Archived — Government of Canada Funding Promotes Economic Growth in Southern Ontario Francophone Communities

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
March 6, 2012

Ottawa, Ontario — Royal Galipeau, Member of Parliament for Ottawa-Orleans, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced an investment of $1.5 million to support activities that will benefit people and businesses located in various francophone communities across southern Ontario.

"The Government of Canada is committed to creating jobs and growth in southern Ontario, and to ensuring that francophone communities can continue to prosper," said MP Galipeau. "The funding announced today will support three provincial organizations that are working to improve the economic foundation in official language minority communities in the region."

Under the Economic Development Initiative, l'Assemblée de la francophonie de l'Ontario (AFO) will receive up to $500,000 to support a youth internship program for southern Ontario, which will allow at least 10 not-for-profit organizations and six businesses to hire an intern.

"AFO is very pleased to be linked to this initiative. The Jeunes stagiaires program will be coordinated by our Centre d'information en ressources financières and it will be instrumental in helping young francophones integrate into the workplace. This initiative also aligns well with the implementation of the Community Strategic Plan of French Ontario," said Peter Hominuk, Director General at AFO.

La Fondation franco-ontarienne will receive up to $500,000 to support the creation of a micro-credit investment fund for francophone entrepreneurs in southern Ontario. The fund will help create an estimated 300 new businesses over the next seven years.

"The Fondation franco-ontarienne is very pleased to receive this 49th endowment funding," said Claude B. Gingras, President of the Fondation franco-ontarienne. "The micro-credit investment fund will allow the Franco-Ontarian business community to actively participate in the economic development of southern Ontario."

The Réseau de développement économique et d'employabilité de l'Ontario (RDÉE Ontario) will receive up to $500,000 to support the hiring of four staff that will provide professional guidance and training for small- and medium-sized businesses within the francophone communities of southern Ontario.

"The RDÉE Ontario is pleased and proud to lead this innovative and unique project for francophones in Ontario," said Nicole Sauvé, Director General of the RDÉE Ontario. "This project, named Affaires et Alliances, is designed to support and respond to the specific needs of the entrepreneurial community through professional coaching for small- and medium-sized businesses."

The Economic Development Initiative is part of the "Roadmap for Canada's Linguistic Duality 2008-2013: Acting for the Future", the Government of Canada's official languages strategy. The initiative is delivered by FedDev Ontario in southern Ontario.

As part of this initiative, the government is providing funding to promote the development of new expertise through innovation, diversification of economic activities, partnerships and increased support to small- and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario francophone communities.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date modified:

Archivé — Le financement du gouvernement du Canada favorise la croissance économique dans les collectivités francophones du Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 6 mars 2012

Ottawa (Ontario) — Royal Galipeau, député fédéral d'Ottawa-Orléans, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé un investissement de 1,5 million de dollars pour soutenir les activités qui profiteront aux particuliers et aux entreprises dans des collectivités francophones du Sud de l'Ontario.

« Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à créer des emplois, à favoriser la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario et à s'assurer que les collectivités francophones continuent à prospérer, a déclaré le député Galipeau. Le financement annoncé aujourd'hui appuiera trois organismes provinciaux qui s'emploient à améliorer le fondement économique dans les collectivités de langue officielle minoritaire dans la région. »

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative de développement économique, l'Assemblée de la francophonie de l'Ontario (AFO) recevra au maximum 500 000 dollars pour appuyer un programme de stages pour les jeunes dans le Sud de l'Ontario, ce qui permettra à au moins 10 organismes à but non lucratif et à six entreprises d'embaucher un stagiaire.

« L'AFO se déclare très heureuse d'être associée à cette initiative. Le programme Jeunes stagiaires sera coordonné par notre Centre d'information en ressources financières et il sera déterminant pour l'intégration des jeunes francophones dans le monde du travail. Par ailleurs, cette initiative s'inscrit parfaitement dans la mise en œuvre du Plan stratégique communautaire de l'Ontario français, » a déclaré monsieur Peter Hominuk, directeur général de l'AFO.

La Fondation franco-ontarienne recevra au maximum 500 000 dollars pour soutenir la création d'un fonds d'investissement pour développer le microcrédit à l'intention des entrepreneurs francophones dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Le fonds aidera à créer quelque 300 nouvelles entreprises au cours des sept prochaines années.

« La Fondation franco-ontarienne est très heureuse d'héberger un 49e fonds de dotation, a dit monsieur Claude B. Gingras, président de la Fondation franco-ontarienne. D'autant plus, que le fonds de micro-crédit permettra à la communauté d'affaires franco-ontarienne de participer activement au développement économique du Sud de la province. »

Le Réseau de développement économique et d'employabilité de l'Ontario (RDÉE Ontario) recevra au maximum 500 000 dollars pour appuyer l'embauche de quatre employés qui dispenseront des conseils professionnels et de la formation aux petites et moyennes entreprises dans les collectivités francophones du Sud de l'Ontario.

« Le RDÉE Ontario est heureux et fier d'être chef de file idéal pour mener un projet innovateur et unique en son genre pour les francophones en Ontario, a affirmé madame Nicole Sauvé, directrice générale du RDÉE Ontario. Ce projet est spécialement conçu pour venir soutenir adéquatement et répondre judicieusement aux besoins spécifiques de la communauté entrepreneuriale via son programme d'accompagnement professionnel des PME, intitulé Affaires et Alliances. »

L'Initiative de développement économique fait partie de la Feuille de route pour la dualité linguistique canadienne 2008-2013 : Agir pour l'avenir, la stratégie du gouvernement du Canada en matière de langues officielles. L'Initiative est administrée par FedDev Ontario dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative, le gouvernement fournit des fonds pour promouvoir le développement de nouvelles expertises par l'innovation, la diversification des activités économiques, les partenariats et une aide accrue aux petites et moyennes entreprises dans les collectivités francophones du Sud de l'Ontario.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence du marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale, Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date de modification :