Government of Canada Creating Jobs and Growth in Southern Ontario

For immediate release
April 17, 2012

St. Catharines, Ontario – Rick Dykstra, Member of Parliament for St. Catharines, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced innovative partnerships between Brock University and 13 local small- and medium-sized businesses. Thanks to these partnerships, businesses in southern Ontario will have an opportunity to bring innovative products to market faster and increase their productivity and competitiveness.

“Our Government is investing in innovation to create jobs and help our small businesses grow,” said MP Dykstra. “The partnerships between these companies and Brock University will allow them to work together on projects that will help bring growth and long-term prosperity to southern Ontario.”

Since its launch in 2010, FedDev Ontario's Applied Research and Commercialization initiative has invested more than $14.5 million to support 24 colleges, universities and polytechnics across southern Ontario so they could work with the private sector to bring new products and innovative processes to the marketplace faster. In 2010, Brock University was approved for up to $750,000 to partner with small- and medium-sized businesses on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification.

“We are extremely pleased with the quality and variety of the applicants that have been selected for this initiative,” says Jack Lightstone, President of Brock University. “This program will help to facilitate partnerships and the exchange of ideas between our researchers and homegrown businesses here in Niagara. Initiatives like this are the key to building innovative and versatile regional and Canadian economies.”

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative and Brock University’s partners, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Special Assistant – Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative helps small and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario access applied research and development and pre-commercialization expertise found in post-secondary institutions.

Since its launch in 2010, $14.5 million has been invested through the initiative to support collaborative projects between the 24 participating colleges, universities and polytechnics across southern Ontario so they could work with businesses to bring new products and innovative processes to the marketplace faster.

In December 2011, FedDev Ontario announced the extension of the Applied Research and Commercialization initiative until March 31, 2013 with additional funding to further support innovation efforts in southern Ontario.

In 2010, as part of the original contribution, FedDev Ontario provided Brock University with up to $750,000 to partner with small- and medium-sized businesses on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification. Brock University has partnered with the following 13 businesses:

ASECO Integrated Systems (Oakville)

ASECO Integrated Systems is a leading developer of advanced information systems for the manufacturing industry. The company is collaborating with Brock University to produce an emotionally-intelligent educational game that provides a fun learning environment for children. The game, which adapts to the individual child’s responses and actions, is the first of a number of products to use the emotionally-intelligent software platform. It is expected to go on sale in 2012. For more information, please visit www.aseco.net.

CRS Electronics (Welland)

CRS Electronics is a contract manufacturer for over 50 leading lighting companies. In collaboration with Brock University, the company is investigating a new technique that will convert cool, blue light-emitting diode (LED) lights into warm, white LED lights, to produce more energy-efficient and environmentally-friendly lighting solutions. This project will provide CRS with a new range of products to help them better compete in this sector. For more information, please visit www.crselectronics.com.

Fourgrounds Media Inc. (St. Catharines)

Fourgrounds Media Inc. is a new interactive media production company offering video and web marketing services and solutions. The company is working with Brock University to create a functional online and offline web application to allow the customer to enter data that will generate a multimedia presentation for them. This project will allow Fourgrounds to market this software to businesses and corporate clients who will use it to create custom interactive marketing solutions. For more information, please visit www.fourgrounds.com.

Furi Enterprises Inc. (St. Catharines)

Furi Enterprises Inc. specializes in software development and information technology services. They are collaborating with Brock University to build the “Locationator”, a software development platform that will allow graphic and game designers to develop location-based applications for mobile devices. These applications currently use the same technology that is used for global positioning systems (GPS) in vehicles, but it often performs poorly and is not as effective in these applications. This project will allow Furi Enterprises to become more competitive in this market. For more information, please visit www.furi.ca.

Henry of Pelham Family Estate Winery (St. Catharines)

Henry of Pelham Family Estate Winery is a producer of premium wines made from Ontario-grown grapes. The winery is working with Brock University to improve the acid balance of a signature wine, Baco noir, by using a new process technology that could allow this wine to be better commercialized. Baco Noir has the potential to become a signature grape for Ontario, however, it is known to produce high levels of acid during the growing season. This project is expected to allow the winery to avoid using chemical de-acidification methods, which can take away from wine quality and cause instability issues. For more information, please visit www.henryofpelham.com.

