Archived — Government of Canada Connects Science and Technology Graduates with Businesses

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
June 27, 2012

Toronto, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced a Government of Canada contribution of up to $4,185,000 to the University of Toronto Engineering Career Centre. This contribution will give valuable internships to recent graduates, while the businesses will benefit from the technical and scientific knowledge these graduates offer.

"Our government is committed to creating jobs, growth and long-prosperity," said Minister of State Goodyear. "Today's announcement will help young scientists and engineers get the professional experience, mentorship and business skills they need as they develop into the next generation of leaders in business and innovation in southern Ontario."

This investment is being provided through FedDev Ontario's Graduate Enterprise Internship, which provides funding for not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions to arrange internship and mentoring opportunities for recent graduates and graduate students of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) programs with small- and medium-sized enterprises.

The University of Toronto Engineering Career Centre arranges co-operative education placements and internships for University of Toronto engineering students, placing about 600 undergraduates per year at small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in southern Ontario. This investment from FedDev Ontario will allow the Centre to place up to 300 graduates and graduate students at SMEs in the region.

"The Graduate Enterprise Internship Program at the University of Toronto will allow recent graduates as well as graduate students from our science and engineering programs to build their work experience and develop their careers," said Professor Jill Matus, U of T's Vice-Provost, Students. "U of T is very appreciative for the support provided by the Government of Canada through FedDev Ontario. This new program will help our students gain new skills and contribute to our economy."

For more information on the Graduate Enterprise Internship and the University of Toronto Engineering Career Centre, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917


Backgrounder

University of Toronto Engineering Career Centre

The University of Toronto Engineering Career Centre offers programs and services designed to connect engineering students and graduates with job opportunities within the engineering industry. The Centre places an average of 600 undergraduate students per year in internships with small- and medium-sized businesses in Ontario.

FedDev Ontario is providing the Engineering Career Centre with a contribution of up to $4,185,000 to place up to 300 recent graduates and graduate students of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) programs in internships with small- and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario.

The project will allow private sector business leaders to pass on their knowledge and business skills to young people pursuing STEM studies and careers in southern Ontario, and help develop the next generation of leaders in business and innovation. The businesses will benefit from the infusion of skills and training that these young people offer, spurring innovation and new ideas in their firms. This will help equip the region to meet future labour market needs.

More information on the University of Toronto Engineer Career Centre is available at http://engineeringcareers.utoronto.ca/.

Graduate Enterprise Internship

The Graduate Enterprise Internship provides funding for eligible not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to arrange internships with structured business mentoring opportunities in southern Ontario small- and medium-sized enterprises for graduate students and recent graduates of STEM programs. Only organizations with established track records and currently delivering internship placements for STEM students or graduates are eligible.

Eligible applicants may receive a non-repayable contribution towards an intern's salary of up to $15,000 per six-month internship for a graduate student or recent graduate of a master's or doctoral-level STEM program and up to $10,000 for a recent graduate of an undergraduate STEM program or a college program at the advanced diploma level, as well as delivery costs to manage the internships. The host SME must contribute a minimum of 50 per cent of the intern's salary and benefits.

For more information, please refer to the Initiative Guidelines available on the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada met en contact les diplômés en sciences et en technologie avec les entreprises

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 27 juin 2012

Toronto (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd'hui une contribution du gouvernement du Canada pouvant atteindre 4 185 000 dollars à l'intention du Engineering Career Centre de la University of Toronto. Cette contribution permettra d'offrir des stages utiles aux récents diplômés, alors que les entreprises profiteront des connaissances techniques et scientifiques que ces diplômés apportent.

« Notre gouvernement est déterminé à créer des emplois et à susciter la croissance et une prospérité durable, a déclaré le ministre d'État Goodyear. L'annonce d'aujourd'hui aidera les jeunes scientifiques et ingénieurs à obtenir de l'expérience professionnelle, à recevoir du mentorat et à acquérir les compétences en affaires dont ils ont besoin au moment où ils se préparent à devenir la prochaine génération de chefs de file en affaires et en innovation dans le Sud de l'Ontario. »

Cet investissement est accordé dans le cadre du programme Stage en entreprise pour diplômés de FedDev Ontario, qui alloue du financement à des organismes à but non lucratif et à des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire pour qu'ils organisent des occasions de stage et de mentorat pour des diplômés récents et des étudiants des programmes d'études de deuxième et de troisième cycles en sciences, en technologie, en ingénierie et en mathématiques (STIM) auprès de petites et moyennes entreprises.

