage young people to pursue further studies and careers in these fields, creating a future talent pool that is well-positioned to fuel business innovation and growth in southern Ontario.

For more information, please refer to the program information available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Un investissement du gouvernement du Canada permet aux jeunes de découvrir le monde des sciences

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 23 février 2012

Ajax (Ontario) – M. Chris Alexander, député fédéral d'Ajax, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd'hui un investissement fédéral allant jusqu'à 968 900 dollars pour Scientists in School (SiS). Le financement permettra aux jeunes élèves du Sud de l'Ontario de découvrir le monde de la science grâce à des activités, des ateliers et des interactions avec des scientifiques dans leurs propres salles de classe.

« Notre gouvernement accorde beaucoup d'importance à l'emploi et à la croissance. Nous sommes conscients que pour encourager l'innovation entrepreneuriale et le développement technologique, les jeunes Canadiens doivent apprendre à connaître les avantages de faire des études ou de faire carrière dans le domaine des sciences, affirme M. Alexander. Cet investissement permettra à Scientists in School d'offrir ses ateliers à de nouvelles écoles ontariennes, et d'encourager les élèves à devenir des scientifiques dans leur école dès aujourd'hui, et les innovateurs de demain, dans le Sud de l'Ontario. »

Scientists in School utilisera les fonds pour offrir des ateliers dans les régions où son programme est restreint, pour créer de nouveaux sujets d'atelier intéressants, et pour élargir son programme, afin d'inclure les élèves francophones, notamment dans la région d'Ottawa.

« Tous les enfants méritent d'être inspirés par les sciences, a déclaré Cindy Adams, directrice administrative de Scientists in School. Avec l'appui de FedDev Ontario, Scientists in School alimentera les rêves d'un plus grand nombre d'enfants et de jeunes Canadiens, en les encourageant à réaliser leur potentiel. »

L'investissement est versé par le biais de l'initiative Jeunesse en STIM de FedDev Ontario, qui vise à encourager les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année à faire des études et à choisir une carrière dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM). L'initiative Jeunesse en STIM est l'une des façons dont dispose le gouvernement du Canada pour assurer une reprise économique durable et prospère, et préserver l'avantage économique du Canada aujourd'hui et demain.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Scientists in School et sur le projet, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

L'investissement annoncé aujourd'hui appuie le programme du Canada dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation, lequel vise à accroître la productivité du pays en créant des emplois et en assurant la croissance de l'économie.

Créé en 2009, FedDev Ontario appuie l'économie du sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région, et en créant des possibilités d'emploi et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé un certain nombre d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario, et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre plus, visitez www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Judy Paty
Bureau du député Chris Alexander
905-426-6808

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Scientists in School

Scientists in School (SiS) a été créé en 1989, avec comme mission de susciter un intérêt durable pour les domaines de la science, de la technologie, des mathématiques, de l'administration de l'environnement et de l'ingénierie chez les élèves ontariens, et les encourager à réaliser leur plein potentiel en choisissant de faire carrière dans l'un de ces domaines.

Au cœur du travail de SiS, on trouve ses ateliers scientifiques interactifs primés dont le but est de permettre aux élèves de la maternelle à la huitième année de devenir des « scientifiques dans leur école ».

SiS participe également aux événements communautaires et agit à titre de porte-parole pour la promotion de la science.

Par le biais de l'initiative Jeunesse en STIM, FedDev Ontario investit jusqu'à 968 900 dollars dans Scientists in School afin de permettre à l'organisme de :

  • créer un programme entièrement en français qui sera offert aux conseils scolaires francophones et d'immersion française de la région d'Ottawa;
  • offrir des ateliers en classe, dans les régions où la mise en œuvre actuelle du programme de SiS est limitée;
  • créer de nouveaux sujets d'atelier.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les programmes offerts par Scientists in School, consultez www.scientistsinschool.ca (en anglais seulement).

Initiative Jeunesse en STIM

L'initiative Jeunesse en STIM de FedDev Ontario verse des fonds aux organisations à but non lucratif admissibles, pour qu'elles élargissent, améliorent et coordonnent la portée et l'incidence des programmes éducatifs de sensibilisation dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM) pour les jeunes de la maternelle à la 12e année. Cette initiative a pour objectif d'encourager les jeunes à faire des études et à poursuivre une carrière dans ces domaines, et de créer un bassin de futurs talents capables de stimuler l'innovation et la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter l'information sur le programme contenue sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :