Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Innovation in St. Marys

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
June 27, 2012

St. Marys, Ontario — An investment of $1.86 million by the Government of Canada will help two Canadian businesses grow their operations and collectively create a total of 22 new jobs in St. Marys, where the companies will be converting egg by-products and industrial emissions into high-value goods. The announcement was made today by Gary Schellenberger, Member of Parliament for Perth-Wellington, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our Government is proud to invest in these two innovative businesses, Perth County Ingredients and Pond Biofuels, which are contributing to the diversification of St. Marys' economy," said MP Schellenberger. "These contributions will enhance the overall competitive advantage of the region and lead to opportunities for job creation, growth and long-term prosperity."

FedDev Ontario's contribution of $947,500 through its Prosperity Initiative will allow Perth County Ingredients, a subsidiary of Vanderpol's Eggs, to purchase the equipment needed to produce a high-value pet food ingredient using by-products from eggs produced in southern Ontario. A second contribution of $908,280 through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative will help Pond Biofuels accelerate the commercialization of its technology used to capture carbon dioxide from raw stack emissions and produce algae that can subsequently be converted into biofuels.

"Egg protein has the highest biological availability and sets the standard by which other proteins are measured for pet food diets," said Mike Vanderpol, President, Vanderpol's Eggs. "This funding will help us expand our process to concentrate and purify this high-value protein to supply the growing market for quality pet food ingredients."

"Pond Biofuels is ecstatic to partner with FedDev Ontario to leverage public and private contributions from our angel investors," stated Steven Martin, CEO and Chief Scientist of Pond Biofuels. "The Investing in Business Innovation initiative will allow us to accelerate the commercialization of our technology towards an industrial scale CO2-to-algae facility."

For more information on these projects, the Prosperity Initiative and the Investing in Business Innovation Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

The investment announced today supports the Government of Canada's science, technology, and innovation agenda, which is focused on increasing the country's productivity, creating jobs and growing the economy.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917


Backgrounder

Contributions to Perth County Ingredients and Pond Biofuels

FedDev Ontario is providing Perth County Ingredients with a repayable contribution of up to $947,500 through its Prosperity Initiative. Perth County Ingredients, a subsidiary of Vanderpol's Eggs, established operations in St. Marys in 2011. Through FedDev Ontario's investment, Perth County Ingredients will purchase equipment used to process egg by-products into a high-quality food additive under the name "OvaBind", which the company will market to animal and pet food manufacturers in southern Ontario and around the world. This contribution will allow the company to create an anticipated 13 full-time equivalent jobs, tripling the plant's workforce.

FedDev Ontario is providing Pond Biofuels with a repayable contribution of up to $908,280 through its Investing in Business Innovation initiative. In addition to this investment, $2 million in private-sector funding has been leveraged from a group of accredited angel investors belonging to SG Biomaterial Investments. Located in Toronto and incorporated in 2008, Pond Biofuels develops technology to produce alternative fuels using algae grown with industrial emissions. Through FedDev Ontario's investment, Pond Biofuels will complete the first phase of construction on its commercial-scale pilot demonstration plant in partnership with St. Marys Cement. This facility will allow the company to demonstrate that its technology can efficiently and cost-effectively offset harmful industrial emissions and create a high-value algae product that can be converted into fuel, such as bio-diesel. This investment will help Pond Biofuels accelerate the commercialization of its technology, attract new industrial partners, and reach global markets. It will also enable the company to create nine full-time equivalent jobs.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations, and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified, and competitive economy in the region.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes, and skills to enhance businesses and sectors in southern Ontario to achieve higher output in relation to their investments;
  • diversify the regional economy by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities in southern Ontario communities or regions with the potential to have long-term impacts on their economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario by building on the assets and strengths of southern Ontario businesses and regions to create or expand economic clusters and enhance their global competitiveness.

Investing in Business Innovation

Through Investing in Business Innovation, the Government of Canada is focusing on a portfolio of early-stage businesses that are recognized by the investor community as having the potential for high-growth and a net long-term economic benefit for southern Ontario. The potential of these businesses is measured by the investment commitments secured from accredited angel or venture capital investors.

Investing in Business Innovation is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices. Under IBI, private sector investors must invest two dollars for every dollar invested by the Agency.

Funding under the initiative is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the program guidelines available on the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • RSS
  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans l'innovation à St. Marys

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 27 juin 2012

St. Marys (Ontario) – Un investissement de 1,86 million de dollars du gouvernement du Canada permettra à deux entreprises canadiennes d'accroître leurs activités et de créer 22 nouveaux emplois au total à St. Marys, où elles transformeront les sous-produits d'œufs et les émissions industrielles en produits de grande valeur. L'annonce a été faite aujourd'hui par Gary Schellenberger, député fédéral de Perth-Wellington, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Notre gouvernement est fier d'investir dans ces deux entreprises innovatrices, Perth County Ingredients et Pond Biofuels, qui contribuent à la diversification de l'économie de St. Marys, a déclaré le député Schellenberger. Ces contributions renforceront l'avantage concurrentiel global de la région et favoriseront la création d'emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme. »

La contribution de 947 500 dollars versée par FedDev Ontario au moyen de l'Initiative pour la prospérité permettra à l'entreprise Perth County Ingredients, une filiale de Vanderpol's Eggs, d'acheter l'équipement nécessaire pour produire un ingrédient de grande qualité destiné aux aliments pour animaux de compagnie au moyen de sous-produits d'œufs produits dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Une deuxième contribution de 908 280 dollars dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario permettra à l'entreprise Pond Biofuels d'accélérer la commercialisation de la technique de pointe utilisée pour capturer le dioxyde de carbone provenant des émissions de cheminées et de produire des algues qui peuvent être ensuite transformées en biocarburants.

