Archived — Government of Canada Supports Jobs and Growth on both sides of the Ottawa River

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
May 25, 2012

Quyon, Quebec — The Honourable Gordon O'Connor, MP for Carleton-Mississippi Mills, Minister of State and Chief Government Whip, today announced funding of more than $1 million to help improve the Quyon/Mohr's Landing ferry crossing for residents, businesses and tourists in western Quebec and eastern Ontario.

The Honourable Denis Lebel, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities and Minister of the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec (Canada Economic Development) and the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), who were unable to attend the announcement, are pleased to see this project get underway.

"Our government's first priority remains the economy: creating jobs, economic growth and long-term prosperity," said Minister of State O'Connor. "I'm pleased that our funding will do just that by helping improve ferry service at this busy Ottawa River crossing, increasing business activity and tourism in the surrounding Ontario and Quebec communities."

Canada Economic Development is providing up to $600,000 and FedDev Ontario is providing up to $488,827 for the construction of new ferry docking terminals at Quyon, Quebec and Mohr's Landing, Ontario, approximately 50 kilometres west of Ottawa.

The ferry dock improvements are part of a larger project that also includes replacing two existing propeller-driven ferries with a new larger drive-on and drive-off cable ferry. The new ferry will be able to carry more than 20 vehicles, including tractor trailers, large recreation vehicles and farm equipment. The costs of the new ferry are being covered by Quyon Ferry Inc, as well as the Quebec Ministry of Transportation.

The improvements are expected to generate an increase in traffic and support tourism in the region, especially to Fitzroy Provincial Park. Businesses and residents will also save time and money as the ferry provides a faster alternative compared to a three hour round trip by land.

"Residents and business owners in eastern Ontario and western Quebec are eagerly awaiting the introduction of the new cable ferry. The new ferry will not only provide increased capacity and faster crossing times, but the electrical propulsion system will provide a quiet and reliable movement of people, vehicles and material," said Dwight Eastman, the Chairperson of the Mohr's Landing and Quyon Port Authority.

The financial assistance from Canada Economic Development has been granted through the Economic Development Initiative provided for under the Roadmap for Canada's Linguistic Duality 2008-2013. With its $10.2 million budget over five years, this initiative seeks to foster the economic development of official-language minority communities through a range of activities including innovation, entrepreneurship, partnership and economic diversification. More information is available at www.dec-ced.gc.ca.

The FedDev Ontario funding comes from its Prosperity Initiative, which encourages businesses, not-for-profit organizations, and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects resulting in a more productive, diversified, and competitive economy. More information is available at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Geneviève Sicard
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Denis Lebel
Canada Economic Development
Tel.: 514-496-1282
E-mail: genevieve.sicard@tc.gc.ca

François Bélisle
Communications
Canada Economic Development
Tel.: 819-825-3976
E-mail: francois.belisle@dec-ced.gc.ca

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada soutient les emplois et la croissance des deux côtés de la rivière des Outaouais

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 25 mai 2012

Quyon (Québec) — L'honorable Gordon O'Connor, député fédéral de Carleton-Mississippi Mills, ministre d'État et whip en chef du gouvernement, a annoncé aujourd'hui des fonds de plus de 1 million de dollars pour améliorer la traverse Quyon-Mohr's Landing pour les résidents, les gens d'affaires et les touristes de l'Ouest du Québec et de l'Est de l'Ontario.

L'honorable Denis Lebel, ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités et ministre de l'Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec (Développement économique Canada), et l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), qui n'ont pas été en mesure d'assister à l'annonce, sont heureux de voir que ce projet va de l'avant.

« La première priorité de notre gouvernement demeure l'économie, a indiqué le ministre d'État, Gordon O'Connor. Je me réjouis de voir que le financement servira à cela en aidant à améliorer le service de traversier à la traverse très utilisée de la rivière des Outaouais, ce qui stimulera l'activité commerciale et le tourisme dans les collectivités avoisinantes de l'Ontario et du Québec. »

Développement économique Canada alloue jusqu'à 600 000 dollars, et FedDev Ontario, jusqu'à 488 827 dollars, pour la construction de nouveaux quais d'accostage du traversier à Quyon, au Québec et à Mohr's Landing, en Ontario, à environ 50 kilomètres à l'ouest d'Ottawa.

Les améliorations des quais d'accostage s'inscrivent dans un projet plus vaste qui prévoit aussi le remplacement de deux traversiers à hélices par un nouveau traversier à câble plus grand. Le nouveau traversier sera capable de transporter plus de 20 véhicules, y compris des camions gros porteurs, de grands véhicules récréatifs et de l'équipement agricole. Quyon Ferry Inc. et le ministère des Transports du Québec paieront les coûts du nouveau traversier.

Les améliorations devraient permettre d'accroître la circulation et de stimuler le tourisme dans la région, surtout en direction du Parc provincial Fitzroy. Les gens d'affaires et les résidents économiseront aussi du temps et de l'argent, car il est plus rapide d'emprunter le traversier que de faire trois heures de route.

« Les résidents et les gens d'affaires de l'Est de l'Ontario et de l'Ouest du Québec attendent avec impatience l'entrée en service du nouveau traversier à câble. Ce dernier aura une capacité accrue et fera plus rapidement la traversée. Par ailleurs, le système à propulsion électrique permettra un déplacement plus fiable des gens, des véhicules et du matériel », a fait valoir le président de l'Autorité portuaire de Mohr's Landing et Quyon, M. Dwight Eastman.

Développement économique Canada accorde l'aide financière dans le cadre de l'Initiative de développement économique de la Feuille de route pour la dualité linguistique canadienne 2008-2013. S'appuyant sur un budget de 10,2 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, cette initiative a pour but de favoriser le développement économique des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire par diverses activités, dont l'innovation, l'entrepreneuriat, les partenariats et la diversification des activités économiques. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site www.dec-ced.gc.ca.

FedDev Ontario offre le financement aux termes de l'Initiative pour la prospérité, qui encourage les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Geneviève Sicard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Denis Lebel
Développement économique Canada
Tél. : 514-496-1282
Courriel : genevieve.sicard@tc.gc.ca

François Bélisle
Communications
Développement économique Canada
Tél. : 819-825-3976
Courriel : francois.belisle@dec-ced.gc.ca

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917

Date de modification :