Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovative Technologies to Bring Jobs and Growth to Niagara

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
April 27, 2012

A demonstration taking place at the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre

(l-r) A demonstration taking place at the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre – Reiner Schmidt, Harvest Robotics, MP Allison, Minister Nicholson and Koshy Mathew, Harvest Robotics
Source : FedDev Ontario

Vineland Station, Ontario—The Government of Canada is investing $2.5 million in the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre to support the development of innovative horticultural technologies. The Honourable Rob Nicholson, P.C., Q.C., Member of Parliament for Niagara Falls, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), accompanied by Dean Allison, Member of Parliament for Niagara West-Glanbrook, made the announcement today.

"Our government's top priority remains creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for Canadians," said Minister Nicholson. "This investment will help Canada's horticulture industry become more competitive, and open new markets to businesses participating in this project."

"Our government is proud to support Vineland Research and Innovation Centre in its work to develop innovative technologies that will increase profitability for growers," said MP Allison. "This investment supports the agricultural sector, and horticulture in particular, which is an important driver of Canada's economic growth."

This contribution is provided through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative. Vineland Research and Innovation Centre will work with local businesses to develop and commercialize two promising horticultural innovations: a robotic automation system for use in greenhouses and nurseries and a frost protection system for use in vineyards, orchards and fields. In addition to supporting economic growth and diversification in the region, this investment will help horticultural operators in Canada and abroad reduce the costs associated with labour and spoilage.

"With investment from FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, Vineland has brought together partners in technology and automation from non-agricultural sectors to address labour efficiency issues, one of horticulture's largest challenges. This is innovation working at its best - new partners and proven ideas to address some of the unique planting and harvesting challenges that are common to our industry," said Jim Brandle, CEO, Vineland Research and Innovation Centre.

For more information on this project and the Prosperity Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

The investment announced today supports the Government of Canada's science, technology, and innovation agenda, which is focused on increasing the country's productivity, creating jobs, and growing the economy.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative, and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

Contribution to Vineland Research and Innovation Centre

FedDev Ontario is providing Vineland Research and Innovation Centre (Vineland) with a non-repayable contribution of up to $2,511,035 through its Prosperity Initiative. This investment will allow Vineland to work collaboratively with a number of horticultural and local technology companies to help bring two innovative technologies to market. Vineland is also working with Niagara College to place students on these projects.

Adapting robotics and automation to horticultural use

In partnership with AEMK Systems, Anoven, Cambridge Metal Products, John G. Wilson Machine Ltd and Niagara College, Vineland will be adapting existing robotic technologies for use in greenhouses and nurseries to automate the packaging of potted flowers, the planting of bulbs and seedlings, as well as the harvesting of mushrooms.

Other local businesses have committed resources to this project, such as Sunrise Greenhouses, Monaghan Mushrooms and Pioneer Flower Farms.

This project investment will allow Vineland to increase its expertise in automation and engineering, which it will be able to offer other industry partners in the future. In addition, this technology will help the local horticultural industry improve its productivity and cost competitiveness, while the project partners will benefit from new sales opportunities.

Extending frost protection technology to new horticulture uses

Tempwave technology is a system that prevents frost damage by using radio frequency waves to maintain a specific temperature in crops and plants without heating the surrounding air. Vineland plans to work with its designer, Raytheon, to optimize the technology for use on a wide range of tender fruits, including grapes, peaches and apricots, as well as diverse terrains.

This project will allow Vineland to build its expertise and reputation in frost protection. In addition, this technology will help the local horticultural industry by creating a new cost-effective frost protection system that will help minimize crop losses, while the project partners will benefit from new sales opportunities.

For more information, please visit http://vinelandresearch.com.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity, by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills to enhance businesses and sectors in southern Ontario to achieve higher output in relation to their investments;
  • diversify the regional economy, by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities in southern Ontario communities or regions with the potential to have long-term impacts on their economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario, by building on the assets and strengths of southern Ontario businesses and regions to create or expand economic clusters and enhance their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie la technologie et les techniques de pointe afin de créer des emplois et de générer la croissance à Niagara

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 27 avril 2012

Une démonstration technologique au Vineland Research and Innovation Centre

(g-d) Une démonstration technologique au Vineland Research and Innovation Centre – Reiner Schmidt de Harvest Robotics, député Allison, ministre Nicholson et Koshy Mathew de Harvest Robotics
Source : FedDev Ontario

Vinland Station (Ontario) — Le gouvernement du Canada investit 2,5 millions de dollars dans le Vineland Research and Innovation Centre pour appuyer le développement de techniques horticoles de pointe novatrices. Le député fédéral de Niagara Falls et ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada, l'honorable Rob Nicholson, C.P., c.r., en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui, au nom du ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), l'honorable Gary Goodyear. M. Nicholson était accompagné du député fédéral de Niagara-Ouest–Glanbrook, M. Dean Allison.