Le Engineering Career Centre de la University of Toronto organise des placements et des stages coopératifs pour les étudiants en ingénierie de la University of Toronto, plaçant près de 600 étudiants du premier cycle par an au sein de petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Cet investissement effectué par FedDev Ontario permettra au centre de placer jusqu'à 300 diplômés et étudiants des cycles supérieurs auprès de PME dans la région.

« Le programme Stage en entreprise pour diplômés à la University of Toronto permettra à des diplômés récents ainsi qu'à des étudiants de nos programmes d'études de deuxième et de troisième cycles en sciences et en ingénierie d'accroître leur expérience de travail et de faire progresser leur carrière, a déclaré la professeure Jill Matus, vice-rectrice de la University of Toronto, Étudiants. La University of Toronto remercie vivement le gouvernement du Canada pour le soutien accordé par l'entremise de FedDev Ontario. Ce nouveau programme aidera nos étudiants à acquérir de nouvelles compétences et à contribuer à notre économie. »

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le programme Stage en entreprise pour diplômés et le Engineering Career Centre de la University of Toronto, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917


Fiche d'information

Engineering Career Centre de la University of Toronto

Le Engineering Career Centre de la University of Toronto offre des programmes et des services visant à mettre en contact les étudiants et les diplômés en ingénierie avec des possibilités d'emploi au sein de l'industrie de l'ingénierie. Le centre place en moyenne 600 étudiants du premier cycle par an dans des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) en Ontario.

FedDev Ontario octroie au Engineering Career Centre une contribution atteignant 4 185 000 dollars afin qu'il place jusqu'à 300 récents diplômés et étudiants des programmes d'études de deuxième et de troisième cycles en sciences, en technologie, en ingénierie et en mathématiques (STIM) dans des stages auprès de PME dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Le projet permettra aux dirigeants d'entreprises du secteur privé de transmettre leurs connaissances et leurs compétences en affaires à de jeunes gens menant des études et des carrières en STIM dans le Sud de l'Ontario, et contribuera à développer la prochaine génération de chefs de file en affaires et en innovation. Les responsables des entreprises profiteront de l'apport de compétences et de formation que ces jeunes gens offrent, ce qui stimulera l'innovation et générera de nouvelles idées dans leurs entreprises. La région sera ainsi mieux dotée pour répondre aux futurs besoins du marché du travail.

De plus amples renseignements sur le Engineering Career Centre de la University of Toronto se trouvent sur le site http://engineeringcareers.utoronto.ca/ (en anglais seulement).

Stage en entreprise pour diplômés

Le Stage en entreprise pour diplômés offre un financement aux organismes à but non lucratif et aux établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire admissibles du Sud de l'Ontario pour organiser des stages comportant des possibilités structurées de mentorat en entreprise avec des PME du Sud de l'Ontario à l'intention des étudiants de deuxième et de troisième cycles et des diplômés récents des programmes de STIM. Seules les organisations dont les antécédents sont bien établis et qui offrent actuellement des stages aux étudiants et aux diplômés en STIM sont admissibles.

Les postulants admissibles peuvent recevoir une contribution non remboursable pour le paiement du salaire d'un stagiaire jusqu'à concurrence de 15 000 dollars tous les six mois de stage pour un finissant ou un récent diplômé d'un programme de STIM au niveau de la maîtrise ou du doctorat, et jusqu'à concurrence de 10 000 dollars pour un récent diplômé d'un programme de premier cycle de STIM ou d'un programme collégial à un niveau avancé, ainsi que pour le paiement des frais d'exécution pour gérer les stages. La PME hôte doit contribuer au versement d'au moins 50 pour cent du salaire et des avantages sociaux du stagiaire.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices de l'initiative accessibles à l'adresse www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :