Archived — Government of Canada Helps Accelerate Development of Innovative Security Tools

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
March 23, 2012

Toronto, Ontario — The Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Natural Resources and Member of Parliament for Eglinton-Lawrence, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced today an investment of up to $650,000 that will allow Eomax Corp. to grow its export marketing efforts and to accelerate the development of new features for its line of innovative security technologies.

"Through this investment, Eomax will provide professionals working in defence, security, and search and rescue with tools that more effectively protect people and goods." said Minister Oliver. "Our government’s support for companies like this helps to bolster innovation and creates opportunities for jobs and growth in southern Ontario."

Thanks to the Prosperity Initiative investment, Eomax Corp. will enhance its Wolf Pack system, a security technology that allows users to remotely inspect hard-to-reach places. The company will also be able to expand its production capacity by hiring more staff and purchasing equipment for its new facility. By putting in place a global marketing strategy for its products, Eomax Corp. will also be contributing to strengthening Canada’s reputation as a global leader in security technologies.

"The Prosperity Initiative funding has been very helpful to our Company. It has allowed us to more aggressively market our products to potential customers around the globe," said Chief Operating Officer John Denham. "The early response we have received from these potential customers has been very positive, which we believe will lead to significant export sales. They are telling us that they have seen nothing like our products before and can use them in a number of security related applications."

For more information on this project and the Prosperity Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region’s strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region’s businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Patricia Best
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Joe Oliver
Natural Resources Canada
Ottawa
613-996-2007

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Contribution to Eomax Corp.

Eomax Corp. designs and manufactures Wolf Pack, an optical electronic viewing system that includes cameras for use in multiple lighting conditions along with displays and accessories. The Wolf Pack system is currently used by law enforcement, military, search and rescue and border security personnel. It allows the operator to look into hazardous situations while minimizing user risks. Wolf Pack enhances operator safety and effectiveness for police, fire, border security and military personnel.

Thanks to this investment through the Prosperity Initiative, Eomax Corp. will be able to market the Wolf Pack and expand globally in specialty electro-optics markets.

Eomax Corp. will also be able to enhance the following features of its Wolf Pack system by:

  • creating new and enhanced viewing and camera capabilities;
  • improving energy consumption and portability on its light technology; and
  • amplifying the transmission strength of its wireless technology.

For more information on Eomax Corp., visit: www.eomax.com.

FedDev Ontario Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario’s Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills that enhance the region’s businesses and sectors;
  • diversify the regional economy by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities with the potential to have long-term impacts on regional economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage in the region by creating or expanding economic clusters and enhancing their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada aide à accélérer le développement d’outils novateurs dans le domaine de la sécurité

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 23 mars 2012

Toronto (Ontario) — L’honorable Joe Oliver, ministre des Ressources naturelles et député fédéral d’Eglinton-Lawrence, au nom de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d’État responsable de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd’hui un investissement jusqu’à concurrence de 650 000 dollars qui permettra à l’entreprise Eomax Corp. d’accroître ses efforts de commercialisation à l’exportation et d’accélérer le développement de nouvelles fonctions pour sa gamme de technologies de la sécurité novatrices.

« Grâce à cet investissement, Eomax Corp. fournira aux professionnels des secteurs de la défense, de la sécurité et de la recherche et sauvetage des outils plus efficaces pour protéger les personnes et les biens plus efficacement a déclaré le ministre Oliver. Le soutien de notre gouvernement à des entreprises comme celle-ci favorise l’innovation et crée des possibilités d’emplois et de croissance dans le Sud de l’Ontario. »

Grâce à un investissement dans le cadre de l’Initiative pour la prospérité, Eomax Corp. améliorera son système Wolf Pack, qui permet aux utilisateurs d’inspecter à distance des endroits difficiles d’accès. L’entreprise pourra aussi améliorer sa capacité de production en embauchant de nouveaux employés et en achetant de nouveaux équipements pour ses nouvelles installations. En adoptant une stratégie de commercialisation mondiale pour ses produits, Eomax Corp. contribuera aussi à renforcer la réputation du Canada comme chef de file mondial dans le domaine des technologies de la sécurité.

« Le financement reçu dans le cadre de l’Initiative pour la prospérité a beaucoup aidé notre entreprise. Il nous a permis de commercialiser de façon plus agressive nos produits auprès de clients du monde entier, a indiqué M. John Denham, directeur de l’exploitation. Le fait que ces clients nous aient répondu rapidement nous laisse entendre que d’importantes ventes à l’exportation pourraient en découler. » Ils nous disent qu’ils n’ont jamais vu de produits comme les nôtres auparavant et qu’ils peuvent les utiliser pour un certain nombre d’applications liées à la sécurité.

Pour plus de renseignements sur ce projet et sur l’Initiative pour la prospérité, veuillez consulter la fiche d’information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontarioet pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence du marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Patricia Best
Directrice des communications
Bureau de l’honorable Joe Oliver
Ressources naturelles Canada
Ottawa
613-996-2007

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Eomax Corp.

Eomax Corp. conçoit et fabrique le système Wolf Pack, un système de visionnement électronique optique qui comprend des caméras, pouvant être utilisées dans diverses conditions d’éclairage, ainsi que des afficheurs et accessoires. Le système Wolf Pack est actuellement utilisé par les agents d’application de la loi, les militaires, les agents des opérations de recherche et de sauvetage et de la sécurité des frontières. Il permet à l’opérateur d’avoir un aperçu de situations précaires tout en réduisant au minimum les risques de l’utilisateur. Le système Wolf Pack augmente la sécurité des opérateurs et l’efficacité du personnel des corps de police, des services d’incendie, de la sécurité frontalière et des forces armées.

Grâce à cet investissement dans le cadre de l’Initiative pour la prospérité, Eomax Corp. pourra commercialiser son système Wolf Pack et prendre de l’expansion dans les marchés spécialisés des produits optoélectroniques.

Eomax Corp. pourra aussi améliorer les fonctions ci-dessous de son système Wolf Pack en :

  • dotant le système de nouvelles capacités de visionnement et de caméra;
  • améliorant la consommation d’électricité et la portabilité de sa technologie d’éclairage;
  • amplifiant la force de transmission de sa technologie sans fil.

Pour plus de renseignements sur Eomax Corp. veuillez consulter le site : www.eomax.com (anglais seulement).

Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario

L'Initiative pour la prospérité encourage les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements postsecondaires du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront la production, la diversification et la compétitivité accrues dans la région.

Le financement est offert pour des projets qui :

  • améliorent la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouvelles technologies, procédures et compétences qui amélioreront les entreprises et les secteurs dans la région;
  • diversifient l'économie régionale, en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou de possibilités qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique régionale;
  • mettent en place un avantage concurrentiel pour la région en créant ou en élargissant les regroupements économiques et en accroissant leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes de financement sont actuellement acceptées et évaluées dans le cadre d'un processus continu. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme affichées sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario au : www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :