Archived — Government of Canada Helps Local Business Increase Productivity

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
March 2, 2012

Collingwood, Ontario — Architectural glass produced in Collingwood will soon be used in more buildings across North America, thanks to a Government of Canada investment of up to $3.71 million announced today by Dr. Kellie Leitch, Member of Parliament for Simcoe-Grey, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

This funding through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative will enable AGNORA Inc. to implement a $7.42 million project to research, develop and produce new lines of architectural glass products.

"Thanks to this funding, AGNORA will establish itself as a major player in the North American market for producing high-end architectural glass," said Dr. Leitch. "Investments in jobs and growth like this one demonstrate our government's commitment to helping companies become more innovative, competitive, and productive."

AGNORA currently produces some of the largest format architectural glass in North America at 130 by 240 inches, or 10.8 by 20 feet. The funding will allow the company to expand its plant, buy new equipment and software, as well as construct a research and development laboratory. This will result in higher quality glass production and more energy-efficient products to support LEED certified building projects.

These improvements will not only position AGNORA to better compete in the North American market against European producers, it will allow local access to products that were only available overseas, which will dramatically reduce the lead time for these products.

"With the FedDev Ontario support, AGNORA will be a world-class manufacturing facility leading in the fabrication of Jumbo Architectural glass products," said Richard Wilson, President, AGNORA.

For more information on the Prosperity Initiative and AGNORA's project, please refer to the backgrounder.

The investment announced today supports the Government of Canada's science, technology, and innovation agenda, which is focused on increasing the country's productivity, creating jobs, and growing the economy.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy.  These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative, and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

–30–

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Contribution to AGNORA Inc.

AGNORA Inc. began operations in June 2011. The company uses glass in block form as its raw material to shape, form and fabricate it into various glass products for its customers including laminated, tempered, painted and insulated glass. AGNORA's customers come from a variety of areas within the construction industry including glaziers, architects, general contractors and competing glass fabricators who do not have the large format capability.

FedDev Ontario is providing AGNORA with a repayable contribution of up to $3,710,000 to help the company expand its production volumes and architectural glass product offerings, increase product quality, and enhance the energy conservation properties of the products. The proposed R&D lab will support AGNORA's certification of products required to support Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED), an internationally-recognized green building certification system.

The company will buy also industry specific production software that will increase productivity, material efficiency and will allow for the production of more complex work. The technology will improve inventory control and maintenance and serve as a customer and job process tracking control system.

The support from FedDev Ontario will give AGNORA a competitive edge in providing innovative architectural glass products to the North American market and is expected to help the company create an additional 30 full-time jobs. More information is available at www.agnora.com.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills that enhance the region's businesses and sectors;
  • diversify the regional economy by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities with the potential to have long-term impacts on regional economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage in the region by creating or expanding economic clusters and enhancing their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada aide une entreprise locale à augmenter sa productivité

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 2 mars 2012

Collingwood (Ontario) — Le verre architectural produit à Collingwood sera bientôt utilisé dans plus de bâtiments partout en Amérique du Nord, grâce à un investissement du gouvernement du Canada d'un maximum de 3,71 millions de dollars. C'est ce que la Dre Kellie Leitch, députée fédérale de Simcoe-Grey, a annoncé aujourd'hui au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État pour l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

Ce financement, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario, permettra à AGNORA Inc. de réaliser un projet de 7,42 millions de dollars en recherche-développement en vue de produire de nouvelles lignes de produits en verre architectural.

« Grâce à cet appui financier, AGNORA va s'imposer comme un acteur majeur sur la scène nord-américaine pour la production de verre architectural haut de gamme, a déclaré la Dre Leitch. Les investissements comme celui-ci dans les emplois et la croissance démontrent l'engagement de notre gouvernement à aider les entreprises à devenir plus innovantes, compétitives et productives. »

AGNORA produit actuellement des plaques de verre architectural parmi les plus grandes en Amérique du Nord, celles-ci pouvant atteindre jusqu'à 130 pouces par 240 pouces, soit 10,8 pieds par 20 pieds. Le financement annoncé aujourd'hui permettra à l'entreprise d'agrandir son usine, d'acheter de nouveaux équipements et des logiciels, ainsi que de construire un laboratoire de recherche-développement. Cet investissement se traduira par une production de qualité supérieure et plus de produits à faible consommation énergétique, qui contribueront à la certification LEED de nombreux projets de construction.

Ces améliorations vont non seulement aider AGNORA à mieux soutenir la concurrence des producteurs européens sur le marché nord-américain, mais aussi donner accès localement à des produits qui ne sont disponibles qu'à l'étranger à l'heure actuelle, ce qui va considérablement réduire les délais d'approvisionnement.

« Avec le soutien de FedDev Ontario, AGNORA deviendra une installation de fabrication de classe mondiale et un leader dans la fabrication de produits en verre architectural de très grand format », a déclaré Richard Wilson, président d'AGNORA.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la prospérité et le projet d'AGNORA, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

L'investissement annoncé aujourd'hui appuie le programme du gouvernement du Canada dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation, lequel vise à accroître la productivité du pays en créant des emplois et en assurant la croissance de l'économie.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale, Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Contribution à AGNORA Inc.

AGNORA Inc. a commencé ses activités en juin 2011. L'entreprise, qui se sert de verre sous forme de bloc comme matière première, fabrique toute une gamme de produits verriers en verre feuilleté, trempé, peint ou isolant. La clientèle d'AGNORA provient de différents secteurs de l'industrie de la construction; elle est composée de vitriers, d'architectes, d'entrepreneurs généraux et même de fabricants concurrents qui n'ont pas la capacité de fabriquer des plaques de verre de grand format.

FedDev Ontario accorde à AGNORA une contribution remboursable pouvant aller jusqu'à 3 710 000 dollars pour aider l'entreprise à augmenter ses volumes de production, à élargir l'éventail de ses verres architecturaux et à améliorer la qualité de ses produits, notamment en matière de conservation d'énergie. Le laboratoire de recherche-développement qu'AGNORA se propose de créer soutiendra la certification LEED de ses produits – LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) étant un système de certification écologique des bâtiments reconnu internationalement.

L'entreprise compte également acheter un logiciel de production spécialisé, qui lui permettra d'augmenter sa productivité et l'efficacité de ses matériaux et de fabriquer des produits plus complexes. En outre, la technologie permettra d'améliorer l'entretien et le contrôle des stocks et servira de système de suivi pour la clientèle et la gestion des travaux.

L'appui financier de FedDev Ontario donnera un avantage concurrentiel à AGNORA dans la fabrication de vitrages commerciaux innovants pour le marché nord-américain, et devrait contribuer à la création de 30 emplois à temps plein. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez le site de l'entreprise à www.agnora.com (en anglais seulement).

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui accroîtront la productivité, la compétitivité et la diversification de l'économie dans la région.

Un financement est accordé aux projets qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • améliorent la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouvelles technologies, procédés et compétences qui améliorent les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario;
  • favorisent la diversification de l'économie régionale en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou de possibilités dans les collectivités et les régions du Sud de l'Ontario qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de la région;
  • mettent en place un avantage concurrentiel en créant ou en élargissant les regroupements économiques et en accroissant leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées de façon continue. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :