Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Jobs, Growth and Innovation in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
March 16, 2012

Mississauga, Ontario – The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced a contribution of up to $4,999,575 for the Research Innovation Commercialization Centre that will provide graduates in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) with the skills and support they need to start their own businesses.

"How do we improve lives, create jobs and economic growth? Innovation. Our government recognizes the importance of investing in the ideas of graduates and providing them with the skills necessary to become innovators and successful entrepreneurs," said Minister Goodyear. "Because innovation is about finding a solution to a problem, taking that idea and bringing it to market and getting it adopted by customers. With this funding, the Research Innovation Commercialization Centre will provide mentoring and financial support for 160 innovative new start-up businesses in southern Ontario, which will create jobs and growth for our people and our communities."

The funding is being provided through the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario's Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative, designed to assist graduates and graduate students in STEM fields in developing their business skills and drive them toward commercialization of their product or service idea.

In addition, the Research Innovation Commercialization Centre will use the contribution to provide business skills development and entrepreneurship training to up to 450 graduates, and help them develop their ideas and launch new start-up businesses. This will improve the entrepreneurs' access to the financing and business mentoring needed to commercialize their innovations and successfully manage their businesses.

The Centre has teamed up with the Canadian Innovation Centre and Communitech in Waterloo, MaRS in Toronto, Lead-to-Win in Ottawa, and Conestoga College in Kitchener, to develop and deliver the online tools that will provide learning opportunities and business development support to eligible graduates in all parts of southern Ontario.

"RIC Centre is excited to be providing the VentureStart program, which adds another dimension to our services in helping emerging entrepreneurs shorten the path to market success," said Pam Banks, Executive Director, RIC Centre. "Successful business ventures require the support of an innovation community or ecosystem, and RIC plays an important role in connecting entrepreneurs with critical start-up resources like investment and mentoring."

Entrepreneurs who successfully complete the training may be eligible for up to $30,000 in support to launch their businesses. The Research Innovation Commercialization Centre has deemed 30 entrepreneurs from Ottawa, Toronto and Waterloo as already eligible for support under the program. These entrepreneurs will also continue to receive advisory and business mentoring services.

For more information on the Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879 


Backgrounder

Research Innovation Commercialization Centre

The Research Innovation Commercialization (RIC) Centre was launched in 2008 as a not-for-profit organization supporting the development of innovation and entrepreneurship in Mississauga, Brampton and Caledon. RIC Centre provides commercialization support to help new entrepreneurs and seasoned business people take technical innovations to market.

Through the Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative, FedDev Ontario is contributing up to $4,999,575 for a project coordinated by the RIC Centre that will provide business skills development and entrepreneurship training to 450 graduates in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics, leading to the creation of 160 start-up businesses in southern Ontario.

More information about the RIC Centre is available at www.riccentre.ca.

Scientists and Engineers in Business

Scientists and Engineers in Business is designed to improve the success rate of start-up businesses in southern Ontario by developing business skills of young entrepreneurs in the STEM fields and providing targeted support to help them bring innovative ideas and products to market.

Not-for-profit Organizations

The initiative provides funding to not-for-profit organizations that administer and/or provide:

  • Business skills development programs, such as training workshops, conferences, peer networks and other learning opportunities focusing on skills needed for entrepreneurs who are graduates or graduate students of STEM programs to start a business; and
  • Seed financing and mentoring services to help entrepreneurs launch sciences or engineering-related businesses.

Not-for-profit organizations are eligible to receive funding of up to 50 per cent of their direct eligible costs, to a maximum of $35,000, for each entrepreneur they support. The remaining 50 per cent of costs must be contributed in the form of cash by the entrepreneur. The STEM entrepreneurs' cash contribution may include contributions from other investors recruited by the entrepreneur (e.g. family, friends, other lenders).

Post-secondary Institutions – Commercialization Fellowships

This initiative also provides funding for post-secondary institutions to support up to 50 per cent of the cost of commercialization fellowships up to $30,000 per fellowship. Fellowships must be focused on assisting recent science or engineering graduates and graduate students to commercialize their innovations and start high-technology firms.

Applications will be accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis and applicants will be notified as their projects are approved. All project activities must be completed prior to March 31, 2014.

For more information, please refer to the Initiative Guidelines available on the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans la création d'emplois, la croissance et l'innovation dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 16 mars 2012

Mississauga (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd'hui une contribution allant jusqu'à 4 999 575 dollars pour le Research Innovation Commercialization Centre, qui fournira aux diplômés dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM) les compétences et le soutien nécessaires pour lancer leurs propres entreprises.

« Comment améliorer la vie des gens, créer des emplois et la croissance économique? La réponse tient en un mot : l'innovation. Notre gouvernement reconnaît l'importance d'investir dans les idées des diplômés, et de leur fournir les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour devenir des innovateurs et des entrepreneurs prospères, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Parce que l'innovation porte sur la recherche de solutions à des problèmes donnés : il s'agit de prendre une idée, de la commercialiser et d'amener des clients à l'adopter. Grâce à ce financement, le Research Innovation Commercialization Centre offrira un mentorat et un soutien financier pour 160 nouvelles entreprises en démarrage innovatrices dans le Sud de l'Ontario, ce qui créera des emplois et une croissance pour nos citoyens et nos collectivités. »

Les fonds sont versés dans le cadre de l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires, de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), qui vise à encourager les diplômés et les étudiants des 2e et 3e cycles dans les domaines des STIM à perfectionner leurs compétences en affaires et à les diriger vers la commercialisation de leur idée de produit ou de service.

En outre, le Research Innovation Commercialization Centre utilisera la contribution pour offrir une formation en développement des compétences en affaires et en entrepreneuriat visant à former jusqu'à 450 diplômés, et leur permettre de développer leurs idées et lancer de nouvelles entreprises. Cela viendra améliorer l'accès des entrepreneurs au financement et au mentorat d'affaires nécessaires pour commercialiser leurs innovations et gérer leurs entreprises avec succès.

Le Centre fait équipe avec le Canadian Innovation Centre et Communitech à Waterloo, MaRS à Toronto, Lead-to-Win à Ottawa, et le Conestoga College à Kitchener, pour développer et fournir des outils en ligne qui offriront des possibilités d'apprentissage et un soutien au développement en affaires aux diplômés admissibles de toutes les régions du Sud de l'Ontario.

« Le RIC Centre est ravi de fournir le programme VentureStart, ce qui ajoute une dimension à nos services en aidant les nouveaux entrepreneurs à raccourcir le chemin vers le succès sur le marché, a déclaré Pam Banks, directrice exécutive du RIC Centre. Pour réussir, les entreprises ont besoin du soutien d'une collectivité et d'un écosystème d'innovation, et le RIC joue un rôle important en reliant les entrepreneurs à des ressources de démarrage essentielles comme les investissements et le mentorat. »

Les entrepreneurs qui réussissent la formation peuvent être admissibles à recevoir jusqu'à concurrence de 30 000 dollars pour appuyer le lancement de leurs entreprises. Le Research Innovation Commercialization Centre considère que 30 entrepreneurs d'Ottawa, de Toronto et de Waterloo sont déjà admissibles au soutien en vertu du programme. Ces entrepreneurs continueront également à recevoir des services consultatifs et de mentorat en affaires.

Pour en savoir davantage sur l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence du marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593 5505.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale, Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Research Innovation Commercialization Centre

Le Research Innovation Commercialization (RIC) Centre a été lancé en 2008 comme organisme à but non lucratif appuyant le développement de l'innovation et de l'entrepreneuriat à Mississauga, Brampton et Caledon. Le RIC Centre offre un soutien à la commercialisation afin d'aider les nouveaux entrepreneurs et les gens d'affaires chevronnés à mettre en marché des innovations techniques.

Par l'intermédiaire de l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires, FedDev Ontario contribue jusqu'à concurrence de 4 999 575 dollars pour un projet coordonné par le RIC Centre qui fournira un perfectionnement des compétences en affaires et une formation en entrepreneuriat à 450 diplômés dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques, menant au démarrage de 160 nouvelles entreprises dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

De plus amples renseignements sur le RIC Centre sont disponibles au www.riccentre.ca (en anglais seulement).

Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires

Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires est conçue pour aider à améliorer le taux de réussite des entreprises en démarrage dans le Sud de l'Ontario en développant les compétences en affaires des jeunes entrepreneurs dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM) et en offrant un soutien ciblé afin de les aider à commercialiser des idées et des produits innovateurs.

Organismes à but non lucratif

L'initiative fournit un financement à des organismes à but non lucratif qui gèrent et/ou fournissent :

  • des programmes de perfectionnement des compétences en affaires, comme des ateliers de formation, des conférences, des réseaux de pairs et d'autres possibilités d'apprentissage qui mettent l'accent sur les compétences nécessaires à des entrepreneurs qui sont diplômés ou des étudiants de deuxième et de troisième cycles des programmes des STIM pour lancer une entreprise;
  • un financement de démarrage et des services de mentorat afin d'aider les entrepreneurs à lancer des entreprises liées aux sciences ou à l'ingénierie.

Les organismes à but non lucratif sont admissibles à un financement allant jusqu'à 50 pour cent de leurs coûts admissibles directs, jusqu'à concurrence de 35 000¯dollars, pour chaque entrepreneur qu'ils appuient. L'autre moitié des coûts doit être fournie en espèces par l'entrepreneur. La contribution en espèces de l'entrepreneur STIM peut comprendre des contributions d'autres investisseurs recrutés par l'entrepreneur (p. ex., famille, amis, autres prêteurs).

Établissements postsecondaires — bourses de recherche sur la commercialisation

Cette initiative fournit également des fonds aux établissements postsecondaires afin d'appuyer jusqu'à 50 pour cent des coûts des bourses de recherche sur la commercialisation, jusqu'à concurrence de 30 000 dollars par bourse de recherche. Les bourses de recherche doivent viser l'aide à de récents diplômés et étudiants de deuxième et de troisième cycles en sciences ou en ingénierie à commercialiser leurs innovations et à lancer des entreprises de haute technologie.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées de façon continue, et les demandeurs seront avisés à mesure que leurs projets sont approuvés. Toutes les activités de projet doivent être achevées avant le 31 mars 2014.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices de l'initiative affichées sur le site Web au www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :