Archived — Government of Canada Supports McMaster University Graduates to Start Up Businesses in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
February 24, 2012

Hamilton, Ontario – David Sweet, Member of Parliament for Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, today announced up to $787,500 in Government of Canada funding that will allow McMaster University to provide graduates and graduate students in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) with entrepreneurial skills.

"Our government is committed to creating jobs and supporting economic opportunities in southern Ontario through investing in the ideas of graduates and providing them with the skills necessary to become successful entrepreneurs," said MP Sweet. "This funding for McMaster University will equip the students with the skills needed to bring their innovative, market-driven ideas to life, contributing to the growth of the southern Ontario economy."

The funding is being provided through the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario's Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative, designed to assist graduates and graduate students in STEM fields in developing their business skills and launching or expanding their business ventures in southern Ontario.

McMaster University will use the contribution to provide up to 75 fellowships to eligible STEM students and graduates to help them successfully convert their ideas into new companies and create jobs in southern Ontario.

"This investment in student mentorships is critical to stimulate start-up companies by students who have the ideas and drive to start their own high tech ventures," says David Wilkinson, dean of McMaster's Faculty of Engineering, who expects the funding to assist in the creation of up to 30 companies. "These mentorships are vital components in building the next generation of entrepreneurs and each will give them the fighting chance to succeed."

For more information on the Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative, please refer to the website.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada soutient les diplômés de la McMaster University pour qu'ils puissent démarrer des entreprises dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 24 février 2012

Hamilton (Ontario) – David Sweet, député fédéral d'Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, a annoncé aujourd'hui un financement jusqu'à concurrence de 787 500 dollars de la part du gouvernement du Canada qui permettra à la McMaster University de fournir des compétences en entreprenariat aux diplômés et aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM).

« Le gouvernement est déterminé à créer des emplois et à appuyer la création de débouchés économiques dans le Sud de l'Ontario en investissant dans les idées des diplômés et en leur fournissant les compétences nécessaires pour qu'ils deviennent des entrepreneurs couronnés de succès, a déclaré le député Sweet. Ce financement destiné à la McMaster University permettra d'aider les étudiants à acquérir les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour donner vie à leurs idées novatrices axées sur le marché, ce qui contribuera à la croissance de l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario. »

Le financement est versé dans le cadre de l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, laquelle vise à aider les diplômés et les étudiants des cycles supérieurs dans les domaines des STIM à perfectionner leurs compétences en affaires et à lancer ou faire croître leurs entreprises dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

La McMaster University utilisera la contribution pour attribuer jusqu'à 75 bourses de recherche à des étudiants et des diplômés en STIM admissibles afin de les aider à transformer avec succès leurs idées en nouvelles entreprises et à créer des emplois dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

« Cet investissement dans les activités de mentorat des étudiants est essentiel pour stimuler le démarrage de nouvelles entreprises par les étudiants qui ont des idées et la motivation pour lancer leur propre entreprise de haute technologie, a déclaré David Wilkinson, doyen de la faculté de génie de McMaster, qui prévoit que le financement contribuera à la création d'un maximum de 30 entreprises. Ces activités de mentorat sont des éléments cruciaux dans le développement de la prochaine génération d'entrepreneurs et chacune de ces activités leur donnera la chance de réussir. »

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires, veuillez consulter le site Web.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour obtenir plus d'information, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale, Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date de modification :