Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovative Start-Up Business in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
June 26, 2012

Toronto, Ontario —  Young entrepreneurs in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math will receive skills support and seed financing to start their own businesses, thanks to an investment of more than $1.1 million in Ontario Centres of Excellence's (OCE) Centre for Commercialization of Research (CCR), announced today by Kellie Leitch, Member of Parliament for Simcoe–Grey, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our government is committed to creating jobs, growth and long–term prosperity for southern Ontario," said MP Leitch. "This investment will help graduates to develop their business and management skills so they can launch promising start–up businesses, and bring their innovative ideas to market."

With a contribution of up to $1,102,500 through FedDev Ontario's Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative, CCR aims to improve the business and management skills of 30 graduates and graduate students in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields by providing them with access to financial and business support services, such as training, advisory services and seed financing. It will indentify and target 30 high potential STEM entrepreneurs with promising innovations, and help bring their innovations to market. The project is expected to result in the launch of up to 30 new STEM companies in southern Ontario.

"CCR is proud to be the catalyst that will enable these bright innovators to turn their ideas into new businesses," said Dr. Mario Thomas, Managing Director, Centre for Commercialization of Research (CCR). "Our team of highly qualified, dedicated and well–connected business experts will offer tremendous support and mentorship to these innovators to help them nurture and develop their academic discoveries into sustainable, commercial ventures."

Scientists and Engineers in Business is designed to improve the success rate of start–up businesses in southern Ontario by developing the business skills of graduates and entrepreneurs in the STEM fields and providing targeted support to help them bring innovative ideas and products to market.

OCE is a not–for–profit organization founded in 1987 to create working partnerships between university and college research departments, research hospitals and Ontario businesses. OCE's mission is to facilitate economic growth through support for industrially–relevant research and development and to open new market opportunities through the commercialization of leading–edge discoveries. OCE is a member of the Ontario Network of Excellence (ONE), which is a collaborative network of organizations across Ontario that aligns Ontario's suite of programs and resources to help innovators turn viable ideas into globally–competitive products and services.

The Centre for Commercialization of Research, which operates under the umbrella of the OCE, will manage the project. The Centre supports the commercialization of new technologies and knowledge by helping high–potential technology–based companies build the capacity to become sustainable global competitors.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie des entreprises en démarrage innovatrices dans le Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 26 juin 2012

Toronto (Ontario) — Kellie Leitch, députée fédérale de Simcoe–Grey, a annoncé aujourd'hui, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), l'octroi d'un financement de plus de 1,1 million de dollars au Centre pour la commercialisation de la recherche (CCR), sous l'égide des Centres d'excellence de l'Ontario (CEO). Grâce à ce financement, les jeunes entrepreneurs qui œuvrent dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM) bénéficieront d'un soutien en matière de formation et d'un financement de démarrage pour démarrer leur propre entreprise.

« Notre gouvernement est résolu à créer des emplois, à stimuler la croissance économique et à accroître la prospérité à long terme dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré la députée Leitch. Cet investissement permettra aux diplômés à développer leurs compétences en affaires et en gestion dans le but de lancer des entreprises en démarrage prometteuses et de mettre en marché leurs idées novatrices. »

Grâce à une contribution de plus de 1 102 500 dollars obtenue par l'entremise de l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires de FedDev Ontario, le CCR vise à améliorer les compétences en affaires et en gestion de 30 diplômés et étudiants des cycles supérieurs dans les domaines des STIM en leur permettant d'avoir accès à des services financiers et d'aide aux entreprises, tels que de la formation, des services consultatifs et un financement de démarrage. Il déterminera et ciblera 30 entrepreneurs des domaines des STIM qui présentent un potentiel élevé et proposent des innovations prometteuses et aidera à mettre ces dernières sur le marché. Le projet devrait donner lieu au lancement de 30 nouvelles entreprises dans les domaines des STIM dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

« Au CCR, nous sommes fiers de pouvoir agir comme catalyseurs afin de permettre à ces innovateurs brillants de mettre leurs idées à profit pour créer de nouvelles entreprises, a déclaré Mario Thomas, directeur général du Centre pour la commercialisation de la recherche. Notre équipe qui est composée d'experts hautement compétents, fort dévoués et bien ancrés dans le milieu des affaires leur offriront un soutien et un encadrement hors pair afin de les aider à transformer leurs découvertes universitaires en entreprises durables. »

Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires est conçu pour aider à améliorer le taux de réussite des entreprises en démarrage dans le Sud de l'Ontario en développant les compétences en affaires des diplômés et des jeunes entrepreneurs dans les domaines des STIM et en offrant un soutien ciblé afin de les aider à commercialiser des idées et des produits novateurs.

Les CEO constituent une organisation à but non lucratif qui a été fondée en 1987 en vue de créer des partenariats entre des départements de recherche d'universités et de collèges, des hôpitaux de recherche et des entreprises de l'Ontario. La mission des CEO consiste à stimuler la croissance économique en appuyant la recherche–développement dans des domaines pertinents pour l'industrie et en créant de nouvelles possibilités de marché grâce à la commercialisation de découvertes de pointe. Les CEO font partie du Réseau ontarien d'excellence (ROE), lequel constitue un réseau commun d'organismes répandus à l'échelle de l'Ontario qui harmonise une série de programmes et de ressources de l'Ontario visant à aider des innovateurs à transformer des idées viables en produits et services concurrentiels à l'échelle internationale.

Le CCR, qui est exploité sous l'égide des CEO, gérera le projet. Le Centre appuie la commercialisation de nouvelles technologies et connaissances en aidant les entreprises technologiques prometteuses à devenir des compétitrices permanentes dans le marché mondial.  

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez–nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele–Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917

Date de modification :