Creekali International Inc. (Ottawa)

Creekali International Inc. (CII) develops new methodologies for large-scale production of hybrid soybean seeds and new soybean varieties for the agricultural industry. The goal of the project with Brock University is to allow CII to test and improve its proprietary production methods, which is expected to generate a more efficient production of hybrid soybean.

morro images Inc.(St. Catharines)

morro images Inc. specializes in visual effects, three-dimensional (3D) computer animation, motion capturing and product development. The company is collaborating with Brock University to develop a Virtual Camera Rig prototype, which will allow their studio team to virtually enter the 3D scene during the motion capture process. This will enhance the filming experience and rapidly reduce the overall motion capture time. This new virtual camera rig will be the first of its kind and will significantly optimize morro images’ in-house productivity and help them expand their clientele. It is scheduled to go on sale in 2012. For more information, please visit www.morroimages.com.

Niagara Prosthetics and Orthotics Corp. (St. Catharines)

Niagara Prosthetics and Orthotics Corp. (NPO) manufactures, fits and sizes orthotic devices, prosthetic limbs and braces for the treatment of a number of symptoms or disorders. Currently, all available braces for scoliosis are very rigid and limit motion in every direction. NPO is working with Brock University to create a unique back brace for the treatment of scoliosis, which will allow patients to move and exercise more comfortably while still providing the necessary support. This brace will be the first of its kind and will provide the patient with an improved treatment regime. For more information, please visit www.niagarapo.ca.

NorthernPharm Inc. (Niagara Falls)

NorthernPharm Inc. designs and synthesizes novel pharmaceuticals and the chemical processes for manufacturing these drugs. The company’s core expertise lies in the development of platinum complex and natural anticancer drugs candidates. The company is working with Brock University to develop the chemical process for manufacturing the generic equivalent of Singulair, an asthma medication. For more information, please visit www.northernpharm.com.

Perseis Partners Inc. (Toronto)

Perseis Partners Inc. designs and manufactures skate boot products, and focuses primarily on selling hockey boots. The company was interested in optimizing and integrating an adjustable hockey skate cuff and lacing system into its current boot design. The goal of the partnership with Brock University is to develop a flexible boot that also provides the support of the current rigid design. A prototype boot has been designed and the initial stages of validation are now complete. The new prototype boot will continue to undergo trials in 2012, and is expected to be commercialized in 2013. For more information, please visit www.perseispartners.com.

Proactive Dealer Solutions (PDS) (St. Catharines)

Proactive Dealer Solutions Canada (PDS) specializes in business development and software design. The company has expanded to include educational technology, and has partnered with Brock University to create interactive storybooks for children. These books include a groundbreaking voice recognition technology that evaluates the child’s reading performance, and offers help when words are pronounced incorrectly. The book provides encouragement and support as the child progresses, and makes learning to read a fun process. The first product is expected to go to market in spring 2012. For more information, please visit www.bdcexperts.com.

Sweet and Sticky Inc. (Niagara Falls)

Sweet and Sticky Inc. is a start-up company that produces Ice Syrup®, a novel and uniquely Canadian food product made from the juice of ice wine grapes. The company is working with Brock University to evaluate the syrup’s antioxidant content and determine potential health benefits. In addition, the product has the potential to further stimulate the agricultural sector in Ontario and to contribute to job creation for the syrup operation as demand for the product increases. For more information, please visit www.icesyrup.com.

Vanchem Performance Chemicals (Burlington)

Vanchem Performance Chemicals manufactures an extensive line of metal coating and wastewater pretreatment chemicals, with a strong focus on green technology. The goal of the project with Brock University is to develop a silicon-based anti-corrosion paint primarily for the automobile industry that not only inhibits corrosion of the underlying metal, but also promotes the adhesion of paint to the metal surface. In today’s current market, the only equivalent coatings typically contain toxic metals such as chromium or phosphates. Silicon compounds simply degrade to sand if released to soil or water, making them more environmentally friendly. For more information, please visit www.vanchem.com.

