Archived — The Government of Canada Invests in Jobs and Growth in Belleville

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
February 24, 2012

Belleville, Ontario — Daryl Kramp, Member of Parliament for Prince Edward-Hastings, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced an investment of up to $1.5 million for Vantage Foods that has attracted new jobs to Belleville and will contribute to long-term growth in the community.

"Our government is pleased to invest in projects that are bringing new economic opportunities to Belleville and other communities across southern Ontario," said MP Kramp. "This investment is another example of how our government is standing behind our manufacturing sector, to create high-value jobs and contribute to growth across our region."

Thanks to an investment of up to $1.5 million through the Prosperity Initiative, Vantage Foods has opened its first processing facility in Ontario, which will produce packaged fresh meat ready to be put directly into the meat case for the Eastern Canadian market. Vantage Foods worked with Loyalist College to hire and train its new 150 workers.

"The support that we received from Feddev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative has helped us establish a presence in Ontario and introduce the latest technologies in processing and food safety. We are thrilled to have created 150 new jobs for area families, and look forward to long term growth and expanding markets for our Belleville operation," Rob Dettlinger, VP Canadian Operations East.

For more information on Vantage Foods, visit www.vantagefoods.net.

The investment announced today supports the Government of Canada's science, technology and innovation agenda, which is focused on increasing the country's productivity, creating jobs and growing the economy.

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy. Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans les emplois et la croissance de Belleville

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 24 février 2012

Belleville (Ontario) – Daryl Kramp, député fédéral de Prince Edward-Hastings, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé un investissement jusqu'à concurrence de 1,5 million de dollars en faveur de Vantage Foods, qui a attiré de nouveaux emplois à Belleville et qui contribuera à la croissance à long terme de la collectivité.

« Notre gouvernement est heureux d'investir dans des projets qui apportent de nouvelles occasions économiques à Belleville et dans les autres collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le député Kramp. Cet investissement est un autre exemple de la façon dont notre gouvernement soutient notre secteur manufacturier pour créer des emplois hautement prisés et contribuer à la croissance de notre région. »

Grâce à un investissement jusqu'à concurrence de 1,5 million de dollars dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité, Vantage Foods a ouvert sa première installation de transformation en Ontario, qui produira de la viande fraîche emballée, prête à être placée directement dans les comptoirs à viande du marché est-canadien. Vantage Foods a travaillé avec le Loyalist College pour embaucher et former ses 150 nouveaux travailleurs.

« Le soutien que nous avons reçu de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario nous a aidés à nous établir en Ontario et à introduire les plus récentes techniques en matière de transformation et de salubrité des aliments. Nous sommes tous très heureux d'avoir créé 150 nouveaux emplois pour les familles de la région, et nous réjouissons à l'avance de la croissance à long terme et de l'expansion des marchés pour notre opération Belleville », a dit Rob Dettlinger, vice-président, Opérations canadiennes, région de l'Est.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Vantage Foods, veuillez consulter le site suivant : www.vintagefoods.net (en anglais seulement).

L'investissement annoncé aujourd'hui soutient le programme des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation du gouvernement du Canada, qui se concentre sur l'augmentation de la productivité du pays, la création d'emplois et la croissance de l'économie.

L'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région. Les demandes sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale, Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date de modification :