Archived — Eastern Ontario Wood Furniture Manufacturers Benefit from Government of Canada Funding

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
February, 23, 2012

Casselman, Ontario — Pierre Lemieux, Member of Parliament for Glengarry-Prescott-Russell, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced an investment that will enable Groupe Convex Prescott-Russell Inc. to explore innovative ways to access new export markets overseas.

"The Government of Canada is committed to creating jobs and growth in southern Ontario, and to ensuring that francophone communities can continue to prosper," said MP Lemieux. "The funding announced today will enable Groupe Convex to develop a good understanding of the export market potential in Europe for wood furniture manufactured in Eastern Ontario. This could lead to long-term benefits for the economy in this community."

Groupe Convex plays an important role in community economic development in Prescott-Russell. They form a network of nine social enterprises that together employ over 100 people. Their mission is to generate meaningful jobs, through business projects, for residents in the community who face employment challenges.

The contribution announced today will support the development of a market analysis report for wood furniture manufacturing firms in the Prescott-Russell area. This will enable them to assess the market opportunity to export their products abroad, specifically to France and Switzerland, two areas in Europe that have already expressed interest in cedar and pine wood furniture and accessories.

"In the wake of our new initiatives aimed at growth and development, we suspected that exports could be a potentially effective means of meeting our job creation mandate," states Caroline Arcand, Executive Director of Groupe Convex. "The Economic Development Initiative is helping us to analyze the feasibility of this eventual strategy. It is an excellent program to help us make the right decisions for the future."

The Economic Development Initiative is part of the "Roadmap for Canada's Linguistic Duality 2008-2013: Acting for the Future", the Government of Canada's official languages strategy. The initiative is delivered by FedDev Ontario in southern Ontario.

As part of this initiative, the government is providing funding to promote the development of new expertise through innovation, diversification of economic activities, partnerships and increased support to small- and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario Francophone communities. This funding will stimulate economic growth in Francophone industries such as tourism, culture, knowledge and manufacturing.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Carolyn Savoie
Legislative Assistant
Office of MP Pierre Lemieux
613-996-2909

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date modified:

Archivé — Les fabricants de meubles en bois de l'Est de l'Ontario bénéficient d’un financement du gouvernement du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 23 février 2012

Casselman (Ontario) – M. Pierre Lemieux, député fédéral de Glengarry-Prescott-Russell, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé un investissement qui permettra au Groupe Convex Prescott-Russell Inc. d'étudier des façons novatrices de pénétrer de nouveaux marchés d'exportation à l'étranger.

« Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à créer des emplois, à favoriser la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario et à s'assurer que les collectivités francophones continuent à prospérer, a déclaré le député Lemieux. Le financement annoncé aujourd'hui permettra au Groupe Convex de bien comprendre le marché d'exportation en Europe pour les meubles en bois fabriqués dans l'Est de l'Ontario, ce qui pourrait engendrer des avantages à long terme pour l'économie de la collectivité. »

Le Groupe Convex joue un rôle important dans le développement économique communautaire de Prescott Russell. Il consiste en un réseau de neuf entreprises sociales qui emploient plus de 100 personnes. Le Groupe s'est donné comme mission de créer des emplois intéressants, dans le cadre de projets commerciaux, pour les résidents de la collectivité confrontés à des obstacles à l'emploi.

La contribution annoncée aujourd'hui appuiera la rédaction d'un rapport d'analyse du marché pour les entreprises de fabrication de meubles en bois dans la région de Prescott-Russell. Cette analyse permettra au Groupe d'évaluer les possibilités d'exporter ses produits à l'étranger, en particulier en France et en Suisse, deux pays d'Europe qui ont déjà exprimé leur intérêt à l'égard des meubles et accessoires en cèdre et en pin.

« Dans la foulée de nos nouvelles activités axées sur la croissance et le développement, l'entreprise soupçonnait que l'exportation pourrait s'avérer un moyen efficace de créer des emplois, ce qui constitue l'essence de notre mandat, a déclaré Mme Caroline Arcand, directrice générale du Groupe Convex. Grâce à l'Initiative de développement économique, nous pourrons analyser la faisabilité de cette stratégie éventuelle. C'est un excellent programme qui nous aidera à prendre les bonnes décisions pour l'avenir. »

L'Initiative de développement économique fait partie de la « Feuille de route pour la dualité linguistique canadienne 2008-2013 : Agir pour l'avenir », la stratégie du gouvernement du Canada en matière de langues officielles. L'Initiative est administrée par FedDev Ontario dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative, le gouvernement fournit des fonds pour promouvoir le développement de nouvelles expertises par l'innovation, la diversification des activités économiques, les partenariats et une aide accrue aux petites et moyennes entreprises dans les collectivités francophones du Sud de l'Ontario. Ces fonds favoriseront la croissance économique des industries francophones, telles que le tourisme, la culture, le savoir et la fabrication.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence du marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Carolyn Savoie
Adjointe parlementaire
Bureau du député Pierre Lemieux
613-996-2909

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date de modification :