Archived — Government of Canada Invests In Jobs and Long-Term Growth in Guelph

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
May 28, 2012

Guelph, Ontario — Thanks to help from a Government of Canada investment, Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd. will expand its Guelph plant, increasing production capacity and creating 244 new jobs. The announcement was made today by Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our government's first priority is the economy- creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity," said Minister Goodyear. "Thanks to the funding announced today, Hitachi will increase their capacity and introduce new technologies to reach new markets, which in turn will stimulate the local economy."

Through its Prosperity Initiative, FedDev Ontario is providing up to $6,647,000 to help Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd. to expand their plant, buy new equipment and open a product and advanced manufacturing testing centre in Guelph. The company manufactures off-road haul trucks primarily used in the mining industry. The expansion project will result in increased production, changes to the existing models to improve operating costs and reduced emissions as per new guidelines, allowing the company to meet the growing needs of clients around the world.

The benefits of the project will extend to other businesses in the region, as Hitachi buys many of its components from southern Ontario companies. This contribution is expected to create 244 additional jobs at Hitachi by the time the project is complete, as well as strengthen Ontario's manufacturing sector.

"We are very excited with the expansion of the Hitachi Plant in Guelph as this new assembly building is extremely important for ongoing success and future growth. With the recently launched Japanese-designed trucks, our goal is to increase the production volume for these new models as well as increase our current line of construction, quarry and mining size trucks. We believe this complete product offering will allow Hitachi continued growth and solidify our footprint here in Canada. On behalf of Hitachi, I would like to express our appreciation and thanks to the federal government for the funding granted for the plant expansion," stated Hideo Kitawaki, President of Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd.

As the Guelph plant is the head office for the company in the Americas, the new product line must be in compliance with US Environmental Protection Agency regulations regarding engine emissions. The Government of Canada's contribution is contingent on the successful completion of a federal environmental assessment of the proposed project under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.

For more information on FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative and this project, please see the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917


Backgrounder

Contribution to Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd.

Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd. (HTM) manufactures off-road dump trucks, primarily for use in the mining industry all over the world. It also supplies after market parts to support the maintenance and repair of the trucks. In 1994 Hitachi Construction Machinery Co. Ltd. (HCM), the applicant's parent company, began a joint-venture with the previous owner of Euclid Trucks and finally took 100 per cent control of the operations in 2000. In 2004, the company officially changed its name to Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd. but continues to produce some equipment using the technology developed by Euclid. HCM was involved in the production of Japan's first mechanical excavator more than 50 years ago.

HTM has its North American headquarters in Guelph and is the sole supplier of Hitachi mining dump trucks for North America, South America, parts of Europe and Africa.

FedDev Ontario is providing HTM with a repayable contribution of $6,647,000 towards total project costs of $32,959,000 through the Prosperity Initiative for the company's expansion project that involves:

  • Expanding the plant from 20,000 square meters to 33,000 square meters to allow for a reconfigured and optimized production process, and additional office and parking areas to accommodate the expected growth of its labour force;
  • Purchasing new technology and equipment such as welding robots, overhead cranes, a machine centre and a paint centre, which means adding highly skilled positions;
  • Establishing a product and advanced manufacturing testing centre to test prototype components, as well conduct tests on warranty claims. The data will then be used to help improve production quality and product designs.

It is expected that production capacity and manpower at the plant will double over the next three years. It will also have a positive impact on the environment as Hitachi Ltd. has made a public commitment to reduce its carbon footprint by 500 million tons by 2025.

Fore more information on Hitachi, visit http://www.hitachi-c-m.com/global/index.html.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills that enhance the region's businesses and sectors;
  • diversify the regional economy by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities with the potential to have long-term impacts on regional economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage in the region by creating or expanding economic clusters and enhancing their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans les emplois et la croissance à long terme à Guelph

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 28 mai 2012

Guelph (Ontario) — Grâce à un investissement du gouvernement du Canada, Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd. agrandira son usine de Guelph, accroîtra sa capacité de production et créera 244 nouveaux emplois. L'annonce a été faite aujourd'hui par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« L'économie, la création d'emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme constituent la première priorité de notre gouvernement, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Grâce au financement annoncé aujourd'hui, Hitachi accroîtra sa capacité de production et adoptera de nouvelles techniques de pointe pour développer de nouveaux marchés, ce qui en contrepartie stimulera l'économie locale. »

Dans le cadre de son Initiative pour la prospérité, FedDev Ontario investit jusqu'à concurrence de 6 647 000 de dollars pour aider Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd. à agrandir son usine, à acheter du nouveau matériel et à ouvrir un centre d'essai de nouveaux produits manufacturiers à Guelph. L'entreprise fabrique des camions de transport hors route utilisés par l'industrie minière. Le projet d'agrandissement permettra d'accroître la production, de modifier les modèles actuels de façon à améliorer leurs coûts opérationnels et à réduire leurs émissions, conformément aux nouvelles lignes directrices, permettant ainsi à l'entreprise de satisfaire aux besoins croissants de ses clients partout dans le monde.