« Les protéines d'œufs se distinguent par la disponibilité biologique la plus élevée et permettent d'établir les normes au moyen desquelles on mesure la valeur d'autres protéines destinées aux aliments pour animaux de compagnie, a déclaré Mike Vanderpol, président de l'entreprise Vanderpol's Eggs. « Ce financement nous permettra de développer notre processus de transformation qui consiste à concentrer et à purifier cette protéine de grande valeur en vue d'approvisionner le marché croissant des ingrédients de qualité destinés aux aliments pour animaux de compagnie. »

« L'entreprise Pond Biofuels est très enthousiaste à l'idée de s'associer avec FedDev Ontario en vue de tirer parti des contributions publiques et privées versées par nos investisseurs providentiels », a déclaré Steven Martin, président-directeur général et expert scientifique en chef de l'entreprise Pond Biofuels. « L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises nous permettra d'accélérer la commercialisation de notre technique de pointe qui consiste à capturer les émissions de CO2 dans des bassins d'algues à l'échelle industrielle. »

Pour en savoir davantage sur ces projets ainsi que sur l'Initiative pour la prospérité et l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

L'investissement annoncé aujourd'hui appuie le programme du gouvernement du Canada dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation, lequel vise à accroître la productivité du pays en créant des emplois et en favorisant la croissance de l'économie.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence du marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez visiter le site www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composez le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias :
Feddev Ontario
519-585-2917


Fiche d'information

Contributions versées aux entreprises Perth County Ingredients et Pond Biofuels

L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) octroie à l'entreprise Perth County Ingredients une contribution remboursable de 947 500 dollars par l'entremise de l'Initiative pour la prospérité. L'entreprise Perth County Ingredients, une filiale de Vanderpol's Eggs, a commencé à exercer ses activités à St. Marys en 2011. Grâce à la contribution de FedDev Ontario, l'entreprise Perth County Ingredients procédera à l'achat de l'équipement utilisé pour transformer les sous-produits d'œufs en additif alimentaire de haute qualité connus sous le nom de « OvaBind », que l'entreprise vendra aux fabricants d'aliments pour animaux et animaux de compagnie dans le Sud de l'Ontario et à l'échelle internationale. Cette contribution permettra à l'entreprise de créer 13 emplois équivalents plein temps, triplant ainsi le nombre d'employés de l'entreprise.

FedDev Ontario octroie à l'entreprise Pond Biofuels une contribution remboursable de 908 280 dollars par l'entremise de son initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises. À cette contribution s'ajoute la somme de 2 millions de dollars en fonds privés provenant d'un groupe d'investisseurs providentiels accrédités de la SG Biomaterial Investments. L'entreprise, qui est située à Toronto et est incorporée depuis 2008, met au point une technique de pointe visant à produire des carburants de remplacement à base d'algues pour atténuer les émissions industrielles. Grâce à la contribution de FedDev Ontario, l'entreprise Pond Biofuels achèvera la première phase de la construction d'une installation de démonstration à l'échelle industrielle en partenariat avec la société St. Marys Cement. Cette installation permettra à l'entreprise de démontrer que sa technique de pointe peut atténuer de manière efficace et efficiente les émissions industrielles nocives et de créer un produit à base d'algues de haute qualité pouvant être transformé en carburant, comme du biodiesel. Cette contribution permettra à l'entreprise Pond Biofuels d'accélérer la commercialisation de sa technique de pointe, d'attirer de nouveaux partenaires industriels et de commercialiser ses produits sur les marchés internationaux. Cela permettra également à l'entreprise de créer neuf emplois équivalents plein temps.

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario est conçue afin d'encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements postsecondaires du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, diversifiée et concurrentielle dans la région.

Un financement est offert pour les projets qui :

  • stimulent la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouvelles technologies, techniques de pointe et compétences ainsi que de nouveaux processus afin d'améliorer la productivité des entreprises et des secteurs du Sud de l'Ontario par rapport à leurs investissements;
  • favorisent la diversification de l'économie régionale en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou possibilités dans les collectivités ou les régions du Sud de l'Ontario, ce qui pourrait avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de la collectivité ou de la région;
  • mettent en place d'un avantage concurrentiel pour le Sud de l'Ontario, en misant sur les atouts et les forces des entreprises et des régions du Sud de l'Ontario pour créer ou élargir les regroupements économiques et accroître leur compétitivité mondiale.

Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises

Dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, le gouvernement du Canada accorde une attention particulière aux entreprises en démarrage qui sont reconnues par la communauté des investisseurs comme ayant le potentiel d'une croissance élevée et d'avantages économiques à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario. Le potentiel de ces entreprises est évalué en fonction des investissements confirmés obtenus d'investisseurs providentiels et de capital-risqueurs accrédités.

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises vise à stimuler les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage dans le but d'accélérer la mise au point de nouveaux produits, de nouveaux processus et de nouvelles pratiques. Dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, les investisseurs du secteur privé doivent investir deux dollars pour chaque dollar investi par l'Agence.

Le financement lié à cette initiative est également offert aux réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et à leurs associations dans le but d'attirer de nouveaux investissements et de soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissements providentiels.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme affichées dans le site Web au www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

  • RSS
  • Partager
Date de modification :