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada crée emplois et croissance dans le sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 17 avril 2012

St. Catharines (Ontario) – Le député fédéral de St. Catherines, M. Rick Dykstra, au nom de l’honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d’État de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique du Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd’hui, la création de partenariats innovateurs entre la Brock University et 13 petites et moyennes entreprises locales. Grâce à ces partenariats, les entreprises du Sud de l’Ontario pourront mettre des produits novateurs sur le marché plus rapidement et accroître leur productivité et leur compétitivité.

« Notre gouvernement investit dans l’innovation pour créer des emplois et aider nos petites entreprises à croître, a déclaré le député Dykstra. Les partenariats entre ces entreprises et la Brock University leur permettront de travailler ensemble à des projets qui susciteront la croissance et la prospérité à long terme dans le Sud de l’Ontario. »

Depuis son lancement en 2010, l’Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation de FedDev Ontario a investi plus de 14,5 millions de dollars pour soutenir 24 collèges, universités et écoles polytechniques de l’ensemble du Sud de l’Ontario afin que ces derniers collaborent avec le secteur privé en vue de mettre plus rapidement sur le marché des produits et des procédés novateurs. En 2010, la Brock University a reçu une contribution maximale de 750 000 dollars pour créer des partenariats avec les petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre d’activités dans les secteurs de la recherche appliquée, de la conception technique, de la conception de technologies, de mise à l’essai et de certification de produits.

« Nous sommes très heureux de la qualité et de la diversité des demandeurs qui ont été choisis pour cette initiative, a déclaré Jack Lightstone, recteur de la Brock University. Ce programme contribuera à faciliter les partenariats et l’échange d’idées entre nos chercheurs et les entreprises locales de la région du Niagara. Ce genre d’initiatives est essentiel pour bâtir une économie régionale et canadienne polyvalente et innovatrice. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation et sur les partenaires de l’université, veuillez consulter la fiche d’information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l’économie du Sud de l’Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d’emplois et de croissance économique. L’Agence a lancé une série d’initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l’Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l’établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus d'information, veuillez vous adresser à :

Stephanie Thomas
Adjointe spéciale – Communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation permet aux petites et moyennes entreprises qui n'ont pas de capacité de recherche-développement (R-D) appliquée et de précommercialisation de tirer parti du savoir-faire des établissements postsecondaires du Sud de l'Ontario.

Depuis son lancement en 2010, 14,5 millions de dollars ont été investis dans le cadre de cette initiative pour financer des projets de collaboration entre 24 collèges, universités et écoles polytechniques participants de l’ensemble du Sud de l’Ontario afin de travailler avec le secteur privé en vue de mettre plus rapidement sur le marché des produits et des procédés novateurs.

En décembre 2011, FedDev Ontario a annoncé la prolongation de l’Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation jusqu’au 31 mars 2013 en accordant un financement supplémentaire en vue d’appuyer davantage les efforts d’innovation dans le Sud de l’Ontario.

En 2010, dans le cadre de sa contribution initiale, FedDev Ontario a accordé à la Brock University jusqu’à concurrence de 750 000 dollars pour établir des partenariats avec les petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre d’activités de recherche appliquée, de conception technique, de conception de technologies, de mise à l’essai et de certification de produits. La Brock University a établi des partenariats avec les 13 entreprises suivantes.

ASECO Integrated Systems (Oakville)

ASECO Integrated Systems est un chef de file en développement de systèmes d’information à la fine pointe dans le secteur de la fabrication. L’entreprise collabore avec la Brock University afin de produire un jeu éducatif « émotionnellement intelligent » qui procure un environnement d’apprentissage amusant pour les enfants. Le jeu, qui s’adapte aux réactions et actions de l’enfant, est le premier d’une série de produits à utiliser une plateforme logicielle « émotionnellement intelligente ». Il sera mis sur le marché en 2012. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site www.aseco.net (en anglais seulement).

CRS Electronics (Welland)

CRS Electronics est un sous-traitant pour plus de 50 grandes compagnies d'éclairage. En collaboration avec la Brock University, cette compagnie est en train de mettre à l’essai une nouvelle technique qui convertira les lumières à diodes électroluminescentes (DEL) bleues, et froides, en lumières DEL blanches, et chaudes, afin de produire des solutions d’éclairage plus écoénergétiques et écologiques. Ce projet mettra à la disposition de l’entreprise CRS toute une nouvelle gamme de produits qui lui permettra d’être plus concurrentielle dans ce secteur. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site www.crselectronics.com (en anglais seulement).

Fourgrounds Media Inc. (St. Catharines)

Fourgrounds Media Inc. est une nouvelle entreprise de production de médias interactifs offrant des services et des solutions de marketing pour les vidéos et les applications Web. Elle collabore avec la Brock University afin de créer une application fonctionnelle Web en ligne et hors ligne qui permettra au client d’entrer des données pouvant produire une présentation multimédia. Ce projet permettra à Fourgrounds de commercialiser ce logiciel auprès d’entreprises et de clients corporatifs qui l’utiliseront pour créer des solutions de commercialisation interactives et personnalisées. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site www.fourgrounds.com (en anglais seulement).

Furi Enterprises Inc.(St. Catharines)

Furi Enterprises Inc. se spécialise dans des services de développement de logiciels et de technologies de l’information. Elle collabore avec la Brock University afin de développer une application « Locationator », une plateforme de développement de logiciels qui permettra aux graphistes et aux concepteurs de jeux de développer des applications basées sur la localisation destinées aux appareils mobiles. Ces applications utilisent actuellement la même technologie que celle des systèmes de localisation GPS dans les véhicules, laquelle est peu performante et peu efficace dans ces applications. Ce projet permettra à Furi Enterprises d’être plus concurrentielle dans ce marché. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le www.furi.ca (en anglais seulement).

Henry of Pelham Family Estate Winery (St. Catharines)

Henry of Pelham Family Estate Winery est un producteur de vin haut de gamme fabriqué à partir du raisin cultivé en Ontario. L’établissement vinicole collabore avec la Brock University afin d’améliorer l’équilibre acide d’un cépage de marque homologuée, le baco noir, en utilisant un nouveau procédé technologique qui permettra de mieux le commercialiser. Le baco noir a le potentiel de devenir un cépage de renom pour l’Ontario, cependant, il est reconnu pour produire des taux élevés d’acidité au cours de la période de végétation. Ce projet permettra aux producteurs de vin d’éviter d’utiliser des méthodes de désacidification chimique, qui peuvent nuire à la qualité du vin et causer des problèmes d’instabilité. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le www.henryofpelham.com (en anglais seulement).

Creekali International Inc. (Ottawa)

Creekali International Inc. (CII) développe de nouvelles méthodes de production à grande échelle de graines de soja hybrides et une nouvelle variété de soja pour l’industrie agricole. Le projet a pour but, avec la participation de la Brock University, de permettre à Creekali International Inc. de mettre à l’essai et d’améliorer ses méthodes de production exclusives, qui doivent engendrer une production plus efficace de soja hybride.

morro images Inc. (St. Catharines)

morro images Inc. se spécialise dans les effets visuels, l’animation informatique tridimensionnelle (3D), la capture du mouvement et l’élaboration de produits. L’entreprise collabore avec la Brock University afin de mettre au point un prototype de support de caméra virtuelle, qui permettra à son équipe de studio d’entrer virtuellement dans la scène en 3D lors de la capture du mouvement. Cela améliorera l’expérience cinématographique et réduira rapidement le temps global de capture du mouvement. Le nouveau support de caméra virtuelle sera le premier du genre et augmentera de manière significative la productivité interne des images morro, ce qui aura pour effet d’augmenter sa clientèle. Il sera mis sur le marché en 2012. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le www.morroimages.com (en anglais seulement).

