Archived — Government of Canada Supports new Francophone Businesses in Simcoe County

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
April 11, 2012

Penetanguishene, Ontario — Bruce Stanton, Member of Parliament for Simcoe North, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced an investment of $68,700 for La Clé d’la Baie en Huronie to help create two francophone businesses in Simcoe County.

“The Government of Canada is committed to creating jobs and growth in southern Ontario, and to ensuring that francophone communities can continue to prosper,” said MP Stanton. “The funding announced today will support the creation of two new francophone businesses in Simcoe County. This will help preserve French language in this community and lead to long-term economic benefits in the region.”

La Clé d’la Baie en Huronie is the largest not-for-profit francophone organization in Simcoe County. Since 1996, they have been working to improve the quality of life of the local French-speaking community.

La Clé d’la Baie would like to thank the Government of Canada for its support,” said Pierre Casault, Acting Executive Director at La Clé d’la Baie en Huronie. “The support provided through the Economic Development Initiative, La Clé will hire a director for 12 months to establish a daycare centre and French immersion summer camp in the community, and to increase the profile of the programs and services currently offered by the organization.”

This investment comes from the Economic Development Initiative, which is part of the “Roadmap for Canada’s Linguistic Duality 2008-2013: Acting for the Future”, the Government of Canada’s official languages strategy. The initiative is delivered by FedDev Ontario in southern Ontario.

As part of this initiative, the government is providing funding to promote the development of new expertise through innovation, diversification of economic activities, partnerships and increased support to small- and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario Francophone communities.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region’s strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region’s businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

James Nicol
Executive Assistant
Office of Bruce Stanton, M.P., Simcoe North
(705) 327-0513

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie la création de nouvelles entreprises francophones dans le comté de Simcoe

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 11 avril 2012

Penetanguishene (Ontario) – Bruce Stanton, député de Simcoe Nord, a annoncé, au nom de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d’État responsable de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario), un investissement de 68 700 $ pour La Clé d’la Baie en Huronie afin de permettre la création de deux entreprises francophones dans le comté de Simcoe.

« Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à créer des emplois, à favoriser la croissance dans le Sud de l’Ontario et à s’assurer que les collectivités francophones continuent à prospérer, a déclaré le député Stanton. Le financement annoncé aujourd’hui appuiera la création de deux nouvelles entreprises francophones dans le comté de Simcoe. Cette initiative permettra de préserver la langue française dans cette collectivité et entraînera des bienfaits économiques à long terme pour la région. »

La Clé d’la Baie en Huronie est le plus grand organisme francophone sans but lucratif du comté de Simcoe. Elle s’emploie, depuis 1996, à améliorer la qualité de vie de la communauté francophone locale.

« La Clé d’la Baie tient à remercier le gouvernement du Canada de son appui, a déclaré Pierre Casault, directeur exécutif intérimaire de La Clé d’la Baie en Huronie. Le soutien financier offert par l’intermédiaire de l’Initiative de développement économique permettra à La Clé d’embaucher un directeur pour une période de 12 mois afin d’établir une garderie et un camp d’été d’immersion en français dans la collectivité et d’accroître le profil des programmes et services qu’on y offre à l’heure actuelle. »

Cet investissement provient de l’Initiative de développement économique, qui fait partie de la Feuille de route pour la dualité linguistique canadienne 2008-2013 : Agir pour l’avenir, la stratégie du gouvernement du Canada en matière de langues officielles. L’Initiative est administrée par FedDev Ontario dans le Sud de l’Ontario.

Dans le cadre de l’Initiative, le gouvernement fournit des fonds pour promouvoir le développement de nouvelles expertises par l’innovation, la diversification des activités économiques, les partenariats et une aide accrue aux petites et moyennes entreprises dans les collectivités francophones du Sud de l’Ontario.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l’économie du Sud de l’Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L’Agence a lancé une série d’initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l’Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence du marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l’établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

James Nicol
Adjoint exécutif
Bureau de Bruce Stanton, député deSimcoe Nord
705-327-0513

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879

Date de modification :