Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Jobs, Growth and Innovation in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
May 7, 2012

Toronto, Ontario – Wladyslaw Lizon, Member of Parliament for Mississauga East-Cooksville, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced a contribution of up to $787,500 for The Next 36 that will provide graduates in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) with the skills and support they need to start their own businesses.

"Our government is investing in the ideas of STEM graduates and graduate students to provide them with the skills they need to become successful entrepreneurs," said MP Lizon. "With this funding, The Next 36 will help create 30 new STEM-based businesses in southern Ontario, and 90 new highly skilled jobs. This project will have a significant positive impact on our region, creating jobs for our people, and growth for our communities."

The funding is being provided through the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario's Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative, designed to assist graduates and graduate students in the STEM fields in developing their business skills and support their efforts to commercialize innovative products and ideas.

The investment will allow The Next 36 to provide business and entrepreneurship training, as well as access to seed financing, for 10 STEM graduates per year for the next three years. This will allow them to launch and manage their start-up businesses. Each participant in the program will be matched with complementary mentors and given the leadership, academic foundation, business skills workshops, and networks needed to increase their likelihood of becoming successful entrepreneurs.

"Canadian prosperity depends on our ability to generate high impact entrepreneurs to drive this country forward," said Claudia Hepburn, co-founder and Executive Director of The Next 36. "This funding will help The Next 36 transform Canada's most promising students into entrepreneurs and nation builders who see opportunities where others see roadblocks."

For more information on The Next 36 and the Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Backgrounder

The Next 36

The Next 36 is a not-for-profit organization located in Toronto that strives to help launch the careers of Canada's most promising and innovative undergraduates. The organization identifies these students through a rigorous national selection process, and gives them the academic foundation, practical skills, role models and networks to become Canada's next generation of entrepreneurial leaders. Participants, including graduates in the STEM fields (science, technology, engineering, and math), build Ontario-incorporated ventures together, while living, studying and working at the University of Toronto.

Through the Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative, FedDev Ontario is contributing up to $787,500 for a project coordinated by The Next 36 that will provide 30 STEM graduates and entrepreneurs with training, advisory services and seed financing to launch new start-up businesses in southern Ontario. These new businesses are projected to create 90 new jobs in the STEM fields.

More information about The Next 36 is available at www.thenext36.ca.

Scientists and Engineers in Business

Scientists and Engineers in Business is designed to improve the success rate of start-up businesses in southern Ontario by developing business skills of entrepreneurs in the STEM fields and providing targeted support to help them bring innovative ideas and products to market.

Not-for-profit Organizations

The initiative provides funding to not-for-profit organizations that administer and/or provide:

  • Business skills development programs, such as training workshops, conferences, peer networks and other learning opportunities focusing on skills needed for entrepreneurs who are graduates or graduate students of STEM programs to start a business; and
  • Seed financing and mentoring services to help entrepreneurs launch sciences or engineering-related businesses.

Not-for-profit organizations are eligible to receive funding of up to 50 per cent of their direct eligible costs, to a maximum of $35,000, for each entrepreneur they support. The remaining 50 per cent of costs must be contributed in the form of cash by or on behalf of the entrepreneur. The STEM entrepreneurs' cash contribution may include contributions from other investors recruited by the entrepreneur (e.g.
family, friends, other lenders).

Post-secondary Institutions — Commercialization Fellowships

This initiative also provides funding for post-secondary institutions to support up to 50 per cent of the cost of commercialization fellowships up to $30,000 per fellowship. Fellowships must be focused on assisting recent science or engineering graduates and graduate students to commercialize their innovations and start high-technology firms.

Applications will be accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis and applicants will be notified as their projects are approved. All project activities must be completed prior to March 31, 2014.

For more information, please refer to the Initiative Guidelines available on the web site at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans la création d'emplois, la croissance et l'innovation dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 7 mai 2012

Toronto, Ontario – Wladyslaw Lizon, député de Mississauga Est-Cooksville, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd'hui une contribution allant jusqu'à 787 500 dollars pour The Next 36, qui fournira aux diplômés dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM) les compétences et le soutien nécessaires pour lancer leur propre entreprise.

« Notre gouvernement investit dans les idées des diplômés et des étudiants des cycles supérieurs en STIM pour leur fournir les ressources dont ils ont besoin pour devenir des entrepreneurs prospères, a déclaré le député Lizon. Grâce à ce financement, The Next 36 aidera à la création de 30 nouvelles entreprises axées sur les STIM dans le Sud de l'Ontario, et de 90 nouveaux emplois hautement qualifiés. Ce projet aura une incidence positive considérable sur notre région; il créera des emplois pour nos citoyens et favorisera la croissance de nos collectivités. »

Le financement est versé dans le cadre de l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, laquelle vise à aider les diplômés et les étudiants des cycles supérieurs dans les domaines des STIM à perfectionner leurs compétences en affaires et à soutenir les efforts qu'ils déploient pour commercialiser ces idées et produits novateurs.

L'investissement permettra à The Next 36 de fournir de la formation en affaires et en entreprenariat, ainsi que l'accès à un financement de démarrage, à 10 diplômés en STIM par année durant les trois prochaines années. Ceux-ci pourront ainsi créer et gérer leur jeune entreprise. Chaque participant au programme sera jumelé à des mentors complémentaires et pourra suivre les ateliers sur le leadership, les bases théoriques et les compétences en affaires et avoir accès aux réseaux nécessaires pour accroître ses chances de devenir un entrepreneur prospère.

« La prospérité du Canada dépend de notre capacité de créer des entrepreneurs qui ont un impact important pour faire avancer notre pays, a déclaré Claudia Hepburn, cofondatrice et directrice générale de The Next 36. Ce financement aidera The Next 36 à transformer les étudiants les plus prometteurs du Canada en des entrepreneurs et des bâtisseurs de nation qui voient des possibilités là où d'autres voient des obstacles. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur The Next 36 et l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires, veuillez consulter le document d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-571-6879


Fiche d'information

The Next 36

The Next 36 est un organisme sans but lucratif situé à Toronto qui s'efforce d'aider les étudiants de premier cycle les plus prometteurs et innovateurs du Canada à lancer leur carrière. Cet organisme choisit ces étudiants grâce à un processus de sélection national rigoureux; il leur fournit les bases théoriques, les habiletés pratiques, les modèles et les réseaux pour leur permettre de devenir la prochaine génération de leaders entrepreneuriaux. Les participants, notamment les diplômés des domaines des STIM (sciences, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques), collaborent à la création d'entreprises incorporées en Ontario pendant qu'ils habitent, étudient et travaillent à l'Université de Toronto.  

Grâce à l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires, FedDev Ontario verse une contribution pouvant atteindre 787 500 dollars pour un projet coordonné par The Next 36 qui fournira à 30 diplômés et entrepreneurs en STIM une formation, des services consultatifs et un financement de démarrage afin qu'ils lancent de nouvelles entreprises dans le Sud de l'Ontario. On prévoit que ces nouvelles entreprises créeront 90 nouveaux emplois dans les domaines des STIM.

De l'information supplémentaire sur The Next 36 est disponible à l'adresse suivante : www.thenext36.ca (en anglais seulement).

Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires

Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires est conçue pour aider à améliorer le taux de réussite des entreprises en démarrage dans le Sud de l'Ontario en développant les compétences en affaires des entrepreneurs dans les domaines des STIM et en offrant un soutien ciblé afin de les aider à commercialiser des idées et des produits innovateurs.

Organismes à but non lucratif

L'initiative fournit un financement à des organismes à but non lucratif qui gèrent et/ou fournissent :

  • des programmes de perfectionnement des compétences en affaires, comme des ateliers de formation, des conférences, des réseaux de pairs et d'autres possibilités d'apprentissage qui mettent l'accent sur les compétences nécessaires à des entrepreneurs qui sont diplômés ou des étudiants de deuxième et de troisième cycles des programmes des STIM pour lancer une entreprise;
  • un financement de démarrage et des services de mentorat afin d'aider les entrepreneurs à lancer des entreprises liées aux sciences ou à l'ingénierie.

Les organismes à but non lucratif sont admissibles à un financement allant jusqu'à 50 p. 100 de leurs coûts admissibles directs, jusqu'à concurrence de 35 000 dollars, pour chaque entrepreneur qu'ils appuient. L'autre moitié des coûts doit être fournie en espèces par l'entrepreneur. La contribution en espèces de l'entrepreneur STIM peut comprendre des contributions d'autres investisseurs recrutés par l'entrepreneur (p. ex. famille, amis, autres prêteurs).

Établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire — bourses de recherche sur la commercialisation

Cette initiative fournit également des fonds aux établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire afin d'appuyer jusqu'à 50 p. 100 des coûts des bourses de recherche sur la commercialisation, jusqu'à concurrence de 30 000 dollars par bourse de recherche. Les bourses de recherche doivent servir à aider de récents diplômés et étudiants de deuxième et de troisième cycles en sciences ou en ingénierie à commercialiser leurs innovations et à lancer des entreprises de haute technologie.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées de façon continue, et les demandeurs seront avisés à mesure que leurs projets sont approuvés. Toutes les activités de projet doivent être achevées avant le 31 mars 2014.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices de l'initiative affichées sur le site Web à www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :