The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative

FedDev Ontario: Driving Innovation Across Southern Ontario

Region: Kingston and Niagara

[A woman's voice speaking over footage]

Southern Ontario is home to a number of world class post-secondary institutions with expertise in research and development. The region also has a large concentration of small and medium-sized enterprises with the need to innovate.

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative was launched by FedDev Ontario to encourage businesses and institutions to work together, to bring big ideas to market and create real opportunities for business growth, innovation and jobs. Queens University and Niagara College are two examples of post-secondary institutions that are collaborating with smalland medium-sized businesses thanks to FedDev Ontario’s support.

[Text on screen – Queen’s University: Funding recipient through the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative]

[Steven Liss – Vice-Principal (Research), Queen’s University, Kingston]

The FedDev Ontario’s Applied Research and Commercialization program helps Queens University’s commitment to stimulate regional and economic development by working with companies to help them bring innovative ideas to the marketplace. Through the Applied Research and Commercialization funding, Queen’s has been able to enter into collaboration with 15 companies. We’re able to bring our knowledge, our resources to help them get the job done.

[Switch to Matt Fair – Operations Manager, Research Casting International, Trenton]

A research casting restores dinosaur skeletons for museums around the world. Our challenge was to communicate with the customer, and we needed some computer expertise to do this.

[Switch to David Rappaport – Professor, School of Computing, Queen’s University]

Research Casting International needed some custom software to improve their ability to do business, so that they could share their information digitally. FedDev Ontario provided the opportunity for our students at this Queen’s school of computing to work on real world problems and it provided a competitive advantage for the company we worked for.

[Switch to Steven Liss]

FedDev Ontario’s investment has allowed to increase our engagement with and our impact in our community.

[Text on screen – Niagara College: Funding recipient through the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative]

[Switch to Marc Nantel – Associate Vice-President – Research & Innovation, Niagara College, Welland]

Niagara College applied for FedDev Ontario funding to better serve the needs of the regions small and medium enterprises. We were able to collaborate with 14 businesses in the region to help them innovate when they would not normally have been able to afford it.

[Switch to David Mumford – Founder, Director Research & Development, WorkTech Inc.]

WorkTech Inc. develops service management software for the public sector. WorkTech had an idea for software, but we didn’t have the skilled people to get it done.

FedDev Ontario has made us more competitive and enabled us to reach new markets.

[Switch to Mark Nantel]

A program like FedDev Ontario allows companies to continue offering their services and stamping out their products, while at the same time working on the next generation of products and services that will ensure they will be successful in the future.

[Switch to woman’s voice speaking over footage]

In its first phase, the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative contributed approximately $14.5 million dollars. And due to its popularity, a one-year extension was announced with funding of up to an additional $15 million.

In the first intake alone, 24 post-secondary institutions collaborated with over 300 businesses across the region. These partnerships are contributing to the development of solutions, promising new innovations and products for southern Ontario, and the world.

[Text on screen - www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca]

[FedDev Ontario identifier and Canada wordmark]

Date modified:

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation

FedDev Ontario : Diriger l’innovation dans le Sud de l’Ontario

[Voix féminine hors champ]

Le Sud de l’Ontario abrite bon nombre d’établissements postsecondaires de calibre international avec un savoir-faire en recherche et en développement. La région possède également une grande concentration de petites et de moyennes entreprises qui ont besoin d’innover.

L’Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation a été lancée par FedDev Ontario en vue d’encourager les entreprises et les établissements à travailler ensemble afin de mettre en marché des idées ambitieuses et de créer de véritables perspectives de croissance, d’innovation et d’emploi. La Queen’s University et le Niagara College sont deux exemples d’établissements postsecondaires qui collaborent avec les petites et moyennes entreprises grâce au soutien de FedDev Ontario.

[Texte à l’écran – Queen’s University : Bénéficiaire du financement grâce à l’Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation]

Steven Liss – Vice-directeur (Recherche), Queen’s University, à Kingston, voix hors champ]

Le programme de recherche appliquée et de commercialisation de FedDev Ontario favorise l’engagement de la Queen’s University qui est de stimuler le développement régional et économique en travaillant avec des entreprises afin de mettre en marché des idées novatrices. Grâce au financement pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, la Queen’s University a pu conclure des ententes de collaboration avec quinze entreprises. Nous sommes en mesure de leur offrir nos connaissances et nos ressources pour les aider à faire leur travail.

[Passer à Matt Fair – Directeur des opérations, Research Casting International, à Trenton

Un groupe de chercheurs restaure les squelettes de dinosaures pour les musées du monde. Notre défi consistait à communiquer avec les clients et nous avions besoin de spécialistes en informatique pour le faire.

[Passer à David Rappaport – Professeur, School of Computing, Queen’s University]

Research Castings International avait besoin de logiciels personnalisés afin de renforcer sa capacité de mener ses affaires et de communiquer son innovation sur le plan numérique. FedDev Ontario a permis à nos étudiants de l’école d’informatique de Queen’s de se pencher sur de vrais problèmes mondiaux, ce qui a permis à l’entreprise pour laquelle nous avons travaillé d’acquérir un avantage concurrentiel.

[Passer à Steven Liss]

L’investissement de FedDev Ontario a permis d’accroître notre engagement et notre influence dans la collectivité.

[Texte à l’écran – Niagara College : Bénéficiaire du financement grâce à l’Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation]

[Voix de Marc Nantel – Vice-président associé – Recherche et Innovation, Niagara College, à Welland, voix hors champ]

Niagara College a présenté une demande de financement à FedDev Ontario afin de remplir les besoins des petites et moyennes entreprises de la région. Nous avons pu collaborer avec quatorze entreprises de la région afin de les aider à innover lorsque, normalement, elles ne pouvaient se le permettre.

[Passer à David Mumford – Fondateur, directeur de la recherche et du développement, WorkTech Inc., à Grimsby]

WorkTech met au point des logiciels de gestion des services pour le secteur public. WorkTech avait une idée de logiciel, mais nous n’avions pas les personnes qualifiées pour le mettre au point.

FedDev Ontario a rendu le logiciel plus compétitif et nous a permis d’atteindre de nouveaux marchés.

[Passer à Mark Nantel]

Un programme comme FedDev Ontario permet aux entreprises de continuer à offrir leurs services et à écouler leurs produits tout en mettant au point la prochaine génération de produits et services qui assureront leur succès dans l’avenir.

[Passer à la femme générique, voix hors champ]

Dans sa première phase, l’Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation a versé des contributions de l’ordre de 14,5 millions de dollars environ. En raison de la popularité de l’Initiative, un prolongement d’une année a été annoncé avec un financement supplémentaire pouvant aller jusqu’à concurrence de 15 millions de dollars.

Dans la première sélection uniquement, 24 établissements postsecondaires ont collaboré avec plus de 300 entreprises de la région. Ces partenariats contribuent à la mise au point de solutions annonçant des innovations et de nouveaux produits pour le Sud de l’Ontario et le monde.

[Texte à l’écran – www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca]

[Identificateur de FedDev Ontario et mot-symbole du Canada]

Date de modification :