D'autres entreprises de la région tireront parti du projet, étant donné qu'Hitachi achète un grand nombre de ses pièces d'entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario. Cette contribution devrait créer 244 emplois supplémentaires chez Hitachi d'ici la fin du projet, tout en renforçant le secteur manufacturier de l'Ontario.

« Cet agrandissement de l'usine d'Hitachi située à Guelph nous enthousiasme beaucoup, du fait que ce hall d'assemblage revêt une très grande importance pour notre réussite continue et notre croissance future. Avec le dernier lancement des camions de conception japonaise, notre objectif consiste à accroître le volume de production de ces nouveaux modèles ainsi qu'à augmenter notre gamme actuelle de camions conçus pour les secteurs de la construction, des carrières et des mines. Nous estimons que cette gamme complète de produits permettra à Hitachi de continuer à croître et à renforcer sa présence ici au Canada. Au nom d'Hitachi, j'aimerais faire part de notre reconnaissance et de nos remerciements au gouvernement fédéral pour les fonds accordés en vue de l'agrandissement de notre usine », a déclaré M. Hideo Kitawaki, président d'Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd.

Du fait que l'usine de Guelph est le siège social de l'entreprise dans toute l'Amérique, la nouvelle gamme de produits doit être conforme à la réglementation de l'Environment Protection Agency des États-Unis sur les émissions de moteurs. La contribution du gouvernement du Canada est conditionnelle à la réussite d'une évaluation environnementale fédérale du projet proposé, en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario et sur le projet, veuille consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd.

Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd. (HTM) fabrique des camions à benne hors route, particulièrement pour l'industrie minière partout dans le monde. L'entreprise fournit aussi des pièces après fabrication pour l'entretien et la réparation des camions. En 1994, Hitachi Construction Machinery Co. Ltd. (HCM), la société mère du demandeur, a conclu une entente de coentreprise avec le propriétaire d'alors d'Euclid Trucks, pour finalement prendre le contrôle de l'ensemble des opérations en 2000. En 2004, l'entreprise a officiellement changé son nom pour Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing Ltd., mais a continué à fabriquer certains équipements à l'aide de la technologie mise au point par Euclid Trucks. HCM a participé à la production du premier excavateur mécanique japonais il y a plus de 50 ans.

HTM a son siège social nord-américain à Guelph et est le fournisseur unique de camions à benne Hitachi pour l'industrie minière en Amérique du Nord, en Amérique du Sud, dans certains pays d'Europe et en Afrique.

FedDev Ontario accorde à HTM une contribution remboursable de 6 647 000 dollars pour un projet d'agrandissement d'une valeur totale de 32 959 000 millions de dollars, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité. Dans le cadre de ce projet, l'entreprise :

  • agrandira l'usine, qui passera de 20 000 mètres carrés à 33 000 mètres carrés, ce qui permettra de reconfigurer et d'optimiser le processus de production et d'ajouter des bureaux et des espaces de stationnement puisque l'on s'attend à ce que la population active augmente;
  • achètera de nouvelles techniques de pointe et du nouvel équipement, comme des robots de soudage, des ponts roulants, un atelier de mécanographie et un centre de peinture, ce qui requerra le recours aux services de travailleurs hautement qualifiés;
  • créera un centre d'essai des nouveaux produits manufacturiers pour mettre à l'essai des prototypes de pièces et vérifier les réclamations au titre de la garantie. On utilisera les données amassées pour aider à améliorer la qualité de la production et la conception de produits.

La capacité de l'usine et le nombre de travailleurs devraient doubler au cours des trois prochaines années. Les répercussions sur l'environnement seront aussi positives, du fait qu'Hitachi Ltd. s'est engagée publiquement à réduire son empreinte carbonique de 500 millions de tonnes d'ici 2025.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Hitachi, veuillez visiter le site : http://www.hitachi-c-m.com/global/index.html. (en anglais seulement)

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région.

Un financement est accordé aux projets qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • améliorer la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouveaux procédés, de nouvelles technologies et compétences qui améliorent les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario;
  • favoriser la diversification de l'économie régionale en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou de possibilités qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de la région;
  • mettre en place un avantage concurrentiel dans la région en créant ou en élargissant les regroupements économiques et en accroissant leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour en savoir plus et pour soumettre une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : http://www.feddevontario.gc.ca/

Date de modification :