« La priorité absolue de notre gouvernement demeure la création d'emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme pour les Canadiens, a déclaré le ministre Nicholson. Cet investissement permettra à l'industrie horticole du Canada d'être plus concurrentielle et ouvrira de nouveaux marchés aux entreprises qui participent à ce projet. »

« Notre gouvernement est fier d'appuyer les efforts déployés par le Vineland Research and Innovation Centre pour développer des techniques de pointe novatrices qui augmenteront les profits des producteurs, a affirmé le député Allison. Cet investissement appuie le secteur de l'agriculture, et de façon particulière celui de l'horticulture, qui représente un moteur important de la croissance économique du Canada. »

Ces fonds proviennent de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario. Le Vineland Research and Innovation Centre travaillera avec les entreprises locales au développement et à la commercialisation de deux innovations horticoles prometteuses : un système automatisé de robotique pour les serres et les pépinières ainsi qu'un système de protection contre le gel qui servira dans les vignes, les vergers et les champs. En plus de soutenir la croissance et la diversification économiques dans la région, cet investissement aidera les producteurs horticoles du Canada et de l'étranger à réduire les coûts liés à la main-d'œuvre et à la détérioration.

« Grâce à l'aide financière de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario, le centre de recherches a réuni des partenaires issus de secteurs non-agricoles et spécialisés dans le domaine des techniques de pointe et de l'automatisation pour faire face aux difficultés liées à l'efficience de la main d'œuvre, qui constituent l'un des plus grands défis en horticulture. Voilà l'innovation à son meilleur : de nouveaux partenaires et des idées éprouvées pour résoudre certains défis uniques liés à la plantation et à la récolte qui sont communs dans notre industrie », explique le président-directeur général du Vineland Research and Innovation Centre, M. Jim Brandle.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de ce projet et de l'Initiative pour la prospérité, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

L'investissement annoncé aujourd'hui soutient le programme des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation du Canada, qui est axé sur l'augmentation de la productivité, la création d'emplois et la croissance économique du pays.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

– 30 –

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

Aide financière accordée au Vineland Research and Innovation Centre

FedDev Ontario accorde au Vineland Research and Innovation Centre (Vineland) une contribution non remboursable pouvant atteindre 2 511 035 dollars par l'entremise de son Initiative pour la prospérité. Cet investissement permettra à Vineland de collaborer avec des entreprises horticoles et des entreprises technologiques locales afin de commercialiser deux techniques de pointe novatrices. Vineland travaille aussi avec le Niagara College en vue de l'embauche d'étudiants dans ces projets.

La robotique et l'automatisation mise au service de l'horticulture

En partenariat avec AEMK Systems, Anoven, Cambridge Metal Products, John G. Wilson Machine Ltd et le Niagara College, Vineland adaptera les techniques robotiques de pointe actuelles aux besoins des serres et des pépinières afin d'automatiser l'emballage des fleurs en pots, la plantation des bulbes et des semis, ainsi que la récolte des champignons.

D'autres entreprises locales, dont Sunrise Greenhouses, Monaghan Mushrooms et Pioneer Flower Farms, ont engagé des ressources dans le projet.

L'aide financière accordée au projet permettra à Vineland d'accroître son expertise en automatisation et en ingénierie, et de l'offrir par la suite à d'autres partenaires de l'industrie. En outre, cette technique de pointe contribuera à accroître la productivité et la compétitivité des coûts de l'industrie horticole locale et permettra aux partenaires du projet de bénéficier de nouvelles possibilités de ventes.

Nouvelles utilisations de la technologie en matière de protection contre le gel en horticulture

La technique de pointe Tempwave est un système qui prévient les dommages causés par le gel en utilisant des ondes radioélectriques pour maintenir les plantes et les récoltes à une température particulière sans réchauffer l'air ambiant. Vineland compte aussi travailler avec son concepteur, Raytheon, afin d'optimiser la technique aux fins d'utilisation avec divers fruits fragiles, comme les raisins, les pêches et les abricots, et sur divers types de terrains.

Ce projet permettra à Vineland de consolider son expertise et sa réputation dans le domaine de la protection contre le gel. De plus, cette technique de pointe aidera l'industrie horticole locale en offrant un nouveau système de protection économique contre le gel qui contribuera à réduire la perte de récoltes et permettra aux partenaires du projet de bénéficier de nouvelles possibilités de ventes.

Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous à http://vinelandresearch.com (en anglais seulement).

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région.

Un financement est accordé aux projets qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • améliorer la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouvelles technologies, procédés et compétences qui améliorent les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario;
  • favoriser la diversification de l'économie régionale en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou de possibilités qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de la région;
  • mettre en place un avantage concurrentiel dans la région en créant ou en élargissant les regroupements économiques et en accroissant leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées de façon continue. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : http://www.feddevontario.gc.ca/

Date de modification :