Niagara Prosthetics and Orthotics Corp. (St. Catharines)

Niagara Prosthetics and Orthotics Corp. (NPO) fabrique, ajuste et dimensionne des orthèses, des membres artificiels et des appareils orthopédiques pour le traitement d’un certain nombre de symptômes ou de maladies. À l’heure actuelle, tous les appareils orthopédiques pour la scoliose sont très rigides et limitent le mouvement dans tous les sens. L’entreprise collabore avec la Brock University afin de créer un appareil orthopédique unique pour soigner la scoliose, ce qui permettra aux patients de bouger et de faire de l’exercice tout en se sentant plus à l’aise avec le soutien nécessaire. Cet appareil sera le premier du genre et offrira au patient un régime de soins amélioré. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le www.niagarapo.ca (en anglais seulement).

NorthernPharm Inc. (Niagara Falls)

NorthernPharm Inc. conçoit et synthétise de nouveaux produits pharmaceutiques ainsi que des procédés chimiques pour la fabrication de ces médicaments. L’entreprise se spécialise dans le développement de médicaments anticancéreux complexes de platine et naturels. L’entreprise collabore avec la Brock University afin de mettre au point un processus chimique visant le développement d’un médicament générique équivalant à Singulair, un médicament pour soigner l’asthme. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le www.northernpharm.com (en anglais seulement).

Perseis Partners Inc. (Toronto)

Perseis Partners Inc. conçoit et fabrique des produits de chaussure de patin et se concentre principalement sur la vente de chaussures de hockey. L’entreprise désirait optimiser et intégrer un système de bracelet et de laçage de patin de hockey ajustable dans la conception actuelle de la chaussure. Le partenariat avec la Brock University avait pour but de mettre au point une chaussure souple qui offre aussi un soutien à la conception rigide actuelle. Une chaussure prototype a été conçue et les étapes initiales de validation sont maintenant terminées. La nouvelle chaussure prototype continuera de subir des essais en 2012 et sera commercialisée en 2013. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le www.perseispartners.com (en anglais seulement).

Proactive Dealer Solutions (PDS) (St. Catharines)

Proactive Dealer Solutions Canada (PDS) se spécialise dans la prospection de clientèle et la conception de logiciels. L’entreprise a pris de l’essor et s’est lancée dans la technologie éducative. Elle a établi un partenariat avec la Brock University afin de créer des recueils de contes interactifs pour enfants. Ces recueils comportent une technologie de reconnaissance de la voix à la fine pointe qui évalue les progrès de l’enfant en lecture et offre de l’aide lorsque les mots sont prononcés incorrectement. Le recueil prodigue des encouragements et un soutien au fur et à mesure que l’enfant progresse, et fait de l’apprentissage de la lecture un processus amusant. Le premier produit sera mis sur le marché au printemps 2012. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le www.bdcexperts.com (en anglais seulement).

Sweet and Sticky Inc. (Niagara Falls)

Sweet and Sticky Inc. est une entreprise à ses débuts qui produit de l’Ice Syrup®, un produit alimentaire nouveau et unique au pays fait à l’aide du jus du raisin du vin de glace. L’entreprise collabore avec la Brock University afin d’évaluer le contenu antioxydant du sirop et de déterminer les avantages potentiels pour la santé. En outre, le produit peut stimuler davantage le secteur agricole de l’Ontario et contribuer à la création d’emplois dans l’exploitation du sirop, compte tenu de la demande accrue pour ce produit. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le www.icesyrup.com (en anglais seulement).

Vanchem Performance Chemicals (Burlington)

Vanchem Performance Chemicals fabrique une vaste gamme de produits de revêtement métallique et de prétraitement des eaux usées en mettant l’accent sur la technologie verte. Le projet a pour but, avec la collaboration de la Brock University, de mettre au point une peinture anticorrosive à base de silicone destinée principalement à l’industrie automobile, laquelle empêche non seulement la corrosion du métal sous-jacent, mais favorise l’adhésion de la peinture à la surface métallique. Dans le marché d’aujourd’hui, les revêtements équivalents contiennent généralement des métaux toxiques tels que le chrome ou les phosphates. Les composés de silicone se dégradent simplement en sable s’ils sont libérés dans le sol ou l’eau, les rendant ainsi sans danger pour l’environnement. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le www.vanchem.com (en anglais seulement).

Date de modification :